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The alpha character returns to the
dealer plate

 
Beginning in February 2018, WisDOT will be issuing
motor vehicle dealer plates formatted with an alpha
character at the end of the plate number. As many of
you will remember, dealer plates used to have an
alpha character but it was removed when the plate
was redesigned in 2010. After a yearlong effort, we
successfully modified our databases to once again
recognize and issue an alpha character on dealer
plates. 

The alpha suffix will make each plate number unique.
This will make inventory tracking easier for your
dealership, the DOT, and law enforcement.
Additionally, law enforcement will be able to view
ownership details for each dealer plate via the
Department of Justice's TIME System.

WisDOT will not be reissuing plates. Therefore,
dealerships have three options for their dealer plate
inventory: 

1. Replace all of your current numeric plates with
alpha character plates. This can be done by
submitting the MV2176 Additional or
Replacement Plates Application (Dealers) form
and a payment of $4 per replacement plate.
Once you receive your new plates we request
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New Agent Training
Videos Are Here!
The Dealer and Agent Section
has created a new series of
training videos for eMV Agent
and eMV11 processing systems.

http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001g70om-KW8y7XakW29FVBdJLlMO6yULCWIReLHXT7OAORO3ucwb9F1lQGpPyeVXj1x2_2Adff8R7LHag5zTYH14r_y5BjqlIqUHvznYc4HfcYFr0Y9eCLTxSgkXPP_j--PCpM4cofQvbY-VWYcB66z0PI3MZ8hrL0vUnjQ9TbdwA=&c=&ch=
http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001g70om-KW8y7XakW29FVBdJLlMO6yULCWIReLHXT7OAORO3ucwb9F1vKS3mQ_t6s9p0B461IPOLjU3Pzf2_bH3hzkA8NirTJQ7sLCsTv_lK-5TdhkWhTJ8TzUcy7dcmp6_IS6sXYQ9YSSVJcdwcPhvOQIL_yyTSUcjrRaqzwQ1NjNE4hKWkP1bLkE9cgDFdKdKpUxEajPgCnChTC3KD8A_XSJPlXEpXxuTw7FiUcF1wDqwsSGgSw6dz4plxqkWo8L&c=&ch=


you send all old numeric plates to Hill Farms
since they will no longer be valid.

2. Supplement your current numeric dealer plates
with additional alpha plates. This can be done
by submitting the MV2176 Additional or
Replacement Plates Application (Dealers) form
and a payment of $4 per replacement plate.

3. Do nothing. Your numeric plates will be valid as
long as your dealer license remains valid. 

If your dealership loses a numeric plate, or has it
stolen in the future, we strongly encourage you to
replace your entire plate inventory with alpha
character plates to avoid any confusion with law
enforcement. 

If you have any questions about the new dealer plates
please contact the Dealer Licensing Unit at (608) 266-
1425.

Texas title alert
With out-of-state titles, be alert for salvage, junk and
other brands. 

Between September and November 2017, JUNK and
SALVAGE brands for new Texas titles were not sent to
the National Motor Vehicle Title Information System
(NMVTIS). Many of those titles display the Texas
FLOOD DAMAGED brand due to Hurricane Harvey.

NMVTIS records have since been corrected, but this
incident shows the need to be vigilant, as your title
processing system may not always alert you. 

Many states use different colored title stock for JUNK
and SALVAGE. For Texas titles:

JUNK titles are orange - refuse WI title and
registration
SALVAGE titles are pink/magenta - these may
be retitled in WI with SALVAGE brand 
Standard titles are blue

These short video tutorials,
designed with simplicity and
convenience in mind, will cover
a wide range of topics and
functions available on both of
these processing systems.

Learn how to troubleshoot,
process and become familiar
with the eMV systems and
capabilities. The tutorials have
been specifically designed to aid
in processing, keeping in mind
the most commonly asked
questions received by the Agent
Partnership Unit.

These videos are available on
the WisDOT eMV Agent
Informational Video webpage
and the eMV11 Informational
Video webpage.

