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1. AUTHORITY & ELIGIBILITY 

Under Wis. Stats. s. 348.27(9t) the department may issue permits to allow the transportation of 
potatoes intended to be used as seed. 

• “Seed potatoes” is defined by Wis. Admin. Code ch. Trans 258.02(2) and means potatoes 
intended to be planted as a crop.   

• Must use a combination vehicle.  
• Permit is issued to specific VIN for both truck and trailer.  
• See also Wis. Admin. Code ch. Trans 258.   
• This permit is issued for overweight and overlength combination vehicles.   
• This is a divisible load permit.  

 
2. SIZE LIMITATIONS – VEHICLE & LOAD 

• Trailer length      53’ 
• Vehicle combination length    No overall limit* 

*(Permits are issued for a total length of 100’ for consistency with other permit types) 
• Overall width      8’6” (legal) 
• Overall height      13’6” (legal) 

 
3. WEIGHT LIMITATIONS & AXLE REQUIREMENTS 

Vehicle and Load Weight Limitations 
• Maximum GVW     90,000 lbs. OR 
• May not exceed the weight limitations of Wis. Stats. s. 348.15(3)(c) by more than 10,000 lbs. 
• Wheels on one side of the vehicle may not carry more than 60% of the load. 

Axle Weight Limitations 
• Single steer axle     20,000 lbs. 
• Single non-steer axle     18,000 lbs. 
• Tandem axle      16,000 lbs./axle**    

       **(until GVW reaches 73,280 lbs.) 
• 3-axle group (3’6” – 9’ apart)    16,500/trailer axle 
• 4 or more-axle group (no less than 3’6” apart) 13,000 lbs./trailer axle*** 

***(Then only 1 tandem may be above 16,000 lbs. and each additional tandem is limited to 
13,000 lbs.) 

General Axle Requirements 
• Non-steering axles     4 tires per axle 
• Minimum axles per trailer    3 axles 
• Minimum axles per vehicle combination  6 axles  
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/348.27(9t)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/administrativecode/Trans%20258.02(2)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/258
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/348.15(3)(c)
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4. ROUTE LIMITATIONS 

• Permit is valid on the seed potato route identified as: 
o STH 64 between Langlade County Trunk “H” and USH 41 in Langlade, Oconto, and 

Marinette counties  
o USH 41 between STH 64 and the Wisconsin-Michigan border 

• Permit is valid within 15 miles of the seed potato route.  See Wis. Admin. Code ch. Trans 
258.06(4)(b). 

• Permit is valid only on U.S. and State Trunk Highways.  
• Must have written statement of route approval by the officer in charge of maintenance if the 

route desired involves municipal, township or county roads.   
• If the department declares the alternative potato route, the seed potato route will be changed to 

the route described in Wis. Admin. Code ch. Trans 258.10(3).   
 
5. GENERAL OPERATING REQUIREMENTS 

• Vehicles may be operated at the posted speed limit. 
• Vehicles that are only overweight may operate 24 hours a day, including weekends and 

holidays. 
• Permits are not suspended during the annual spring thaw period unless the suspension 

specifically includes PS permits.   
 
6. MINIMUM INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS 

• Bodily injury, each person  $150,000 or  $750,000 combined single limit 
• Bodily injury, each accident  $450,000  
• Property damage, each accident $300,000  

 
7. VEHICLE REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS 

• Vehicle or vehicles must be registered for not less than the maximum registration weight 
available or the permit weight, whichever is less as required by Wis. Admin. Code ch. Trans 
255.07. 

 
8. PERMIT APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS 

• Apply online at https://wi.gotpermits.com or via the OSOW Website. If applying by mail use 
Multiple Trip Form MV2612. 

• Permits may be issued for 3 to 12 months. 
 
9. PERMIT FEE INFORMATION  

• If applying by mail submit the required fee, per the table below, with your application.   
• Make checks payable to: Registration Fee Trust. 
• Calculate fees from the effective day of the permit, not the calendar months. 

(Example: 9/5 to 11/20 – greater than 2 months to the day, but less than 3 months, would be 
calculated as 3 months.) 
 

Months:  12 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 
Weight: 
90,000 200.00 198.33 181.67 165.00 148.33 131.67 115.00 98.33 81.67 65.00 
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