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An accident/crash must be reported when it results in:

• injury  or death of a person
• $1,000 or more total damage to property owned by any one

person
• damages of $200 or more to government property

(except motor vehicles)

When must an accident/crash be reported?

Accident/Crash Reporting

Who reports accidents/crashes to the State 
of Wisconsin?

For more information contact:

Generally, law enforcement agencies investigate and file the 
written reports with the DOT. In those reportable accidents/
crashes where an enforcement agency does not investigate and/
or file a report, the people involved are required to file one. Go to 
this site to complete your report: 

 www.wisconsindot.gov/crashreporting.

Crash Records Unit 
(608) 266-8753
Email:  DSPTrafficCrashes@dot.wi.gov
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The Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) no longer manages traffic accident/crash reporting.  

Please contact:

Crash Records Unit
Email:  DSPTrafficCrashes@dot.wi.gov
Phone (608) 266-8753
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The Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) no longer manages traffic accident/crash reporting.  

Please contact:

Crash Records Unit
Email:  DSPTrafficCrashes@dot.wi.gov
Phone (608) 266-8753
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What is a Safety Responsibility Adminis-
trative Hearing?

The law requires a person who receives a notice of a safety respon-
sibility suspension the opportunity for a hearing on the proposed 
suspension action, s. 344.02, Wisc. Stats. The person, called the 
petitioner, must request a hearing in writing prior to his/her sus-
pension date.

Safety Responsibility (SR) Administrative Hearings

For more information contact:

What is the scope of an SR Hearing?

How long has Wisconsin conducted  
SR Hearings?

Where are the SR Hearings conducted?

How are SR Hearings conducted?

In 1971, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled in Bell v. Burson that States 
must allow a person an opportunity for a hearing prior to suspend-
ing an uninsured motorist’s operating or registration privileges.

The hearings are formal. Drivers and witnesses are placed under 
oath and testify on the record. They may be represented by attorneys, 
bring witnesses, sworn affidavits, pictures or other evidence. Ad-
ministrative hearing procedures are governed by s. 227, Wisc. Stats. 
The hearing examiner is not bound by statutory rules of evidence. 

Bureau of Driver Services
Citations and Withdrawals Section
(608) 266-1249
Email: dotuninsuredmotorist@dot.wi.gov

The hearings are conducted in Madison and Milwaukee.

The scope of an SR Administrative Hearing is limited to whether 
or not a reasonable possibility of a judgment exists against an 
uninsured operator or vehicle owner involved in an accident for 
the amount of bond claimed, or for a lesser amount, as a result of 
the accident.
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What is the Safety Responsibility Law? The Safety Responsibility Law was enacted in 1945 to protect per-
sons who suffer damages in crashes caused by uninsured motorists. 
The program provides an incentive for motorists to carry liability 
insurance or otherwise satisfy crash damages. The law imposes 
driver licensing and motor vehicle registration sanctions against 
uninsured motorists who do not pay for the damages they cause.

Safety Responsibility Law

For more information contact:

What actions are taken against uninsured 
motorists?

How long is the suspension?

How are the Safety Responsibility sanc-
tions initiated?

To whom does the law apply?

The Safety Responsibility process is initiated by the receipt of a 
crash report in the Crash Records Unit of the State Patrol. If all 
motorists in the crash are insured, no action is taken. When the 
Crash Records Unit determines that a motorist is uninsured, others 
involved in the crash are notified. By contacting the department, 
others involved can invoke the sanctions of the law for damages 
or injuries

If damages or injuries are substantiated, the Case Compliance Unit 
sends notices of suspension to the operator and registered owners of 
uninsured vehicles who appear to be at fault in the crash. The notice 
warns the uninsured motorist that the operator’s driving privilege 
and all registrations of the owner will be suspended unless they do 
one of the following:

• file proof that liability insurance was in effect at the time of
the crash

• deposit security in the amount necessary to cover possible
judgments arising out of the crash

• submit evidence that the parties involved have settled the
damage claims directly

• request a hearing if they feel a judgment in the amount claimed
could not be rendered

The law applies to all operators and owners of motor vehicles who 
are involved in reportable crashes in the State of Wisconsin.

Bureau of Driver Services
Citations and Withdrawals Section
(608) 266-1249
Email: dotuninsuredmotorist@dot.wi.gov

A Safety Responsibility suspension remains in effect for one year 
or until the uninsured motorist complies with one of the Safety 
Responsibility requirements. The motorist may reinstate suspended 
privileges if the DMV is not notified of a pending lawsuit within 
one year of suspension. Reinstatement requires the filing of proof 
of financial responsibility for three years and payment of a $60 fee 
for reinstatement of operating privileges and $50 for reinstatement 
of registration privileges.
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2017 Safety Responsibility Program Results*

THE WISCONSIN SAFETY RESPONSIBILITY LAW requires all motorists involved in reportable crashes to submit 
evidence to the DMV of their financial ability to pay for damages they caused in the crash. A crash is reportable if there 
is injury or death, if there is $200 or more damage to government property (except a government owned vehicle), or if 
there is $1,000 or more in damages to any one person’s property (including government owned vehicles). In 2017 there 
were 3,740 claims made against uninsured drivers and/or owners exceeding $20.0 million in damages. 

2017 – Safety Responsibility (SR) Claims by Type of Claim and Amounts

Claim Total Total
Type Claims Amount  

Fatalities       2 $34,270

Personal Injuries     18 $216,565

Property Damage    372 $1,535,791

Vehicle Damage 3,348 $18,255,041

Total 3,740 $20,041,667

A claim is verification of damages or injuries filed against an uninsured negligent driver and/or vehicle owner resulting 
from a crash. The claim amount includes estimated court costs.

2017 – Motorists Subject To SR Law
5,449 Notices of Suspension were sent to the drivers and owners of vehicles in 2017.  

In many crashes, the drivers and owners were different persons.

1,376 (26%) Responded to the Notice of Suspension by settling the claims prior to suspension.

109 Posted the required security deposit.

4,327 Drivers and owners failed to comply with the requirements given on the Notice of Suspension and their 
operating and registration privileges were suspended.

1,463 suspended motorists complied with the Safety Responsibility requirements after the Suspension Orders 
were entered.

1,585 Motorists accepted the one year suspension of privileges.

 1,219 Drivers and owners were still withdrawn as of January 21, 2018.

*Insured parties have up to one year after the crash to file under the SR law, therefore 2017 is the latest year for which full SR
program results are available..

Safety Responsibility Law
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A Salvage Buyer Identification (BID) card is a piece of identifica-
tion which permits the holder to attend salvage auction pools. DMV 
licenses persons who wish to purchase damaged motor vehicles 
from motor vehicle salvage pools. The BID card holder must be 
an employee of a licensed dealer and may hold BID cards for more 
than one dealer at a time.

What is a BID card?

Buyer Identification (BID) Card

Source: Customer Service Group  Work Statistics

What does a BID card cost?

For more information contact:

What are the requirements?

The fee for a BID card expiring in one year or less is $6. The fee 
for a BID card expiring in more than one year is $12. Out-of-state 
BID card holders are issued a card valid until employing dealer’s 
license expires, for a maximum of 12 months.

Bureau of Vehicle Services
Dealer and Agent Section 
Dealer Licensing Unit 
(608) 266-1425
Email:  dealerlicensingunit@dot.wi.gov

Salvage Buyer Identification card holders must be:

• a motor vehicle dealer, wholesaler, or salvage dealer licensed 
in Wisconsin or another jurisdiction;

• or an employe of a motor vehicle dealer, wholesaler or salvage 
dealer
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What complaints are investigated?

Is there a fee for filing?

How are complaints handled?

For more information contact:

WisDOT investigates consumer complaints against licensed
motor vehicle manufacturers, distributors, dealers, and salvage
dealers for violations related to the following:

•   vehicle title and registration
•   product quality or representation
•   sales practices
•   advertising
•   unlicensed sales activities

There is no fee for DMV complaint mediation activities.

Bureau of Vehicle Services
Dealer And Agent Section
(608) 266-1425
(608) 266-9996 - FAX
Email: DealerInvestigationUnit@dot.wi.gov
http://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv2338.pdf

Consumer Complaint Investigation

Complaints are usually resolved through informal mediation. Wis-
DOT charges no fee to mediate or investigate a consumer complaint. 
Wisconsin consumers receive significant value in the form of cash 
adjustments, free or discounted repairs, vehicle buybacks, and re-
funds as a result of WisDOT complaint mediations.  

Complaint investigations may also result in the following disciplin-
ary actions against businesses that violate Wisconsin laws:

• advisory letter
• warning letter
• citations
• administrative special orders and stipulations
• dealer license denial, suspension or revocation
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How many dealers do business in Wiscon-
sin?

What do inspections accomplish?

How much do they cost?

For more information contact:

There is no fee for inspection.

Bureau of Vehicle Services
Dealer and Agent Section
(608) 266-1425
Email: DealerLicensingUnit@dot.wi.gov

Dealer Inspection

Statewide, WisDOT licenses and regulates approximately 800 new 
and 2,300 used car retail dealers; 2,000 other businesses, including 
vehicle manufacturers and wholesale and salvage dealers licensees; 
more than 20,000 salespeople; and nearly 10,000 Salvage Buyer 
Identification Card holders and Licensed Vehicle Buyers. WisDOT 
issues specialized license plates for dealers, manufacturers and 
other businesses, as well. The total number of licensed dealerships 
in Wisconsin fluctuates little from year to year. The number of new 
dealers entering the business annually and the number leaving the 
business are roughly equal. 

WisDOT performs more than 1,100 on-site dealership inspections 
annually to provide education;  evaluate compliance with trade 
practice, record-keeping and business facility laws; and to resolve 
consumer complaints. WisDOT also performs approximately 300 
on-site audits of third party agents that issue titles and plates to 
their customers on behalf of DMV.

If infractions are identified during the inspection the dealer is given 
15 days to correct those deficiencies.  If the deficiencies are not 
corrected, or a pattern of non-compliance is identified, sanctions 
are imposed in accordance with the Dealer and Agent Section’s 
progressive discipline policy.   

Why are dealers inspected?

What’s new? On July 31, 2012 Wisconsin became a title-to-lien holder state.  
DMV will electronically deliver the majority of titles to financial 
institutions and receive electronic notification of release of liens.  
This means big changes for Wisconsin residents and businesses 
alike, but it is the first step to meet the larger electronic title goal.
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 For more information contact:

Dealer License

WisDOT Dealer and Agent Section licenses the motor vehicle industry in 
Wisconsin, inspects dealerships, and resolves consumer complaints about 
dealership sales and warranty repairs.

In 2018, WisDOT issued or renewed 2,313 licenses for Auction, 
Distributors, Motorcycle, Motorcycle, Moped, Recreational Vehicles, 
(includes Representative and Salesperson), Retail, Salvage and Wholesale 
dealers; 7,373 Salesperson Licenses; 2,027 Salvage Buyer (BID) cards; 
and 4,502 Buyers Licenses. 

Retail dealers are granted a 2-year license if they meet requirements 
regarding dealership size, repair facilities, sales staff, zoning, personal 
character, and more. Vehicle salespeople are granted a 2-year license after 
passing an exam about vehicle sales laws.

Bureau of Vehicle Services
Dealer and Agent Section
Dealer Licensing Unit
(608) 266-1425
Email:  dealerlicensingunit@dot.wi.gov

For more information about the requirements for the above Motor Vehicle 
Business Licenses, visit the WisDOT Web site at: 

http://www.dot.wisconsin.gov/business/dealers/licenses/index.htm.

What types of  licenses do they issue?

What does the Dealer And Agent Section 
do?

Source: Customer Service Group Work Statistics

Buyers License
Manufacturer License
Moped Dealer License
Motorcycle Dealer License
Recreation Vehicle Dealer License
Representative License
Retail Dealer License
RV/Sales License
Salesperson License
Salvage Buyer Identification Card License
Salvage Dealer License
Wholesale Auction Dealer License
Wholesale Dealer License
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What salespeople are licensed?

Includes licenses issued to manufacturer and distributor representatives.

Source: Customer Service Group Work Statistics

For more information contact:

What does a license cost?

What are the licensing requirements?

Persons selling or approving the retail sales, or leasing or approv‑
ing consumer leases of motor vehicles and recreational vehicles 
are required to be licensed by DMV. The salesperson must be 
employed by a dealer and may be licensed for only one dealer at a 
time, except in the case of multiple dealerships owned by the same 
dealer principal. DMV also licenses motor vehicle manufacturer 
and distributor representatives.