DMV issues driver license/ID
cards compliant with federal
standards
Anyone planning to fly within
the U.S., visit a military base or
federal buildings will have to
show a REAL ID-compliant
driver license or ID card, or
other federally acceptable
identification such as a
passport, beginning October 1,
2020. 
wisconsindmv.gov/REALID

http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001g70om-KW8y7XakW29FVBdJLlMO6yULCWIReLHXT7OAORO3ucwb9F1vKS3mQ_t6s9p0B461IPOLjU3Pzf2_bH3hzkA8NirTJQ7sLCsTv_lK-5TdhkWhTJ8TzUcy7dcmp6_IS6sXYQ9YSSVJcdwcPhvOQIL_yyTSUcjrRaqzwQ1NjNE4hKWkP1bLkE9cgDFdKdKpUxEajPgCnChTC3KD8A_XSJPlXEpXxuTw7FiUcF1wDqwsSGgSw6dz4plxqkWo8L&c=&ch=
http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001g70om-KW8y7XakW29FVBdJLlMO6yULCWIReLHXT7OAORO3ucwb9F1vKS3mQ_t6s9yx59Q0hRWMl2FZhW09bvUebObR3aP_N20CpIpNiWjB63y-mB1CPdboKU9IJI7ic_dZmO2psPGF3HY0J-Pqb97zjnL600jNVmtSRPPamOd0rNa5K25wG1AA==&c=&ch=
http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001g70om-KW8y7XakW29FVBdJLlMO6yULCWIReLHXT7OAORO3ucwb9F1hRjpR92bDUHeOhG1zXM7TSIWa-VF7tQ1znCOGk7TB16BFqVe60WJWWiR161kaoIHPhWIhCMVQh7eXINb3oIYkItMD_qiRH68jaPUmQmPqwKcz5DVT2VDYEJ1nD7lWVZ2xEGfmKh3BWGl_B5KFoeJb_Vx7ao2alu-MCrlOnpnAhMpEoS4_1a_QE4SXERdYINSA==&c=&ch=
http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001g70om-KW8y7XakW29FVBdJLlMO6yULCWIReLHXT7OAORO3ucwb9F1vKS3mQ_t6s9Rd3BPSs_GsRD-A_cVjG3aUhYsJ92dLL2fsm_WEQLoWWGUo70ayb9wI4D3nHM4Tucostf5VAFow2mAer5wTcrztfmZuM7INQx3qLB2gGa3fMFuQhKC21hOGc6qj3I7r0VWo8hqeoHOT4UzLF7jq7-Mm99aF1e444gFQYFgSmhFBQb8HclTSLYYw==&c=&ch=
http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001g70om-KW8y7XakW29FVBdJLlMO6yULCWIReLHXT7OAORO3ucwb9F1v5eWRMLE3y9cvg7RaU5o8t-hiLydufOuBPGub_WlcIXxwxfOn14XD8Dz4HXNYNv1667z20Bk-OaxLxvwbpVtV4E4ZQlFeGoZKMoNrdh1EGQJVCsJPIVPpj0HYvcxMIWRqJG16AbOeqcd40GoE4beSqh7FsQ9ujxIObSPdClwR04Bxz7dkciteZG5KCMVky6TQ==&c=&ch=


 

Electronic vehicle surcharge
Non-hybrid electric (all-electric) vehicles now require a
$100 annual surcharge, whenever annual license
plate registration fees are paid, for

all license plates with AUT (automobile), LTK (light

Account activity alerts
added to DMV's eNotify
online service

DMV subscribers to eNotify will
be alerted when certain
transactions occur; such as
when an application for a
duplicate driver license or ID
card is made, or when their
address is changed in DMV's
systems. 
wisconsindmv.gov/enotify

New MV11 form is now
available

 
WisDOT has announced that the
new MV11 - Title and License
Plate Application form (1/2018
version) is now available for
use.

Before switching to the new
MV11 version, vendors and
dealers will be allowed to use up
their remaining stock of the last
version of the MV11 (5/2015). 

