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MOTOR VEHICLE DEALER QUICK START GUIDE 

Website address: www.wisconsindmv.gov 

 License certificate - Hang it on the wall at your licensed location. If you have any branches or sub-lots, there is 
a certificate to display at each location. (Wis. State Stat. §218.0114(17)) 

Salesperson licenses - Each salesperson should sign his or her license and carry it when making sales. (Wis. 
State Stat. § 218.0114(18)) – MV2184 – Salesperson / Representative License Application 

Salvage buyer identification (BID) cards - If you applied for any-they allow you access to salvage pool 
(insurance) auctions. (Wis. State Stat. § 218.51(1) & Wis. Admin. Code Trans 147.07) – MV2651 – Salvage 
Buyer Identification (BID) Card Application. 

Buyer’s licenses - Required by employees or those who contract with motor vehicle dealers or wholesalers to 
submit bids and purchase motor vehicles held and offered for sale by motor vehicle wholesale auctions and 
dealers. (By policy only, owners are not required to have one but may apply for one if they wish to.  This may 
change in the near future) (Wis. State Stat. § 218.0114(18)) – MV2941 – Buyer’s License Application. 

Dealer License Plates – Plates come in a pack of two: any additional plates will be ordered and should be 
received within 3-4 weeks. (Wis. State Stat. § 341.51(2)) – MV2176 – Additional or Replacement Plates 
Application (Dealers). 

Electronic Processing Required – Mandatory dealer processing has been required since a law was passed in 
2007.  Your dealership must process electronically within 30 days of the issuance of your license.  (Wis. State 
Stat. § 342.16(1)(a), (am) & Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 141.03(1)) 

Dealer and Agent Section phone hotline hours: 

7:30 – 4:30 Mon thru Friday  

  

http://www.wisconsindmv.gov/
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/218/I/0114/17
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/218/I/0114/18
https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv2184.docx
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/218/X/51/1
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/147/07
https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv2651.docx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv2651.docx
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/218/I/0114/18
https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv2941.docx
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/341/IV/51/2
https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv2176.docx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv2176.docx
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/342/II/16/1/a
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/342/II/16/1/am
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/141/03
http://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/tips-tls-dlr/dascontactinfo.aspx
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BUSINESS FORMS 

WHAT FORMS SHOULD I ORDER 

• Wisconsin Title and License Plate Application (MV11) 
• Wisconsin Buyers Guide (also known as window stickers or buyer disclosure labels MV2872) 
• Wholesale Buyers Guide (used for dealer to dealer sales disclosures MV2895) 
• Standard Motor Vehicle Purchase Contracts or Used Motor Vehicle Purchase contracts 
• Motor Vehicle Log Book (this log book may also be kept electronically.)  

WHERE TO GET THE FORMS 

WATDSASI Forms Phone: (608)251-5577 

150 E. Gilman St., Ste A Toll Free: (800)236-7672 

Madison, WI 53703 Website: http://www.watdasi.com/ 

 

Reynolds & Reynolds Phone: (800)654-6768 

 Fax: (866)576-3147 

 Website: www.reysource.com  

 

ADAMM - Automobile Dealers 
Association of Mega Milwaukee, Inc. 

 

Phone: 

 

(888)225-9206 

10810 W Liberty Dr Fax: (414)359-9439 

Milwaukee, WI 53224 Website: https://shop.adamm.com/default.asp  

 

R. B. Cotton & Associates Phone: (414)393-0000 

4820 N 76th Street Fax: (414)393-0897 

Milwaukee, WI 53218 Website: www.idgwisconsin.com  

 

http://www.watdasi.com/
http://www.reysource.com/
https://shop.adamm.com/default.asp
http://www.idgwisconsin.com/
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FORMS SUPPLIED BY THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

Some commonly used forms are listed below.  See our website for all dealer related forms:   
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/dlr-frms-pbs/dealer-forms.aspx 

MV2176 Additional or Replacement Plates Application (Dealers) 
MV2340 Dealer/Agent Rescinded Sale Statement of Fact 
MV2932 Permission to pick up title 
MV2947 Order (Yellow) Mailing Labels - MV2948 
MV2984 Electronic Record Storage Statement and Guidelines (maintain business records 
electronically) 
MV2184 Salesperson/Representative License Application 
MV2651 Salvage Buyer Identification (BID) Card Application 
MV2941 Buyer's License Application 
BVS701 - Program Standards APPS (vendor system) 
BVS702 - Program Standards eMV PARTNER 

To order printed forms complete DT1435 Request for Forms or contact Maps and Publications, Wisconsin 
Department of Transportation, P.O. Box 7713, Madison, WI 53707-7713, (608) 246-3265. 

  

https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/dlr-frms-pbs/dealer-forms.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv2176.pdf
https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv2340.pdf
https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv2932.pdf
https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv2947.pdf
https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv2984.pdf
https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv2184.pdf
https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv2651.pdf
https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv2941.pdf
https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/dmv/dlr-agents/dlr-frms-pbs/BVS701-ProgramStandardsAPPS.pdf
https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/dmv/dlr-agents/dlr-frms-pbs/BVS702-programstandardsemvpartner.pdf
https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/dt1435.doc
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CONTACTS 

DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION 

Special Plates:  Phone: (608)266-3041 

Personalized, Disabled, all special interest plates 

http://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/special-list.aspx 

Vehicle & Driver Records (DMV Contact Center): Phone: (608)264-7447 

Titling and registration problems, including mechanics lien procedures; rebuilt vehicle, title 
brands; correspondence letters; vehicle record searches, lien holder information; 

verify status of Wisconsin driver license 

https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/online-srvcs/online.aspx 

Dealer & Agent Section: 

Dealer and salesperson license; Bid card; Consumer complaints, Lemon Law and Odometer 
information; Wise Buys; Lease advertising, practices and licensing 

http://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/tips-tls-dlr/dascontactinfo.aspx  

Dealer Licensing Unit: 
Phone: 

Fax: 

(608)266-1425 

(608)267-0323 

Questions about your dealer license, salesperson, BID and buyers licenses and to report lost or 
stolen dealer plates. They also answer questions about signing on for e-MV electronic processing.   

e-mail:  dealerlicensingunit@dot.wi.gov 

Agent Partnership Unit: Phone: (608)266-3566 

Questions you have about title processing for your electronic processing program.  

e-mail:  DOTDMVBVSCCAAPU@dot.wi.gov 

Electronic Processing   

http://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/special-list.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/online-srvcs/online.aspx
http://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/tips-tls-dlr/dascontactinfo.aspx
mailto:dealerlicensingunit@dot.wi.gov
mailto:DOTDMVBVSCCAAPU@dot.wi.gov
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eMV PARTNER sign up questions Phone: (608)266-1425 

APPS Hotline  Phone: (608)266-3566 

(Automated Processing Partnership System), Assistance with title or registration questions for 
dealers processing electronically. 

Field Investigation Unit: 

Questions about disclosures, advertising sales, and record keeping.   

See the territory map for contact information. 

e-mail:  DealerInvestigationUnit@dot.wi.gov  

Emission Inspection Program: 

General test information, test station locations 

Phone: 

Toll-Free: 

(414)266-1080 

(800)242-7510 

Motor Carrier Services:   

Insurance, International Registration Plan (IRP), Fuel Tax, Permits 
(Oversize, overweight) 

Phone: (608)266-9900 

 

DMV Plate Room:   

Plate orders shipment problems Phone: (608)266-1473 

Place plate orders (must be done by fax) Fax: (608)266-1472 

  

http://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/dmv/shared/fiu-map.pdf
mailto:DealerInvestigationUnit@dot.wi.gov


9 | P a g e  
 

OTHER STATE AGENCIES 

Department of Agriculture, Trade, and Consumer Protection – Repair facility regulation 

Website:  www.datcp.wi.gov  

2811 Agriculture Drive Phone: (800)422-7128 

PO Box 8911 Fax: (608)224-4677 

Madison, WI 53708-8911 TTY: (608)224-5058 

Department of Financial Institutions - Credit sales; leasing (over 4 months); motor vehicle sales finance 
companies; forming corporations, LLC 

Website:  www.wdfi.org  

Bureau of Consumer Affairs Phone: (608)264-7969 

PO Box 8041 Toll-Free in (800)452-3328 

Madison, WI 53708-8041 Wisconsin  

Department of Safety and Professional Services – Regulate professional licenses such as auctioneers. 

Website:  www.dsps.wi.gov  

1400 East Washington Ave., Rm 112 Phone: (608)266-2112 

PO Box 8935 Toll-Free: (877)617-1565 

Madison, WI 53708-8935 E-mail:  dsps@wisconsin.gov 

Department of Natural Resources – Boat information, Hazardous air and waste disposal 

Website:  www.dnr.wi.gov  

Locations by region:  http://dnr.wi.gov/Contact/SSbyRegion.html  

101 S Webster Street 

PO Box 7921 

Madison, WI 53707-7921 

Phone: 

Toll-Free 

Fax: 

(608)266-2621 

(888)936-7463 

(608)261-4380 

http://www.datcp.wi.gov/
http://www.wdfi.org/
http://www.dsps.wi.gov/
mailto:dsps@wisconsin.gov
http://www.dnr.wi.gov/
http://dnr.wi.gov/Contact/SSbyRegion.html
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Department of Revenue – Sales tax, quarterly reporting, refunds 

Website:  www.revenue.wi.gov  

Locations:  https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/ise-address.aspx  

2135 Rimrock Road Phone: (608)266-2772 

Madison, WI 53713 Fax: (608)267-0834 

Department of Workforce Development – Wages, employee complaints 

Website:  www.dwd.wisconsin.gov  

Locations:  http://www.wisconsinjobcenter.org/directory/default.htm  

 Phone: (608)266-3131 

 Toll-Free: (888)258-9966 

Wisconsin Commissioner of Insurance – Service agreements other than dealer or manufacturer warranty 

Website:  www.oci.wi.gov 

125 South Webster Street Phone: (608)266-3585 

Madison, WI 53703-3474 Toll-Free (800)236-8517 

Department of Justice – Attorney General of Wisconsin – Class action suits 

Website:  www.doj.state.wi.us  

17 W Main Street Phone: (608)266-1221 

PO Box 7857 Fax: (608)267-2779 

Madison, WI 53703-7857   

  

http://www.revenue.wi.gov/
https://www.revenue.wi.gov/Pages/FAQS/ise-address.aspx
http://www.dwd.wisconsin.gov/
http://www.wisconsinjobcenter.org/directory/default.htm
http://www.oci.wi.gov/
http://www.doj.state.wi.us/
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OTHER AGENCIES 

United States Customs & Border Patrol – Federal regulations for exporting vehicles 

Website:  www.cbp.gov  

619 S. Canal Street Rm 300 Toll-Free (877)227-5511 

Chicago, IL 60607   

National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) – Auto Safety Hotline 

Website:  www.nhtsa.gov 

1200 New Jersey Ave SE Toll-Free: (888)327-4236 

Washington, DC 20590   

Advertising Dealers Association of Mega Milwaukee (ADAMM) 

Website:  www.adamm.org 

10810 W Liberty Drive Phone: (414)359-9000 

Milwaukee, WI 53224 Fax: (414)359-9439 

Wisconsin Automobile and Truck Dealers Association (WATDA) 

Website:  www.watda.org 

150 E Gilman Street, Suite A Phone: (608)251-5577 

Madison, WI 53703 Fax: (608)251-4379 

 

  

http://www.cbp.gov/
http://www.nhtsa.gov/
file://mad00fpg/w5shardlrs/FIU/01%20-%20INVESTIGATOR%20FILES%20(Not%20for%20Complaints)/Pillar/PROJECTS/Right%20Way%20Manual/www.adamm.org
http://www.watda.org/
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ADVERTISING 

Wis. Admin. Trans Code 139.03 

The State and Federal laws that regulate dealer advertising are enforced by several agencies.  The Dealer and 
Agent Section reviews print, radio, television and Internet ads for truthful and factual information. 

CLEAR AND CONSPICUOUS  

Disclosure in all advertising must be made “clearly and conspicuously.”  For example, footnotes in TV, Internet 
or print ads must be easy to read and understandable.  Likewise, listeners need to be able to clearly hear and 
comprehend radio ads.  Also, Internet customers should not have to search through the complete web site for 
disclosures.  

FACTUAL – Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 139.03(2) 

Using false, deceptive or misleading advertising or representations to induce the purchase of a motor vehicle 
is an unfair practice and is prohibited.  For example, ads that state, “We’ll pay off your loan no matter how 
much you owe,” are misleading, because they do not tell customers that their current loan balance will be 
added to the loan for the new vehicle they are purchasing.   

When you make a statement of fact in any advertisement or representation, you must be prepared to provide 
detailed evidence of its accuracy and validity to the department upon request.  For example, when advertising, 
“More than 200 used trucks in stock,” you must be able to provide proof that you have more than 200 trucks 
in stock at the time of the ad. 

When advertising fuel economy, the fuel economy estimate must be from the EPA. The advertisement should 
include a disclosure that states: “Per EPA estimates.” 

When advertising MSRP alongside a sale price for a new vehicle, a disclosure must be included that states: 
“Manufacturer Suggested Retail Price may not represent actual sale price.”  