Motor vehicle salespersons must pass a written exam at time of first 
application. A bond may be required if the applicant’s character is 
questionable or past sales practices are unacceptable.

Bureau of Vehicle Services
Dealer and Agent Section
Dealer Licensing Unit
(608) 266‑1425
Email:  dealerlicensingunit@dot.wi.gov

First‑time applicants for a motor vehicle salesperson license must 
take an examination.  The fee for a salesperson license expiring in 
one year or less is $9. The fee for a salesperson license expiring in 
more than one year is $13. Salespersons who do not renew their 
license for five years must be retested and pay the new applicant 
license fee. These fees include a $5 examination fee.
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What is a buyer’s license?

• The Buyers License card holder must be 18 years old

• The Buyers License card holder cannot have been convicted 
of a crime directly related to the sale of motor vehicles

• The Buyers License card holder may only buy vehicles on 
behalf of their employers --- they may not buy vehicles for 
their own or others’ use

Bureau of Vehicle Services
Dealers and Agents Section
Dealer Licensing Unit
(608) 266-1425
Email:  dealerlicensingunit@dot.wi.gov

Source: Customer Service Group Work Statistics
Buyer’s License implemented in 2004.

What are the requirements?

How long are they issued and what does a 
buyer’s license cost?

For more information contact:

Buyer’s licenses expire on the same date as the employer’s dealer 
or wholesale license.  The fee for a Buyer’s license expiring in one 
year or less is $6.  A buyer’s license expiring in more than a year is 
$12.  An In-State Buyer’s License is valid until employing dealer’s 
license expires.  An Out-Of-State Buyer’s License is valid until 
employing dealer’s license expires, for a maximum of 12 months.

A buyer’s license is a piece of identification which allows the holder 
to bid on and purchase vehicles at wholesale motor vehicle auctions 
or dealerships.  In order to buy vehicles for more than one employer, 
you must have a separate buyer’s license for each employer..
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Driver record abstracts are computer-generated copies 
of DMV’s driver records. Most driver record entries are 
retained for the preceding five years; however, certain 
convictions can result in a driver record being retained 
indefinitely. Driver abstracts contain the following stan-
dard information:

• name and address
• driver license or identification card number
• sex and date of birth
• former names
• dates and types of traffic convictions, accidents, 

restrictions, and withdrawals

What are driver record abstracts?

Abstract (Driver Record)

Who requests these abstracts?

What is MV2896?

Why does DOT provide this information?

Is any information confidential?

Federal and state government agencies, county courts 
and enforcement agencies request information for vari-
ous reasons. These abstracts are provided at no cost to the 
users if they request it electronically.  There is a charge of 
$2.00 if they call for the information or want a paper copy.

Insurance companies, employers, school bus contractors, 
businesses, and the general public also request informa-
tion for various reasons. These users pay a fee for the 
abstracts.

Wisconsin’s Motor Vehicle Law and Open Records Law 
provide that anyone who requests and pays the appropriate 
fee and completes a Vehicle/Driver Record Information 
Request form (MV2896) can obtain any person’s driver 
record information.

The Federal Drivers’ Privacy Protection Act requires any 
request for driver record information to be accompanied 
by a MV2896 (DPPA) form. The form requires informa-
tion regarding the requester, name of person about whom 
record(s) are being requested and authorization for the 
information.

A copy of the Wisconsin DOT Privacy Notice can be 
found at: http://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/license-
drvs/rcd-crsh-rpt/privacy.aspx.

Medical information is confidential and is only released 
if the driver has signed a release authorization form.

Certain information on juveniles (such as suspensions for 
juvenile alcohol and truancy) is also confidential and will 
only be released to courts, law enforcement and, in some 
cases, parents or guardians.

Social Security numbers are used for driver licensing 
purposes and are not available to the public.

Identification (ID) card information is also confidential 
and can only be released to the following: the courts; 
district attorneys; county corporation counsels; city, 
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How are requests made?

Abstract (Driver Record)

Source:  Bureau of Driver Services, Driver Information Section

For more information contact:

Can drivers request suppression of personal 
identifiable data on files used for marketing  
and research?

village or town attorneys; law enforcement agencies; the 
ID card holder; or to the parent/legal guardian of an ID 
card holder who is under 18 years of age.

Yes, customers can “opt out” by completing MV3592. If 
10 or more records are requested, their personal identifi-
able data will be suppressed. Forms can be obtained at all 
DMV Service Centers and online at http://wisconsindot. 
gov/Pages/dmv/license-drvs/rcd-crsh-rpt/optout.aspx.

Individuals requesting a copy of their own driver record 
abstract may visit DMV’s online services Web page 
at http://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/online-srvcs/online. 
aspx.  The fee is $5.00 plus a credit/debit card procesing 
(convenience) fee. There is no convenience fee for ACH 
payment. Requests for the records of other drivers can be 
made by submitting a Vehicle/Driver Record Informa-
tion form MV2896 and a $7.00 fee. Some large volume 
requesters maintain accounts for immediate response by 
our Web-based Public Abstract Request System (PARS).  
PARS accountholders are charged a $5.00 search fee for 
each record request.
Broker/Volumne (BROVO) account holders are autho-
rized under contract to receive driver record information 
and provide it to eligible recipients, as required for their 
specific business needs and according to DPPA guidelines. 
BROVO account holders are required to maintain a con-
tract, updated DPPA form and comply with background 
check requirements at specific intervals. The BROVO 
service is provided by WisDOT in partnership with Wis-
consin Interactive Network (WIN).

Bureau of Driver Services - Driver Information Section 
(608) 266-2353
Email:  records.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Brokers/Volume (BROVO) 87.63%

PARS
11.02%

Own Record
1.19%

Mail
0.25%

Abstract Requests for 2018 
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Enforcement officers issue traffic citations (tickets) to drivers for 
violations of traffic laws. Most citations are written on the Wiscon-
sin Uniform Traffic Citation (UTC) form. Each citation must be 
resolved by a court action.

What are citations?

Citations and Convictions

What happens to out-of-state drivers?

What are convictions?

What happens to citations and convictions?

How long does a conviction remain on the 
record?

Do convictions from other states affect a 
person’s Wisconsin record?

For more information contact: Bureau of Driver Services
DMV Communication Center
(608) 266-2261
To email, visit:  wisconsindmv.gov/email

A traffic conviction results from a guilty plea or court finding of 
guilty when a person is cited for a traffic violation. When a court 
finds a driver guilty of a charge, the person usually pays a fine or for-
feiture and is assessed demerit points on point assessable offenses.

The courts forward all citations to the DMV. The DMV is required 
to record convictions to establish a person’s driving history. The 
DMV maintains this history of Wisconsin drivers to determine when 
license withdrawal is necessary. Some single convictions require 
that DMV withdraw a license. Other times a driver’s accumulation 
of demerit points triggers an action.

In general, convictions remain on the driver record for five years 
from date of conviction. There are some situations, however, where 
entries remain on the record beyond five years. These include non-
compliance with a driver safety plan, unsatisfied damage judgments, 
all commercial motor vehicle disqualifying convictions and alcohol 
related convictions.

Yes, when Wisconsin drivers are convicted in other states DMV 
enters the convictions on the Wisconsin driver record but without 
points being assessed. With a serious offense, such as operating 
while intoxicated, drivers may lose their operating privilege.

When a nonresident is convicted in Wisconsin, DMV notifies the 
driver’s home state of the offense so that state can take appropriate 
action. A Wisconsin driver record is created for major offenses and 
license withdrawals are entered the same as for a Wisconsin driver.
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‘Entered’ means convictions were posted to the Driver Record.

‘Processed’ includes convictions posted to the Driver Record and those that do not post to the Driver Record. For 
example, tickets that are written to out-of-state drivers, to companies, that are dismissed,  or not guilty, etc., still need 
to be sorted, filmed, and processed because of UTC accountability issues.

Citations and Convictions

Source: Bureau of Driver Services, Citations & Withdrawals Section

571,487
562,947

589,361 579,419

562,370

713,185 731,749
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Traffic Convictions Entered on Driver Record File
January–December  2018

Rank    Code               Charge                                                      Quantity YTD      % of  Total 

Citations and Convictions

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50

SI
OWS
CNI
FFS
CNP
S
UV
SE
OWL
FOS
OWI
ORS
BAC
OAR
DS
LNP
FYR
ID
SVL
UAL
IP
FTC
RPS
OT
IL
FVC
IS
DLT
VOR
PAC
IC
CSR
IT
PI
IVO
FPS
FRA
TFC
OV
DWS
RD
T
DOF
DSP
BI
AEO
FSU
IM
JA
FSB

Speeding Intermediate (11-19 over limit)
Operating While Suspended
Compulsory Insurance - No Insurance
Failure to Fasten Seat Belt
Compulsory Insurance - No Proof
Speeding (1-10 over speed limit)
Unregistered Vehicle
Speeding Excess (20 or more over limit)
Operating w/o Driver License
Failure to Obey Traffic Sign or Signal
Operat. under influence intoxicant/controlled substance
Operating while Registration Suspended (209)
Blood Alcohol Concentration (prohibited)
Operating After Revocation
Defective Speedometer
License not on person 
Failure to Yield Right of Way
Inattentive Driving
Signal Violation
Underage Alcohol (207)
Improper Plates
Following too Closely
Restrictions on Parking and Stopping
Obstructing Traffic
No or improper lights
Failure to Keep Vehicle Under Control
Imprudent Speed
Deviating from Lane of Traffic
Violation of Restriction
Prohibited Alcohol Concentration (212)
Implied Consent
Child Safety Restraint
Illegal Turn
Passing Illegally
Intoxicant in Vehicle - Operator
Failure to Pay Support (205)
Failure to Report Accident
Too Fast for Conditions
Obstructed View or Control
Driving on Wrong Side of Highway
Reckless Driving
Truancy
Deface or Obstruct Official Sign
Duty Upon Striking property
Backing Illegally
Attempt to Elude Officer
Failure to Stop After Accident unattended vehicle
Improper Muffler
Juvenile Alcohol*
Failure to Stop for School Bus

86,229
79,453
65,108
50,875
47,334
40,664
39,783
29,514
28,959
25,071
24,624
18,322
18,105
14,718
14,132
11,772
10,078
8,498
8,397
7,569
7,358
6,790
6,450
6,241
5,661
5,138
5,007
4,220
3,376
3,352
3,076
2,912
2,874
2,806
2,783
2,522
2,471
2,465
2,359
1,920
1,801
1,682
1,559
1,492
1,399
1,347
1,325
1,260
1,118
1,016

11.74%
10.82%
8.87%
6.93%
6.45%
5.54%
5.42%
4.02%
3.94%
3.41%
3.35%
2.50%
2.47%
2.00%
1.92%
1.60%
1.37%
1.16%
1.14%
1.03%
1.00%
0.92%
0.88%
0.85%
0.77%
0.70%
0.68%
0.57%
0.46%
0.46%
0.42%
0.40%
0.39%
0.38%
0.38%
0.34%
0.34%
0.34%
0.32%
0.26%
0.25%
0.23%
0.21%
0.20%
0.19%
0.18%
0.18%
0.17%
0.15%
0.14%
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Traffic Convictions Entered on Driver Record File
January–December  2018

Citations and Convictions

51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66
67
68
69
70
71
72
73
74
75
76
77
78
79
80
81
82
83
84
85
86
87
88
89
90
91
92
93
94
95
96
97
98
99
100

FSA
POH
FNC
D
PUP
IVP
VUF
IE
DOW
TWD
FTT
UAO
IDT
FGS
CDL
CSI
IIV
OII
UID
IB
SLL
FDL
CUL
CFC
DAT
JCS
UA
R
CTU
IPW
CFA
DDH
LH
CFP
MDO
CIS
GBH
TPV
FYL
UN
CPI
CWI
NH
NHI
CSE
CDS
CTF
FA
UTD
CD