(To ensure that the application
is processed correctly, the new
1/2018 version and the 5/2015
version are the only versions of
the MV11 that will be accepted
by WisDOT.)
 
To purchase the new MV11
form, contact one of the
authorized vendors listed on
the Wisconsin DMV website.
 
If you have questions, please
contact the Agent Partnership
Unit at 608-266-3566.

Investigator 

http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001g70om-KW8y7XakW29FVBdJLlMO6yULCWIReLHXT7OAORO3ucwb9F1q9J93RbR7JYZZQUoiEGfE0UxLLN1GmDUQ7YCTl0bxiOKG62IbTnV0iEj3TJQk2TZH71LYYjIeZWecV0sTXKlQmtrPZ-CI6AvLxTxFTcE87x6h1lkfT0TDYk1FK3JUOCy-eCBBNYifiy-hx1EcaQPdBFmWWT4BS0Rys_GFQnMc7r4JGjCj79emTBdlJczYRlQDFuYvpsYXuE&c=&ch=
http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001g70om-KW8y7XakW29FVBdJLlMO6yULCWIReLHXT7OAORO3ucwb9F1tFC0iXXsEI4MK15XZ_g2wxqjlVOW-kge9mYtfvFoisZdsFw4M29UQQFRtD9IZFjh_7IfENXjrs82l1ywMoyvdMPnGmXqSYkdtFdEKjA3w1Yko2FgCq75fg-EAw9lU9m39XCqoorUfUoJmvMC6lRihDsgdUXDS0VwtXy17jhtQmGQ34SQ16put24zNJCQwoHBQrckGQmIxFU&c=&ch=
mailto:AgentPartnershipUnit@dot.wi.gov


truck), or DPV (dual-purpose vehicle) registration. 
This affects new license plates issued with a date of
operation of January 1, 2018 or later, and license plate
renewals with expiration date December 31, 2017 or
later. 

Hybrid vehicles, which are powered by gas or diesel
fuel and electricity, are not subject to any surcharge at
this time. The surcharge applies only to motor
vehicles propelled solely by electrical energy and not
capable of using gasoline, diesel fuel, or alternative
fuel.

The future of temporary plates
We are excited to announce the expansion of on-
demand/PDF temporary plate issuance capabilities.

In 2012, on-demand temporary plates became
available through DMV's eMV Public system, a self-
service title/registration application for private vehicle
sales.

We expanded the on-demand temporary plate
issuance capability with other self-service applications
in 2015, including replacement plate and new plate.

WisDOT has plans for two more releases of the on-
demand temporary plate:

The first release will allow issuance of on-
demand temporary plates by DMV's customer
service center and central office staff.  This
project is scheduled for an August 2018
implementation.
The second release is part of the on-going
PARTNER project and will allow dealers and
other third-party processors to issue them.  The
projected implementation is February 2019.

The current cardboard temporary plates will be
removed from distribution as each business area has
access to the on-demand temporary plate.

Here is a sample of the temporary plate format:
 

Jan Keyser Retires!

After 38-years of state service,
Investigator Jan Keyser decided
to hang up her investigator's
badge and enjoy the good life.
  
During her tenure with the
Dealer and Agent Section - Field
Investigation Unit, Jan was
known for her vast processing
knowledge and willingness to
share it with dealers throughout
the state. DAS will miss her and
we wish her well as she drives
off into the next chapter of her
life, traveling, making & selling
jewelry, and doing whatever her
heart desires.

For the dealers in Dodge,
Jefferson, Ozaukee,
Washington, and Waukesha
counties, please contact Cynthia
Pillar, Field Investigation Unit
Lead Worker at (608) 267-
7807. She will direct you to the
investigator covering your
territory until Jan's position is
filled.

Connect with us

Follow us for breaking news.

