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MV2874 Motorcycle Buyer's Guide form updated 

WisDOT recently made an important change 
to the MV2874 motorcycle buyers guide form. 

An option was added under the Motorcycle 
Equipment Requirements checklist to disclose 
the operating condition of the vehicle’s 
license plate lamps, as required by Wis. Stat. 
§347.13(3). We recommend that dealers 
transition to this new version of the form as 
soon as possible. 

Dealers who are using previous versions of 
the form must still disclose the condition of 
license plate lamps as required by law. 

The condition of license plates lamps must 
also be disclosed for other type of motor 
vehicles, in addition to motorcycles. The 
MV2372 Wisconsin Buyer’s Guide, for use 
with autos and trucks, includes an option that 
covers all lights on the vehicle, including 
license plate lamps. 

The updated MV2874 is now available to 
order from third-party vendors. 

  

 

 

Dealer processing training is Tuesday, Nov. 16th 

  

  

  

  

Starting in November, The Dealer & Agent 
Section will provide quarterly title and 
registration processing training for 
Wisconsin dealers. The training sessions 
will cover the following: 

• Processing Basics  
o Common Errors 



 

o Frequently Asked 
Questions 

• eMV PARTNER Website  
o Organization 

Management 
• eMV PARTNER Processing  

o PARTNER basics 
o System capabilities 
o Processing demos 

The first training session will occur at 
noon on Tuesday, November 16th. The 
format of the training session will be 
virtual, via Microsoft TEAMS. Training will 
focus on dealer processing capabilities; 
other types of third-party processing will 
not be covered in this session. 

Registration is not required. Simply use 
the link below to join the training session. 

The training session will be recorded and 
later accessible on the WisDOT website 
alongside related course materials. 

Microsoft Teams meeting 

Join on your computer or mobile app 

Click here to join the meeting 

  
 

Performing markups above MSRP 

 

The Department has received many questions 
regarding markups over Manufacturer Suggested 
Retail Price (MSRP) on vehicles. 

State law does not prohibit dealers from pricing 
new vehicles above MSRP, but all markups must 
be clearly itemized and included in the price of a 
vehicle when advertised, and a disclaimer must be 
included that says the vehicle selling price is above 
the suggested retail price set by the manufacturer. 

Similarly, used vehicle pricing is at the discretion 
of the selling dealer. Used vehicle prices cannot be 
compared to original MSRP, and no specific 
disclosure is required. 

Dealers should also be aware that laws prohibiting 
price gouging during declared emergency periods 
also apply to motor vehicle dealers. Wis. Admin. 
Code ch. ATCP 106.02 prohibits dealers from 
selling vehicles at a price greater than 15% above 
the highest price at which a similar vehicle was 
sold in the 60-day period immediately prior to the 
emergency declaration. 

If you have questions about advertising dealer 
markups on vehicles, please contact Tristan Kloss 
at Tristan.Kloss@dot.wi.gov. 

 

https://teams.microsoft.com/l/meetup-join/19%3ameeting_M2Y0OGI5ZWMtMDUzMC00OGYzLThhYmMtZjdkYjM5ZmRlYjA5%40thread.v2/0?context=%7b%22Tid%22%3a%22f4e2d11c-fae4-453b-b6c0-2964663779aa%22%2c%22Oid%22%3a%2271a301e1-9914-4f73-8987-d82223d36b3d%22%7d
mailto:Tristan.Kloss@dot.wi.gov


 
 

 

Vehicle pricing with dealer add-ons 

The cost of dealer add-ons must be itemized and 
included in any advertised price when: 

- a dealer installs accessories or includes add-ons 
(e.g. special protection packages, third party 
warranties, etc.) to a vehicle at the time it is 
offered for sale 

- the add-on was not included at the customer's 
consent 

- the consumer is charged the cost of the add-on 
when purchasing the vehicle. 

