
Complete form using BLUE or BLACK ink. 

TEMPORARY LICENSE 
PLATE APPLICATION 
30-90 Day Operating Permit
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
MV2505     1/2024     s.341.09 Wis. Stats.

Make Check Payable To: Registration Fee Trust 
Mail To: Wisconsin Department of Transportation 

Special Plates 
P.O. Box 7911 
Madison, WI 53707-7911 

Temporary license plates may be received 
immediately at any DMV service Center 
which provides registration services.  

A $5 counter service fee will apply unless 
issuance is due to mandatory display. 

License Plate Number 

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 

Vehicle Identification Number (standard VIN has 17 characters) 

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 

Vehicle Year Make 

Print Registration Owner’s Name – Last, First, MI  Owner  Lessee   Driver Birth Date 
– – 

M M D D Y Y Y Y 

Street Address City State ZIP Code Social Security Number (optional) 
– – 

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 

Mailing Address (if different form above) (Area Code) Telephone Number Between 7:30 a.m. and 4 p.m. 

 I would like a temporary plate emailed to me at   __________________________________ 

I request a temporary plate for the vehicle listed above because: 

(I) The vehicle failed the emission test and is being repaired ($3 for 30 days)
(O) The vehicle was purchased in WI and is being driven home to:   ______________________________   ($3 for 30 days).

Please include a copy of the signed title (front and back) or dealer purchase contract.
(L) I am an active duty military personnel home on leave (Free for 30 days).

Please include a copy of your leave order.

(T) Other (Not Mandatory Display) including motorcycles, moped, motorhomes, and trailers ($3 for 90 days)
Explain:

(X) Other (Mandatory Display) including automobiles, trucks, and autocycles (Free for 90 days)

X 
   (Registration Owner’s Signature) (Date) 

UNDER 18 
YEARS OLD 

I certify that I have legal custody of the person named as 
Registration Owner and consent to the registration of the vehicle 
described in the applicant’s name. 

Date Signed Signature (legal custodian, parent or guardian) 

X 
NOTARY 
PUBLIC 

County Date my commission expires Date subscribed and sworn to before me Notary Signature 

X 

Release of non exempt information 
Under Wisconsin open records law, the Wisconsin Department of 
Transportation must provide information from its records to requesters. 
If you do not want your name and address included in requests we 
receive for ten or more records, you may ask the department to 
withhold your name and address from those lists by checking the box 
below: 

 Opt Out 

ADA - The Wisconsin Department of Transportation complies with the 
Americans with Disabilities Act. 
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