                

We're at  .gov

Note: Only the website with .gov
is the official state DMV website.

http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001g70om-KW8y7XakW29FVBdJLlMO6yULCWIReLHXT7OAORO3ucwb9F1q9J93RbR7JYkbn_2T_gX8QB50eg-Lx4TawccFEJ_JBYQoxJuKxt2eSNTsWGCJjk6n3P0Ol8AcY_Yia55XXWWBSPM0S0rXOpvLqYjg6TYDjvIlPVyZLd6Y9Ojtdf4SNHX4d9xHW708PmzpS3t57zYJZioSLG4_PrH3bVqHMRE5CEZ1lX1NfwIO1b7yC1P6gOZzVRmMOgEkCs&c=&ch=
http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001g70om-KW8y7XakW29FVBdJLlMO6yULCWIReLHXT7OAORO3ucwb9F1vKS3mQ_t6s9MBaPqWk3s4iLRbyq3j2cWRVEU9_ZMvCN0kmFXdS2YzU4cBjmSdOI9FhkHNMroPBZfeieGqfE__KvK_5Iy4iVKSlroV1aOlEz2Cpr9kczkvZ-ScX8_72U3uPkYeraQGeWg3BDhlaljMGnqYR-VsIB11dYBzw3SLsnYzjFtbTLrdxIpnsuCgTF9GSqMqdzmIIn&c=&ch=
http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001g70om-KW8y7XakW29FVBdJLlMO6yULCWIReLHXT7OAORO3ucwb9F1vKS3mQ_t6s9eLW2dq8EF6rnK3-xbbY5nq1Lt35euJgcbpRYnULhgp3nZTAn_DKlGVecULqeP1F9LhxF0MycnuOeVm4l_-yFUkM75fjV3SDRChClcG88O0HyjI9MZt6Mf1XfQx2bqpnYHni-m2skmy6TYRQWizTg_-di4Q3Y_o093dZS1-auzX9c2NU8uoGssCyEs0LwsOIl&c=&ch=
http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001g70om-KW8y7XakW29FVBdJLlMO6yULCWIReLHXT7OAORO3ucwb9F1hRjpR92bDUHggcy9fhpHCmbFoxTOd8_Tj21UEt6wfdJLB9tjkk85BUqUWx7Yxsg5lc0YGPcbFsoTWDJPcPd7pbTtlwHJMHS5bzJKzWRiRdnPmQQqKs9mR-Nu4E8NF7JSShfxd5x_37f&c=&ch=
http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001g70om-KW8y7XakW29FVBdJLlMO6yULCWIReLHXT7OAORO3ucwb9F1ty988Knidh5RE_fo4r_tvboWASpIC_CnjG79JRz38KCqdYxUaExztrHfRC-bDbk8ryf8vFW0T0W91IzOsS3SKpOMvnxfL0QuR9mSXJiy9txVWUVIk865bUCGiARFMp7kQ==&c=&ch=


Partner Project Team
PARTNERProject@dot.wi.gov

Advertising Service Fees review
Dealers may charge a service fee for completing
inspections and forms required by law. The service
fee is a dealership fee, not a government fee, and is
not required by law. Service fees reflect the dealer's
costs for complying with mandated state and federal
laws, and may be negotiable at some dealerships. 

 
It has come to the Department's attention that service
fees have not been properly disclosed on some
internet advertising platforms. Some platforms have
"stock" language that does not properly disclose the
service fee. Trans 139.03(3) states, "the advertised
price shall include all charges that shall be paid by the
purchaser to acquire ownership of the vehicle with the
exception of sales tax, title and registration fees." 

The service fee is a charge that the purchaser will pay
to acquire ownership of the vehicle. You do not need
to include the amount of the service fee if the
advertisement clearly and conspicuously discloses
that the advertised price does not include the optional
fee. 

Because some internet platforms do not meet the
service fee disclosure, you will need to be diligent and
"clearly and conspicuously" include this in your vehicle
description. 

If you choose to charge a service fee, the following
disclosure must be on the purchase contract or lease
agreement: "A service fee is not required by law, but
may be charged to motor vehicle purchasers or
lessees for services related to compliance with state
and federal laws, verifications and public safety, and
must be reasonable." 