Clearly identify which vehicles are for sale and which are for lease when advertising both in the same ad.  If 
the advertisement contains only lease vehicles, you must disclose that fact. 

All ads should include: 

• Dealership name.  
• Expiration terms of a sale or promotion. 
• Model year of any specific vehicles described. 

Do not use an address, phone number or e-mail address other than that of the dealership’s licensed location 
or authorized temporary location.  A business card may include a home phone number or e-mail address in 
addition to the business phone number and address.   

  

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/03
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“THE LARGEST” – Wis. Admin. Trans.  Code 139.03(2)(b)  

An advertisement that a dealership is the “largest” must be based only on vehicle sales volume, and clearly 
state the basis for the claim.  Include the period in which the dealership was the “largest,” if not the entire last 
12 months. Include the make of vehicle the dealership sold to become the “largest.” Include the geographic 
area in which the dealership claims to be the largest, if other than statewide.  In determining new vehicle sales 
volume, each vehicle make must be considered separately. 

NEW VEHICLES – WIS. ADMIN. CODE TRANS 139.03(12)  

Only franchised new vehicle dealers, distributors and manufacturers may advertise or sell new vehicles.  
“New” means any untitled or non-privately titled motor vehicle of the stated model year which has not been 
operated more than 200 miles for purposes other than manufacturer tests, pre-delivery test by a dealer, 
dealer exchange or delivery. 

A titled vehicle is considered new if it has not been privately titled and has been operated less than 6,000 
miles, or has been operated less than 4,000 cumulative miles and owned less than 120 days by the dealer 
offering the vehicle for sale – Wis. Admin. Code Trans 137.03(9) (Definition of a used vehicle). 

USED VEHICLES 

A vehicle must be advertised as “used” when the vehicle is other than a new motor vehicle and includes 
executive or demonstrator vehicles or is from the previous model year. 

• Executive means any untitled or non-privately titled motor vehicle, which was used primarily by 
executives of licensed manufacturers, distributors or dealers and not used for demonstration to the 
public – Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.02(5). 

• Demonstrator means any untitled or non-privately titled motor vehicle, which was used primarily for 
the purpose of demonstration to the public – Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.02(4). 

• Previous model year means a vehicle after December 31 of the calendar year identical to the 
manufacturer’s designated model year – Wis. Admin. Code Trans 137.03(9)(b)4. 

To clarify: a 2019 model year vehicle may be offered for sale and sold by any motor vehicle dealer after 
December 31, 2019. 

PROGRAM CARS 

“Program cars” are typically factory executive, rental or off-lease vehicles or vehicles repurchased and sold by 
manufacturers.  The term “program cars” is misleading because it doesn’t tell your customer the prior use of 
the vehicle.  Advertisements of “program cars” should state the prior use, each time the term is used, so 
customers know what is being advertised.  For example: “Program Rental Cars.” 

  

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/03/2/b
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/03/12
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/137/03/9
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/02/5
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/02/4
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/137/03/9/b/4
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DAMAGED VEHICLES 

If the same cause damages two or more vehicles, include the cause of the damage in all ads regardless of the 
extent of damage.  For example, if a hailstorm or tornado damaged two or more vehicles, disclose the cause of 
the damage.  Always tell the customer about a flood-damaged vehicle, whatever the extent of the damage. 

AVAILABILITY – Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.03(10)  

When you say a certain type of vehicle is available, be sure you have enough to meet anticipated demand.  If 
the vehicles are not on hand, you must know that they will be delivered within a reasonable time. 

“FREE” MERCHANDISE – Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.03(7)  

Don’t use the word “free” in any advertising if the customer must purchase something to receive the “free” 
merchandise, equipment, accessories or service.  You may state that an item “is included” with the purchase 
of the item. 

CLEARANCE SALES – Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.03(9)  

Phrases such as “last of the remaining, closeout, or clearance,” can only be used when you will no longer be 
offering that year, make or model of vehicle for sale.  Do not use these statements to advertise used vehicles 
unless the dealership is actually going out of business. 

VEHICLE PRICES – Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.03(3)  

The advertised price must include all charges that the customer will pay, except sales tax, title, registration 
fees, and service fees.  Post advertised prices on the vehicle.  Don’t use phrases such as “write your own deal” 
or “name your own price” because they mislead customers – Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 139.03(8).  The 
advertised price does not need to include the amount of the service fee if the advertisement clearly and 
conspicuously discloses that the advertised price does not include the optional service fee.  Written 
advertisements shall disclose the amount of the service fee, or that the advertised price does not include the 
amount of the service fee. 

ADVERTISING SERVICE FEE – Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.03(3)  

The advertised price does not need to include the amount of the service fee if the advertisement clearly and 
conspicuously discloses that the advertised price does not include the optional service fee.  Written 
advertisements shall disclose the amount of the service fee, or that the advertised price does not include the 
amount of the service fee.  

NEW VEHICLE DISCOUNT – Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.03(3)(b)  

You may only advertise new vehicles using terms such as “invoice,” “cost,” or similar terms when you disclose 
that the “actual dealer cost is, or may be less, due to factory holdbacks, rebates, incentives, or other 
discounts.” 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/03/10
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/03/7
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/03/9
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/03/3
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/03/8
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/03/3
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/03/3/b
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USED VEHICLE PRICING GUIDES – Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.03(5)  

Do not use new vehicle price lists, wholesale or retail pricing guides to compare price savings for specific used 
vehicles. 

Exception:  A motor vehicle pricing guide may be used if the use of the guide as the source of the pricing is 
stated in any required disclosure and the dealer makes the full objective documentation used to set the price 
available in writing to the customer.  

TRADE-IN ALLOWANCE – Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.03(4)  

You may not use a specific price as an offer for a trade-in if the price is based on the condition, model, or age 
of the trade-in. You are not allowed to use phrases such as, “we will pay up to,” “appraise your own vehicle” or 
“as much as” when advertising an allowance for a trade-in. You are allowed to say, “Push, pull or drag” when 
advertising a trade-in allowance if it is truthful.  

REBATES – Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.05(8r)  

Whenever rebates are advertised, specify the type of rebate, the dollar amount and whether you or the buyer 
is to receive the rebate.  

Rebates applied to an advertised price must be available to everyone. If there are any qualifications that 
prohibit a customer from being eligible to receive a rebate, the rebate cannot be included in an advertised 
price or payment.  

Qualifying rebates can be included in an advertisement, if it is clear the qualifying rebate is not part of the 
advertised price.  

When including rebates in an advertised price, the following disclosure must be included: “Manufacturer 
rebates applied. Everyone qualifies.” 

Example: 

The manufacturer is offering two rebates on a popular model of sedan. Rebate A is $1000 Customer Cash 
available to everyone. Rebate B is $500 First Time Graduate available only to recent college or high school 
graduates. The MSRP of the vehicle is $15000. 

ALLOWED  NOT ALLOWED 

MSRP: $15,000.00  MSRP: $15,000.00 

Customer Cash: -$1,000.00  Customer Cash -$1,000.00 

Final Price: $14,000.00  First Time Grad -$500.00 

First Time Grad -$500.00  Final Price: $13,500.00 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/03/5
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/03/4
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/05/8r


16 | P a g e  
 

REBATES OFFERED BY A MANUFACTURER’S DESIGNATED FINANCE COMPANY 

Purchases—no finance rebates may be applied to purchases if the customer must finance the vehicle from the 
Manufacturer’s designated finance company to qualify for the rebate. 

Example: A $1000 “MFG Co. Credit” Bonus Cash offer requiring the customer to finance through MFG Co. 
Credit cannot be applied to an advertised price. 

Leases—lease rebates which require the customer to lease through the manufacturer’s designated finance 
company or an independent finance company are allowable and can be applied but the ad must state that one 
“Must lease through (name of finance company)”.   

Example:  $2,500 Red Carpet Lease Cash applied.  Must lease through “MFG Finance Co”. 

BUNDLING REBATES 

“Bundling” means the process of combining or stacking multiple rebates into a single incentive in an 
advertisement. Any bundled rebates must be available to everyone. Bundling rebates is allowed if the 
following conditions are met: 

In print ads, (including billboards, dealership windows, hang tags, etc.), the rebates to all must be itemized. If 
not adjacent to the price or payment, the rebates must be listed in the end disclaimer. 

In radio, the rebates to all must be itemized.  If not spoken adjacent to the price or payment, the rebates must 
be listed in the end disclaimer. 

On TV, the rebates to all must be itemized. If not adjacent to the price or payment, the rebates must be listed 
on the same screen as the price or payment in a readable disclaimer. 

On the internet, the rebates to all must be itemized. If not written adjacent to the price or payment, one could 
do one of the following: 

• Scroll over the price or payment to see the rebates 
• See the listed rebates “one-click away” 
• View the listed rebates in the comments section of the VDP (vehicle description page) 
• List the rebates at the bottom of the webpage as long as a reference is made near the “savings” or 

“final price or payment” that clearly refers the customer to the bottom of the page. 

BUY PAYMENTS—TRIGGERING TERMS 

Whenever you are advertising a buy payment for vehicle financing, e.g. “Buy this 2020 Ford Escape at 
$400/month”, the advertisement must include the following terms: 

• # of months 
• APR, with the initials “APR” written after the rate 
• Down payment (can be specific amount, a percentage, or no down payment) 
• Disclose that tax, title, license, and service fees are extra 
• Any manufacturer rebates included in the financing must available to everyone, must be itemized by 

type and amount, and must be disclosed: “Manufacturer rebates applied. Everyone qualifies.” 
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If you are advertising APR and number of months, you must also include: 

• Cost of financing 
• Down payment (or state “no down payment required”) 

When advertising only APR, the advertisement must state “to approved credit.” No other disclosures are 
required. 

LEASE ADVERTISING 

When you use any of the following “triggering” terms when advertising a vehicle lease, you must include all of 
the following disclosures: 

Triggering terms: 
• Amount of any payment required. 
• A statement that any down payment is required or no down payment. 
Required disclosures: 
• That the transaction is a lease. 
• The total amount of any payment required at the beginning of the lease (or a statement that none is 

required).  
• The number amounts, due date, and total of payments under the lease.  
• Whether the lessee has the option to buy the vehicle and at what price. 
• The amount of any liabilities the lessee may have at the end of the lease. 

LEASE-ONLY DEALER ADVERTISING 

Ads for “lease-only” dealerships must show the phone number and address for the licensed location.  If the 
lease-only dealership is located on the premises of a financial institution, the dealership address may be 
followed by the name of the bank in which the dealership is located. 

For example, an ad might read, “Joe’s Leasing [address], located in Elm Street Savings and Loan.”    

Lease-only dealerships may not advertise vehicles for sale, or advertise specific vehicles for lease, since the 
dealership holds no inventory. 

ONLINE ADVERTISING 

When advertising online, take note of the following considerations. 

One Click Away—Material information relevant to an ad—such as disclaimers or a list of manufacturer rebates 
available on a vehicle—can be located up to “one click away” from the main advertisement. For example, a 
dealer can choose to include a link next to an advertised price that directs the customer to additional 
information on rebates. 

When choosing to place material information “one click away” from the main advertisement, it’s important to 
do so in a way that will direct the customer to find the information. For example, a dealer may put a link below 
an advertised price that reads: “Click here for important disclosures.”  
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Do not “bury” material information by placing it in unassociated webpages, or by using innocuous terms to 
describe a link. Do not assume a customer will click on any link, or visit any other portion of your webpage 
aside from the main advertisement, unless they are given a legitimate reason to do so by information 
presented in the ad. 

Consistency—Consumers have many options for navigating to your website and browsing vehicle ads. One 
consumer might begin looking for a vehicle through a search engine, while another may choose to go directly 
to your homepage. In both cases the consumer might click through a completely different series of webpages 
to reach the same vehicle ad.  

It’s important that material information—such as disclosures—are presented in a way that, regardless of how 
a consumer finds the vehicle ad, the consumer receives the same information.  

For example, wherever an advertised price is listed on a website, it must be accompanied by proper 
disclosures. If you advertise the sale price for a used 2017 Dodge Charger on your homepage, the Search 
Results Page (SRP) and the Vehicle Detail Page (VDP), and the price does not include tax, title, license, and 
service fee, each page must include a disclosure stating these fees are extra.   
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RECORDS 

RETAIL DEALERSHIP RECORDS  

Retail dealers are required to keep and maintain the following books and records at the licensed business 
location for a period of five (5) years: (Wis. State Stat. §218.0116(3)(a)1, 342.16(2), & Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 
138.04(3)) 

• Original ownership documents must be in the file for all vehicles offered for sale 
• Copy of both sides of the ownership document for all vehicles sold 

•  MSO or title 
• Auction bills of sale 
• Block ticket 

• Odometer statement, incoming and outgoing which should be shown on the title. Original or copy of the 
motor vehicle purchase contract, purchase orders, and invoices.  

• Copy of the MV11 (Wisconsin Title and Registration application) or electronic receipt if processing 
electronically.  

• Consignment agreements.  
• Wisconsin Buyers Guide.  
• Wholesale Buyers Guide.  
• Used Vehicle Logbook.  
• Temporary plate logbook. 
• Lease agreement. 
• Power of Attorney. 