Failure to Stop After Accident
Parking on Highway
Failure to Notify of Address or Name Change
Drug Conviction
Permitting Unauthorized Person to Operate
Intoxicant in Vehicle - Passenger
Vehicle Used in Commission of Felony
Improper Equipment
Driving over Walk
Texting While Driving
Failure to Transfer Title
Underage Alcohol Operation**
Ignition/Immobilization Device Tampering
Failure to Give Signal
Commercial Deviating from Lane of Traffic
Commercial Speeding Intermediate (15-19 over)
Intoxicant in Vehicle - Underage Person
Operating while Intoxicated Causing Injury
Underage ID (208)
Improper Brakes
Special Limitations on Load
Failure to Dim Lights
Commercial Unlawful License
Commercial Following too Closely
Driving Against Traffic
Juvenile Controlled Substances (under 17)
Unnecessary Acceleration
Racing
Commercial Telephone Use While Driving
Improper Use Phone While Driving in Work Zone
Commercial Failure to Appear (out-of-state only)
Driving on Divided Highway
Littering highway
Commercial Failure to Pay (out-of-state only)
Miscellaneous Driving Offenses (204)
Commercial Imprudent Speed
Great Bodily Harm
Transporting Person or Vehicle Illegally
Flashing Yellow Violation
Unnecessary noise
Commercial Passing Illegally
Commercial Operating while Intoxicated
Negligent Homicide
Negligent Homicide Intoxicated
Commercial Speeding Excess (20 or more over)
Comm. Duty upon Striking Property
Commercial Too Fast for Conditions
Falsified Application
Use Telephone While Driving with Probationary/Instructional Permit
Careless Driving (out-of-state only)

704
689
657
634
622
552
545
524
515
358
325
320
307
265
264
254
245
237
233
228
217
195
183
163
158
155
135
128
119
111
103
81
64
62
58
57
54
53
50
50
49
42
39
39
34
33
32
32
20
19

0.10%
0.09%
0.09%
0.09%
0.08%
0.08%
0.07%
0.07%
0.07%
0.05%
0.04%
0.04%
0.04%
0.04%
0.04%
0.03%
0.03%
0.03%
0.03%
0.03%
0.03%
0.03%
0.02%
0.02%
0.02%
0.02%
0.02%
0.02%
0.02%
0.02%
0.01%
0.01%
0.01%
0.01%
0.01%
0.01%
0.01%
0.01%
0.01%
0.01%
0.01%
0.01%
0.01%
0.01%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%

Rank    Code               Charge                                                        Quantity YTD      % of  Total 
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Traffic Convictions Entered on Driver Record File
January–December  2018

                                                                                         Source: CVCNTMTH   

* Under the legal drinking age (under 21); violation under Chapter 48 & 125
** Under 21 years of age; not-a-drop, Statue 345.63(2m)
***Note: This report only includes convictions entered on the driving record.   

Citations and Convictions

Total            734,211

101
102
103
104
105
106
107
108
109
110
111
112
113
114
115
116
117
118
119
120
121
122
123
124
125
126
127
128
129
130
131
132
133
134
135
136

CFR
FAR
CCD
PLS
TCC
MSC
OSO
CAC
CRD
CFU
CNC
COO
CFI
OCS
OWD
RVL
CFH
CPB
FD
FEM
HFR
HDS
ADL
CIC
IUL
RRP
SLR
CA
CAI
HCA
IR
IUC
JID
OML
RRF
RRG

Commercial Failure to Report Accident
Falsified Accident Report
Commercial Careless Driving (out-of-state only)
Projecting Loads on Side of Vehicle
Transporting Children in Cargo Area of Motor Vehicle
Miscellaneous
Operating while Out of Service
Commercial Admin. Suspension
Commercial Reckless Driving
Comm. Failure to Stop after Accident (unattended Veh)
Commercial Failure to Comply (out-of-state only)
Commercial 0.0 -Not-a-Drop
Compulsory Insurance - Fraudulent, False or Invalid Proof of Insurance
Operating while Intoxicated-Controlled Substance
Operating while Disqualified
Roadway Violation
Crossing Fire Hose
Commercial Possession of Intoxicant Beverage
Found Delinquent
Following Emergency Vehicle
Haz. Commercial Failure to Report Accident
Haz. Commercial Duty Upon Striking Property
Altering Driver License
Commercial Implied Consent
Illegal use of Operator’s License
Reproducing Evidence of Registration Prohibited
Fail/Return License or Registration
Commercial Alcohol
Commercial Alcohol Causing Injury
Haz. Commercial Alcohol
Illegal Riding
Insufficient Undercarriage Clearance
Juvenile ID
Operating with Multiple Licenses
Railroad Failure to Stop
Railroad Grade Violation

19
16
15
14
14
13
13
11
11
9
7
7
6
6
5
5
4
4
4
4
4
3
2
2
2
2
2
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1

0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%

Rank    Code               Charge                                                        Quantity YTD      % of  Total 
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What is a driver license? A driver license is evidence of authority to operate a motor vehicle. 
The two types of driver licenses are probationary or regular. 

Driver License

What are the requirements for a driver 
license?

What is a probationary license?

What is a regular driver license?

Who does not need a Wisconsin driver li-
cense?

What documentation must be provided? An applicant must provide:

• proof of Legal Presence
• proof of name and date of birth (e.g., a certified birth certificate 

or passport)
• one form of personal identification with signature or photo 

(if moving to Wisconsin from another state, the license or ID 
card from that state must be surrendered)

• Social Security number (If applicable)
• proof of completion of an approved driver education course 

if under age 18
• the signature of an approved adult sponsor (e.g., parent/legal 

guardian) evidencing sponsorship or acceptance of financial 
responsibility for the minor as an operator, if applicant is 
under 18

• Proof of Wisconsin residency

A probationary license is always a class D and/or class M license 
issued for 2 years from the licensee’s next birthday. DMV issues 
probationary licenses to:

• new drivers
• persons with foreign or international licenses
• persons reinstating revoked or canceled probationary licenses
• new residents surrendering a license expired for more than 

6 months, or with less than 3 years of driving experience or 
under the age of 21

Drivers convicted of 2 or more driving offenses with a point pen-
alty are assessed double demerit points if they have a probationary 
license.
DMV issues a regular license after completion of the probationary 
period. The license is valid for 8 years and can be any combination of 
the 5 classes (A, B, C, D, M) and 6 endorsements (F, H, N, P, S, T).

Drivers must be at least 16 years old. Drivers under 18 must have 
completed an approved driver education course. Persons 15 years 
and 6 months old, enrolled in a driver education course, may apply 
for an instruction permit. Drivers must pass knowledge, sign, vision, 
and road tests. New drivers under 18 must have an instruction permit 
for at least 6 months before taking the road test, be conviction-free 
for at least 6 months prior to application of their probationary license 
and have at least 30 hours of driving practice (10 hours at night) 
before a probationary license can be issued.

Non-resident visitors to the state and members of the armed forces 
and their families living in Wisconsin but with permanent residence 
elsewhere, are not required to obtain a Wisconsin driver license. 
However, they must have a valid driver license from their home 
jurisdiction and be at least 16 years of age to operate a motor ve-
hicle in Wisconsin. If residency is established, they must obtain a 
Wisconsin license within 30 days. Non-registered farm machinery 
may also be moved short distances via highways without a driver 
license.
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Bureau of Driver Services
(608) 266-2353
Email:  driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov

For more information contact:

Driver License

License fees in 2018 are:

Non-Commercial Driver License 
 Instruction permit $35
 Motorcycle instruction permit $32
 Driving skills exam
  Auto (Class D) $15
  Motorcycle (Class M) $15
 Original Probationary or Regular License
  Auto (Class D) $28
  Motorcycle (Class M) $22
 Renewal License – 8 year
  Auto (Class D) $34
  Motorcycle (Class M) $18
  Auto and Motorcycle (Class D/M) $42

Commercial Driver License
 Instruction permit $30
 Driving skills exam (except school bus)
  (Class A, B, C) $20
 School bus skills exam (Class B, C, D) $15
 Original or Renewal License
  (Classes A, B and/or C with or 
  without endorsements $74
 Add Class(es) to existing license $5 
                (cost is for each class added, with an 
                 additional $10 Federal Verification fee)
 HME-TSA Assessment Fee $34
                (this is in addition to the Regular Renwal fee,
                  Duplicate fee, ect. which would include the $10.
                 The only time it would be $44 would be for a  
                 HazMat renewal application)
 Add Endorsements (each) to existing license $5
 Lift (No CMV operation in interstate commerce)  $14
  restriction 
 Lift (No CMV operation with air brakes) restriction $14
                

What does a license cost?
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Creation of a classified licensing system consisting of: 

 ~ Class A – Any combination of vehicles with a GVWR, 
actual weight, or registered weight over 26,000 pounds pro-
vided the GVWR, actual weight, or registered weight of the 
towed vehicle(s) is more than 10,000 pounds.

 Some examples: tractor-trailer combinations with single or 
double trailers, ‘18 wheelers.’

 ~ Class B – Any single vehicle with a GVWR, actual weight, 
or registered weight over 26,000 pounds or such vehicle 
towing a vehicle with a GVWR, actual weight, or registered 
weight of 10,000 pounds or less.

Some examples: dump trucks, most buses.

 ~ Class C – Any single vehicle with a GVWR, actual weight, 
or registered weight of 26,000 pounds or less (or such vehicle 
towing a vehicle less than 10,000 pounds) transporting haz-
ardous materials in amounts requiring placarding, or designed 
or used  to carry 16 or more persons including the driver. 

Some examples: pickup trucks, small buses, and other small 
vehicles carrying passengers or placarded for hazardous 
materials.

 ~ Class D –  Automobiles and light trucks.

 ~ Class M – Motorcycles.

• Issuing of only one license to each driver.

• Testing of commercial drivers. Commercial operators must 
pass a knowledge exam and skills test in the type of vehicle 
they drive. School bus drivers are required to pass a signs, 
a knowledge test and abbreviated driving skills test at each 
renewal. Commercial drivers with an H endorsement are 
required to pass a hazardous materials knowledge test at each 

Who needs a CDL?

Commercial Driver License (CDL)

A commercial driver license (CDL) is required for anyone operat-
ing a vehicle that:

• Weighs over 26,000 pounds. To determine the weight of the 
vehicle, use the highest of the following weights:

 ~ manufacturer’s gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR)
 ~ manufacturer’s gross combination weight rating (GCWR)
 ~ actual weight
 ~ registered weight

• Carries hazardous materials that require placarding under 
federal law. (Placarding requirements are found in Title 49, 
Code of Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, part 397.)

• Is designed or used to carry 16 or more persons including 
the driver.

What does the law require?
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renewal.

• Enforcement of the law is through the Commercial Driver 
License Information System (CDLIS), a computer network 
of all states. Wisconsin has over 310,000 commercial drivers 
entered on CDLIS as of December 31, 2008. This includes 
commercial instruction permits and licenses.

What is an endorsement? An endorsement allows you to drive a vehicle with special operating 
characteristics or with passengers. To receive any of the following 
endorsements you must pass special tests:

T – Double/Triple Trailers

N – Tank Vehicles

H – Hazardous Materials (Fingerprinting is required for a TSA 
background check)

S – School Bus (Fingerprinting is required if if not licensed 
in Wisconsin in the last 2 years)

P – Passenger

F – Farm Service (Restricted)

Bureau of Driver Services
(608) 264-7447
Email:  dotdmvbdscommerciallicense@dot.wi.gov

For more informtion contact:
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ADAMS
ASHLAND
BARRON
BAYFIELD
BROWN
BUFFALO
BURNETT
CALUMET
CHIPPEWA
CLARK
COLUMBIA
CRAWFORD
DANE
DODGE
DOOR
DOUGLAS
DUNN
EAU CLAIRE
FLORENCE
FOND DU LAC
FOREST
GRANT
GREEN
GREEN LAKE
IOWA
IRON
JACKSON
JEFFERSON
JUNEAU
KENOSHA
KEWAUNEE
LA CROSSE
LAFAYETTE
LANGLADE
LINCOLN
MANITOWOC
MARATHON
MARINETTE
MARQUETTE
MENOMINEE

1,298
835

2,801
811

7,664
1,022

915
1,891
3,750
2,230
2,884

810
9,535
4,456
1,155
1,929
2,358
3,310

306
4,429

623
2,585
2,042
1,138
1,397

388
1,208
3,576
1,547
4,956
1,285
3,445
1,170
1,283
1,575
3,395
5,585
2,023

916
116

670
383

1,207
381

4,136
353
441
789

1,493
813

1,341
368

5,316
1,793

550
1,026

872
1,661

171
1,898

330
1,073

804
475
538
171
587

1,592
693

2,244
395

1,835
434
592
745

1,461
2,613
1,186

472
91

1,968
1,218
4,008
1,192

11,800
1,375
1,356
2,680
5,243
3,043
4,225
1,178

14,851
6,249
1,705
2,955
3,230
4,971

477
6,327

953
3,658
2,846
1,613
1,935

559
1,795
5,168
2,240
7,200
1,680
5,280
1,604
1,875
2,320
4,856
8,198
3,209
1,388