Upon request from a purchaser, the selling dealer
shall provide a written disclosure of the services
included in this service fee. The Department reserves
the right to audit fees to determine whether they are
reasonable.

Other DMV sites with .org and
.com are not official and may
have extra charges for forms or
list information that is outdated
or incorrect.
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Rescinded sales: here's "How to"
The DMV recognizes that occasionally dealers will
cancel purchase contracts and allow a customer to
return the vehicle they purchased. While you are not
required to take a vehicle back after a sale has been
finalized, DMV allows you to rescind a vehicle sale
when all the following criteria have been met:

The buyer returned the vehicle within seven
calendar days of taking possession.
The sale is voided and the dealer has refunded
all money to the buyer.
The vehicle has accrued less than 500 miles
since the customer took delivery.
All security interests have been satisfied.
The dealer has not applied for any rebates.
The manufacturer will allow the dealer to resell
as "new." (For new vehicle purchases only.)
The dealer submits an MV2340 Rescinded Sale
Statement of Fact which explains why the sale
was rescinded and is signed by the dealer and
customer.

When a used vehicle is rescinded, the title does not
need to be submitted with the MV2340 form. The
customer(s) transfers ownership by signing the back
of title and the dealer uses that title to retail the vehicle
to the next customer.

When a new vehicle is rescinded, the dealer must
submit the title, signed off by the customer, along with
the MV2340. These documents will be recorded with
the department and will allow you to apply for a
duplicate MCO and once again sell the vehicle as new.

In both scenarios, the customer must transfer
ownership by signing the title and provide an
odometer statement unless the vehicle is exempt
from an odometer reading.

It is important to ensure that all above mentioned
criteria have been met. Without these requirements,
the department will not be able to facilitate a rescinded
sale for you. If you have any questions, or would like
more information on rescinded sales, please call the
Agent Partnership Unit at (608)266-3566.

Made a processing mistake? 
Here's how to fix it
If you processed a title transfer application and
realized you made a mistake, you can cancel that
application by resetting it right away. Resets can be
done before 8 p.m. the same day the application was
processed. Once it's after 8 p.m. that same day, it
becomes a correction. 

All dealer corrections are requested using the MV1047

http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001g70om-KW8y7XakW29FVBdJLlMO6yULCWIReLHXT7OAORO3ucwb9F1vKS3mQ_t6s9fxhdE41p39gEO4uveqyjSuT8DfZdPKcXAXQDB21cyv_UxvAvrcV2i45xBvl936irtU0kvXieRm8IOTaDX5kpPeSsC1I-tF7CKNq2QXHh7J_XarHpVjaJd2T2Y_w3LWHKcAYTl4LnqAay_CfTi5IjNqVvquEOLZaWU_STBdZKBXcJJRUGCCHbXzFVfdtUdYCm&c=&ch=
http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001g70om-KW8y7XakW29FVBdJLlMO6yULCWIReLHXT7OAORO3ucwb9F1vKS3mQ_t6s9KXOEzKgbVcmL6IE3jdgCEXicNvTMOR39m6bh7cHl-tKEbX_z9CPg73I-2O8_LeS9Q56iZAYwOXX3t13kD05GXHPvh6BPtcAqIaDw1kJDEEcmMuohoE1N-KcBTN8HNZMY-S9SZyTbWbG0i1-IBW56dyO70nKe-iuZc-mXwipxgVpQpCaUr6hwftPv-GBDhUdR&c=&ch=


Request for Title or Registration Correction form. That
form can also be found doing a browser search by the
form number. Because the MV1047 has a certification
that the changes you, as a licensed Wisconsin dealer,
are requesting are true and correct, it is the only
correction form we can accept. 

The MV1020 Title/Registration Correction Request is a
form that general public can use to request corrections
on private transfer transactions and does not include
that certification. 

For questions as to what other forms or fees may be
required for a particular correction, please call the
Agent Partnership Unit at (608) 266-3566.

