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Electronic Processing Fee increased to $38, new MV11 and MV2132 

On October 1, 2024, the Electronic Processing Fee 
increased to $38. 

The Electronic Processing Fee may be charged to 
consumers when a dealer utilizes a third-party APP 
vendor program to process title and registration, title-
only, repossession, replace title, and standalone lien 
add transactions. (NOTE: the fee may not be charged 
when dealers utilize the eMV PARTNER system for 
title and registration processing.) 

For transactions started on or after October 1, 2024, 
dealers may charge the $38 Electronic Processing Fee 
to their customers. However, if a transaction was 
started prior to October 1, 2024, dealers may not 
charge more than $19.50, even if the transaction is 
completed on a later date. 

To accommodate this change, the department has also made changes to the MV11 Title and Registration Application form, 
and the MV2132 Mail to DOT form, to reference the new fee amount. Dealers who have remaining stock of older MV11 
and MV2132 forms may continue to use these forms until their inventory is exhausted. MV11 forms are available from 
your forms vendor; the MV2132 can be downloaded from the department website. 

Questions related to Electronic Processing Fees? Email eMVPARTNER@dot.wi.gov. 

https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv2132.pdf
mailto:eMVPARTNER@dot.wi.gov


New Recreational Vehicle Dealer bill signed into law creates changes for dealers  

In March 2024, a new bill was signed into law affecting Recreational Vehicle (RV) Dealers 
and RV Manufacturers/Distributors/Importers. This bill updated Wisconsin State Statute 
§218 with an effective date of October 1, 2024. 

To be compliant with this new law for RV sales in Wisconsin: 

• All RV manufacturers, distributors, or importers will be required to be licensed by 
the Wisconsin Division of Motor Vehicles. For more information on RV 
manufacturer/distributor/importer licensing click here. 

• A dealer agreement from RV manufacturers, distributors, or importers will be 
required to be submitted via form MV2137 Recreational Vehicle 
Manufacturer/Importer/Distributor Certification of Dealer. (Wisconsin State Statute 
§218.161) 

• All Wisconsin licensed RV dealers will now have to maintain a valid MV2511 Dealer 
bond or MV1046 Irrevocable Letter of Credit (ILOC) in the amount of $50,000. 
Please note if your dealership already has a $50,000 bond or ILOC on file because 
you hold both a RV dealer license and a Motor Vehicle dealer license this 
requirement is already fulfilled. (Wisconsin State Statute §218.11) 

If your dealership is still not compliant with this new law, please submit the above 
applicable forms immediately. If you have any further questions regarding the changes to 
Wisconsin State Statute §218 please contact our Dealer Licensing Unit at 
dealerlicensingunit@dot.wi.gov or by phone at 608-266-1425. 

 

 

 

Negative discounts on the motor vehicle purchase contract  

 

Here, a negative sign in the Discount line item adds $3000 to the 
vehicle selling price, rather than discounting the same amount. 

Recently, the department has encountered 
several instances of vehicle pricing issues 
stemming from the use of a negative (-) sign on 
the motor vehicle purchase contract (MVPC). 
The inclusion of a negative sign before the 
Discount line item on the MVPC can lead to 
incorrect calculation of the final selling price, as 
shown in the hypothetical example shown here. 

If your dealership uses software to complete the 
MVPC, be aware that the use of a negative sign 
in the Discount line item may lead to incorrect 
calculation of the final selling price. 

Dealers should not be using the Discount line 
item for any adjustments to a vehicle price aside 
from a dealer discount. Any additional charges 
included in the purchase, such as dealer mark-
ups, dealer installed options, or any taxable or 
non-taxable items being purchased with the 
vehicle, should be listed on the appropriate line 
item on the MVPC. 

 

 

Emission waiver repair cost limit increase  

The repair cost limit for all model year vehicles subject to 
emissions testing increased to $1,110 on July 1, 2024. This 
figure is adjusted annually by the DNR per NR 485.045. 

Vehicles subject to emissions testing that continue to fail may 
be eligible for a cost waiver if actual costs of emissions related 
repairs exceed the repair cost limit. Only repairs that are 
related to the vehicle's cause of failure can be used to apply 
for a cost waiver. Costs covered by any warranty or costs to 
repair/replace emissions control equipment that has been 
removed, modified, or disconnected are excluded. 

The owner must have emissions related repairs performed on 
the vehicle at a recognized repair facility to qualify for waiver 
consideration. A list of recognized repair facilities may be 
found at wisconsinvip.org.   

The application form to apply for Recognized Repair Shop 
status may also be found at the above link under Forms and 
Downloads. TRANS 131.02(39) includes franchised NEW car 
dealerships as recognized repair facilities.  

 

 

  

https://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/dlr-agents/busns-lcnse/manufacturerlicense.aspx
https://www.google.com/url?client=internal-element-cse&cx=010787443000490949541:apm1x16gic0&q=https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv2137.docx&sa=U&ved=2ahUKEwir_7Sbz8CIAxU2l4kEHWokKUcQFnoECAEQAQ&usg=AOvVaw3P2upuGZqR6G3xQlYN2rSf
https://www.google.com/url?client=internal-element-cse&cx=010787443000490949541:apm1x16gic0&q=https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv2137.docx&sa=U&ved=2ahUKEwir_7Sbz8CIAxU2l4kEHWokKUcQFnoECAEQAQ&usg=AOvVaw3P2upuGZqR6G3xQlYN2rSf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/218/vi/161
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/218/vi/161
https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv2511.pdf
https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv1046.pdf
https://docs.legis.wisconsin.gov/statutes/statutes/218/vi/11
mailto:dealerlicensingunit@dot.wi.gov
https://www.wisconsinvip2.org/RecognizedRepairCenters?address=Milwaukee%2C+WI+53202%2C+USA


Quarterly Report  

The following numbers have been generated from the Dealer and Agent Section (DAS) Quarterly Report. This data is from 
the fourth quarter for the fiscal year beginning July 2024 (July through September 2024). 

Field Investigation Unit (FIU) 

The following statistics represent the Field Investigation Unit's compliance efforts, community outreach and enforcement 
actions. 

Activity            Fourth Quarter 
Complaints closed            417 
Dealer inspections            268 
Educational presentations            1 

APU/DLU 

The Agent Partnership Unit (APU) answers phone calls from dealers, government agencies, financial institutions, gas 
stations, grocery stores and various other types of agents throughout the state. These agents electronically process either 
title and registration, or renewal registration applications on behalf of the DMV. 

The Dealer Licensing Unit (DLU) issues and renews multiple business license types. Individual licenses are issued to 
individuals who are selling or purchasing vehicles on behalf of dealerships. DLU answers dealer licensing questions as well 
as provides information about consumer harm and how to file a dealer complaint to the general public. 

Activity            Fourth Quarter 
APU phone calls            8,554 
DLU phone calls            4,079 
Business licenses issued            724 
Individual licenses issued            4,821 

Lemon Law 

DMV receives telephone and email inquiries from consumers, dealers, lawyers, manufacturers, and law makers. The 
inquiries range from questions about the specifics of the Lemon Law, to assisting all facets of pursuing a claim. 

Activity          Fourth Quarter 
Lemon Law inquiries                   72 

 

  

 

 

FIU Enforcement Actions 
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