207

97
38

184
60

558
63
61
57

157
83

138
47

1,176
202
44

253
130
216
28

235
38

144
82
48
54
32
79

185
115
606
26

231
53
67
77

149
279
145
46
21

2,065
1,256
4,192
1,252

12,358
1,438
1,417
2,737
5,400
3,126
4,363
1,225

16,027
6,451
1,749
3,208
3,360
5,187

505
6,562

991
3,802
2,928
1,661
1,989

591
1,874
5,353
2,355
7,806
1,706
5,511
1,657
1,942
2,397
5,005
8,477
3,354
1,434

228

County                    Valid (1)               Withdrawn (2)                     Total (1) and (2)               Expired (3)                Total (All)
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(1) Valid
Number of Valid Class CDL license holders by county. Excludes Revoked/Suspended/Canceled/Surrendered/Disqualified/Expired
(2) Withdrawn
 Number of Revoked/Suspended/Canceled/Surrendered/Disqualified by county. Excludes Expired licenses  
(3) Expired
 Number of Expired licenses by county
     
Source: Bureau of Drivers Services, Report YRCDLDAT               

MILWAUKEE
MONROE
OCONTO
ONEIDA
OUTAGAMIE
OZAUKEE
PEPIN
PIERCE
POLK
PORTAGE
PRICE
RACINE
RICHLAND
ROCK
RUSK
SAUK
SAWYER
SHAWANO
SHEBOYGAN
ST. CROIX
TAYLOR
TREMPEALEAU
UNKNOWN               
VERNON
VILAS
WALWORTH
WASHBURN
WASHINGTON
WAUKESHA
WAUPACA
WAUSHARA
WINNEBAGO
WOOD

TOTAL

19,548
2,535
2,424
1,709
6,298
1,874

550
2,061
2,377
3,009

930
6,155

859
5,386
1,023
2,946

736
2,420
3,431
3,659
1,637
1,864
4,344
1,766

985
3,811

966
4,871
8,524
2,567
1,518
4,750
3,412

205,587

11,312
1,040
1,042
1,005
3,210

960
206
719

1,011
1,306

429
3,075

393
3,006

422
1,470

473
1,091
1,617
1,403

506
720

2,245
753
593

1,740
501

2,161
5,027
1,211

674
2,870
1,654

99,838

30,860
3,575
3,466
2,714
9,508
2,834

756
2,780
3,388
4,315
1,359
9,230
1,252
8,392
1,445
4,416
1,209
3,511
5,048
5,062
2,143
2,584
6,589
2,519
1,578
5,551
1,467
7,032

13,551
3,778
2,192
7,620
5,066

305,425

3,765
136
107
92

349
103
29

156
167
165
36

599
41

529
57

165
79
94

216
258
51
77

204
70
51

317
77

242
605
155
75

316
184

15,871

34,625
3,711
3,573
2,806
9,857
2,937

785
2,936
3,555
4,480
1,395
9,829
1,293
8,921
1,502
4,581
1,288
3,605
5,264
5,320
2,194
2,661
6,793
2,589
1,629
5,868
1,544
7,274

14,156
3,933
2,267
7,936
5,250

321,296

County                    Valid (1)               Withdrawn (2)                Total (1) and (2)               Expired (3)                Total (All)
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2000
1999
1998
1997
1996
1995
1994
1993
1992
1991
1990
1989
1988
1987
1986
1985
1984
1983
1982
1981
1980
1979
1978
1977
1976
1975
1974
1973
1972
1971
1970
1969
1968
1967
1966
1965
1964
1963
1962
1961
1960

18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58

5
31
35
59
68
93

101
136
149
188
156
198
216
197
198
245
245
239
256
268
274
317
309
358
356
353
401
408
491
521
531
527
522
619
567
586
638
708
757
740
743

2
6

15
19
37
62
73
91

109
122
140
138
162
157
181
167
179
179
170
207
212
223
213
203
214
226
232
249
259
271
298
265
262
279
316
246
266
317
313
324
298

7
37
50
78

105
155
174
227
258
310
296
336
378
354
379
412
424
418
426
475
486
540
522
561
570
579
633
657
750
792
829
792
784
898
883
832
904

1,025
1,070
1,064
1,041

1
18
16
22
41
55
51
68
72
69
64
90
83
71
75
98
98
85
85
82
95

110
91

118
117
101
104
116
133
149
143
156
137
174
136
180
209
239
240
248
252

1
1

13
14
30
51
59
67
86
89

106
91

109
106
118
114
118
124
111
131
130
136
135
123
129
130
115
151
126
137
161
153
135
136
164
142
141
180
175
186
181

2
19
29
36
71

106
110
135
158
158
170
181
192
177
193
212
216
209
196
213
225
246
226
241
246
231
219
267
259
286
304
309
272
310
300
322
350
419
415
434
433

0
18
16
22
41
55
51
68
72
69
64
90
83
71
74
98
98
85
85
82
94

109
91

118
117
101
104
116
133
149
143
156
137
174
136
180
209
239
240
247
252

0
0

13
14
30
51
59
67
86
89

106
91

108
105
118
113
118
123
111
131
130
135
134
123
129
130
115
149
126
137
160
153
135
136
161
142
141
179
175
185
181

0
18
29
36
71

106
110
135
158
158
170
181
191
176
192
211
216
208
196
213
224
244
225
241
246
231
219
265
259
286
303
309
272
310
297
322
350
418
415
432
433

Birth                                  P  Endorsements                                 S Endorsements                          S & P Endorsements                          
Year      Age              Male       Female      Total                 Male         Female     Total                Male         Female        Total
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Data shown reflects counts for the number of valid and unexpired endorsements as of 12/01/18. 
CDL Instructions Permits are excluded
This data reflects the number of endorsements and not the number of drivers who hold these endoresements since drivers can hold multiple 
endorsements. 
Source: Bureau of Drivers Services
Report: YRNDORS

1959
1958
1957
1956
1955
1954
1953
1952
1951
1950
1949
1948
1947
1946
1945
1944
1943
1942
1941
1940
1939
1938
1937
1936
1935
1934
1933
1932
1931
1930
1929
1928
1927
1926
1925

Total

59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66
67
68
69
70
71
72
73
74
75
76
77
78
79
80
81
82
83
84
85
86
87
88
89
90
91
92
93

754
739
768
784
783
720
704
735
658
534
471
459
402
342
250
252
242
214
164
129
112
85
63
52
40
27
19
15

9
9
5
2
1
0
1

24,353

242
251
264
220
200
163
163
138
115
102

73
65
61
48
43
31
29
26
19
15

8
8

10
4
5
1
1
1
0
0
0
0
0
0
0

10,008

996
990

1,032
1,004

983
883
867
873
773
636
544
524
463
390
293
283
271
240
183
144
120

93
73
56
45
28
20
16

9
9
5
2
1
0
1

34,361

271
278
295
295
304
322
273
304
297
233
215
220
151
141

98
100

89
90
63
44
48
29
25
20
16
10

9
4
4
1
1
0
0
0
1

8,743

149
148
157
133
113
94
98
74
71
69
41
44
27
28
20
17
16
12
12
10

4
4
3
2
2
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0

5,953

420
426
452
428
417
416
371
378
368
302
256
264
178
169
118
117
105
102

75
54
52
33
28
22
18
10

9
4
4
1
1
0
0
0
1

14,696

270
278
295
295
304
322
273
304
297
233
215
220
151
141

98
100

89
90
63
44
48
29
25
20
16
10

9
4
4
0
0
0
0
0
0

8,734

149
146
157
133
113
94
97
74
71
69
41
44
27
28
20
17
16
12
12
10

4
4
3
2
2
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0

5,934

419
424
452
428
417
416
370
378
368
302
256
264
178
169
118
117
105
102

75
54
52
33
28
22
18
10

9
4
4
0
0
0
0
0
0

14,668

Birth                                  P  Endorsements                                 S Endorsements                          S & P Endorsements                          
Year      Age              Male       Female      Total                 Male         Female     Total                Male         Female        Total



28 Facts & Figures 2018Commercial Driver License Statistics - Endorsements H, N & T

2000
1999
1998
1997
1996
1995
1994
1993
1992
1991
1990
1989
1988
1987
1986
1985
1984
1983
1982
1981
1980
1979
1978
1977
1976
1975
1974
1973
1972
1971
1970
1969
1968
1967
1966
1965
1964
1963
1962
1961
1960

18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58

4
8
8

30
51
63
96

114
166
157
157
185
218
154
215
230
257
256
232
271
315
274
273
312
342
310
319
336
397
426
441
442
506
461
505
521
574
546
641
579
580

0
0
0
1
6
2
4
4
1
7
9
4
9
4
7
9
5
5
8
9
8

14
7
9
9

12
14
14

5
9

13
11
22
15
14
23
16
25
19
13
14

4
8
8

31
57
65

100
118
167
164
166
189
227
158
222
239
262
261
240
280
323
288
280
321
351
322
333
350
402
435
454
453
528
476
519
544
590
571
660
592
594

46
142
210
279
397
435
559
637
718
791
802
881
981
988

1,087
1,190
1,252
1,246
1,337
1,416
1,465
1,558
1,520
1,598
1,557
1,621
1,744
1,702
1,985
2,143
2,371
2,277
2,299
2,476
2,631
2,669
2,919
3,003
3,153
3,079
3,170

2
3
3
8

13
11
15
15
20
20
24
17
24
25
23
24
30
34
24
42
34
47
46
48
40
53
57
54
51
72
80
89
86
84
77
84
99
92
95
91
75

48
145
213
287
410
446
574
652
738
811
826
898

1,005
1,013
1,110
1,214
1,282
1,280
1,361
1,458
1,499
1,605
1,566
1,646
1,597
1,674
1,801
1,756
2,036
2,215
2,451
2,366
2,385
2,560
2,708
2,753
3,018
3,095
3,248
3,170
3,245

8
32
37
55
78

113
123
160
194
207
213
254
309
247
299
344
377
376
389
418
489
466
470
539
550
582
643
606
735
831
927
891
932

1,094
1,118
1,142
1,243
1,288
1,397
1,326
1,409

1
1
0
3
7
2
3
3
7

10
8
6

12
9

12
4
8
9
8

11
12
20
16
20
14
23
25
30
30
35
22
43
36
35
41
40
39
37
52
40
26

9
33
37
58
85

115
126
163
201
217
221
260
321
256
311
348
385
385
397
429
501
486
486
559
564
605
668
636
765
866
949
934
968

1,129
1,159
1,182
1,282
1,325
1,449
1,366
1,435

Birth                       H Endorsements                                 N Endorsements                                     T Endorsements                          
Year      Age         Male     Female      Total                   Male         Female     Total                       Male         Female        Total
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Data shown reflects counts for the number of Valid and unexpired endorsements as of 12/01/18. 
CDL Instructions Permits are excluded. 
This data reflects only the number of endorsements and not the number of drivers since drivers can hold multipleendorsements. 
Source: Bureau of Drivers Services 
Report: YRNDORS    

1959
1958
1957
1956
1955
1954
1953
1952
1951
1950
1949
1948
1947
1946
1945
1944
1943
1942
1941
1940
1939
1938
1937
1936
1935
1934
1933
1932
1931
1930
1929
1928
1927
1926
1925
1923

Total

59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66
67
68
69
70
71
72
73
74
75
76
77
78
79
80
81
82
83
84
85
86
87
88
89
90
91
92
93
95

549
564
526
462
375
333
303
226
152
134
104

75
55
39
38
20
27
18
10

5
3
5
5
2
0
2
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0

16,004

13
10
12

4
7
4
7
4
2
4
1
1
0
2
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0

451

562
574
538
466
382
337
310
230
154
138
105

76
55
41
38
20
27
18
10

5
3
5
5
2
0
2
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0

16,455

3,035
2,853
2,830
2,727
2,546
2,322
2,117
2,045
1,750
1,408
1,242
1,081
1,030

796
660
585
601
498
407
315
256
191
142
114
85
71
35
31
23
15
12
10

4
0
1
1

94,171

69
73
81
67
58
46
43
32
36
23
21
21
18
12
12

9
12

6
7
3
3
2
2
0
2
0
0
1
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0

2,490

30
28
42
33
36
29
29
17
22
17
11
14
12

8
9
7
8
6
5
2
3
0
1
0
0
0
0
1
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0

1,130

1,362
1,291
1,350
1,310
1,251
1,118
1,076

975
901
719
641
544
527
404
349
322
327
278
239
169
130
105

76
49
33
39
11
11
9
6
5
4
1
1
0
1

39,303

3,104
2,926
2,911
2,794
2,604
2,368
2,160
2,077
1,786
1,431
1,263
1,102
1,048

808
672
594
613
504
414
318
259
193
144
114
87
71
35
32
23
15
12
10

4
0
1
1

96,661

1,332
1,263
1,308
1,277
1,215
1,089
1,047

958
879
702
630
530
515
396
340
315
319
272
234
167
127
105

75
49
33
39
11
10

9
6
5
4
1
1
0
1

38,173

Birth                       H Endorsements                                 N Endorsements                                     T Endorsements                          
Year      Age         Male     Female      Total                   Male         Female     Total                       Male         Female        Total
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Bureau of Driver Services
(608) 266-2353
Email: driverrecords.dmv@dot.state.wi.us

Why did Wisconsin pass a GDL law? The GDL law was passed to address the problem of teen drivers’ 
and passengers’ involvement in more than their share of crashes.

