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This application is for Wisconsin boat/trailer dealers only. 

INSTRUCTIONS:   

• Complete the Application for Certificate of Title for Light Trailer less than 3,000 pounds
o If a title was not previously obtained from a Manufacturer Certificate of Origin, attach supporting documentation for prior

ownership of the trailer

• Complete MV1, Wisconsin Title and License Plate Application, including fees for tax on the purchase price, title, and loan filing (if
there is a loan on the trailer)
o If you wish to obtain license plates/registration, include the proper registration fee for plates using the fee chart below

• Submit any previously issued title or registration documentation, or bill of sale if available

• Submit pictures of the trailer, including front, rear, side views and Vehicle Identification Number (VIN)
o If you do not have a clear picture of the VIN download MV3623 Public Vehicle Identification Number Certification form to be

completed by law enforcement

Submit the completed application to: 

Vehicle Research Unit 
Wisconsin Department of Transportation 
PO Box 8070 
Madison WI 53708-8070 

To qualify for a title on a light trailer with a gross weight of 3,000 pounds or less and not used for hire or rental, without the need to apply 
for surety bonded title, MV2082 APPLICATION FOR BONDED CERTIFICATE OF TITLE FOR A VEHICLE, provide three of the following 
items: 

Original or copy of Manufacturer Certificate of Origin for a Vehicle (MCO) with or without reassignments. 

Original or copy of purchase agreement from original purchase, i.e. carbon from a Wisconsin trailer dealer. 

Original or copy of lien/bank documents that lists the trailer information along with the boat, trailer information should include at 
least the year and make, if not the vehicle identification number (VIN). 

 Original or copy of any insurance documents showing the trailer information – year, make and VIN 

Trailers 3,000 lbs. or less - Optional Registration. Plates expire in June. 
Gross 
Weight JUL AUG SEP OCT NOV DEC JAN FEB MAR APR MAY JUN 

3,000 $50.00 $45.83 $41.67 $37.50 $33.33 $29.17 $25.00 $20.83 $16.67 $12.50 $8.33 $4.17 

Trailers 4,500 lbs or more. Plates expire in December. 
Gross 
WT 

WT 
Class JAN FEB MAR APR MAY JUN JUL AUG SEP OCT NOV DEC 

4,500 A $50.00 $45.83 $41.67 $37.50 $33.33 $29.17 $25.00 $20.83 $16.67 $12.50 $8.33 $4.17 
6,000 B 50.00 45.83 41.67 37.50 33.33 29.17 25.00 20.83 16.67 12.50 8.33 4.17 
8,000 C 53.00 48.58 44.17 39.75 35.33 30.92 26.50 22.08 17.67 13.25 8.83 4.42 

Submit all items listed above along with page 2 of this application, a properly completed MV1 Wisconsin Title & License Plate application, 
and the appropriate fees. Make check or money order made payable to:  Registration Fee Trust 

You must also complete MV1 Wisconsin Title and License Plate Application and submit with MV2083 and all applicable fees 
for tax on the purchase price, title and loan filing (if there is a loan on the vehicle). 

Keep copies of all application items. 

http://www.wisconsindmv.gov/
http://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv1.pdf
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Keep copies of all application items. 

Copies of at least three of the items listed as proof of ownership listed on page 1, must be included with this 
application. 

OWNER INFORMATION: 
Owner Legal Name – Last, First, Middle Initial OR Business Name 

Social Security Number 
OR 

Driver License Number 
OR 

FEIN Number (if applicable) 
  –   –

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

– – – 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

– 
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

Co-owner (if any) Name – Last, First, Middle Initial (check one) Co-owner Social Security # or Driver License # or FEIN – Required 

 OR  AND
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17

 Street Address (include PO Box if applicable) City State ZIP Code 

Email Address Owner Daytime Area Code – Telephone Number 

VEHICLE INFORMATION: 

SELLER/PREVIOUS OWNER INFORMATION: 
(Provide any known information.  If address is unknown, list location where vehicle was purchased) 

Name – Last, First, Middle Initial OR Business Name Co-owner (if any) Name – Last, First, Middle Initial 

 Street Address (include PO Box if applicable) City State ZIP Code 

Email Address Owner Daytime Area Code – Telephone Number 

WISCONSIN BOAT/TRAILER DEALER INFORMATION: - CHECK IF SAME AS OWNER/APPLICANT
Dealership / Business Name Dealer license number: 

 Street Address (include PO Box if applicable) City State ZIP Code 

Email Address Owner Daytime Area Code – Telephone Number 

NEW OWNER SIGNATURE(S): 
I (We) certify that the information on this form is true and correct.  I (We) understand that a vehicle must meet all applicable equipment standards in Chapter 
347 Wisconsin Statutes and Wisconsin Administrative Rule Trans 305 prior to it being operated on the road. 

X X
(Owner Signature) (Date) (Co-Owner Signature) (Date) 

Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) Year Make Model Type 

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17

s.342.12 and s.341.25(1)(gd), s.341.06(1)(am) Wis. Stats.

http://www.wisconsindmv.gov/
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