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SMART BUYING

SMART BUYING!

Buy from a licensed Truthful advertising
Wisconsin Car Dealer Expect ads to say what they mean aer.mean » Wisconsin Buyers Guide

, what they say. An advertised price will include Used cars display the Wisconsin Buyers Guide
and you're protected all charges you'll pay for a car (excluding tax, which gives the following information:
by Wisconsin’s Motor title, registration and service fees). If an ad « How a vehicle was used (private use,
Vehicle Trade Practice prorr;]ises you ? set pri;e fofr your trade, y(;)u’ll business use, lease use, rental, etc.)

get that price for a trade of any age, condition  Price

Law. Dealers follow the or mileage. You don't have to buy anything to « Ootional ice f
law when they advertise, get a gift offered “free” in an advertisement. prional service fee

+ Title brands (permanent brands currently
Accurate window labels on the title or will be on the next title)
v Make, year, model, identification number,
engine size and transmission type

display and sell vehicles.
You won’t get the same
» Manufacturer’s Suggested

protection if you buy Retail Price Label (MSRP)

from a private party. You'll find the “MSRP” label on the window ¥/ Sold with remaining manufactlirer’s "
warranty, a dealer warranty, or “As Is

+ Description of items dealer
is required to inspect

+ Condition of the vehicle and its safety
equipment, with defects explained

Dealers complete the Buyers Guide
based on a visual inspection and test

drive. They must disclose any noticeable
» Accurate window labels Cars may sell for more or less than the defects. However, they aren’t required

Manufacturer’s Suggested Retail Price.

of any new, executive, or demonstrator car

Expect these offered for sale. It lists the following:

a,dvantag-es when v Manufacturer’s base price
v Standard equipment and manufacturer’s
you buy from a

. optional equipment with prices
licensed dealer: « Freight charge

» Truthful advertising v Suggested retail price

» Warranty information to take vehicles apart to check them.
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Vehicle history reports

If the dealer doesn’t provide one, consider
investing in a vehicle history report. There

are several vendors who supply these reports
online for a small fee, and the information
supplied can be invaluable. One report that
helps protect consumers from vehicle fraud and
safety issues is provided by the National Motor
Vehicle Title Information System. For more

Warranty information

» New car warranty
All new cars carry a warranty, usually at least
12 months and/or 12,000 miles. Tires, battery,
and dealer installed options may have separate
warranties that differ in time and mileage. Read
any warranties to find out what is covered and
for how long, who will honor the warranty,
and what you have to do to keep it in effect.

wisconsindot.gov
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P Wisconsin’s new car lemon law

The lemon law protects you when you buy or
lease new vehicles. It entitles you to a refund
or replacement vehicle if, in the first year under
warranty, your vehicle has a serious problem
the dealer doesn’t repair in four tries, or if

it's out of service due to defects for a total

of 30 days or more. Save your repair orders.

» Used car warranty

Read the Wisconsin Buyers Guide window
label to find out if a used car has any dealer
warranty or remaining manufacturer’s

new car warranty. Ask if any remaining
manufacturer’s warranty will be transferred
and who will pay any transfer fee. The dealer
will show you a separate warranty document
for any warranty listed on the label.

“As Is”

If you buy a car with no dealer warranty,

“As Is” will be marked on the window sticker.
“As Is” means the dealer is not responsible
for repairs the car needs later, even if the

car comes with a manufacturer warranty.
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Tips for smart buying

» Read windows labels about price and
condition. Read the title, odometer
statement and any warranties.

» Test drive the vehicle. The dealer will
ask to see your driver license and may
have you take a salesperson along.

» Ask the vehicle’s former owner
about its condition, mileage and
use. The salesperson will give you
the name and address if you ask.

» Have your own expert check out
the vehicle if the dealer allows.

» Protect yourself and the next owner.
Tell the true miles and use of your trade-in.

» Get promises in writing on the contract.

» Sign only when you're ready to
buy. You may pay a penalty for
cancelling the contract.

» Keep copies of all documents
and anything else you sign.

» Contact the dealership first if you
have a problem after the sale.

» If you are unable to resolve the
problem, contact the WisDOT
Dealer and Agent Section.
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Binding contract

» You sign, you buy

Dealers use the Motor Vehicle Contract form
when selling cars. Read and understand

the contract before you sign. Once you

and the dealer sign the offer, it becomes a
binding contract. The dealer can’t raise the
price or sell the car to anyone else. You can't
cancel the contract without a penalty.

The contract should include the following
information about your purchase:

v/ Whether you're buying the car
with a warranty or “As Is.”

+ Date your vehicle will be delivered.

+ Other conditions of the sale. Get all
promises in writing on the contract.

» No three-day right to cancel

Many consumers mistakenly believe they
have three days to cancel the purchase
contract. They do not. The three day
“cooling off” period only applies to sales the
dealer makes away from the dealership.

» Trade-in

Get the price for your trade-in written on the
purchase contract. The price won't change
unless you put on more miles than agreed
to in the contract, remove parts, or damage

wisconsindot.gov

the car before you trade it in. Protect yourself and the
next owner by giving accurate information about your
trade-in’s mileage and condition, and how it is used.

» Buying “upside-down”

It's possible that you could owe more on your
trade-in than it's worth. That'’s called “negative
equity” or being “upside-down” on your trade. The
amount you owe may be added to your new loan.

» License Plates

You must display a license plate on all autos
and light trucks. Your dealer will provide you
with a temporary plate good for 90 days if
you do not have a plate to transfer.

Some dealers offer title and registration services
that allow them to give you plates and stickers
right away. If you choose this option you will
receive your title sooner than if your dealer mails
your application. There is a fee for this service.

» Record of the sale

Your dealer will give you the following documents
or copies as soon as you sign them.

Save them all:

+ Motor Vehicle Purchase Contract

v/ Odometer statement from the dealer
v Window labels

v Any warranty or service agreement
v Any finance contract

v Anything else you sign
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Speakers available

Call the WisDOT Dealer and Agent
Section at (608) 266-1425 to reserve
a speaker for your class or meeting.

Topics include: smart car buying,
lemon law, odometer tampering.

It's free, but please allow 4 weeks notice.

For more information
Wisconsin Department of Transportation
(WisDOT) Dealer and Agent Section
4822 Madison Yards Way

Third Floor South

Madison, WI 53705

Phone: (608) 266-1425
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