All records must be available during business hours for the department to inspect and copy.  Multi-dealer 
group dealerships may centralize their records. 

WHOLESALE DEALER RECORDS -  (WIS. ADMIN. TRANS. CODE 138.04(2))  

Wholesale dealers are required to keep and maintain the following books and records at the licensed business 
location for a period of five (5) years: 

• Copy of both sides of the ownership document: 
• Title 
• Auction Bill of sale 
• Block ticket 

• Odometer statement, incoming and outgoing which should be shown on the title.  
• Wholesale Buyers Guide. 
• Used Vehicle Logbook. 

  

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/218/I/0116/3/a/1
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/342/II/16/2http:/docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/342/II/16/2
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/138/04/3
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/138/04/2
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AUCTION DEALER RECORDS 

Auctions are required to retain records for each auctioned vehicle for five (5) years (Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 
138.05(4)). These records must include: 

• Copy of both sides of the ownership document (MSO or title). 
• Name of the most recent selling dealer. 
• Buyer’s name and address. 
• Vehicle year, make, identification number. 
• Odometer reading including mileage status as of the date the auction took possession.  For example, mark 

whether mileage is actual or not actual. 
  

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/138/05/4
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/138/05/4
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USED VEHICLE CHECK LIST 

 Enter vehicle in logbook immediately. - Wis. State Stats. § 342.16(2), and § 218.0116(5); Wis. Admin. 

Trans. Code 138.04(1)(f) and (h), 

 Title must be available and signed by the seller.  - Wis. State Stat. § 342.15(1)(a); assigned to the 

dealer, Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 138.04(1)(a); date signed by the seller; mileage entered by the seller; 

and the lien must be released Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 139.07. 

 Odometer statement from previous owner on conforming title. - Wis. State Stat. § 342.155(1)(b); Wis. 

Admin. Trans. Code. 139.04(7)(b) & (c). 

 Reassignment from any and all dealers and auctions on conforming title. - Wis. State Stat. § 

342.16(1)(a); Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 154.06. 

 Conduct inspection of the vehicle and complete the Wisconsin Buyers Guide. - Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 

139.04(4) & (5). 

 Display Wisconsin Buyers Guide in vehicle.  Guide must be displayed in the vehicle, attached to a 

window, if possible. - Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 139.04(6)(a).  

 Test drives - Make sure the driver has a valid driver's license. 

 Dealer plate can be displayed provided all items above are completed. - Wis. State Stat. § 341.55(1) & 

(2), Wis. State Stat. § 341.47. 

 Purchase contract completed by a licensed sales person - Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 139.05(1). First six 

items above must be completed before a purchase contract is written. - Wis. State Stat. § 218.0141; 

Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 139.05. 

 Explain Buyers Guide.  Have buyer sign and date your file copy - Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 139.04(6). 

 MV11 completed and submitted to DMV within 7 business days. - Wis. State Stat. § 342.16(1)(a). 

 Provide customer with a temporary license plate if they do not have a license plate to transfer – Wis. 

State Stat. § 341.09(1)(a); Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 132.06. If you are an APPS dealer, you must provide 

a metal plate when processing the application. 

 Enter sold vehicle information in logbook. - Wis. State Stat. § 34216(2) and Wis. State Stat. § 

218.0116(5); Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 138.04(1)(f) & (h). 

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/342/II/16/2
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/218/I/0116/5
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/138/04/1/f
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/138/04/1/h
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/342/II/15/1/a
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/138/04/1/a
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/07
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/342/II/155/1/b
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/04/7/b
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/04/7/c
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/342/II/16/1/a
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/154/06
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/04/4
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/04/5
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/04/6/a
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/341/IV/55/1
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/341/IV/55/2
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/341/IV/47
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/05/1
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/218/I/0141
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/05
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/04/6
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/342/II/16/1/a
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/341/I/09/1/a
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/132/06
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/342/II/16/2
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/218/I/0116/5
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/138/04/1/f
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/138/04/1/h
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USED VEHICLE LOGBOOK 

Retail, wholesale, and auction dealers must keep the following information for every used vehicle, including 
demonstrator and executive vehicles that you buy, sell, exchange, or consign.  If you transfer vehicles within a 
dealership group, you must record them in the logbook at each dealership location.  You may keep the 
logbook records manually or electronically, but you must keep the information in this format: 

Date 
Acquired 

Acquired From:  Name and 
Address 

Year – Make - VIN Date sold or 
disposed of 

Disposed of or 
sold to:  Name 
and Address 

Manual record keeping requires a permanently bound book with pre-numbered pages and ruled horizontal 
lines.  Enter each vehicle consecutively in the order in which you acquired it.  Entries must be in ink and 
legible.  No blank lines will be allowed. 

Note: Correct logbook errors by drawing one line through the error and re-entering the information on the 
next available line.  Don’t use whiteout or obliterate the information.  When acquiring or selling a vehicle at an 
auction, list both the auction and dealer’s name in your logbook. 

The following are examples of how to enter information and how to correct errors. 

Date 
Acquired 

Acquired From:  Name and 
Address 

Year – Make - VIN Date sold or 
disposed of 

Disposed of or 
sold to:  Name 
and Address 

07/15/2020 MMAA/Joes A/S, 123 Main, 
Fond Du Lac 

2017 Ford   
1FAPB2375TL769874 

08/01/2020 Kim’s Kars, 400 
Main, Kaukauna 

07/15/2020 FVAA/Kim’s Kars, 400 Main, 
Kaukauna 

2015 Ford 
1FARP52U3JG121038 

  

07/22/2020 FVAA/Kim’s Kars, 400 Main 
Kaukauna  

2008 Ford 
1FABP52U3JG121038 

  

07/22/2020 Toms Trucks, 100 South St, 
Tomahawk 

2018 Chev 
2CEB567891P123657 

07/31/2020 Bob Smith, 123 
Main, Blumer 

Wis. Admin. Code Trans 138.04(1)(f) 

Electronic record keeping requires that vehicle information is retrievable by any of the following fields: 

• Date the vehicle was acquired. 
• Name of the owner from whom you acquired the vehicle. 
• Vehicle identification number (VIN). 
• Date of sale. 
• Name of the person to whom you sold the vehicle. 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/138/04/1/f
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Records must be retrievable during a WisDOT inspection.  You must keep a printer on site and print the 
records at the department’s request.  An employee must be available to retrieve the records during business 
hours. 

You may meet the record retention requirements by keeping a printed copy of records if your system memory 
is limited.  The printed copy must show the following: 

• Only the records of vehicles that have been disposed of or sold.  Records of vehicles that have not been 
sold must remain on the electronic system until the record is completed after the sale. 

• All the information in the same format as required for a logbook kept manually.  However, horizontal and 
vertical lines are not required. 

• Entries must be in order by the date the vehicle was acquired.  Each report should contain at least twelve 
(12) months’ worth of records. 

• System-generated page numbers and the current date on every page. 

Wis. Admin. Code Trans 138.04 (1)(h) 

DISCLOSURE – Wis. Stat. §218.0116(1)(e).  

Dealers must provide certain information and documents to customers when offering a vehicle for sale. State 
and federal laws require disclosures to protect consumers and to allow them enough information to make an 
informed decision when buying a vehicle. Dealers are responsible for properly disclosing vehicle information. 
All written or spoken information dealership staff gives to customers must be truthful. Concealing facts or 
failing to provide required information is illegal.   

MODEL YEAR DISCLOSURE - Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.04(1).  

For any vehicle offered for sale, the manufacturer's original designated model year must be disclosed on the 
Wisconsin Buyers Guide and the Motor Vehicle Purchase Contract.  Vehicles manufactured by a second stage 
manufacturer may require that both the chassis model year and the year of second stage manufacturing be 
disclosed. For example, a motor home completed by a second stage manufacturer in 2019 on a 2018 chassis 
would require both model years to be disclosed.   

NEW VEHICLE DISCLOSURE - Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.04(2).  

For new vehicles, disclose the following information on the purchase contract and the dealer supplemental 
price label: 

• Any original parts, equipment or accessories that have been removed or replaced with parts of lesser 
quality. 

• Any products and accessories that have been installed or services that have been performed after the 
vehicle left the factory. 

Any warranty included with dealer installed options or accessories needs to be disclosed on the purchase 
contract only. 

  

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/138/04/1/h
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/218/I/0116/1/e
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/04/1
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/04/2
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PRE-DELIVERY TEST AND INSPECTION REPORT - Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.04(2)(b) 
• Give the purchaser a copy of the Pre-delivery test and inspection report before delivering a vehicle. 
• Indicate on the report any items repaired at the dealership. 

MANUFACTURER SUGGESTED RETAIL PRICE (MSRP) LABEL – Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.04(3(a)  

This federally required label must remain on the window of a new, demonstrator, or executive driven vehicle 
until the vehicle is delivered to the retail purchaser. The MSRP label contains information about standard 
equipment, options, base price, transportation charges, final assembly point and receiving dealer. 
15 U.S. Code Chapter 28 

DEALER SUPPLEMENTAL PRICE LABEL – Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.04(3)(b)  

On the dealer supplemental price label, disclose all equipment or services the dealer adds or removes after 
the vehicle leaves the factory. The label should include the following: 

• Description and retail price of dealer installed optional equipment, accessories or services. 
• Price changes from the MSRP including dealer mark-up 
• Service fee charged. 
• Final dealer price. 

Attach the label to the vehicle window in a conspicuous location. Do not remove the label until the vehicle is 
delivered to the customer. 

Optional items or services that may be available for purchase but have not been installed (such as an extended 
warranty) should not be shown on the dealer supplemental price label. 

DAMAGE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT – Wis. Admin Code Trans 139.05(6)  

When any new, demonstrator or executive driven vehicle has corrected damage of more than six percent of 
the MSRP, a written disclosure must be presented to the purchaser before delivery of the vehicle. Retail repair 
costs determine corrected damage.  Damage to a vehicle's glass, tires, or bumpers is excluded in determining 
the six percent amount when the replacement parts are identical to the manufacturer's original equipment. 
Any uncorrected damage, regardless of the extent, must also be disclosed to the purchaser before delivery of 
the vehicle. 

LEASE BUY-OUT DISCLOSURES – Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.04(6)(c)7. 

When a lease customer wishes to exercise the option to buy his or her leased vehicle, it is not necessary to 
inspect the leased vehicle before sale or complete the disclosures on the Wisconsin Buyers Guide. This 
disclosure exemption applies only when the lessee, the lessee's agent, or driver is buying the vehicle. In the 
event of a lease buy-out by the lessee or agent, keep a signed "statement of fact" from the purchaser on file 
for five years instead of a Wisconsin Buyers Guide. Also, note that a lease buy-out must be transacted by a 
licensed salesperson using the motor vehicle purchase contract. 

  

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/04/2/b
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/04/3/a
https://uscode.house.gov/view.xhtml?path=/prelim@title15/chapter28&edition=prelim
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/04/3/b
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/05/8
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/05/6
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/04/6/c/7
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SERVICE FEES 

You may charge a service fee for completing inspections and forms required by law.  The service fee is a 
dealership fee, not a government fee, and is not required by law.  Service fees reflect your costs for complying 
with mandated state and federal laws and may be negotiable. 

If you charge a service fee, the fee must first be posted on the vehicle being offered for sale either on the 
Wisconsin Buyer’s Guide for used vehicles or a separate supplemental label for new vehicles.   

Upon request from a purchaser, you must provide a written disclosure of the services included in any service 
fee assessed.  In addition, when asked by DMV you must be able to provide an itemized description of the fee, 
including justification for the amount being charged.   

Examples of some of the items that may be included in a service fee: 

• Check vehicle safety, history and titles. 
• Inspect vehicle to provide full condition information on the window label. 
• Discover and disclose accurate vehicle mileage. 
• Check for recalls on used vehicles where required. 
• Complete required forms and contracts that protect your interests. 
• Process titles and plates electronically. 
• File and clear liens. 
• Keep information private and secure. 
• Fulfill vehicle emission laws. 
• Pass along manufacturer information, including lemon law notices. 
• Process taxes on your purchase and rebates. 
• Keep you informed of your rights and obligations. 
• Keep important records of your purchase. 
• Purchase required forms and supplies. 
• Maintain technology to process and secure your paperwork. 
• Train staff to carry out laws that protect you. 
• Maintain professional licenses that ensure quality service. 

Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.05(8)(a)  

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/05/8
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USED MOTOR VEHICLE DISCLOSURE WISCONSIN BUYERS GUIDE 

Use reasonable care when inspecting vehicles 
for safety and mechanical defects before 
offering them for sale. Standards for vehicle 
equipment are included in Wis. Admin. Trans. 
Code 305 and Wis. State Stat. § 347. Show the 
results of the inspection on the Wisconsin 
Buyers Guide. The guide must be attached to 
the window whenever possible and must be 
readable from outside the vehicle.  We 
recommend placing the guide on a window that 

will not block the driver’s view. The back of the 
guide should be readable from inside the vehicle 
since it contains important consumer 
information. 

Note: The Buyers Guide represents the condition 
of the vehicle at the time of sale. Re-inspect the 
vehicle and complete a new guide anytime there 
is a change in the condition of a vehicle since it 
was first inspected. 

Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.04(6) 

DISPLAY A WISCONSIN BUYERS GUIDE ON ALL VEHICLES, EXCEPT THE FOLLOWING: 
• Trucks over 16,000 pounds 
• Demonstrator or executive-driven vehicles still in service. 
• Vehicles that are not offered for sale and are labeled “not inspected for sale.” 
• Vehicles coming from or going to a wholesale transaction. 
• Unrepaired salvage vehicles that are conspicuously labeled, "This is a salvage vehicle.” 
• A vehicle sold to the lessee at the end of the lease. 
• Vehicles going to or from a place of repair 
• Motorcycles –complete the Used Motorcycle Disclosure form before offering it for sale.  This form does 

not need to be displayed on the motorcycle but must be shown to your customer before you complete 
a purchase contract.  

Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.04(6)(c)  

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/02/15
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/305
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/347
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/04/6
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/04/6/c
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REASONABLE CARE STANDARD – Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.04(6)(a)1.  

Required disclosure of vehicle history, prior use, title brands and vehicle condition are limited to what you find 
using reasonable care. Using reasonable care may mean inspecting more thoroughly than regulations require 
when routine inspection reveals anything suspicious.  Using reasonable care means you will do the following 
before offering a vehicle for sale: 

• Test drive the vehicle and inspect the interior and exterior, including under the hood and under the 
vehicle. You are not required to take the vehicle apart (except brakes) or run tests unless necessary to 
diagnose apparent symptoms. 

• Report information you get from manufacturer and auction notices, prior owner documents and 
disclosures, and your own vehicle inspection and repair records. You are not required to contact prior 
owners or get records of previous titles unless necessary to clear up inconsistent or questionable 
information. 

MATERIAL VEHICLE HISTORY – Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.04(6)(a)1. 

Dealerships are required to disclose any "material history" about a vehicle. Vehicle history is "material" when 
any of the following are true: 

• The information would be important to any reasonable person. 
• Affects the value of the vehicle. 
• The buyer asks about it. 
• The dealership knows or has reason to know the information would be important to the buyer. 

Material history should be disclosed on the Wisconsin Buyers Guide in the same area where you explain any 
condition issues (any “no” and “not legal” items). When history information becomes material after the guide 
has been completed, and you have a buyer, record the information on the Motor Vehicle Purchase Contract 
under "Other conditions of sale." If the vehicle is not sold, complete a new Wisconsin Buyers Guide disclosing 
the material information. When you are unsure whether history information would be material to a buyer, it is 
best to disclose it and avoid problems later. 

COMPLETING THE WISCONSIN BUYERS GUIDE 

VEHICLE INFORMATION – Wis.  Admin. Code Trans 139.04(6)(a)3.  

Enter the dealership name, the vehicle year, make, model, identification number, engine size, drive type and 
transmission in this section. Engine size should be entered in liters or cubic inches and number of cylinders. 
Drive types are front wheel, rear wheel, All-wheel drive, or 4-wheel drive.  Indicate whether the transmission 
is automatic or manual and specify the number of forward gears. Stock numbers are not required; this space is 
provided for your convenience. 

The price entered on the Buyers Guide is considered the advertised price.  Therefore, advertising regulations 
apply. You may not charge a higher price than the price listed on the Buyers Guide. The price on the Buyers 
Guide must match the retail price on the purchase contract. 

Note: For motor homes and other second stage vehicles, show the chassis year and the finished vehicle 
model year if different. 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/04/6/a/1
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/02/15
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/04/6/a/1
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/04/6/a/3
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/03/3
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VEHICLE HISTORY – Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.04(6)(a)1.  

Report the vehicle history from information that appears on the title or is provided by the previous owner. 
You may also obtain information from repair invoices or other documents you find when inspecting the 
vehicle. Use "other" when there is material history to disclose, which falls outside the listed categories. For 
example, “driver education use” should be disclosed under "other." (A vehicle used for driver education may 
have problems associated with the inexperienced drivers that drove it.) Mark "history and use not known" 
only if you have no way of knowing the vehicle history. If you acquire a vehicle titled in the name of an 
insurance company and no other prior history is available, you may mark “titled to insurance”. 

Check all that apply: 

• "Personal use" applies to a motor vehicle owned or leased by an individual and primarily operated for 
personal use.  

• "Business use" applies to a motor vehicle owned or leased by either a company (other than lesser) or 
an individual, and primarily operated for business use. 

• "Lease use" applies to a motor vehicle leased for a period exceeding four months. 
• "Rental use" applies to a motor vehicle rented for less than four months at a time. 
• “Demonstrator use" applies to an untitled or non-privately titled motor vehicle which was used 

primarily for demonstration to the public. 
• “Executive use" applies to an untitled or non-privately titled motor vehicle which was used primarily for 

executives of licensed manufacturers, distributors or dealers and not used for demonstration to the 
public. 

• “Titled / transferred to insurance” applies to a vehicle titled in the name of an insurance company. 
• "Other” applies to a vehicle with other material history that should be disclosed. 
• “History and use not known” applies to a vehicle for which history and prior use cannot be discovered 

by the dealership using reasonable care. 

TITLE BRANDS - Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.04(6)(a)1.  

A title brand is a permanently printed phrase that describes the vehicle's history on all subsequent titles 
produced. Sellers must disclose whether a vehicle was rebuilt salvage, flood damaged, manufacturer buyback, 
non-USA standard, insurance claim paid, formerly used as a police vehicle or a taxicab. Use "other" for non-
USA standard, police vehicle, taxicab, or if another brand exists on an out-of-state title. Failure to disclose 
required brands before transferring ownership may result in fines or imprisonment or both. 

• “Rebuilt salvage" means a motor vehicle that was declared salvage has now been rebuilt and has 
passed a Wisconsin salvage inspection. 

• "Damage claim paid" means a vehicle is less than 7 model years old, damaged more than 30% but less 
than 70% of its fair market value, and, after payment of claim, transferred to the insurance company. 

• "Flood damaged" (water damaged) means a vehicle damaged by flood to the extent that the cost of 
the repairs (estimated or actual, whichever is greater) exceed 70% of its fair market value. 

• "Manufacturer buyback / Lemon" means a vehicle that was repurchased by the manufacturer (or 
authorized dealer with compensation from the manufacturer) under Wisconsin’s, or another state's 
Lemon Law.  

• “Other" means a vehicle with other brands or history requiring a brand not listed on the guide, 
including Non-USA standard, police vehicle, taxicab or brands appearing on out-of-state titles. 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/04/6/a/1
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/04/6/a/1
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o “Non-USA standard” means a vehicle that was not manufactured with all federal emission and 
safety standards applicable at the time of manufacture (gray market vehicle). 

o “Police vehicle” means a vehicle used or registered as a police vehicle by a law enforcement 
agency 

o "Taxicab or for public transportation" means a vehicle used or registered as a taxicab or used 
by public transportation. 

SALVAGE AND BRANDING LAW – Wis. Stat §342.10(3)  

Wisconsin’s salvage title law is referred to as the “Title Branding Law.”  The law requires the Department of 
Transportation to permanently brand titles with historical information.  This section explains your 
responsibilities when dealing with salvage vehicles. 

DEFINITIONS 

“Buyer Identification (BID) Card” means a license card issued by WisDOT authorizing the cardholder to bid on 
and purchase motor vehicles being held and offered for sale by a motor vehicle salvage pool.  

“Brand” means a permanently printed phrase that describes a vehicle’s history on all subsequent titles. 

“Vehicle fair market value” means the value of a vehicle immediately before damage occurs, when that value 
has been determined by reliable sources generally accepted within the automotive and insurance industries.  
Vehicle fair market value may be determined from guidebooks, dealer quotations, computerized valuation 
services and other methods which may be prescribed by the department. 

“Flood damaged vehicle” or water damaged means any motor vehicle that can be registered or titled and is 
damaged by flood to the extent that the estimated or actual cost, whichever is greater, of repairing the vehicle 
exceeds 70% of its fair market value.  If the flood damage occurs in Wisconsin, the vehicle became a salvage 
vehicle. 

“Claim paid brand” means a brand placed on the title of a vehicle that is all the following: 

• Less than 7 model years old. 
• Damaged by collision or other occurrence to the extent that the estimated or actual cost, whichever is 

greater, of repairing the vehicle exceeds 30%, but less than 70% of its fair market value.  
• Transferred to an insurer upon payment of an insurance claim. 

“Junk vehicle” means any of the following: 

• A vehicle that is incapable of operation or use upon a highway and has no resale value except as a 
source of parts or scrap. 

• A vehicle an insurance company has taken possession of, or title to, and the estimated cost of repairing 
the vehicle exceeds its fair market value. 

“Junked” means a vehicle that has been dismantled for parts or scrapped.  When a vehicle has been junked 
you may not obtain a Wisconsin title for it again. 

  

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/342/I/10/3
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/218/X/50/1
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/342/I/10/3
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/340/01/15v
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/340/01/18p
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/342/I/10/3/g
htthttps://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/340/01/25j
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/340/01/25g
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“Major parts of a vehicle” means the following vehicle parts: 

• Engine. 
• Transmission. 
• Each door to the passenger compartment. 
• Hood. 
• Grille. 
• Each bumper, or each clip, if a bumper is part of the clip. 
• Each front fender. 
• Deck lid, tailgate, or hatchback. 
• Each rear quarter-panel. 
• Trunk floor pan. 
• Frame or, in the case of a unitized body, the supporting structure which serves as the frame. 
• Any part not listed above which has a value exceeding $500. 

“Salvage vehicle” means a vehicle that is all the following: 

• Less than seven years old. (Use the following formula to determine if a vehicle is less than seven years 
old: Current calendar year minus six equals the first model year that is less than seven years old. For 
example:  calendar year 2020 - 6 = 2014 (the first model year less than 7 years old.) 

• Eligible to be registered or titled in Wisconsin. 
• Damaged by collision or other occurrence to the extent that the estimated or actual cost, whichever is 

greater, of repairing the vehicle exceeds 70% of its fair market value.   

“Salvage certificate of title” means the ownership document, which shows that a vehicle is “salvage.”  The 
“salvage” notation is removed from the title when the vehicle passes inspection by a certified salvage 
inspector, and a new title is issued. The subsequent title will show the “rebuilt salvage” brand. 

“Rebuilt salvage" (Wisconsin inspection passed brand) means a notation placed on a title when a vehicle has 
passed the required inspection. 

“Salvage Pool” means a wholesale vehicle auction that meets the following requirements: 

• Holds and offers for sale damaged motor vehicles at wholesale on a bid basis. 
• Is licensed as a wholesale dealer by the Department of Transportation. 
• Only allows vehicle bidding and purchasing by people who hold a valid Buyer Identification (BID) Card. 

ACQUIRING A SALVAGE VEHICLE – Wis. Stat. §218.52 

You must have a valid Buyer Identification (BID) Card to bid on or buy salvage vehicles at a salvage pool 
auction.   

Salvage pool auctions are required to provide title on the day of sale unless a vehicle is sold “title-absent.” 
Title-absent means the buyer and seller have agreed to complete the sale even though the title will be 
delayed.  Wisconsin regulations allow the purchasing dealer to rescind a purchase if the auction is unable to 
provide clear title within 14 calendar days after the date of sale.  We recommend that you wait to repair the 
salvage vehicle until you have received the title. Otherwise, if the sale is rescinded, the cost of those repairs 
may need to be disputed in court. 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/943/III/23/1/b
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/340/01/55g
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/342/I/065
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/342/I/07
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/218/X/50/5
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/218/X/52
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If you purchase a salvage vehicle, you are required to promptly apply for a Wisconsin salvage title if either of 
the following is true: 

• The reassignment areas on the title are full.  
• The vehicle is a salvage vehicle that does not yet have a salvage title. 

SELLING A SALVAGE VEHICLE – Wis. Admin. Code Trans 139.04(5)(c)2. 

When you sell an unrepaired vehicle that is titled as salvage, you are not required to complete and display a 
Wisconsin Buyers Guide. However, you must include the following consumer warning on the motor vehicle 
purchase contract:  

“WARNING! This is a salvage vehicle and cannot be registered for use on Wisconsin highways until it 
passes an authorized inspection which requires payment of a fee.  Title will be issued with a rebuilt 
salvage brand.” 

When offering a repaired salvage vehicle that has not yet been inspected for sale, do the following: 

• Complete a Wisconsin Buyers Guide. (Wholesale Buyers Guide if selling to another dealer.) 
• Give the buyer all items needed for a salvage inspection (see the list in the next subsection below). 
• Write the following warning on the purchase contract: 

“WARNING! This is a salvage vehicle and cannot be registered for use on Wisconsin highways until it 
passes an authorized inspection which requires payment of a fee.  Title will be issued with a rebuilt 
salvage brand.” 

REBUILT SALVAGE VEHICLE INSPECTION REQUIREMENTS – Wis. Admin. Code Trans 149.06 

All rebuilt salvage vehicles must be inspected before registration can be issued for the vehicle.  Schedule an 
appointment for the inspection with a WisDOT-certified salvage inspector.   

Note:  The rebuilt salvage vehicle may be operated to the point of inspection but may not otherwise be 
operated on the highway until it passes inspection and is registered. 

