
Teen drivers are more likely to be involved in a       

crash than members of any other age cohort. In 

2024, approximately 10.2% of all licensed      

drivers that were involved in a crash were 16 to 

19 years old. 

Compared to drivers in other age groups, teen 

drivers experience more crashes involving risky 

behaviors.  

In Wisconsin, one person was killed or injured in a teen driving crash every 1.5 hours in 2024.  

• 18,823 teen driving crashes occurred in Wisconsin in 2024. 

• In these crashes, 70 people were killed and 5,784 were injured.   

• Teen driving crashes account for 15% of all crashes and 12% of all fatalities in 2024. 
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Did you know... 

Scope of the Problem 

 

Teen Driving Crashes in Wisconsin 

In 2024, teen drivers made up only 4.4% of all 

licensed drivers but accounted for 10.8% of all 

drivers in a crash. 

On the whole, teen drivers kill and injure other 

teens. In crashes where teens were driving the 

vehicle in 2024, 55% of those killed or injured 

were 16 to 19 years old. 

Who is at Risk for Teen Driving Crashes? 

The risk is different for male and female teen drivers. 

More male teen drivers were involved in a crash than 

female teen drivers. Approximately 56% of teen     

drivers in 2024 were male.  

 

Occupant protection is also a factor in teen driving 

crashes. In fatal and serious injury crashes, 29% of 

female occupants aged 16-19 were not wearing a 

seatbelt. Approximately 17% of male occupants aged 

16-19 involved in a fatal or serious injury crashes 

were not wearing a seatbelt.  

Teen drivers who are involved in crashes are more likely 

than other drivers to be involved in crashes caused by: 

• Exceeding the speed limit 

• Over-correcting/over-steering 

• Driving too fast for conditions 

• Driving in an aggressive or erratic manner 
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What Can Parents Do? 

• Model good driving behavior. While it may seem     

surprising, teens generally look up to their parents as 

role models. 

• Talk with teens about peer pressure and to recognize 

the dangers of impaired driving. 

• Talk with your child about the need to develop      

hand-eye coordination when driving and to be         

cautious.  

• More practice is always better. Parents should set 

aside some time each week to help cultivate their 

teen’s driving skills. 

What Can Teens Do? 

• Avoid distractions like your cell phone. Research 

shows that talking on a cell phone is just as           

dangerous as driving while impaired. For teens in 

Wisconsin, state law bans all cell phone use if you 

have a probationary license 

• Avoid drinking and driving. Getting an OWI can hurt 

your chances of getting into college and obtaining a 

job.  

• Accept that you are learning and so when in doubt 

about a maneuver, don’t do it! Your safety is your    

priority and it is not worth endangering it for a slightly 

faster trip. 

Graduated License Requirement 

When new Wisconsin drivers under the age of 18 obtain their license, it comes with graduated drivers license (GDL) 

restrictions. Since 2000, 16 and 17 year-old drivers must have an additional 50 hours of practice driving time 

(including 10 hours at night) and hold an instructional permit for at least six months before taking a road test and  

applying for a probationary driver’s license. The probationary license imposes a curfew (no operation between     

midnight and 5 a.m. except for going to/from school or work) and a passenger restriction (only one passenger other 

than family members) during the first nine months of operation. These limitations are removed for drivers who remain 

conviction-free or once they turn 18. For more information, please visit: Wisconsin DMV Official Government Site - 

Graduated Driver License (GDL) FAQs (wisconsindot.gov). 

Teen driving crashes tend to occur in the late 

afternoon. More teen driving crashes occur 

during the school year than the summer. The 

peak hours for teen crashes is 7 to 8 am and 3 

to 4 pm during the school year and 3 to 5 pm 

during the summer. More crashes involving 

teen drivers occurred on Friday than on any 

other day of the week. 

Most teen driving crashes occur in January and 

December. Winter road conditions, including 

snow and icy roads, can impact the safety of 

drivers on the road.   

When do Teen Driving Crashes Occur? 
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