How does GDL address the problem? GDL requires more practice time for teens before they become 
licensed.  It keeps teens in lower risk driving situations when 
they are first licensed.  Probationary drivers are taken off the 
road more quickly for multiple driving offenses.

What are some of the key provisions of 
GDL?

For drivers under age 18:
• 30 hours driving experience prior to issuance of a probation-

ary license.
• Distinctive license showing driver is under age 18.

For all drivers regardless of age:
• Class D instruction permit valid for 12 months, previously 

valid for  6.
• Increase Class D instruction permit fee from $20 to $25.

Simplifies definition of who can accompany permit holders.

For drivers under age 18:
• Must hold instruction permit 6 months before getting proba-

tionary license.
• Must be 6 months violation free before getting probationary 

license.
• Can drive alone but passengers are limited: only 1 passenger, 

immediate family members and qualified instructor for first 
nine months.

• No driving midnight to 5 a.m. except between home, work 
and school for first nine months.

• Restrictions extended 6 months for driving convictions or 
revocation/suspension of driving privilege.

For all probationary drivers regardless of age or issuance date:
• Demerit points doubled for 2nd and subsequent driving convic-

tions.
6-month suspension for accumulation of 12 points in 12 months.

For more information contact:

Graduated Driver License

What is a graduated driver license (GDL)? In the year 2000, Wisconsin passed a Graduated Driver License 
(GDL) law to allow novice drivers (ages 15 1/2 to age 18) to 
gain knowledge and driving experience while under the super-
vision of an experienced mentor as they progress through the 
learning stages.
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Who is required to have an Instruction 
Permit?

Bureau of Driver Services
Driver Eligibility Unit
(608) 264‑7049

or any local DMV Customer Service Center

Instruction Permits

Where are permits issued?

What is required for a permit?

Anyone learning to drive an automobile, motorcycle or Commer‑
cial Motor Vehicle (CMV) must first obtain an Instruction Permit.

An applicant must pass the appropriate knowledge exam and a 
highway signs test. To apply for an automobile instruction permit, 
a person must:

• be at least 15 years and 6 months old
• provide proof of name, date of birth and legal presence, such 

as a certified birth certificate, a passport or naturalization 
papers and acceptable proof of identity (usually a document 
with name and signature or photo) when applying for the first 
permit

• if under 18 years old, an applicant must be enrolled in a certi‑
fied driver education program

• have the signature of a parent, step‑parent, or other adult spon‑
sor, or file financial responsibility under certain conditions if 
under 18

To apply for an instruction permit to learn to operate a CMV, a 
person must be 18 years of age or older and hold a valid Class “D” 
(automobile/small truck) driver license.

What restrictions apply to persons  
operating with a permit?

How long is  the permit  val id? 
Can it be renewed?

For more information contact:

What is the cost?

DMV processes permits at DMV Customer Service Centers located 
throughout the state, which are then mailed to the customer. 

The fee for a Class D instruction permit is $35, motor cycle permits 
are $32 and CDL permits are $30.

The class D permit is good for 1 year. CDL and motorcycle permits 
are good for 6 months. Each renewal costs $35, $30, and $32 re‑
spectively. A minor must show proof of enrollment or completion 
of a certified driver education course to renew the permit.

Persons operating with a Class D permit must be accompanied by 
a person who has at least 2 years licensed driving experience, who 
presently holds a valid regular (non‑probationary) license and who 
is one of the following: a qualified instructor age 19 or older or par‑
ent, guardian or spouse, age 19 or older, or a person age 21 or older.

Persons operating a CMV with an instruction permit must be ac‑
companied by a licensed driver age 21 or older, with the appropriate 
class of license and endorsements.
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Birth  Commercial - CDLI Regular - REGI Motorcycle - CYCI 
Year  Age Male Female Total Male Female Total Male Female Total

2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
1996
1995
1994
1993
1992
1991
1990
1989
1988
1987
1986
1985
1984
1983
1982
1981
1980
1979
1978
1977
1976
1975
1974
1973
1972
1971
1970
1969
1968
1967
1966
1965
1964
1963
1962
1961
1960
1959
1958
1957
1956

16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62

0
0

117
209
178
203
207
205
193
217
206
225
179
188
159
152
172
165
140
155
126
123
115
128
111
121
101
73
97
92
95
78
92
81
68
65
65
71
86
91
78
75
54
78
56
59
45

0
0
3
7

13
15
25
27
26
29
26
29
30
34
39
34
27
34
31
38
31
25
34
25
25
19
21
24
29
25
26
28
18
16
16
24
17
17
18
21
19
21
16
16
14
10
12

0
0

120
216
191
218
232
232
219
246
232
254
209
222
198
186
199
199
171
193
157
148
149
153
136
140
122

97
126
117
121
106
110
97
84
89
82
88

104
112
97
96
70
94
70
69
57

25,641
5,016
4,148
3,047
2,054
1,645
1,267
1,102

995
892
798
717
625
627
540
487
410
381
342
338
279
272
282
231
201
197
165
160
178
116
144
135
132
105
105
106

88
92

107
88
89
92
91
78
66
55
55

25,845
4,751
3,684
2,831
2,206
1,813
1,528
1,294
1,147
1,048

941
920
866
719
667
543
573
451
394
414
329
338
293
284
258
213
205
188
154
150
156
152
153
144
149
113
104
132
135
137
111
103

93
80

104
62
67

51,486
9,767
7,832
5,878
4,260
3,458
2,795
2,396
2,142
1,940
1,739
1,637
1,491
1,346
1,207
1,030

983
832
736
752
608
610
575
515
459
410
370
348
332
266
300
287
285
249
254
219
192
224
242
225
200
195
184
158
170
117
122

33
74

275
543
585
529
494
482
425
428
387
372
301
300
249
220
236
196
202
199
192
155
173
151
133
127
131
123
117
116
131
153
162
129
118
117
103
105
127

97
86
94
79
55
47
62
56

2
5

16
29
38
42
37
54
35
46
39
39
37
34
28
31
35
31
28
27
23
25
32
22
21
21
24
12
38
24
22
35
29
47
35
26
34
30
22
28
17
24
19
14

6
7

15

35
79

291
572
623
571
531
536
460
474
426
411
338
334
277
251
271
227
230
226
215
180
205
173
154
148
155
135
155
140
153
188
191
176
153
143
137
135
149
125
103
118
98
69
53
69
71
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Commercial and Regular instruction permit statistics include all types of status except those which expired prior to 12/01/18.  
    
Motorcycle instruction permit statistics include all types of status except those which expired prior to 06/01/18 (due to the seasonal nature of 
this license type)   
           
Source: Bureau of Drivers Services       
Report: YRIPRMIT        
     

Instruction Permit Statistics

Birth  Commercial Regular Motorcycle 
Year  Age Male Female Total Male Female Total Male Female Total

1955
1954
1953
1952
1951
1950
1949
1948
1947
1946
1945
1944
1943
1942
1941
1940
1939
1938
1937
1936
1935
1934
1933
1932
1931
1930
1929
1928
1927
1926
1925
1924
1923
1922
1921
1919
1917

Total

63
64
65
66
67
68
69
70
71
72
73
74
75
76
77
78
79
80
81
82
83
84
85
86
87
88
89
90
91
92
93
94
95
96
97
99

101

39
34
26
34
40
17
23
14
17
13

8
10
13

7
8
3
5
0
2
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0

5,907

5
9
6
8
5
5
3
6
3
1
1
0
1
0
2
0
0
0
0
1
2
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0

1,092

44
43
32
42
45
22
26
20
20
14

9
10
14

7
10

3
5
0
2
1
2
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0

6,999

49
40
45
31
25
27
18
19
27
15
14
10

3
9
7
6

10
8

10
8
9
0
6
7
4
5
4
8
7
2
2
0
0
0
0
1
1

55,218

48
42
44
31
36
26
21
21
19

9
13
11
15

7
10
11
13

9
13

8
10

4
11
5
8
3
5
2
1
2
0
1
1
1
1
0
0

57,504

97
82
89
62
61
53
39
40
46
24
27
21
18
16
17
17
23
17
23
16
19

4
17
12
12

8
9

10
8
4
2
1
1
1
1
1
1

112,722

39
38
35
27
29
27
15

8
10
11
7
3
8
4
2
2
1
1
2
1
0
0
1
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0

9,940

12
8
2
4
3
8
5
1
3
2
0
0
0
2
1
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0

1,336

51
46
37
31
32
35
20

9
13
13

7
3
8
6
3
2
1
1
2
1
0
0
1
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0

11,276
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A motorcycle is a motor vehicle designed and built to have no 
more than 3 wheels. It must have its own power source capable of 
speeds in excess of 30 m.p.h. with a 150 pound rider, under ideal 
road conditions.

Motorcycle License

How does the Motorcycle Skills Test Waiv-
er Program work?

What rider courses are offered?

What are the requirements for a Class M 
License?

What is the definition of a motorcycle?

Who needs a Class M – Motorcycle  
license?

Upon successful completion of a basic rider course, the motorcycle 
riding instructor issues each student a signed waiver authorization 
form. This form is usable only by the person to whom it is issued, 
and is only usable one time. It is valid for one year from the date 
the class is completed.  The form must be presented to a WisDOT 
examiner, and when other licensing requirements have been met 
and the motorcycle skills test is waived, an authorization to operate 
Class M vehicles will be added to the person’s driver’s license. The 
Waiver Program sets standards for and administers these waivers.

Anyone who drives a motorcycle must have a Class M motorcycle 
license or motorcycle instruction permit. (Moped drivers do not 
have the same licensing requirements. They must have a Class D 
regular, probationary, or special license restricted to moped use.)

Rider courses are highly recommended for anyone who wants to 
ride a motorcycle or improve their motorcycle riding skills.  Suc-
cessful completion of a rider course is required for persons who 
fall under any one of the following:

• are under 18

• held three previous motorcycle instruction permits

• previously failed two WisDOT-administered motorcycle skill 
tests

A person is also eligible for the Class M license if they have sur-
rendered a valid Class M license from another state.

There are two motorcycle rider courses; successful completion 
of either course can be used for point reduction of motorcycle 
violations. See “Traffic Safety Programs” for more information 
on point reduction.

The 16-hour Basic Rider Course is designed for beginning riders. 
The course was developed and the instructors are certified by the 
Motorcycle Safety Foundation and WisDOT. It is taught off-street, 
out of traffic, and motorcycles and helmets are provided.  The course 
consists of 6 hours of classroom and 10 hours of on-cycle instruc-
tion, including the following: preparing to ride; turning, shifting and 
braking; street strategies; special situations; increasing riding skills; 
maintenance, and insurance. The course is offered by most of the 
vocational colleges in Wisconsin and a few other organizations. A 
person may get a waiver of the skills test upon successful comple-
tion of this course, providing other licensing requirements are met.

The Experienced Rider Course is an advanced motorcycle safety 
course with a minimum of 5 hours of instructions. This is available 
to persons who have a Class M license.
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How is a Class M license obtained?

Motorcycle License

What are the fees and period of validity?

For more information contact:

Are there special requirements for the  
operation of motorcycles?

Bureau of Driver Services
Driver Information Section
(608) 266-2261  
Email: dottspmcwaiver@dot.state.wi.us

To obtain a motorcycle instruction permit, the applicant must pass 
the motorcycle knowledge test. Additional tests such as Class D 
knowledge test, highway signs test, and vision and hearing screen-
ing may be required.

The applicant must demonstrate competency in motorcycle op-
eration by passing a WisDOT-administered motorcycle skills test 
or providing a waiver showing completion of WisDOT approved 
basic rider course.

For the skills test, the applicant must provide a cycle in good work-
ing order and wear eye protection and an approved helmet. Skills 
tests are conducted by appointment at DMV Service Centers located 
throughout the state. 