 At the time of salvage inspection, provide the inspector with all the following items: 
 Wis. Admin. Code Trans 149.07(1) 

• MV11 Application for Title and Registration  
• Salvage Certificate of Title 
• Major Parts Statement - MV2673 (whether any major parts were replaced). 
• Bills of sale for all major parts used in rebuilding. 
• Four pictures of the damaged vehicle, showing, front, rear, left side and right-side views. 
• Stamped envelope to mail the application to DMV. 
• Check or money order for all fees made out to “Registration Fee Trust.” 

When the vehicle passes inspection, the inspector will submit the application to the department.  The new 
title will be branded “This vehicle is rebuilt salvage - WI inspection passed.”   

  

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/04/5/c/2
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/149/06
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/149/07/1
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The vehicle will fail the inspection if any of the following are true Wis. Admin. Code Trans 149.06(4): 

• The vehicle does not meet equipment requirements under Wis. Admin. Code Trans 305 and Wis. State 
Stat. §347; or fails to meet federal motor vehicle safety standards. 

• The vehicle or any part is stolen, or if the ownership of any major part of the vehicle cannot be verified. 
• The vehicle contains any major parts which were not part of the vehicle described in the certificate of 

title and for which you do not have a bill of sale. 
• The vehicle contains a vehicle identification number that has been altered, removed or obliterated. 

When a vehicle fails inspection, any of the following may happen– Wis. Admin. Code Trans 149.07(2): 

• If the inspector discovers the vehicle or any of its parts are stolen, the inspector may seize the vehicle.  
This includes VIN tags that are removed, altered, or obliterated  

• You may request another inspection.  The inspector may schedule the reinspection for any date from 4 
to 15 calendar days from your original inspection date.  There are no additional fees associated with 
the reinspection.  

• When the DMV receives materials for a vehicle that has not passed inspection, the DMV will issue or 
re-issue a salvage certificate of title to you and will return all bills of sale, and the major parts 
statement. 

• You may choose to junk a vehicle at any time. If you do, the inspector will write “JUNKED" on the 
certificate of title or mark the certificate of title in some other manner to clearly indicate that the 
vehicle is junked. The inspector will send the certificate of title, the certificate of inspection and the 
inspection fee to the DMV. The inspector will return any remaining application materials and a copy of 
the certificate of inspection to you. The DMV will note in its records that the vehicle has been junked 
and may not issue another certificate of title for the vehicle. 

JUNKED VEHICLES 

• Titles marked “junk” must be submitted to the department within 30 days.  
• Junked vehicles can never be re-titled or registered. They may only be used for parts or scrap. 

"PREVIOUSLY TITLED IN" 

Enter any and all jurisdictions in which the vehicle has been titled, including Wisconsin. For example, the 
Wisconsin title shows the vehicle was previously titled in another state. List Wisconsin and the other state. 

ODOMETER READING  

Enter the odometer reading taken when your dealership acquired the vehicle. This reading will be on the title. 
Indicate if the mileage is "actual," "in excess of mechanical limits" or "not actual." The odometer is "in excess 
of mechanical limits" when the reading is higher than the odometer is designed to measure. Checking "in 
excess of mechanical limits" when the odometer has six digits would mean there were over one million miles 
on the car. 

When the vehicle is 20 or more model years old starting with vehicle model year 2011, the odometer reading 
should not be recorded, and you should check EXEMPT. However, if you have an exempt vehicle with a low 
odometer reading that you want to list as a selling point, you may show an odometer reading only if you 
provide the purchaser with a supporting odometer statement. (The buyer's title will not reflect a reading for a 
vehicle over 20 years old starting with vehicle model year 2011.) 

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/149/06/4
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/305
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/347
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/347
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/149/07/2/a
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REPAIRING AND REPLACING ODOMETERS 

Repair with Calibration—You may service, repair, or replace an odometer if it malfunctions.  Whenever 
possible, the mileage indicated on the odometer should be calibrated to the same reading as before the repair 
or replacement.  When the vehicle is subsequently sold, the odometer disclosure and the title issued will show 
“actual” miles. 

A replacement odometer may, if the repair is made within 30 days, be calibrated to the actual mileage and be 
certified as “actual” when the trip odometer fails, the primary odometer continues to work accurately, and 
the entire speedometer head has been replaced.  The replacement odometer may be either new or used, 
calibrated to the actual mileage.  Note - If the odometer is not repaired or replaced see repair without 
calibration. 

Repair without Calibration—If the original odometer is incapable of registering the same mileage or if the 
replacement odometer cannot be calibrated, do the following: 

• Set the odometer to zero, and, 

• Attach a written notice to the left door frame of the vehicle specifying the mileage prior to repair or 
replacement of the odometer, and, the date it was repaired or replaced. 

An odometer change notice sticker must be applied regardless of the vehicle’s age when an odometer is 
repaired and set to zero.  It is always in the dealership’s best interest to document on the repair invoice that 
the odometer change notice sticker was affixed to the vehicle. Typically, the sticker will be packaged with the 
newly purchased odometer.  However, if it isn’t, or a used “zeroed” odometer is used for the replacement, the 
sticker can be obtained from the Wisconsin Automobile and Truck Dealers Association. 

When the vehicle is sold, the odometer disclosure on the title issued will show “not actual” miles.  The 
odometer reading shown on the odometer disclosure statement and title will be the reading from the 
replaced odometer.  The cumulative mileage of the vehicle is not shown. 

It is illegal to remove or alter the notice affixed to a vehicle.  Failing to zero the odometer or failing to affix a 
notice about the zeroed setting is also in violation of the odometer law.   

MILEAGE DISCLOSURE WITH A MALFUNCTIONING ODOMETER 

If a vehicle is driven after the odometer malfunctions the seller may disclose that the odometer reading 
reflects the “actual” mileage only if all the following guidelines are met: 

The odometer repair or replacement is made within 30 days of the date the malfunction occurred. 

A reasonably accurate determination can be made of the miles traveled between the time of the malfunction 
and the time of the repair or replacement. 

The repaired or replacement odometer was calibrated to show the mileage reading that was on the odometer 
at the time it malfunctioned, plus the number of miles the vehicle was driven between the time of the 
odometer’s malfunction and the time of its repair or replacement. 
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If the odometer is not calibrated as described above, the seller must disclose the odometer reading as “not 
actual” mileage. 

If the dealership repairs or replaces an odometer for a vehicle it does not own, WisDOT strongly recommends 
the dealer obtain a written statement from the vehicle owner including the following: 

Mileage at the time of the malfunction 

Certification that the odometer repair occurred within 30 days of the odometer malfunction 

Miles traveled between the time of the malfunction and repair. 

UNREADABLE ODOMETERS 

If you cannot read the odometer (due to an accident, fire, etc.) indicate “0” on a conforming odometer 
statement and certify that the odometer reading is “not actual.”   

KILOMETERS 

Vehicles that measure distance in kilometers have different disclosure requirements than those that register 
in miles. Use the following guidelines to assure compliance with odometer laws when dealing with vehicles 
measuring distance in kilometers: 

If you have a blank incoming odometer disclosure statement for a vehicle that measures kilometers, or you 
have a statement that is in kilometers, do the following: 

• Disclose the mileage as “not actual.”  
• Disclose the odometer as “not legal” on the Wisconsin Buyers Guide under “Vehicle Equipment 

Requirements,” since the odometer does not register miles. 
• Place warning in “other conditions of sales” on the purchase contract. 

o “Warning! This vehicle cannot be legally operated on Wisconsin highways and may not be 
safe.” 

• If you replace an odometer that registers kilometers with one that registers miles:    
• Disclose the miles as “actual,” if the replacement odometer was calibrated to reflect the equivalent 

miles.  Use the following formula to determine miles:   
• Kilometers x .62=miles  
• Disclose the mileage as “not actual,” if the odometer is not calibrated to reflect the equivalent miles. 

MODEL YEAR CALCULATION 

An odometer statement is required for all vehicles less than 20 years old starting with vehicle model year 
2011 and newer. 

(Current calendar year) - 20 = model year and older vehicles are exempt. 
2031 - 20 = 2011 – vehicles and older are exempt.  
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WARRANTY 

Indicate whether the vehicle is being offered with a warranty or on an “As Is – No Warranty” basis.  Complete 
both the Dealer Warranty and the Manufacturer Warranty sections.  At the time of delivery, provide your 
customer with a written document specifying the parts and systems covered by any warranty. 

When a Dealer Warranty is offered, identify: 

• The duration of the warranty 
• The percentage of any repair costs to be paid by the customer. 
• Any deductible to be paid by the customer. 

Show whether the warranty is: 

• Expired 
• Not known 
• Canceled due to salvage or other vehicle history. 
• Remaining vehicle manufacturer warranty. 

When Vehicle service contracts are offered for sale, provide details on a separate document.  At delivery, 
provide your customer with a written document specifying the parts and systems covered.   

USED VEHICLE GENERAL CONDITION 

This section of the Wisconsin Buyers Guide should be completed by someone who has mechanical knowledge 
and experience to determine the condition of the vehicle using "reasonable care."  Check each item 
separately.  Explain all items marked "yes" in the designated area.  If the vehicle is not equipped with “other 
equipment”, check the "not equipped" box. 

VEHICLE EQUIPMENT REQUIREMENTS 

Wis. Admin Trans. Code 305 defines the legal operating condition for vehicles on Wisconsin highways.  Any 
item in this section that does not meet those requirements must be checked "not legal" and explained in the 
designated area. 

When a vehicle is sold with any item marked "not legal," write the following warning on the purchase 
contract: 

 "WARNING! This vehicle cannot be legally operated on Wisconsin highways and may not be safe.” 

CERTIFICATION 

Complete all three inspector sections. Print the names of the individual inspecting the vehicle and the 
individual inspecting the records.  Have the dealer or a licensed representative sign the label.  The same 
person could complete all three sections. Then enter the date of the inspection. The buyer signs and dates the 
original label prior to delivery of the vehicle. Keep the original copy for five years and give the buyer the 
window copy. 

  

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/305
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POWER OF ATTORNEY / VEHICLE ODOMETER DISCLOSURE AND TRANSFER OF OWNERSHIP 

Dealers are required to obtain an incoming odometer statement and provide an outgoing odometer 
statement that conforms with federal and Wisconsin law. The statement must be made on the title.  In the 
case of a retail sale, the outgoing statement may be given on the MV11.  The owner of the vehicle named on 
the title or MSO must complete the transfer of ownership and the odometer disclosure as seller. The dealer 
must complete the reassignment of ownership and odometer disclosure when selling the vehicle. The 
disclosure must contain the following information: 

• Date of transfer or reassignment. 
• Seller’s name and current address. 
• Buyer’s name and address. 
• Odometer reading at the time of transfer (not including tenths of miles) 
• Certification that the mileage is one of the following: 

o Actual 
o In excess of mechanical limits Use when the odometer reading is higher than the capability of 

the odometer. Checking “in excess of mechanical limits” when the odometer has 6 digits would 
mean there are more than one million miles on the car. 

o Not actual mileage When using this notation, you must also include a warning notice to alert 
the buyer that a discrepancy exists between the odometer reading and the actual mileage. 

The buyer and seller must print and sign their names on the odometer statement.  No person may sign the 
odometer statement as both buyer and seller in the same transaction. 

VEHICLES EXEMPT FROM ODOMETER DISCLOSURE 

The following vehicles are exempt from odometer disclosure: 

An odometer statement is required for all vehicles less than 20 years old starting with vehicle model 
year 2011 and newer. 
(Current calendar year) - 20 = model year and older vehicles are exempt. 
2031 - 20 = 2011 – vehicles and older are exempt. 

• Vehicles registered over 16,000 pounds. 
• Non-motorized vehicles. 
• Mopeds. 
• Vehicles sold from the manufacturer to the U.S. Government. 
• New vehicles transferred from manufacturer to dealer. 
• New vehicles acquired by a dealer from an out-of-state dealer licensed in a state that does not require 

odometer mileage disclosure. 

When a vehicle is exempt from odometer disclosure, the dealer may leave the statement blank or write in the 
word “exempt.” 

POWER OF ATTORNEY FORM (MV2690) 

The power of attorney form may only be used for odometer disclosure when the title is physically held by a 
secured party (lien holder).  Keep a copy of this form in your file.    



37 | P a g e  
 

LEASES AND ODOMETER DISCLOSURE 

When the dealer is the vehicle lessor or acting as an agent for the lessor, the dealer must do the following: 

• Notify the lessee in writing that they are required to provide the lessor or its agent with a written 
odometer disclosure at the end of the lease. 

• Obtain a completed odometer disclosure from the lessee at the end of the lease and enter the date it is 
received on the form.  If the lessee buys the vehicle at lease end, the dealership may rely on the lessee’s 
odometer disclosure.  This disclosure must contain the following information: 

o Printed name of the person making the disclosure. 
o Current odometer reading. 
o Date of the statement. 
o Lessee’s name and current address. 
o Lessor’s name and current address. 
o The identity of the vehicle. 
o Date the lessor notified the lessee of the odometer disclosure requirements. 
o Date the lessor received the completed odometer statement. 

• Keep copies of all odometer-related records for five years. 