Even if the dealer is willing to negotiate the add-
on cost with the customer, or the dealer 
ultimately negotiates the cost of the add-ons to 
zero, the advertised price must reflect the cost of 
dealer add-ons. 

 

  

 

This does not apply to accessories or add-ons that are installed at the request of the customer or as a 
condition of the sale. 

Wis. Admin. Code ch. Trans. 139.03(3)(a) states that any advertised price must include all charges a 
consumer will pay to purchase the vehicle less tax, title, registration, and optional service fee. The 
Department requires dealers to honor advertised pricing. As a dealer, you may see dealer-installed add-
ons as one way to increase profitability on each vehicle, but incorrect pricing practices will ultimately 
cost you money. 

If you have questions about advertising dealer markups on vehicles, please contact Tristan Kloss at 
Tristan.Kloss@dot.wi.gov. 

Can I take a Canadian vehicle in on trade? 

 

  

You just discovered your customer’s trade-in vehicle was 
manufactured for sale in Canada. Should you take it in on 
trade? How can you confirm it can be legally operated in 
the US? 

The National Highway Transportation Safety 
Administration (NHTSA) allows vehicles to be imported for 
private use and resale. Federal and state law requires 
vehicles to meet US standards to be legally operated on 
highways. Canadian vehicles not correctly imported to the 
US may be ineligible for title and/or registration, 
significantly impacting their resale value. 

Who can import vehicles? 

Registered Importers (RI) are recognized by the NHTSA to legally import foreign vehicles to the US. RIs 
affix an importer sticker to the door jamb to certify the vehicle meets US standards. Vehicles displaying 
the importer sticker can be titled and registered in Wisconsin. 

Private individuals may also import vehicles for their personal use. Do not let the presence of a title fool 
you. An imported vehicle may be issued a title, even if it doesn’t meet US standards. Vehicles that do 
not meet US standards can be titled but are not eligible for registration and cannot be legally operated 
on public roadways. 

mailto:Tristan.Kloss@dot.wi.gov


If a dealer acquires a non-standard vehicle in trade and want the vehicle to be both titled and 
registered, they need to work with a RI to bring it up to US standards. Many RIs will not work on a 
vehicle they did not import themselves. This adds time and hassle when attempting to resell the vehicle. 

What paperwork accompanies a Canadian vehicle imported from a RI? 

When purchasing a vehicle directly from a RI, you will receive the following documents: 

• Bond release letter from NHTSA 
• Statement of Conformity 
• HS-7 Declaration 
• Canadian registration documents 

When submitting a title and registration application to WisDOT, you must include a photograph of the 
Federal Certification Label, or the RI label showing the vehicle has been modified to meet US standards. 

How can I tell if a privately imported vehicle can be legally operated on public roads? 

You can ask the customer to show you a copy of the HS-7 Declaration form to determine how the 
vehicle was imported. If the declaration form certifies the vehicle was imported under Box 2A or 2B, it 
meets US standards. If it was imported for any other reason, it does not meet US standards. 

Is the vehicle new, or used? 

Canadian vehicles do not have titles. As a result, an imported vehicle may still be considered “new.” 
Wisconsin law defines a used vehicle as 

• Having been operated more than 6,000 miles OR 
• Having been operated more than 4,000 cumulative miles, and owned more than 120 days by the 

licensee currently offering the vehicle for sale OR 
• Is a previous model year 

If the vehicle does not meet one of these definitions, it is still considered “new” and can only be offered 
for sale by the franchised dealership. 

What about vehicles sold at auction? 

Auctions offer a platform for dealers to buy and sell vehicles. Auctions must disclose vehicle material 
history and prior use and facilitate the delivery of the vehicle title from selling to purchasing dealer. 
They are not required to verify the vehicle was properly imported. 

When vehicle history and prior use indicates the vehicle is a Canadian import, purchasing dealers should 
check for an importer sticker. 

New special plates now available 

  DMV began issuing the following new special plates effective October 4th, 2021. 