Eye protection is required for all operators with instruction permits 
and those operators whose cycle does not have a windshield rising at 
least 15 inches above the handlebars. Headlights and taillights must 
remain on at all times while driving on public roadways. Approved 
helmets must be worn by motorcycle operators under 18 years 
old, passengers under 18 years old and operators with instruction 
permits. Permit holders may ride alone during the day. If cycling 
after dark, the permit holder must be accompanied by a person at 
least 25 years old with two years licensed driving experience and 
a Class M motorcycle license.

A motorcycle instruction permit is $32 and is valid for 6 months. 
The original Class M license is $22 plus a $15 fee if a skills test is 
required. The Class M license is valid for 8 years or whenever the 
basic license expires and has a $18 renewal fee.
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2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
1996
1995
1994
1993
1992
1991
1990
1989
1988
1987
1986
1985
1984
1983
1982
1981
1980
1979
1978
1977
1976
1975
1974
1973
1972
1971
1970
1969
1968
1967
1966
1965
1964
1963
1962
1961
1960
1959
1958
1957
1956

16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62

96
370
688
102
57
33
18
6
9
4
7
5
4
5
6
2
5
8
1
7
5
5
2
1
2
5
3
3
1
2
4
0
0
0
0
2
1
1
2
1
1
0
0
1
2
2
0

9
37
80
16
7
9
3
1
0
1
2
1
1
1
0
2
2
1
0
0
0
0
1
0
0
1
0
0
1
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0

105 
407 
768 
118 
64 
42 
21 
7 
9 
5 
9 
6 
5 
6 
6 
4 
7 
9 
1 
7 
5 
5 
3 
1 
2 
6 
3 
3 
2 
2 
4 
0 
0 
0 
0 
2 
1 
1 
2 
1 
1 
0 
0 
1 
2 
2 
0 

0
0

10
905

1,245
1,588
2,016
2,341
2,746
3,260
3,720
3,568
4,047
4,512
4,636
4,895
5,091
5,378
5,548
5,130
5,602
5,604
5,963
6,115
5,932
6,179
6,200
6,570
6,940
6,804
7,499
8,311
9,336
9,220
9,712

10,179
11,041
11,652
12,855
13,290
13,732
14,259
14,392
14,444
14,284
14,398
13,974

0
0
2

124
165
236
335
380
469
573
663
679
744
818
904
980
991

1,022
1,108
1,042
1,148
1,307
1,283
1,363
1,362
1,480
1,490
1,517
1,558
1,664
1,743
1,953
2,193
2,167
2,177
2,299
2,403
2,488
2,802
2,726
2,873
2,760
2,653
2,503
2,399
2,324
2,112

0 
0 

12 
1,029 
1,410 
1,824 
2,351 
2,721 
3,215 
3,833 
4,383 
4,247 
4,791 
5,330 
5,540 
5,875 
6,082 
6,400 
6,656 
6,172 
6,750 
6,911 
7,246 
7,478 
7,294 
7,659 
7,690 
8,087 
8,498 
8,468 
9,242 

10,264 
11,529 
11,387 
11,889 
12,478 
13,444 
14,140 
15,657 
16,016 
16,605 
17,019 
17,045 
16,947 
16,683 
16,722 
16,086 

Birth                                                            Probationary                                                                      Regular                                         
Year      Age                               Male              Female                Total                               Male           Female                Total                
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Data shown reflects counts for the number of Class M license holders and includes those drivers who were Revoked, Suspended, Canceled, 
Surrendered or Disqualified.   Licenses which expired prior to 12/01/18 are not included.

Source: Bureau of Drivers Services, Report YRMOTOR

Motorcycle License Statistics

1955
1954
1953
1952
1951
1950
1949
1948
1947
1946
1945
1944
1943
1942
1941
1940
1939
1938
1937
1936
1935
1934
1933
1932
1931
1930
1929
1928
1927
1926
1925
1924
1923
1922
1921
1920
1919
1918
1915

Total

63
64
65
66
67
68
69
70
71
72
73
74
75
76
77
78
79
80
81
82
83
84
85
86
87
88
89
90
91
92
93
94
95
96
97
98
99

100
103

1
0
2
0
0
0
1
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0

1,483 

0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0

176 

1 
0 
2 
0 
0 
0 
1 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 

1,659 

13,400
13,298
12,197
11,660
11,164
9,996
9,282
8,519
8,017
6,383
4,966
4,663
4,445
3,885
3,192
2,757
2,297
2,143
1,798
1,651
1,376
1,160

946
801
680
524
344
306
233
177
100
85
58
30
14
16
6
2
1

467,695 

2,007
1,930
1,687
1,513
1,293
1,147
1,111

975
842
728
558
531
442
448
281
291
201
231
150
122
120
85
76
68
54
30
15
14
20
12

5
5
1
3
0
0
0
0
0

82,978 

15,407 
15,228 
13,884 
13,173 
12,457 
11,143 
10,393 
9,494 
8,859 
7,111 
5,524 
5,194 
4,887 
4,333 
3,473 
3,048 
2,498 
2,374 
1,948 
1,773 
1,496 
1,245 
1,022 

869 
734 
554 
359 
320 
253 
189 
105 
90 
59 
33 
14 
16 
6 
2 
1 

550,673 

Birth                                                                  Probationary                                                                   Regular                                         
Year      Age                                     Male              Female                Total                            Male           Female                Total                
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What is an occupational license? An occupational license is a restricted license that allows a person 
to drive to and from work, school, church, and to meet the require-
ments of a driver safety plan.

Occupational License

Bureau of Driver Services
DMV Communication Center
(608) 266-2261
To Email visit: wisconsindmv.gov/email

Visit the http://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/license-drvs/susp-or-
rvkd/occ-license.aspx. 

How long is an occupational license valid? 

How are they issued?

For more information contact:

What restrictions apply?

An occupational license is valid from the date it is issued through the 
second working day after the last day of the suspension/revocation.

Who qualifies for an occupational license?

How to check for eligibility?

An occupational  license is not an authorization to drive for recre-
ational purposes.

A person whose license is suspended or revoked may qualify for an 
occupational license unless he or she was previously suspended or 
revoked within the preceding 12 months. A waiting period is usu-
ally required. Depending upon the offense, the waiting period can 
be 15 days to two years. Some offenses allow the person to get an 
occupational license immediately.

As of 09/30/2005, a commercial driver whose license is suspended 
or revoked for offenses committed in a non-commercial vehicle may 
not get an occupational license to drive commercial vehicles. Also, 
a commercial driver who is disqualified from holding a commercial 
driver license, cannot get an occupational license.

You can check to see if you are eligible for an occupational license 
online at. http://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/license-drvs/susp-or-
rvkd/occ-license.aspx. 

A person applies for an occupational license at a DMV Service 
Center. Individuals revoked as a habitual traffic offender must 
petition the circuit court in their county of residence. The judge of 
the court may order DMV to issue an occupational license if the 
person’s livelihood depends on driving.

A $40 application fee is required for every application, including 
those that change the restrictions on an occupational license.

A driver must prove financial responsibility. This proof  is usually in 
the form of an SR22 insurance certificate. Other methods of proof 
include  bond  or cash deposited with the DMV. 

Occupational licenses restrict a person to driving no more than 12 
hours per day/60 hours per week. The approved hours, vehicles,   
routes of travel and reasons for driving  are specified on the license. 
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Source: Bureau of Driver Services, Driver Information Section, TSO Report OCCUPTNL

Source: Bureau of Driver Services, Driver Information Section, TSO Report OCCUPTNL

BAC - Administrative Suspension
D - Drug Conviction, 17 years old or older on date of conviction
DR - Driver Record, Accumulation of Points
IC - Implied Consent
OWI - Operating under the influence of Intoxicant or Controlled Substance
UAL - Underage Alcohol

OWI, 11,565, 
54.9%

BAC, 6,808, 32.3%

All Others, 535, 
2.5%

IC, 707, 3.4%D, 5, 0.0%DR, 1,375, 6.5%

UAL, 57, 0.3%

Occupational Licenses Issued
by Reason Revoked/Suspended

21,839 21,301 20,911 21,887 20,954 21,052

0

5,000

10,000

15,000

20,000

25,000

30,000

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018
* Total includes Original, Duplicate, Reissued and Reinstated occupational licenses

Total* Occupational Licenses Issued
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Bureau of Driver Services
(608) 264-7447
Email:  dotdmvbdscommerciallicense@dot.wi.gov

For statistics, see “Commercial Driver License: Endorsement Types S & P”

School Bus - Endorsement S

Anyone operating a school bus to transport:
• pupils to/from public and private schools (and in some in-

stances vocational, technical and adult education programs)
• pupils to/from curricular or extra-curricular school activities
• pupils to/from religious instruction when school is in session
• children (under 21) with exceptional needs to/from approved 

educational programs

Drivers must be 18 years of age and hold a valid Wisconsin driver 
license. The driver must have vision in both eyes, color perception, 
normal hearing, and use of both hands and the foot normally used 
to operate the accelerator and brake.  Fingerprinting is required if 
a person has been a resident of another state in the past two years.

Applicants are not eligible for a school bus endorsement if:

•	 convicted	of	a	 felony	or	other	offense	 listed	 in	Trans	112,	
which could impact on job performance as a school bus op-
erator. Timeframes are from 2 years to 5 years.

•	 convicted	of	an	OWI	related	offense	or	certain	other	traffic	
convictions within the time period listed in Trans 112. Can 
be from 2 years to lifetime.

•	 have	no	convictions	for	offenses	that	will	result	in	disquali-
fication	for	obtaining	an	“S”	endorsement.		Visit	the	Web	at	
http://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/com-drv-vehs/cdl-how-
aply/endorsements.aspx for a list of convictions and their 
associated	term	of	disqualification,	or	review	Administrative	
Rule Trans. 112.

Each applicant for a school bus endorsement, regular or renewal, 
takes:

• the applicable CDL knowledge tests if a commercial                
motor  vehicle, and sign test

• a school bus knowledge test
• a vision and hearing screening
• a driving skills test in a school bus

Applicants	up	to	age	70	must	file	a	medical	report	or	valid	Federal	
Medical Card every 2 years and take a skills test at renewal. 

Applicants	70	years	of	age	and	older	must	file	a	medical	report	
yearly and take a skills test every 2 years.

The	first	CDL	issued	with	an	S	endorsement	is	$74	(or	a	prorated					
portion	of	that	fee)	plus	$15	for	the	skills	test	and	a	$10	endorse-
ment	fee.	Adding	the	S	endorsement	to	an	existing	CDL	costs	$10,	
plus	$15	for	the	skills	test.	The	license	period	of	validity	is	8	years	
or until the expiration of the current license.

Who needs a School Bus (S) endorsement?

What are the requirements for a School 
Bus (S) Endorsement?

What tests are required?

What are the fees and perios of validity?