What dealers can and can't do with
trade vehicle titles held by lien holder
When you take a vehicle in on trade and the
Wisconsin title is held by a lien holder, be sure to have
your trade customer complete an MV2690 Power of
Attorney form. You'll also need to run the VIN number
in your processing system inquiry and print that
screen. That inquiry printout is your proof that the title
was held by a lien holder at the time of the trade, and
that you were eligible to use the MV2690.

  
This is the only time dealers are allowed to put a
vehicle out for sale and, if the vehicle sells, title it to
the buyer without a title. 

After processing, send a completed MV11, MV2690
and inquiry print with your bundle. Anything else you
would do with the vehicle, whether it's sold to an out-
of-state customer without a lien, wholesaled, or dealer
traded, you have to wait for a title from the lien holder.
In that case, after receiving the title, you'll sign the title
as Seller, POA and forward it with the MV2690 and
inquiry print wherever the vehicle is going.
 
If the trade vehicle is titled out of state and that title is
held by a lien holder, you can have your customer
complete the MV2690 Power of Attorney form. You
must have the out-of-state title in your possession
before the vehicle can be put out for sale, wholesaled,
or dealer traded. Once you receive the title, you may
sign the title as Seller, POA and once it sells, process it



to your buyer. If it sold to an out-of-state customer
without a lien, wholesaled, or dealer traded, sign the
title as Seller, POA and forward it with the MV2690 and
inquiry print to your buyer, wholesaler, or trade
dealer.

Dealer Group advertising
Dealer Groups are defined by the department as
dealerships with the same majority ownership. Dealer
groups often advertise their inventory as a group of
dealer licensees in one advertisement or website.
When advertising in a group, it is important to make
sure all licensees in the group advertisement have the
same majority ownership.  

 
If your dealerships don't meet the department's
definition of a "group," here's how you can still
advertise together and be compliant with the law:
Have a central home or landing page without any
vehicles listed and then branch off to each individual
dealership's website and inventories.
 
If your dealerships qualify as a "group," you can
advertise the entire group's inventory on one general
page, but you must specify the location of each
vehicle being advertised.   
 
The reason for this is three-fold:

1. Trans 139 prohibits you from advertising
vehicles you don't have available.

2. You are not allowed to advertise motor vehicles
at an address other than the licensed business
presence unless you have declared an off-
premise sale.

3. Franchised dealers are only allowed to advertise
new motor vehicles they are permitted to sell by
the manufacturer. If you advertise as a group
and don't specify the location, it could be a
franchise law violation.

If you need assistance or have questions about
proper advertising, contact your dealer investigator to
review the ad with you. Here is the list of dealer
investigators and their territories.

WIVIP (emissions) resources
Are you looking for information regarding emissions
testing and repairs? Many resources are available on

http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001g70om-KW8y7XakW29FVBdJLlMO6yULCWIReLHXT7OAORO3ucwb9F1sjhvfhZQBvNzaPavHflNVStwYacveZJjqS8kTEMz8MypaJgE8KpCTIYKn_im89Id_E4ZPBOBy0_cI1fzOnL9XFIUFTVjRdOpOxKVkx79nnIGJz9R33ju7ThTkrhMHMi7rb5HNOEDEJp4IKS9J4wwcjAlZ8OwTMeVpRyH16g_Tmt&c=&ch=


the Wisconsin Vehicle Inspection Program (WIVIP)
website.

The main page of the website contains the "Inspection
Facility Locator," where customers can find businesses
that perform emissions inspections by searching by
city or zip code.

Under "Motorists," customers may look up their
emissions inspection results by clicking on "Vehicle
Inspection Result" or "Lookup Test Result" and
entering Plate and VIN. To find out which vehicles are
subject to emissions inspections, click on "OBD
Testing Procedures" for counties and model years.
 
 

Technicians can find resources under the
"Technicians" tab:

Current and past issues of "The Analyzer," the
program's quarterly newsletter that contains
Tech Tips and other useful information.
If you are registered with the program, you
may log in under the "Training Documents" tab
to access training presentation materials from
past technician seminars. (If you are not
registered, you may register by clicking on
"Recognized Repair Facility Application" under
"Facilities".)
Interested in obtaining or renewing ASE L1
certification? A link may be found under
"Training" for ASE Test Prep and Training.