 

DEALER PLATES (WIS. STAT. §341.47)  

Licensed dealers are issued a minimum of two dealer registration plates for use on vehicles the dealership 
owns and offers for sale. To avoid being ticketed for improper dealer plate use, licensed dealers should follow 
these requirements: 

• Use the plate only on vehicles owned and actually offered for Sale by the dealership or service loaner 
vehicles. The plate may be used on these vehicles whether they're driven for business or personal 
purposes. 

• You may use dealer plates on a consignment vehicle, even though the dealership does not own the 
vehicle. 

• Display a Wisconsin Buyers Guide or Monroney label on any vehicle displaying a dealer plate, as proof 
that the vehicle is owned and offered for sale by the dealership. (A label need not be displayed while 
driving a vehicle to or from a wholesale transaction.) 

• Make sure vehicles used by employees are available for display at the dealership during business 
hours. 

• Do not use dealer plates on rental vehicles, service vehicles or tow trucks. 
• You may use dealer plates on service loaner vehicles if they are inspected and the Wisconsin Buyer’s 

Guide is displayed. 
• If you allow your spouse or children residing in your household to use dealer plates, do be certain the 

vehicle is actually offered for sale, displays a Wisconsin Buyers Guide or Monroney label. While this 
type of use is technically permitted, it has caused adverse public reaction. 

  

https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/341/IV/47
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ORDERING ADDITIONAL DEALER REGISTRATION PLATES 

The fee for additional dealer plates is $10 per plate.  

To order additional plates, send a written request to the WisDOT Dealer Section at the address below. Your 
request should include the: 

• Dealership legal business name, address, and telephone number 
• Dealer license identification number 
• Quantity and type of additional plates requested 
• Total fees payable to Registration Fee Trust  
• Allow 4-6 weeks for your plates to arrive. 

REPORTING LOST OR STOLEN DEALER REGISTRATION PLATES 

Contact the WisDOT Dealer and Agent Section by mail, fax or e-mail to report a lost or stolen plate.  If you find 
a plate after you've reported it missing, destroy it.  It will already have been reported missing to law 
enforcement officials statewide, and you could be ticketed for using it. 

REPLACING A MISSING DEALER PLATE 

If you wish to replace a lost or stolen plate send the WisDOT Dealer and Agent Section a written request at the 
mailing address on the front of this guide. Include the following information in your request: 

• Dealership legal business name, address, and telephone number 
• Dealer license number 
• Plate numbers of lost or stolen plates being replaced 
• Quantity of replacement plates requested 
• Fee of $4.00 per replacement plate, payable to Registration Fee Trust 
• Allow 4-6 weeks for your replacement plates to arrive. 
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MOTOR VEHICLE PURCHASE CONTRACT 

The "Motor Vehicle Purchase Contract" (MVPC) is 
the document you use to state clearly all the 
provisions and conditions of the sale.  You may 
only use a version of the MVPC approved by the 
Department of Transportation, see the “Business 
Forms” page.  It is an offer to purchase that 
becomes binding when the dealership and the 
buyer sign the document. The MVPC must be 
completed in all the following situations: 

• Any retail vehicle sale. 
• Anytime the dealership accepts a down 
payment or deposit. 
• Anytime the dealership accepts a title for a 
trade-in vehicle from a prospective retail buyer. 

The dealership has two working hours to accept 
an offer from the time customer signs an offer to 
purchase. The buyer may withdraw the offer at 
any time until you sign it. You may not sell the 
vehicle to anyone else until the offer is accepted 
or rejected. 

If the contract becomes void, you must return any 
down payment, title, and deposit or trade-in 

vehicle within two hours. If the buyer is not available during this period, return the items to them in person or 
by mail no later than the following business day. 

Leave a copy of the MVPC with the customer anytime you leave their presence. When you must remove the 
MVPC to get manager approval on the offer, leave the goldenrod copy with the customer. The customer can 
compare their original offer with your counteroffer. When you have agreed on the final terms, write all 
changes on both copies, and have the customer and the manager initial both copies. 

Be careful not to sell the same vehicle to two people at the same time. 

A properly executed contract protects both the purchaser and the dealer. Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 139.05, 
specifies a number of items that must appear on a purchase contract. By using a current revision of this 
contract and executing it properly, you will be in compliance with all applicable state and federal laws and 
regulations. 

Note: Only the actual MVPC is an acceptable offer to purchase. Other documents, such as worksheets, are not 
sufficient or binding. Once you and the customer have accepted the contract staffing a firm retail price, you are 
prohibited from raising the price except in very limited situations. (See "price protection" in this section.) 

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/05
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COMPLETING THE MOTOR VEHICLE PURCHASE CONTRACT 

ENTER THE FOLLOWING INFORMATION: 
• Your legal business dealer name and address as it appears on your dealer license certificate. 
• "Vehicle stock number or order number." (optional) 
• “Mileage at signing” is the estimated mileage at time of delivery.  When you write a contract to locate 

a vehicle you and the buyer must agree on a maximum number of miles allowed on the vehicle at time 
of deliver. "Order date" is the date you write the contract. 

• Salespersons full name and first eight numbers of their license number. 
• Purchaser's full name, address, phone number(s), county and township. 
• Indicate whether the vehicle is "NEW" or "USED": 

o “New" means any untitled or non-privately titled vehicle of the stated model year which has 
not been a demonstrator and has not been operated more than 200 miles for purposes other 
than manufacturer’s tests, pre-delivery tests by a dealer, dealer exchange or delivery. 

o “Used" means any vehicle other than a new vehicle and includes executive or demonstrator. 
 If “used," be sure to indicate if the vehicle is a demo or executive-driven vehicle. 

• "Demonstrator" means any untitled or non-privately titled motor vehicle, which was 
used primarily for demonstration to the public. 

• “Executive" means any untitled or non-privately titled motor vehicle which was used 
primarily by executives of licensed manufacturers, distributors or dealers and not 
used for demonstration to the public. 

• Check the appropriate box to indicate if the vehicle will be titled as a car, truck or other type of vehicle. 
• "License number" is the license plate number, which the purchaser is transferring from their old vehicle to 

their new vehicle. 
• Enter purchased vehicle information including complete identification number. 
• Enter the Chassis year and the finished vehicle model year, if different, for motor homes and other second 

stage vehicles. 
• Enter owned or leased trade-in vehicle information, including complete identification (Trade-in must be in 

the name of the buyer.) 

WARRANTY INFORMATION (CHECK ALL BOXES THAT APPLY): 

Clearly identify any warranty or service contract included with the vehicle on the purchase contract. Any 
warranty or service contract must be available for inspection by a customer. Give the warranty or service 
contract document (specifying parts and systems covered) to the customer at the time of delivery. 

MANUFACTURER WARRANTY 

Check the appropriate box.  When you indicate there is a “remaining vehicle manufacturer warranty," provide 
all the following information: 

• Expiration (date and miles). 
• Any deductible to be paid by the purchaser. 
• Transfer fee to be paid by the purchaser and whether the transfer fee is paid to the dealer or 

manufacturer. 
Note: When you tell a purchaser that a vehicle has a remaining manufacturer warranty, and the 
manufacturer fails to accept responsibility for the warranty, your dealership will be required to 
honor the warranty. 
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DEALER WARRANTY 

“As Is-No Warranty" means you are selling the vehicle without a warranty.  The vehicle is not "as is" if you are 
offering any kind of dealer warranty.  It is acceptable to mark both the "as is" box and one of the new vehicle 
manufacturer warranty or service contract boxes. 

When you provide a "limited warranty" you must indicate: 

• The term of the warranty in months and miles. 
• Any percentage of repair costs to be paid by the customer. 
• Any deductible to be paid by the customer 

SERVICE CONTRACT INFORMATION 

When a "service contract" is sold, indicate who it is administered by and provide: 

• The terms of the service contract in months and miles. 
• Any percentage of repair costs to be paid by the customer. 
• Any deductible to be paid by the customer. 

OTHER CONDITIONS OF SALE 

In the "other conditions of sale" section of the MVPC, list any special conditions of the agreement and clarify 
any unusual circumstances of the sale, before the customer signs the contract.  Examples include removal of 
any equipment such as trailer hitches or fog lights from the trade in or purchased vehicle.  Air bag deactivation 
requests require a specific form and should not be listed under "other conditions of sale." 

This area of the contract should also be used to state special warning notices required under certain 
circumstances.  Examples of such warnings include the following: 

• "Warning! this vehicle cannot be legally operated on Wisconsin highways and may not be safe.” 
• "Warning! this is a salvage vehicle and cannot be registered for use on Wisconsin highways until it 

passes an authorized inspection which requires payment of fee. Title will be issued with a rebuilt 
salvage brand." 

• "Warning! sold as junk vehicle. This vehicle may never be retitled." 
o Note – Only licensed salvage dealers can sell “Junk” vehicles or parts. 

ANTICIPATED DELIVERY DATE 

The anticipated delivery date is the dealer's best estimate of when the vehicle will be delivered to the 
customer.  A date must be written on the contract, showing month, day, and year.  If the dealer neglects to 
show an anticipated delivery date, the contract date becomes the anticipated delivery date by default.  If the 
dealer fails to deliver within 15 calendar days of the anticipated delivery date written on the contract, the 
customer may cancel the contract. 

When the customer cancels the contract, the dealer must refund the full down payment and return the trade-
in vehicle, or title for the trade-in vehicle or both within one business day.  If the trade-in is not available, the 
customer receives the full trade-in allowance. 
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When you receive the vehicle before the anticipated delivery date, you may require the customer to take 
delivery not less than 21 calendar days after notifying them of the vehicle's availability.  Notice to the 
customer must be by registered or certified mail, return receipt required.  If the customer does not accept 
delivery within 21 calendar days after notice, you are free to sell the vehicle to someone else. However, you 
may not assess a penalty to the customer for not accepting delivery prior to the anticipated delivery date. 

Writing orders for vehicles that you cannot reasonably deliver by the anticipated delivery date is prohibited. 

When you make a good faith effort to obtain the vehicle from the manufacturer, and the manufacturer does 
not deliver the vehicle, you may cancel the contract.  Immediately refund any down payment or fees paid and 
return any trade-in.  If the trade-in is not available, the customer receives the full trade-in allowance. 

THE ORDERED VEHICLE MUST BE LOCATED 

Use this box to enter the maximum amount of mileage on a locate vehicle at the time of delivery.  If the 
mileage is more at time of delivery the customer may cancel the contract. 

FINANCE OR CASH TRANSACTION 

A contract can be written as a finance or cash transaction.  Indicate the type of transaction by checking the 
appropriate box.  Anytime the purchase is subject to credit approval, it is a finance transaction. 

"This is a finance transaction" means you are arranging the financing for the customer. 

• Check box A, B, or C. 

A. "In attached disclosure" means you have completed a retail installment contract or disclosure form 
disclosing credit terms to the customer. The customer accepts the terms by initialing the retail 
installment contract or disclosure form.  Attach the retail installment contract or disclosure form to 
the purchase contract.  Once both you and the customer sign the purchase contract, you are 
committed to the credit terms at the time of delivery. 

"Acceptable to you" means the customer can review the credit terms at the time of delivery 
and accept or reject the whole vehicle transaction without penalty. 

B. “This transaction is subject to financing being arranged through creditor of your choice” means, the 
customer is arranging their own financing and you are aware that such financing is to be obtained. 

Enter the date by which the customer must obtain acceptable financing.  You must receive 
written notice by that date, or the contract is void and you may put the vehicle back up for 
sale. 

Note:  You must guarantee that a lien is perfected, and you may be responsible for any 
damages incurred by the department or a secured party for failing to perfect a security 
interest.  To ensure that a security interest is perfected for an out of state resident, you 
may apply for a Wisconsin “title only” in the name of your buyer showing the lien holder. 

C. "This is a cash transaction", means the purchase is not subject to credit approval and the balance is 
due on delivery. 
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INSTALLMENT SALES 

If you intend to arrange or provide financing for retail sales, you must be licensed with the Department of 
Financial Institutions (DFI). 

Complete a "Retail Installment Contract” when you sell a vehicle and the payments are spread out over a 
period of time. 

The Retail Installment Contract must include: 

• Complete description of the vehicle. 
• Cash sales price 
• Cash down payment. 
• Trade-in allowance and a description of the trade-in.  
• Cost of any insurance 
•  Amount financed. 
• Sales and use taxes. 
• Amount of finance charges. 
• Any other specific charges. 
• Total number of payments due.  
• Terms of the payment.  
• Amount and date of each payment.  
• Summary of any insurance coverage 

The dealer must give an exact copy of the Retail Installment Sales Contract to the buyer at the time the buyer 
signs the contract. 

Note: You may not perfect a security interest in your name unless you have a finance license with DFI and have 
written a retail installment contract. 

“CREATIVE FINANCING” 

It is not acceptable to inflate the selling price of a vehicle in order to increase the trade-in allowance and make 
it appear that the customer has more equity in the vehicle.  This type of "creative financing" can land a 
dealership in serious trouble. Concerns about this practice include the following: 

• Including an over allowance for the trade-in can backfire. If the deal falls through, a dealer would be 
required to refund the inflated allowance if the trade-in vehicle could not be returned to the 
customer. 

• Inflating the purchase price involves making false statements on the purchase contract, the 
application for title, and the retail installment contract (if you are arranging the financing). 

