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1. AUTHORITY & ELIGIBILITY 

Under Wis. Stats. s. 348.27(10), the department may issue permits to allow the transportation of grain, 
coal, iron ore concentrates or alloyed iron for a distance not to exceed 5 miles from the Wisconsin state 
line.  

• "Grain" is defined by Wis. Stats. s. 126.01(13) and means corn, wheat, soybeans, oats, barley, 
rye, buckwheat, sorghum, flaxseed, milo, sunflower seed and mixed grain as defined in the 
federal grain standards act. The term does not include canning crops for processing or grain 
used or intended for use solely for sowing purposes.  

• See also Wis. Admin. Code ch. Trans 255.  
 
2. SIZE LIMITATIONS – VEHICLE & LOAD 

• Single Vehicle Length   50’ 
• Vehicle combination length  75’ 
• Overall width    8’6” (legal) 
• Overall height    13’6” (legal) 

 
3. WEIGHT LIMITATIONS & AXLE REQUIREMENTS 

Weight Requirements 
This permit is issued for weight allowances that are consistent with states that border Wisconsin, for a 
distance not to exceed 5 miles from the Wisconsin state line. 
 
Axle Requirements 
Axle weight limitations are described in Wis. Admin. Code ch. Trans 251.03. 

• Single Axle    18,000 lbs. 
• Tandem Axle    16,000 lbs./axle*      

     *(until vehicle and load GVW reaches 73,280 lbs.) 
• Any Other Axle   13,000 lbs. 

 
4. ROUTE LIMITATIONS 

• This permit is valid on all U.S. and State Trunk Highways within 5 miles of the Wisconsin state 
line. 

• This permit is not valid for operation on the Interstate. 
• Must have written statement of route approval by the officer in charge of maintenance if the 

route desired involves municipal, township or county roads. 
 
 
  

 
 
WisDOT Division of Transportation 
System Development 
Bureau of Highway Maintenance 
 

 
Oversize/Overweight Permits 

PO Box 7980 
Madison, WI  53707 

osow@dot.wi.gov 
(608) 266-7320 

 

 

 

AC PERMIT CONDITION SHEET 
GRAIN, COAL, IRON ORE CONCENTRATES & ALLOYED IRON  

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/348.27(10)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/statutes/126.01(13)
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/255
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/administrativecode/Trans%20251.03
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5. GENERAL OPERATING REQUIREMENTS 

• Vehicles may be operated at the posted speed limit. 
• Vehicles that are only overweight may operate 24 hours a day, including weekends and 

holidays. 
• Permits are suspended during the annual spring thaw period, usually mid-March through mid-

May.   
 
6. MINIMUM INSURANCE REQUIREMENTS 

• Bodily injury, each person  $150,000 or  $750,000 combined single limit 
• Bodily injury, each accident  $450,000  
• Property damage, each accident $300,000  

 
7. VEHICLE REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS 

• Vehicle or vehicles must be registered for not less than the maximum registration weight 
available or the permit weight, whichever is less as required by Wis. Admin. Code ch.. Trans 
255.07. 

 
8. PERMIT APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS 

• Apply online at https://wi.gotpermits.com or via the OSOW Website. If applying by mail use 
Multiple Trip Form MV2612. 

• Permits may be issued for 3 to 12 months. 
 
9. PERMIT FEE INFORMATION  

• If applying by mail submit the required fee, per the table below, with your application.   
• Make checks payable to: Registration Fee Trust. 
• Calculate fees from the effective day of the permit, not the calendar months. 

(Example: 9/5 to 11/20 – greater than 2 months to the day, but less than 3 months, would be 
calculated as 3 months.) 
 

Months: 12 11 10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 
Weight: 
88,000 200.00 198.33 181.67 165.00 148.33 131.67 115.00 98.33 81.67 65.00 
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https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/administrativecode/Trans%20255.07
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/document/administrativecode/Trans%20255.07
https://wi.gotpermits.com/
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/com-drv-vehs/mtr-car-trkr/osow-autosys.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv2612.pdf