Additional questions?
Call 1-866-OBD-TEST (1-866-623-8378) to speak to a
representative.

http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001g70om-KW8y7XakW29FVBdJLlMO6yULCWIReLHXT7OAORO3ucwb9F1vKS3mQ_t6s9JTW8WLkQGFGhUWkcIr-RAoExx0SAL6e56beRE9bADGQwESY_GU5NSFqkvSLkealkX2ULTsmpPFwJOw_hPlEk1CxmU6cuF4qprl-1_WHQXOk=&c=&ch=


How to find dealer information on the
WisDOT website
To access our official WisDOT website home page,
enter wisconsindot.gov. A Google search for
Wisconsin DOT or DMV may bring up sites that will
show as wisconsindot.org or wisconsindot.com. These
are not the official Wisconsin DOT website, have no
affiliation with Wisconsin DOT and may not contain
accurate information. Please be sure that you are
going to wisconsindot.gov.
 
To find dealer-specific information once you're at our
homepage, locate the blue bar at the top of the page
and click on DMV INFO. You'll get a drop-down menu
with Dealer/Lender/Agent as the second to last option.
Putting your cursor over Dealer/Lender/Agent will
bring up a second drop-down menu that will give you
choices such as Business License, Title Processing,
Forms and Publications, along with several others.
Clicking on Forms and Publications, for example, will
take you to a page with access to forms commonly
used by dealers relating to title processing and the
various dealer licenses.

 
As always, if you have any questions give the Agent
Partnership Unit a call at 608-266-3566.

Wheel tax updates
Additional municipalities/counties have added new
wheel taxes for
most vehicles that are
kept in those
jurisdictions. New
plates issued with
dealer delivery date or
date of operation
starting the 2nd day of
the implementation
month will require these fees. Thank you for your
efforts to correctly record the county and municipality
where a vehicle is customarily kept on every
application, saving your customer and the DMV the
time and expense of corrections later.

Effective November 2017:  

Village of Eden - $20 wheel tax 

Effective January 2018:

http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001g70om-KW8y7XakW29FVBdJLlMO6yULCWIReLHXT7OAORO3ucwb9F1i1us90oWmwY8N-QNr9u9j3xWb70IR74o_1zEm5IxEQnO1425nE4AJoc-TbdxyNoN_P3aHEPJDNBj035wbdZSzFbV8nAskbl3CbIoADdxZpdz8TE8HGzcAdxtAGkHe55n7MTdGsXUG-F&c=&ch=
http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001g70om-KW8y7XakW29FVBdJLlMO6yULCWIReLHXT7OAORO3ucwb9F1j3w6OB8cJ9409NERbuXmgBcE_KnWhgumDo8aU7zZfXpoVntU6pZkcAi20oUuw8_fHLORLwpSPviNJ1eEtd2fRu-AwrPYDp9BYhkNjZTDEZ3HAMztvN_6e-l9qeS9y5JMC9dh3Qfetw_a5YDM0TsTbzQmNwOI2WA_LKwLrO33BkrZsiBhUYMEdlWYU2QTRD5748cUlMsiXUL&c=&ch=


City of Evansville - $20 wheel tax
City of New London - $20 wheel tax
Lincoln County - $20 wheel tax

Visit the WisDOT Wheel Tax webpage for complete
information on wheel taxes.

DAS Quarterly Report numbers
The following numbers have been generated from the
Dealer and Agent Section (DAS) Quarterly Report.
This data is from the third and fourth quarters. (July
through September, and October through December,
2017)
 
Field Investigation Unit (FIU)
The following statistics represent the Field
Investigation Unit's compliance efforts, community
outreach and enforcement actions.  
 