For more information contact:
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County  Valid (1)     Withdrawn (2)                     Total (1) and (2)         Expired (3)

ADAMS
ASHLAND
BARRON
BAYFIELD
BROWN
BUFFALO
BURNETT
CALUMET
CHIPPEWA
CLARK
COLUMBIA
CRAWFORD
DANE
DODGE
DOOR
DOUGLAS
DUNN
EAU CLAIRE
FLORENCE
FOND DU LAC
FOREST
GRANT
GREEN
GREEN LAKE
IOWA
IRON
JACKSON
JEFFERSON
JUNEAU
KENOSHA
KEWAUNEE
LA CROSSE
LAFAYETTE
LANGLADE
LINCOLN
MANITOWOC
MARATHON
MARINETTE
MARQUETTE
MENOMINEE
MILWAUKEE
MONROE
OCONTO

15,558
11,522
35,469
12,192

183,105
10,446
13,450
34,091
46,595
21,624
42,560
11,755

379,264
63,071
23,669
32,722
29,926
71,997
3,774

72,995
6,780

33,645
27,730
13,738
18,001
4,923

13,737
60,003
18,823

117,255
15,296
82,361
11,802
15,142
21,868
59,360

100,682
31,485
11,633
2,338

548,863
30,808
29,065

472
241
816
223

4,017
121
238
415
979
330
977
194

6,564
1,477

341
755
627

1,729
62

1,609
213
588
432
312
310
59

423
1,286

566
3,008

282
1,857

193
325
394

1,188
1,917

612
312
175

25,066
797
463

16,030
11,763
36,285
12,415

187,122
10,567
13,688
34,506
47,574
21,954
43,537
11,949

385,828
64,548
24,010
33,477
30,553
73,726
3,836

74,604
6,993

34,233
28,162
14,050
18,311
4,982

14,160
61,289
19,389

120,263
15,578
84,218
11,995
15,467
22,262
60,548

102,599
32,097
11,945
2,513

573,929
31,605
29,528

217
210
543
173

2,354
153
256
284
553
224
429
142

6,984
762
290
707
464

1,143
47

876
116
383
290
207
154
59

187
678
277

1,825
117

1,299
119
199
268
684

1,141
452
130
75

12,736
436
266
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(1) Valid 
Number of valid D and Probationary license holders by county.
Excludes Revoked/Suspended/Canceled/Surrendered/Disqualified and Expired 
(2) Withdrawn 
Number of Revoked/Suspended/Canceled/Surrendered/Disqualified by county. 
Excludes expired licenses 
(3) Expired 
Number of expired licenses by county 

Source: Bureau of Drivers Services, Report YRENDDL

Drivers Licensed by County

ONEIDA
OUTAGAMIE
OZAUKEE
PEPIN
PIERCE
POLK
PORTAGE
PRICE
RACINE
RICHLAND
ROCK
RUSK
SAUK
SAWYER
SHAWANO
SHEBOYGAN
ST. CROIX
TAYLOR
TREMPEALEAU
UNKNOWN
VERNON
VILAS
WALWORTH
WASHBURN
WASHINGTON
WAUKESHA
WAUPACA
WAUSHARA
WINNEBAGO
WOOD

Total

29,966
140,918
70,399
5,418

31,308
35,692
50,484
11,178

135,180
11,482

114,676
10,773
47,112
12,935
29,782
83,152
70,881
14,217
21,160
95,081
20,883
18,622
75,112
13,296

103,743
311,957
38,940
17,714

122,352
55,424

4,190,960

512
2,522

801
77

407
601

1,057
153

4,285
287

3,244
229

1,225
288
663

1,890
861
227
380
789
346
356

1,513
217

1,677
4,524

937
410

2,668
1,102

97,213

30,478
143,440
71,200
5,495

31,715
36,293
51,541
11,331

139,465
11,769

117,920
11,002
48,337
13,223
30,445
85,042
71,742
14,444
21,540
95,870
21,229
18,978
76,625
13,513

105,420
316,481
39,877
18,124

125,020
56,526

4,288,173

376
1,566

784
71

521
519
599
134

2,096
144

1,823
127
595
225
324
982

1,085
136
238
990
236
276

1,114
198

1,045
3,646

484
171

1,636
649

61,699

County  Valid (1)     Withdrawn (2)                     Total (1) and (2)       Expired (3)
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2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
1996
1995
1994
1993
1992
1991
1990
1989
1988
1987
1986
1985
1984
1983
1982
1981
1980
1979
1978
1977
1976
1975
1974
1973
1972
1971
1970
1969
1968
1967
1966
1965
1964
1963
1962
1961
1960
1959
1958
1957
1956
1955
1954
1953
1952
1951
1950

16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66
67
68

16,208
23,343
26,354
7,659
5,224
3,074
2,071
1,523
1,391
1,174
1,135

947
896
805
760
672
650
559
519
489
410
412
411
324
277
285
188
215
191
161
162
131
127
106
106
99
96
83
86
80
75
73
72
65
59
55
45
41
42
26
21
23
14

16,831
23,557
25,894
6,698
4,738
3,117
2,179
1,569
1,389
1,230
1,122
1,023

937
786
746
662
643
529
459
432
356
346
263
237
240
222
195
187
147
116
134
125
115
87
70
72
69
73
67
51
59
40
49
29
33
30
18
24
17
11
17
2
9

33,039
46,900
52,248
14,357
9,962
6,191
4,250
3,092
2,780
2,404
2,257
1,970
1,833
1,591
1,506
1,334
1,293
1,088

978
921
766
758
674
561
517
507
383
402
338
277
296
256
242
193
176
171
165
156
153
131
134
113
121
94
92
85
63
65
59
37
38
25
23

57
322
775
614
600
391
295
224
203
197
154
133
127
129
106
84
87
73
66
43
49
40
37
35
27
25
18
16
19
11
12
10
14
12
7
6
4
6

11
6
5
1
4
7
5
1
6
0
0
0
0
1
0

25
187
390
313
306
235
201
142
139
118
120
105
85
77
69
49
51
36
34
21
20
14
15
19
9

11
6
4
5
4
4
3

10
4
2
3
2
4
4
1
1
1
2
1
0
1
0
0
1
0
0
0
0

82
509

1,165
927
906
626
496
366
342
315
274
238
212
206
175
133
138
109
100
64
69
54
52
54
36
36
24
20
24
15
16
13
24
16
9
9
6

10
15
7
6
2
6
8
5
2
6
0
1
0
0
1
0

33,121
47,409
53,413
15,284
10,868
6,817
4,746
3,458
3,122
2,719
2,531
2,208
2,045
1,797
1,681
1,467
1,431
1,197
1,078

985
835
812
726
615
553
543
407
422
362
292
312
269
266
209
185
180
171
166
168
138
140
115
127
102
97
87
69
65
60
37
38
26
23

0
3

12
1,199

538
566
401
337
275
242
236
185
186
154
146
142
115
103
121
80
74
61
74
56
37
31
35
32
19
24
20
16
20
19
13
11
8
7
8
9

12
5
8
5
6
2
3
4
1
2
3
3
4

1
3
4

877
357
366
327
259
214
148
144
137
113
111
87
82
76
66
50
49
53
41
35
32
32
22
15
18
13
12
11
6

10
11
11
7
5
4
3
9
6
6
4
2
2
2
1
0
0
0
1
1
1

1
6

16
2,076

895
932
728
596
489
390
380
322
299
265
233
224
191
169
171
129
127
102
109
88
69
53
50
50
32
36
31
22
30
30
24
18
13
11
11
18
18
11
12
7
8
4
4
4
1
2
4
4
5

Birth                        Valid (1)                                        Withdrawn (2)                       Total                        Expired (3)
Year   Age      Male        Female       Total (1)         Male         Female      Total  (2)    (1) and (2)     Male     Female    Total (3)
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1949
1948
1947
1946
1945
1944
1943
1942
1941
1940
1939
1938
1937
1936
1929
1928
1922

Total

69
70
71
72
73
74
75
76
77
78
79
80
81
82
89
90
96

12
13
10
10
8
5
1
2
3
3
0
5
1
1
1
1
0

100,090

5
6
2
2
5
3
0
4
2
0
1
3
1
1
0
0
0

98,086

17
19
12
12
13
8
1
6
5
3
1
8
2
2
1
1
0

198,176

0
0
0
1
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0

5,076

0
0
0
0
0
0
1
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0

2,855

0
0
0
1
0
0
1
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0

7,931

17
19
12
13
13
8
2
6
5
3
1
8
2
2
1
1
0

206,107

1
2
2
0
1
0
1
0
0
0
1
0
0
0
0
0
0

5,681

2
1
1
2
0
0
0
1
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
0
1

3,855

3
3
3
2
1
0
1
1
0
0
1
0
0
0
0
0
1

9,536

(1) Valid          
Number Of Valid Probationary License Holders By Age and Sex 
Excludes Revoked/Suspended/Canceled/Surrendered/Disqualified And Expired  

(2) Withdrawn
Number Of Revoked/Suspended/Canceled/Surrendered/Disqualified By Age and Sex
Excludes Expired Licenses

(3) Expired
Number Of Expired Licenses That Are Less Than One Year Expired, By Age and Sex  

 Source: Bureau of Drivers Services, Report YRNDPROB                                                              Data as of 12/31/18

Birth                        Valid (1)                                        Withdrawn (2)                      Total                        Expired (3)
Year      Age       Male       Female     Total (1)        Male       Female     Total  (2)    (1) and (2)        Male    Female   Total (3)
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2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
1996
1995
1994
1993
1992
1991
1990
1989
1988
1987
1986
1985
1984
1983
1982
1981
1980
1979
1978
1977
1976
1975
1974
1973
1972
1971
1970
1969
1968
1967
1966
1965
1964
1963
1962
1961
1960
1959
1958
1957
1956
1955
1954
1953
1952
1951
1950
1949
1948

16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66
67
68
69
70

16,208
23,343
26,960
27,804
28,793
29,377
30,555
31,285
32,367
33,838
34,785
33,071
33,847
33,816
33,601
33,897
34,565
35,460
35,280
33,448
34,633
34,315
34,710
34,288
32,289
32,077
30,669
30,788
30,869
29,337
30,580
33,371
35,370
34,029
34,009
34,312
35,558
36,513
38,671
39,120
39,867
40,690
40,302
40,084
39,089
38,783
37,955
36,485
36,071
33,986
33,291
32,185
29,616
28,592
27,226

16,832
23,557
26,451
27,063
28,366
29,074
30,023
31,003
32,295
33,495
34,217
32,736
33,822
33,659
33,791
34,204
34,624
35,612
35,253
33,807
34,519
34,225
34,330
33,560
31,992
31,925
30,240
30,137
30,096
29,644
30,432
33,061
35,189
33,573
33,795
34,252
35,754
36,813
39,237
39,602
40,604
41,440
41,659
40,798
39,534
39,681
37,746
36,872
36,668
34,440
33,905
32,434
30,157
29,479
28,310

33,040
46,900
53,411
54,867
57,159
58,451
60,578
62,288
64,662
67,333
69,002
65,807
67,669
67,475
67,392
68,101
69,189
71,072
70,533
67,255
69,152
68,540
69,040
67,848
64,281
64,002
60,909
60,925
60,965
58,981
61,012
66,432
70,559
67,602
67,804
68,564
71,312
73,326
77,908
78,722
80,471
82,130
81,961
80,882
78,623
78,464
75,701
73,357
72,739
68,426
67,196
64,619
59,773
58,071
55,536

57
322
776
853

1,191
1,287
1,606
1,758
2,010
2,190
2,416
1,982
1,980
1,944
1,943
1,953
1,988
1,869
1,861
1,554
1,594
1,484
1,475
1,331
1,235
1,129
1,021

967
909
853
872
789
925
793
736
765
708
739
752
653
694
611
602
555
529
469
415
386
312
305
267
235
207
203
199

25
187
391
438
617
742
912

1,030
1,171
1,315
1,380
1,176
1,203
1,130
1,150
1,150
1,062
1,119
1,128

920
928
869
885
784
646
647
606
544
487
449
478
509
491
421
392
352
375
382
356
313
325
285
278
245
196
174
188
152
157
131
138
127
116
114
119

82
509

1,167
1,291
1,808
2,029
2,518
2,788
3,181
3,505
3,796
3,158
3,183
3,074
3,093
3,103
3,050
2,988
2,989
2,474
2,522
2,353
2,360
2,115
1,881
1,776
1,627
1,511
1,396
1,302
1,350
1,298
1,416
1,214
1,128
1,117
1,083
1,121
1,108

966
1,019

896
880
800
725
643
603
538
469
436
405
362
323
317
318

33,122
47,409
54,578
56,158
58,967
60,480
63,096
65,076
67,843
70,838
72,798
68,965
70,852
70,549
70,485
71,204
72,239
74,060
73,522
69,729
71,674
70,893
71,400
69,963
66,162
65,778
62,536
62,436
62,361
60,283
62,362
67,730
71,975
68,816
68,932
69,681
72,395
74,447
79,016
79,688
81,490
83,026
82,841
81,682
79,348
79,107
76,304
73,895
73,208
68,862
67,601
64,981
60,096
58,388
55,854

0
5

13
1,201

541
569
414
376
328
393
408

3,006
1,098
1,011

797
669
620
624
604

1,708
916
750
634
633
518
512
473
511
443
390
399
440
425
334
303
416
305
309
287
343
313
353
265
307
214
280
211
247
198
232
165
238
164
205
171

0
4
4

882
359
369
342
279
246
260
288

2,771
943
767
549
463
416
430
350

1,631
701
569
438
441
390
326
320
406
342
278
254
392
288
289
242
404
234
249
206
325
229
318
229
298
200
271
192
240
205
241
210
246
171
257
195

0
9

17
2,083

900
938
756
655
574
653
696

5,777
2,041
1,778
1,346
1,132
1,036
1,054

954
3,339
1,617
1,319
1,072
1,074

908
838
793
917
785
668
653
832
713
623
545
820
539
558
493
668
542
671
494
605
414
551
403
487
403
473
375
484
335
462
366