Elkhart Lake’s Road America (RAM) 

The world's best racers have competed at this legendary four-mile, 
14-turn road circuit since 1955. Along with over 500 events held 
seasonally at the 640-acre facility, several major motorsports 
weekends are open to the public. 

Anyone is eligible to request this plate. This is not a donation plate; 
however, there is an issuance fee of $15. 

 

Versiti (VST) 

Versiti is a not-for-profit organization with a mission to improve 
patient outcomes, to advance the field of personalized medicine, 
and to strengthen the health of communities through an 
integration of donation, scientific innovation, and medicine. 

Anyone is eligible to request this plate. This is not a donation plate; 
however, there is an issuance fee of $15. 

  

 

https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/RAM.aspx
https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/VST.aspx


 
 

 
 
  

WisDOT is now accepting electronic dealer 
bonds 

Bonds and Irrevocable Letter 
of Credit (ILOC) documents 
can now be submitted 
electronically. 

When submitting a bond or 
ILOC, email it to: 
emvpartner@dot.wi.gov. 

Electronic bonds and ILOCs 
must meet the same criteria 
as original documents. 

Bonds must be completed on 
either form MV2511 (WI 
dealers) or MV2623 (3rd 
party title and/or registration 
agents) and include the 
organization’s legal business 
name (no DBAs). The 
insurance seal must be 
clearly visible and be 
accompanied by a Power of 
Attorney (POA) form. 

 

ILOCS must be completed on either form MV1046 (WI Dealers) or MV2624 (3rd party title and/or 
registration agents) and include the organization’s legal business name (no DBAs). The notary seal must 
be clearly visible. 

WisDOT sends courtesy notices to dealers and agents when a bond is cancelled, or an ILOC is set to 
expire. Soon we will begin sending these notices by email. 

Wisconsin law requires each dealer to maintain a bond or ILOC. Electronic bonds allow WisDOT to 
review documents more quickly, avoiding suspension of a license due to a lack of financial requirements. 
Switching to electronic records also allows you to keep the original document, avoiding mailing costs 
and potential document loss. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  

mailto:emvpartner@dot.wi.gov
https://lists.wi.gov/t/1740293/6046057/11975/6/
https://lists.wi.gov/t/1740293/6046057/11976/7/
https://lists.wi.gov/t/1740293/6046057/11977/8/
https://lists.wi.gov/t/1740293/6046057/11978/9/


 

Quarterly Report 

The following numbers have been generated from the Dealer and Agent Section (DAS) Quarterly 
Report. This data is from the July - Sept. 2021 quarter.  

Field Investigation Unit (FIU) 

The following statistics represent the Field Investigation Unit's compliance efforts, community 
outreach and enforcement actions. 

Activity            Total 
Complaints closed              243 
Dealer inspections              127 
Educational presentations                  0 

APU/DLU 

The Agent Partnership Unit (APU) answers phone calls from dealers, government agencies, financial 
institutions, gas stations, grocery stores and various other types of agents throughout the state. 
These agents electronically process either title and registration, or renewal registration applications 
on behalf of the DMV. 

The Dealer Licensing Unit (DLU) issues and renews multiple business license types. Individual 
licenses are issued to individuals who are selling or purchasing vehicles on behalf of dealerships. 
DLU answers dealer licensing questions as well as provides information about consumer harm and 
how to file a dealer complaint to the general public. 

Activity            Total 
APU phone calls            10,197 
DLU phone calls              3,721 
Business licenses issued              4,682 
Individual licenses issued              1,195 

Lemon Law 

DMV receives telephone and email inquiries from consumers, dealers, lawyers, manufacturers, and 
law makers. The inquiries range from questions about the specifics of the Lemon Law, to assisting all 
facets of pursuing a claim. 

Activity          Total 
Lemon Law inquiries                    128 

 

  

 

FIU Enforcement Actions 

Connect with us on social media for breaking news 
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dealers.dmv@dot.wi.gov 
Phone: (608) 266-1425 
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