Activity Third 

Quarter
 Fourth 
Quarter

FIU Complaints Closed 260 275

FIU Inspections
(Dealers)

211 260

FIU Educational
Presentations 2 0

APU/DLU
The Agent Partnership Unit (APU) answers phone calls
from dealers, government agencies, financial
institutions, gas stations, grocery stores and various
other types of agents throughout the state. These
agents electronically process either title and
registration, or renewal registration applications on
behalf of the DMV.     
                         
The Dealer Licensing Unit (DLU) issues and renews
multiple business license types. Individual licenses
are issued to individuals who are selling or purchasing
vehicles on behalf of dealerships. DLU answers dealer
licensing questions as well as providing information
about consumer harm and how to file a dealer
complaint to the general public.
 
Activity Third 

Quarter
 Fourth 
Quarter

APU Phone Calls 12,517 15,801

DLU Phone Calls 2,973 4,171

Business Licenses
Issued

619 597

Individual Licenses
Issued

3,430 4,608

http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001g70om-KW8y7XakW29FVBdJLlMO6yULCWIReLHXT7OAORO3ucwb9F1nzrTbk05v2foWGF-Rk3LngTieM8ggv8je6DcZi90b5Cj2AbnQzc368jst5s27uQTPbrVgt3iR5c1m7t6RlYU38ZCvgKsbG7bbEjbKirFgSF3UIu6LwW8s5-ejBdvvJaql0Fc8mXhtjIGjKqzQwDuxj5NfbBjWs8SmTuw363snVRyCvsR1PinXFj2UQoKEH4tw==&c=&ch=


Lemon Law
DMV receives telephone and email inquiries from
consumers (and some dealers and lawyers) about the
specifics of the Lemon Law and help in pursuing a
claim.
 
Activity Third 

 Quarter
Fourth

Quarter

Lemon Law Inquiries 232 181

Electronic Title and Registration Processing

Dealers and agents processing titles and/or

registration electronically: 

Activity Third 
Quarter

Fourth
Quarter

Renewal Agents  1,043 1,054

Title Agents
(includes
dealerships)

 4,549 4,554

Total  5,592 5,608

Wisconsin motor vehicle dealers are required to

electronically process all title/registration applications

for their customers. For more information regarding

electronic processing options, visit the DMV eMV11

Electronic Processing webpage.

These systems are available for electronic processing:

eMV11 - for dealers only

eMV Agent - for lenders only

Computerized Vehicle Registration (CVR)

Dealertrack Registration and Title, formerly

known as TriVIN

National Financial Corporation (NFC) -

registration only

Opus Inspection Inc., formerly known as

Systech International LLC - registration only

Electronic Title Delivery
Lenders receiving electronic title records:

Activity Third 
Quarter

Fourth 
Quarter

Lenders  801 835

These service providers deliver and manage
electronic titles:

Secure Title Administration, Inc.

http://r20.rs6.net/tn.jsp?f=001g70om-KW8y7XakW29FVBdJLlMO6yULCWIReLHXT7OAORO3ucwb9F1gi59_LMVDS8I8ESAjqcejeWGUCyV61-18WWMwrhKBljlWRTN3jdkg45kBV2e37ds3wWbejHkETEr8n9Womt6m2iFGpqrpzkLnhYohZtvuMOAa4xgM8eOms8psRKw-dR8hgihVTT3EQKkavdhT-w2g-oDlsBTEaeuqYRzBF7bZm8KlCdESAAsQUmvmtm_VeOlA==&c=&ch=


Dealertrack Collateral Management Services
Decision Dynamics, Inc.
PDP Group, Inc.
VINtek

The electronic lien and title (also known as ELT or e-
Title) program is an optional program for lien holders
who prefer receiving electronic title records instead of
paper titles. This program has been available since
July 30, 2012. For more information regarding ELT
options, visit the DMV Title to Lien Holder webpage. 

WisDOT Enforcement Actions

See the complete Enforcement Actions list

Wisconsin Department of Transportation | (608) 266-1425 
AgentPartnershipUnit@dot.wi.gov | DealerLicensingUnit@dot.wi.gov 

Dealer and Agent Section
4802 Sheboygan Avenue, Rm. 201

Madison, WI 53707
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