• Some banks have sued dealers when customers defaulted on their car loans and the banks 
discovered the resale value of the vehicle wasn't enough to cover the amount owed. 

• Defrauding the bank that accepts the loan may be grounds for revoking, suspending or denying a 
dealer license. 
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• Advertising may be false and misleading if the dealership is not selling cars at their advertised 
prices, or if it is selling cars above the used vehicle disclosure label asking price without extra value 
being added to the car (new tires or stereo, for example). 

Of course, it also isn’t acceptable to draw up two purchase contracts or two applications for title, one for the 
customer and DMV showing actual values, and one for financing showing inflated values. 

“ORDER OUT” VEHICLE NOT PRICE PROTECTED (SEE BACK OF CONTRACT)  

Use this area only if the price of an order out 
vehicle is not protected. This section must be 
completed in order to adjust the price. 

Under certain conditions, the law allows the 
dealer to adjust the contracted purchase price of 
an order out new vehicle due to changes in the 
manufacturer's price.  Manufacturers do not 
have consistent practices on price protection.  It 
is important that dealers be aware of each 
manufacturer's pricing policies. 

A dealer may also legally increase the purchase 
price of an order-out vehicle for the following 
reasons: 

• The dealer added equipment required by 
state or federal law. 

• The U.S. government revalued the U.S. 
dollar.  (Applies for foreign vehicles only). 

• State or federal taxes on vehicles 
increased. 

Raising the price of a vehicle after the customer 
signs the purchase contract and the dealer 
accepts it, for reasons other than those allowed, 
is known as “bushing," and is illegal. 

Be sure to transfer these amounts to all plies of the contract. 

Box A   Current model year price known.  Check this box when the order out vehicle is not price protected and 
the current model year price is known.  Box A applies to order outs of the next model year, before prices have 
been announced. It also applies to order outs during the model year where the manufacturer does not provide 
price protection. 

• Complete the Transaction Computation section as you would for an order-out vehicle. 
• Check the box next to "Order-out Vehicle Not Price Protected," and Box A on the back of the contract.  

Agree with the customer if there is to be an adjustment to any increase in the MSRP and fill it in as a 
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percentage amount.  You may put zeros in the blanks. Negotiate with the customer the maximum 
"final cash price" that the customer will accept and fill it in the blank below Box B. 

When the prices on the original order are no longer valid, a new contract should be executed with the 
following phrase written in the Other Conditions of Sale section of the contract - "This order supersedes order 
written (date)."  Have the customer initial this statement. 

If the customer is unwilling to pay the final cash price, and you won't sell the car at the agreed maximum final 
cash price, the customer may cancel the order without penalty. 

Note: You are required to fill in the trade-in allowance. The trade-in allowance will remain the same on the 
subsequent order except for reappraisals for damage, removed parts or excess mileage. 

Box B. Price of newly introduced model currently unknown.  Use when writing orders for new models before 
the prices are announced. 

• Do not fill in a price on the line, "Dealer retail Price” on the front of the contract.  List the 
manufacturer's options to be installed, but do not list prices.  

• List and price dealer-installed options.  
• Enter the negotiated percentage discount or mark-up that will be added to the total of the MSRP and 

the dealer-installed options.  Agree on the maximum "final cash price" the customer will pay and 
complete the blank below box B. 

When using Box B, you will not be able to fill in dollar amounts for "Dealer Markup added" or a discount. 

As long as the final cash price does not exceed the maximum cash price the buyer and salesperson agreed 
upon, it is not necessary, when using box B, to write a new order to supersede the previous one. Just continue 
to fill in the blanks on the original order. 

PRICE COMPUTATIONS 

USED: Transfer the "price" on the Wisconsin Buyers Guide to this area on the purchase contract. 

NEW:  Check the appropriate "MSRP" box if applicable. 

• Fill in the MSRP.  Add the options price to the Base MSRP and enter the "Total MSRP" in Price of 
Vehicle - a. 

• Enter any dealer markup if applicable. 

Dealer installed options 

• Itemize options 
• List prices 
• Indicate (with a check mark to the left of the option) if it carries a manufacturer's warranty. 

FEE COMPUTATION 
• Dealer Retail Price - Enter the total price of the vehicle including the base price, optional equipment 

and accessories installed prior to delivery, and any dealer mark-up added. 
• Service Fee – Enter services fee.  Service fee must first be displayed on the Wisconsin Buyers Guide or 

supplemental label posted on the vehicle. 
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• Discount - Enter the dollar amount that reduces the cost of the vehicle to the customer. Any trade-in 
over-allowance should be entered here. 

• Cash Price - Dealer retail price plus service fee minus discount. 
• Taxable items purchased with the vehicle.  Enter any taxable items such as service contracts. 
• Owned trade-in allowance - Enter the actual trade-in allowance.  Any over-allowance should be 

entered as a discount.  Showing over-allowance as a discount will prevent you from having to refund 
an inflated trade-in allowance if the deal is rescinded or if the contract is voided for any other reason. 

• Leased trade in allowance is determined by subtracting the payoff and any amount refunded to the 
customer from the gross allowance.   

• Trade Allowance –Enter the trade allowance given. 
• Sales Tax Calculation – Enter the amount subject to tax, percent of state tax, county and regional tax.  
• Non-Taxable items purchased with the vehicle – fees entered in this section include fees to appear on 

MV11, any applicable wheel taxes, vehicle warranty or service contract transfer fees (only if paid by the 
customer) and any other non-sales taxable charges. 

• Owned vehicle payoff – Enter the name of the lender and verify the amount due on the trade-in. Enter 
that figure. 

• Subtotal - Add the above taxes and fees to the subtotal and enter the amount here. 
• Less cash Down Payment on Order - Enter the amount paid by the customer as a down payment. 
• MFR’s Rebate - Enter the amount of rebate here and check whether it is "cash back" or "assigned" to 

the dealer. Be sure to list any special conditions of the manufacturer rebates under "other conditions 
of sale." Should the dealership forget to indicate any special condition of a rebate, the dealership will 
be liable to honor the rebate amount. 

CASH AND CASH EQUIVALENTS 
• Cash down payment on order – Enter the amount paid by the customer as a down payment. 
• Manufacturer Rebates – Enter the amount of rebate here and check whether it is “cash back” or 

“assigned” to the dealer.  Be sure to list any special conditions of the manufacturer rebates under 
“other conditions of sale”.  Should the dealership forget to indicate any special condition of a rebate, 
the dealership will be liable to honor the rebate amount.    

• Additional Cash Due – If any additional cash down payment is due, enter it here along with the due 
date. 

• Enter the total cash and rebates.  
• Due on Delivery or Balance to Finance - Enter the final balance to be paid on the vehicle at the time of 

delivery.  If the vehicle is going to be financed, this is the "amount to be financed" transferred to the 
retail installment contract. 

TRADE-IN ODOMETER LIMITATIONS 

You have the right to reappraise the trade-in vehicle when the mileage exceeds the amount entered in this 
section of the purchase contract. 

BUYER’S REPRESENTATIONS 

Have the buyer complete this section explaining any "no" answers.  The accuracy of these representations will 
determine whether you have the right to void a transaction prior to delivery.  Provided the representations 
are accurate, once you have signed the contract, you cannot void it.   
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“FAILURE TO TAKE DELIVERY” PENALTY SECTION  

You may charge your customer a penalty of up to 5% of the purchase price if they fail to take delivery of the 
vehicle after signing the contract.  To collect the penalty, you must have written the percentage amount in the 
penalty section of the contract.  If your damages exceed 5% of the purchase price, you may waive the right to 
charge the penalty, and pursue legal action for actual damages. 

Note:  Recreational vehicle purchase contracts contain different penalties for cancellation: 

• If cancellation is initiated within 24 hours after the dealer accepts the offer to purchase, the amount 
forfeited is 2% of the total cash price of the recreational vehicle.  

• If cancellation is initiated more than 24 hours after the dealer accepts the offer to purchase, the 
amount forfeited is 5% of the total cash price of the recreational vehicle. 

Documented proof of notification of cancellation is required regardless of the method of notification.  

SIGNATURES 

Allow the buyer enough time to read the contract before signing.  A licensed representative of your dealership 
and the buyer must sign the contract to make it a binding agreement.  Be sure to complete the date and time 
signed by both parties. 

PURCHASE CONTRACT ERRORS 

Errors on the motor vehicle purchase contract can be costly mistakes for dealers.  You should take extra care 
to ensure that all contracts correctly state the intended purchase price before they are accepted.  In most 
cases, the dealership is required to honor the contract price, even if it means they suffer a substantial loss on 
the deal. It is wise for the salespersons to have someone (usually a supervisor) double check a purchase 
contract before the dealership and the customer signs it. 

A dealership that discovers an error after the contract is signed may be tempted to change the terms of the 
contract.  Do not try to suggest to the purchaser that the dealership cannot deliver the vehicle.  Attempting to 
charge more than the price stated on the signed contract is known as bushing and is illegal.  Failure to fulfill 
the contract terms and bushing are serious violations and are grounds for suspension or revocation of a dealer 
license. 

Willful failure to perform any written agreement with any retail buyer is grounds for suspension or revocation 
of a dealer license and could result in civil action by the customer.  A dealer must deliver the vehicle at the 
price agreed to in the contract.  However, if an error on a contract is a mutual mistake on the part of the 
salesperson and customer, the contract may be changed if both parties agree.  Be sure you and your customer 
write your initials beside any changes on all copies of the contract. 
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TITLE INFORMATION 

When the title to the trade-in or the purchased vehicle contains previously unknown information that 
materially affects the value of the vehicle, the dealer or the customer may cancel the contract.  For example, if 
the title is received and it is discovered that the mileage is "not actual" or that the vehicle was previously 
salvaged, the deal may be void. 

Written notice of cancellation must be mailed or personally delivered to the other party within two business 
days of the date the title was made available.  Trade-in titles should be examined promptly upon receipt.  Too 
often, information is not discovered until the trade-in is being sold and the right to cancel the deal is lost. 

SALES TAX REFUNDS 

In some cases, sales tax refunds raise confusing questions. Although some situations may cause special 
problems, most cases can be handled easily.  You are responsible for refunding sales taxes to your customers.  
DOR will not make direct refunds to dealership customers. 

The following are some examples of situations in which a vehicle purchase is undone, and sales tax is likely to 
be refunded: 

Dealer takes back vehicle and gives a refund - The tax refund is calculated on the buyback price, which may be 
less than the original purchase price.  (This price reduction usually happens when a dealer may deduct for 
mileage or damage to the vehicle.)  If the buyback price is equal to the original purchase price, refund all taxes 
paid.  

Dealer takes back vehicle and replaces with a lesser vehicle - Complete a new contract for the replacement 
vehicle showing the buyback vehicle as a trade-in.  Calculate the refund on price difference between the two 
vehicles. 

Manufacturer buys back vehicle under the Lemon Law - It is the manufacturer's responsibility to refund the 
amount of sales tax paid by the consumer when the vehicle was originally purchased. 
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ELECTRONIC PROCESSING 

All licensed motor vehicle dealers are required to process all title/registration applications for their customers. 
There are two different options for electronic processing.  An approved Automated Partnership System 
Program (APPS) vendor or a free service developed by DMV called eMV PARTNER.  Listed below is contact 
information for APPS vendors and eMV PARTNER.  

CVR Inc  

Phone: 248-606-5367 or 800-333-6995   

DealerTrack 

Phone: 860-383-9687 or 800-876-2312 ext. 4999 

T-REG, electronic processing through Wisconsin Auto and Truck Dealer Association 

Phone: 800-236-7672 

Redi Reg WI 

Phone: 414-393-0000 

eMV PARTNER 

Visit our website at https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/dlr-ttl-reg/emvpartner.aspx, or contact 
our dealer hotline at 608-266-1425.   

Dealers using an APPS vendor can offer metal plates to their customers immediately upon delivery of the 
vehicle.  A maximum fee of $19.50 may be charged for processing through these vendors. 

Dealers using eMV PARTNER assign and print a temporary license plate and a printed receipt upon delivery of 
their vehicle.  The title and metal plates are sent directly from DMV.  Dealers using eMV PARTNER may not 
charge the $19.50 as allowed to dealers using APPS vendors such as, CVR and Dealertrack.  For assistance 
when processing an application electronically using eMV PARTNER, call APU at 608-266-3566. 

  

https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/dlr-ttl-reg/emvpartner.aspx
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MANDATORY DISPLAY AND TEMPORARY PLATES 

Automobiles and light trucks (8,000 lbs. and less) are required to display valid registration whenever operating 
on the roads and highways of Wisconsin.  Dealers must provide either a metal license plate or paper 
temporary license plate before the vehicle purchaser leaves the lot. 

Purchasers of other types of vehicles are still permitted to operate in Wisconsin, after submitting an 
application and fees for registration and before receiving their license plates, as long as they carry their copy 
of the MV11. 

If a vehicle purchaser has no plate to transfer from another vehicle they own, do one of the following: 

• Issue a temporary plate expiring in 90 days for Wisconsin Residents and 30 days for out-of-state 
residents. 

• If you participate in the electronic Automated Processing Partnership System (APPS), such as CVR or 
Dealertrack, immediately issue metal plates. 

TEMPORARY PLATE FEES 
• Temporary registration plate fees are as follows: 

o No Charge ($0.00) –Issued only to a licensed Wisconsin Motor Vehicle dealer’s customer and 
only for autos and light trucks registered at 8000lbs or less. 

o $3.00 Fee – Issued to any combination of vehicle and organization that does not meet the 
above criteria. 

ISSUING A TEMPORARY PLATE 
• To qualify for a temporary plate, application for title/registration and required fees must have been 

collected by the processing organization.  Process the request for the temporary plate using your APPS 
system or eMV PARTNER. 

• Print the temporary plate on white 8 ½“ X 11“ paper (letter size) 
• Affix the temporary plate inside lower corner of rear window on driver’s side of vehicle. If unable to 

display the temporary plate due to window size, affix the temporary plate to rear passenger window 
on the driver’s side.  

• If you are unable to meet the above requirements for temporary plate display due to vehicle style 
limitations, display in a manner as to be visible to Law Enforcement. 

TEMPORARY PLATES FOR NON-RESIDENT CUSTOMERS 

If a non-resident customer is applying for a Wisconsin title to protect a security interest, complete an MV11 
form.  Collect the proper fees for the temporary plate, write that amount on the license plate fee line, and 
collect the title and loan filing fees. Process the application electronically through an APPS system or eMV 
PARTNER. 

If a non-resident customer is not applying for a Wisconsin title, issue a 30-day Temporary Plate using your 
APPS system or eMV PARTNER.  
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OFF-PREMISE SALES 

Dealers may participate in up to six off-premise sales per year – Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 138.08(3). Off-
premise sales are sales held away from the dealership's licensed location. The following rules apply to off-
premise sales: 

• You must notify the WisDOT Dealer Section in writing at least 10 days before the start of the sale.  You 
may fax this letter to (608)267-0323 or email to DealerLicensingUnit@dot.wi.gov. (Wis. Admin. Trans. 
Code 138.08(1)). 

• A sale may not be longer than 10 days or it counts as more than one sale. (For example, if you want to 
have a sale that is 15 days long, you would use up two of your six allowed sales for the year.) (Wis. 
Admin. Trans. Code 138.08(2)) 

• You must give purchasers written notice of their three-day right to cancel a purchase or lease. (Wis. 
State Stat. § 423.203; Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 138.08(4)) For a copy of the required notice, see the WI 
Department of Financial Institutions website at 
www.wdfi.org/wca/business_guidance/creditors/federal_notice.htm  

• Off-premise sales are prohibited on Sundays, except for persons who observe the Sabbath on Saturday. 

OFF-PREMISE VEHICLE DISPLAYS 

Vehicle displays are exempt from off-premise sales restrictions and are allowed on Sundays. For an event to be 
considered a display not a sale, no salespeople may be present at the display or readily accessible by phone or 
other device to people who want to ask questions about the vehicles. Greeters, security people, and the 
owner may be present at the display, but may not respond to consumer questions about the vehicles. 
Pamphlets, flyers, posters or other advertising may be displayed at the display site. All vehicles should be 
displayed with their new vehicle window sticker or Wisconsin Buyers Guide for used vehicles. 

THREE-DAY RIGHT TO CANCEL 

The Wisconsin Consumer Act gives your customer the right to cancel certain consumer transactions within 
three business days. The three-day right to cancel applies when: 

• A finance charge is assessed, or a cash transaction exceeds $25; and 
• You initiate a vehicle sale or lease by face-to-face contact away from your dealership, or by mail or 

telephone directed to the customer, and complete the paperwork away from the dealership. Transactions 
at fairs and trade shows also trigger the three-day right to cancel. 

THE THREE-DAY RIGHT TO CANCEL DOES NOT APPLY WHEN: 
• You initiate a sale or lease by face-to-face contact away from the dealership or by mail or telephone 

directed to the customer, but you complete the paperwork at the dealership; or 
• The sale is a wholesale transaction. 
  

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/138/08/3
mailto:DealerLicensingUnit@dot.wi.gov
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/138/08/1
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/138/08/2
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/423/II/203
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/138/08/4
http://www.wdfi.org/wca/business_guidance/creditors/federal_notice.htm


52 | P a g e  
 

YOU ARE REQUIRED TO GIVE YOUR CUSTOMER TWO COPIES OF THE FOLLOWING NOTICE: 

"You may cancel this agreement by mailing a written notice to (insert name and mailing address of seller) 
before midnight of the third business day after you signed this agreement. If you wish, you may use this page 
as that notice by writing "I hereby cancel" and adding your name and address. A duplicate of this page is 
provided by the seller for your records." 

Cancellation must be in writing. Your customer may send a letter or other writing indicating their intention to 
cancel. Usually the customer will use one of the two copies of the notice of right to cancel by writing on it "I 
hereby cancel this contract" and mailing it to you. The notice must be mailed to you by midnight of the third 
business day following the transaction. 

Within ten days of receiving the customer's cancellation notice, you must refund all payments your customer 
made and cancel the purchase contract. The transaction is void and the customer is not liable for any finance 
or other charges. Within twenty days you must return any trade-in vehicle. If you delivered the vehicle to your 
customer, they may keep it until you return the down payment. At that time, your customer must make the 
vehicle available to you at their residence. 

If you do not pick up the vehicle within twenty days after the customer has made it available, the customer is 
entitled to keep the vehicle without any obligation to pay for it. 

For a copy of the required three-day right to cancel notice, see the Wisconsin Department of Financial 
Institutions website at www.wdfi.org/wca/business_guidance/creditors/federal_notice.htm, or use the 
following sample "Right to Cancel" form. 

  

http://www.wdfi.org/wca/business_guidance/creditors/federal_notice.htm
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"CUSTOMER RIGHT TO CANCEL" 

_______________________ 

     (Date of transaction) 

You may cancel this transaction, without any penalty or obligation, within three business days from the above 
date. 

If you cancel the transaction, the seller will do the following: 

Within 10 days of receiving your cancellation notice  

• Refund all payments you made.  
• Return any paperwork you filled out or signed.  
• Cancel any security interest the transaction created. 

Within 20 days of receiving your cancellation notice 

• Return any vehicle or other property you traded in. 
• Pick up the vehicle at your residence if the dealership has already delivered the vehicle to you and has 

returned your down payment. 

If you cancel, you must make the goods you received available to the seller at your residence. The goods must 
be in substantially as good condition as when you received them. If you wish, you may follow the seller's 
instructions for shipping the goods back to the seller at the seller's expense and risk. 

If you make the goods available to the seller, and the seller does not pick them up within twenty days of the 
date of your cancellation notice, you may keep or dispose of the goods without any further obligation. 

To cancel this transaction, mail or deliver a signed and dated copy of this cancellation notice or any other 
written notice, or send a telegram to: 

 

________________________________________ at  _________________________________________  

(Name of seller)            (Address of seller's business) 

Provide this notice not later than midnight of   _______________________________ 

           (Date) 

I hereby cancel this transaction. 

______________________________________________________  _______________________ 

(Buyer’s Signature)        (Date)  
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CONSIGNMENT SALES 

Licensed dealers may sell a vehicle for a private party on consignment. Although the dealer does not own the 
vehicle, the dealer is authorized to sell it for the titled owner.  Consignment sales are prohibited between 
dealers, and between dealers and wholesalers. 

CONSIGNMENT AGREEMENT 

• The laws regulating consignment sales are the same as those for dealer owned vehicle sales including 
inspection and display of the Wisconsin Buyers Guide. The only difference is that a consignment 
agreement must be completed and signed by both the dealer and seller before the dealer offers the 
vehicle for sale. 

• The consignment agreement must contain all the following information: 
o Date of consignment. 
o Name of consignor (vehicle owner) and consignee (dealership). 
o Description of the vehicle, including year, make and vehicle identification number (VIN). 
o Description of the vehicle's prior use. 
o Odometer disclosure statement (on separate form MV2488). 
o Terms of the agreement, including duration, agreed upon minimum selling price, disposition of the 

amount received above the minimum sales price, and the amount of dealer commission. 
o Statement by the owner that the vehicle is clear of liens or stating the amount of any lien balance, 

and the name of the lien holder. 
o Vehicle owner and dealer’s signatures. 

• An agreement between the dealer and the vehicle owner that the dealership will hold a photocopy of the 
front and back of the title for inspection by potential buyers during the period of consignment.  

o The title will not be signed until the vehicle is actually sold. If the vehicle is not sold, the dealership 
promptly returns the title and the vehicle to the owner. 

o If the title is held by a lienholder, the owner or dealer must work with the lienholder to obtain the 
required copies.  The lienholder can print any title they hold electronically and send the copies to 
the selling dealer.  

ADDITIONAL REQUIREMENTS FOR CONSIGNMENTS 

When offering a consignment vehicle for sale, dealers are required to have an original odometer statement 
from the seller available for the customer's inspection. While dealers are not required to make the original 
title available to the customer, they are required to have a photocopy of the title available for the customer's 
inspection. 

RECORD KEEPING 

Enter a consigned vehicle into the used vehicle logbook when a consignment agreement is signed. Update the 
logbook at the time of sale or when the vehicle is returned to the owner. 
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ODOMETER STATEMENT 

When a consigned vehicle is offered for sale, the consignor must give the consigning dealer a completed 
conforming odometer disclosure statement.  Before selling the vehicle, the dealer is required to show the 
buyer the consignor’s odometer disclosure statement.  When the vehicle is sold, the consignor must complete 
the transfer of ownership and the odometer statement on the title.    
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CONSIGNMENT SALE CHECKLIST 

 Execute a consignment agreement.  Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 138.04(1)(b). 

 Enter vehicle into used vehicle log book.  Wis. State Stat. § 342.16(2) & Wis. State Stat. § 218.0116(5); 
Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 138.04(1)(f). 

 Make photocopy of title available at time of sale.  Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 154.12. 

 Make original odometer statement available at time of sale.  Wis. State Stat. § 342.15(1)(bm); Wis. 
Admin. Trans. Code 139.04(7). 

 Inspect vehicle.  Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 139.04. 

 Display Wisconsin Buyers Guide in the vehicle on the left rear window if possible.  Wis. Admin. Trans. 
Code 139.04(6). 

 Complete a motor vehicle purchase contract with the vehicle purchaser.  Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 
139.05. 

 Explain Buyers Guide, have customer sign and date it.  Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 139.04(6). 

 Complete MV11 Application for Title and Registration and submit to DMV within 7 business days. Wis. 
State Stat. § 342.16. 

 Enter information for sold consignment vehicle into used vehicle logbook. If not sold, enter that the 
vehicle was returned to the owner.  Wis. State Stat. § 342.16(2); Wis. Admin. Trans. Code 138.04(1)(f). 

 Retain all records for five (5) years, even if the vehicle is unsold and returned to the owner.  Wis. 
Admin. Trans. Code 138.04(3). 

  

http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/138/04/1/b
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/342/II/16/2
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/218/I/0116/5
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/138/03/1/a
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/154/12
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/342/II/15/1/bm
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/04/7
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/04
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/04/6
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/05
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/139/04/6
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/342/II/16
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/342/II/16/2
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/138/04/1/f
http://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/code/admin_code/trans/138/04/3
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MOTOR VEHICLE CONSIGNMENT AGREEMENT 
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PROTECT YOUR DEALERSHIP FROM ODOMETER FRAUD 

The Wisconsin Department of Transportation has made a strong commitment to the investigation, detection, 
and prosecution of those persons and dealers who tamper with odometer readings.  You are subject to 
criminal and/or regulatory action against your dealer license if the Department determines that you are 
knowingly selling rolled-back vehicles.   

Do not rely only on the odometer statement provided.  You have an obligation to make sufficient inquiries and 
take special efforts to be sure the odometer reading is accurate before certifying that the mileage is actual. In 
the case of a suspicious vehicle, you should obtain a title history from the state where the vehicle was last 
registered and contact prior owners to confirm the odometer reading. 

Any of the following could suggest a problem odometer, and should cause you to look further into a vehicle’s 
history: 

IRREGULAR DOCUMENTS 
• Blank, erased, altered or obscured mileage data on title documents. 
• Blank, incomplete, or altered odometer mileage statements issued by prior owners. 
• Undated or missing title assignments and reassignments. 
• Incomplete odometer statement (i.e., mileage, date, etc.). 
• Maintenance stickers, warranties, or other paperwork that may indicate a higher mileage. 

SUSPICIOUS VEHICLE 
• Vehicle age and condition do not fall within the range expected for the odometer reading.  
• Speedometer or odometer is not functioning properly. Vehicle has been sold through more than one 

wholesale auction before retail sale. (Auctions have been used to dispose of tampered vehicles.) 
• Parts have been replaced that normally would not be replaced on a low-mileage vehicle. 
• Vehicle shows excessive interior wear, particularly in the driver’s area. 
• Braking system shows excessive wear or replaced parts. 

SUSPICIOUS SELLER 
• Seller or a prior owner is known to have supplied altered vehicles in the past, or to have given 

inaccurate odometer statements.  
• Seller’s name does not appear on the title or any assignments. 
• Seller refuses to guarantee the mileage. 
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