Birth                          Valid (1)                                           Withdrawn (2)                      Total                        Expired (3)
Year     Age          Male        Female        Total (1)        Male        Female      Total  (2)   (1) and (2)      Male    Female   Total (3)
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(1) Valid - Number of valid D and Probationary license holders by county. Excludes Revoked/Suspended/Canceled/Surrendered/
Disqualified and expired.
(2) Withdrawn - Number of Revoked/Suspended/Canceled/Surrendered/Disqualified license holders. Excludes expired licenses.
(3) Expired - Number of expired license holders that are less than one year expired.  
Source: Bureau of Drivers Services, Report YRENDDL                                                                   As of 12/1/18

1947
1946
1945
1944
1943
1942
1941
1940
1939
1938
1937
1936
1935
1934
1933
1932
1931
1930
1929
1928
1927
1926
1925
1924
1923
1922
1921
1920
1919
1918
1917
1916
1915
1914
1913
1912
1911

Total

71
72
73
74
75
76
77
78
79
80
81
82
83
84
85
86
87
88
89
90
91
92
93
94
95
96
97
98
99

100
101
102
103
104
105
106
107

27,252
23,297
18,838
18,257
18,272
17,196
14,619
13,106
11,961
11,599
10,235
9,493
8,480
7,597
6,405
5,856
5,083
4,345
3,347
2,955
2,302
1,682
1,221

845
584
375
222
122
66
49
21
8
5
0
2
2
0

2,077,729

28,077
24,569
19,840
19,556
19,925
19,228
16,258
15,029
13,676
13,272
12,203
11,111
10,130
9,215
8,006
7,631
6,368
5,345
4,257
3,822
2,918
2,126
1,605
1,155

724
512
324
169
94
51
23
19
5
1
0
0
0

2,113,231

55,329
47,866
38,678
37,813
38,197
36,424
30,877
28,135
25,637
24,871
22,438
20,604
18,610
16,812
14,411
13,487
11,451
9,690
7,604
6,777
5,220
3,808
2,826
2,000
1,308

887
546
291
160
100
44
27
10
1
2
2
0

4,190,960

193
162
153
158
160
164
134
165
151
178
152
195
202
210
175
220
177
187
121
126
113
84
71
60
44
34
25
17
7

11
7
2
1
0
0
0
0

61,118

138
108
103
153
155
172
153
185
159
197
199
250
233
231
232
280
253
217
166
146
110
104
65
68
43
33
12
10
8
4
1
0
1
0
0
0
1

36,095

331
270
256
311
315
336
287
350
310
375
351
445
435
441
407
500
430
404
287
272
223
188
136
128
87
67
37
27
15
15
8
2
2
0
0
0
1

97,213

55,660
48,136
38,934
38,124
38,512
36,760
31,164
28,485
25,947
25,246
22,789
21,049
19,045
17,253
14,818
13,987
11,881
10,094
7,891
7,049
5,443
3,996
2,962
2,128
1,395

954
583
318
175
115
52
29
12
1
2
2
1

4,288,173

210
157
201
109
201
126
179
107
189
114
243
166
247
157
199
206
303
220
283
104
85
83
59
33
37
21
24
17
8
5
1
1
1
1
0
1
0

31,387

265
218
194
193
248
254
296
213
339
285
356
352
479
454
444
555
667
657
703
219
203
166
167
136

91
64
56
33
22
19
7
5
2
0
1
0
0

30,312

475
375
395
302
449
380
475
320
528
399
599
518
726
611
643
761
970
877
986
323
288
249
226
169
128
85
80
50
30
24
8
6
3
1
1
1
0

61,699

Birth                        Valid (1)                                           Withdrawn (2)                      Total                        Expired (3)
Year    Age         Male        Female        Total (1)        Male      Female     Total  (2)    (1) and (2)        Male    Female   Total (3)
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1928          893,450
1930          995,000
1940        1,230,000
1941        1,246,600
1942        1,309,475
1943        1,369,750
1944        1,422,050
1945        1,505,700
1946        1,547,100
1947        1,553,500
1948       1,575,500
1949        1,613,800
1950        1,661,700
1951        1,721,700
1952        1,750,100
1953        1,804,300
1954        1,817,700
1955        1,848,700
1956        1,879,750
1957        1,910,500
1958        1,930,500
1959        1,936,600
1960        2,002,900
1961        2,069,750
1962        2,048,300
1963        2,076,500
1964        2,089,700
1965        2,155,007
1966        2,197,038

1967        2,280,544
1968        2,360,815
1969        2,458,037
1970        2,459,539
1971        2,465,315
1972        2,527,731
1973        2,593,838
1974        2,663,796
1975        2,721,284
1976        2,792,905
1977        2,864,689
1978        2,927,546
1979        2,964,404
1980        3,014,715
1981        3,059,428
1982        3,070,956
1983        3,123,649
1984        3,192,135
1985        3,265,322
1986        3,288,517
1987        3,308,903
1988        3,329,557
1989        3,357,339
1990       3,394,203
1991        3,473,236
1992        3,481,421
1993        3,502,347
1994        3,554,003
1995        3,601,619

1996        3,723,685
1997        3,672,469
1998        3,709,957
1999        3,733,077
2000        3,801,798
2001        3,835,549
2002        3,839,930
2003        3,933,924
2004        3,993,348
2005        4,049,450
2006        4,066,273
2007        4,075,764
2008        4,079,562
2009        4,085,833
2010        4,114,622
2011        4,142,823
2012        4,171,428
2013        4,188,194
2014        4,194,760
2015        4,206,700
2016        4,250,018
2017        4,286,263
2018        4,288,173

 Source: Bureau of Driver Services, Report YRENDDL

Drivers Licensed – Probationary & Regular 

Source: Bureau of Drivers Services, Report YRENDDL

         Total Licensed   
Year       Drivers

         Total Licensed   
Year       Drivers

         Total Licensed   
Year       Drivers

3,900,000

4,000,000

4,100,000

4,200,000

4,300,000

2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018

Licensed Drivers In Wisconsin
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What is the Employer Notification  
Program?

Employer Notification Program

What does it cost?

For more information contact:

Who can belong to the Employer  
Notification Program?

The Employer Notification program is part of the Public Abstract 
Request System (PARS). PARS is a secure Web-based system 
that allows participating account holders to have instant access 
to driver  and vehicle record abstracts via Portable Document 
Format (PDF) images. The Employer Notification program will 
identify any enrolled employee with recent activity on their driv-
ing record and allow the account holder immediate access to the 
current driver record abstract.

Wisconsin Interactive Network (WIN)
(608) 250-4606
Email:  wi_helpdesk@egov.com

Internet: http://www.portal.wi.gov/register

Employer Notification is available to employers of regular Class 
D drivers and commercial drivers (CDL).  Employers may enroll 
any employee.

Non-Government agencies are charged $5 for each driver or ve-
hicle abstract request.

There are no annual fees, minimum monthly fees or enrollment 
fees associated with PARS or the Employer Notification program.  
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Who is required to file medical reports? DMV evaluates whether each applicant for a license can exercise 
reasonable control over a vehicle. To carry out this responsibility, 
the DMV conducts written exams, road tests, sign identification 
tests, and vision screenings. Some persons have medical conditions 
or disabilities which the DMV cannot adequately assess using these 
tests. These individuals are required to submit medical information 
to aid the Division in making licensing decisions.

Medical Evaluation for Drivers

How can a person appeal a medical review 
decision?

What are the results of medical reviews?

For more information contact:

How often do drivers have to file reports?

How are medical reports reviewed?

DMV provides medical review boards for persons who wish to 
appeal a license denial or cancellation. Any person who has been 
cancelled or denied a driver license or endorsement due to a medical 
condition can request an in-person review (actual appearance) or 
file review only of his/her case by a panel of three physicians. The 
appeal must be in writing and postmarked within 10 days from the 
cancel order or denial letter.

DMV staff review the medical reports. They focus on:
• whether the person’s condition is stable
• the degree of impairment from the condition
• the physician’s recommendation regarding driving
• medical standards (TRANS 112, WI Adm code)

Many drivers only require one medical report. Some people with 
recurring or progressive medical conditions file medical reports 
periodically to maintain a valid license.

The Medical Review Unit reviewed over 20,500 medical reports in 
2018.  1,395 resulted in cancellation or denial of driving privilege 
due to a medical condition and 350 were cancelled for not taking 
the re-examination tests when requested. Out of 1,982 special 
examinations conducted in 2018, only 58 were cancelled for not 
being able to pass a portion of the tests.
751 voluntarily surrendered their license when asked for a medical 
report or to take the knowledge, sign and highway tests.
DMV Examiners conducted 1,982* driving skills test re-exami-
nations:

• 1,484 successful tests were conducted (75%)
• 498 unsuccessful tests were conducted (25%)

*NOTE: Applicants may take the driving skills test up to five times in a 
one year period.  This number does not reflect the number of applicants 
re-tested during 2018, merely the number of re-exams conducted by DMV 
Examiners.

DMV attempts to allow each person to drive under conditions which 
are safe for them. For example, some drivers will be restricted to 
an area within 15 miles of their home if they can demonstrate good 
driving skills in that limited area. Physicians often recommend 
restrictions such as daytime driving only, no driving on freeways, 
or driving with an automatic transmission. Through the use of re-
strictions, driving tests and  medical reports the DMV ensures that 
people with conditions limiting their functional ability are able to 
maintain a safe level of driving.

Medical Review & Fitness Unit 
P.O. Box 7918, Madison WI 53707-7918 
Email Wisconsin DMV email service 
Phone: (608) 266-2327, Fax: (608) 267-0518
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Anyone can be an organ donor. The anatomical Gift Act in 
s.157.06(2) requires persons 15 and one-half years of age or older 
to indicate if they wish to be a donor.

Organ Donor

Source: Bureau of Driver Services, YRDONOR Report

NOTE: Does not include under 18 year olds or “NON” records

Who can be an organ donor?

How do I indicate that I want to be an organ 
donor?

How do I amend the donor statement?

What if I decide to become a donor after I 
leave the DMV station?

For mor information contact:

What if I change my mind about being a 
donor?

Does DMV keep an organ-donor registry?

Sign and date the reverse side of your driver license/identification 
card:

• Specify all or only specific parts/organs 
• When you renew your driver license/identification card mark 

“yes” on the application to the organ donor question
• NOTE: An orange sticker can also be placed on the license 

to alert medical personnel.

Complete an application for a Wisconsin driver license/identifica-
tion card:

• Mark “yes” to the organ donor question
• When you recieve your license, sign and date the reverse side 

of your driver license or identification card
• Specify all or only specific parts/organs 

NOTE: An orange sticker can also be placed on the license to alert 
medical personnel. 

Bureau of Driver Services
(608) 266-2353
Email: driverrecords.dmv@dot.wi.gov
Or visit: www.yesiwillwisconsin.org

Apply for a duplicate driver license/identification card:
• Pay $14.00 (driver license) or $16.00 (ID card)
• When you receive your license, sign and date the reverse side 

of the driver license
• Specify all or specific parts/organs

No, the Division of Motor Vehicle records only indicate that the  
person is a potential donor.  

Yes, 2,836,648, 
55.6% No, 1,835,725, 

36.0%

Not Checked, 
433,092, 8.5%

Organ Donors
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Who is eligible for a photo ID? Any Wisconsin resident who does not hold a valid photo license 
or ID card from Wisconsin or other jurisdiction, may request a 
photo ID. 

Photo Identification Card (ID)

For more information contact:

How long is a photo ID valid?  Can it be 
renewed?

What must a person provide when apply-
ing for a photo ID?

Where can I get one?

What does it cost?

What record does the Department maintain 
of photo IDs?

How many photo IDs are issued annually?

DMV creates or updates a computer record at the time the card is 
issued or renewed. It retains this record for at least 4 years beyond 
the expiration date. This information is confidential and not avail-
able to the public.

DMV processes photo IDs at DMV Customer Service Centers lo-
cated throughout the state, which are then mailed to the customer. 

The photo ID is valid for 8 years and can be renewed.  Photo IDs 
can be renewed online or via the mail once every 16 years.  

An original or renewal ID costs $28.00. If the applicant is a US 
Citizen who will be at least 18 years of age on the date of the next 
election and requests the product for voting, the product is free.  A 
duplicate ID costs $16.00.

The applicant must provide:
• proof of Legal Presence
• proof of his/her name and date of birth through a certified 

birth certificate, passport, or naturalization papers
• acceptable proof of personal identification (usually a docu-

ment with a signature or photo)
• his/her social security number
• proof of residency (usually a document with customer’s name 

and Wisconsin address, such as a utility bill)

Bureau of Field Services
Technical  and Training Services Section
(608) 266-8686

or any local DMV Customer Service Center

In 1983, the first year of the program, fewer than 7,500 photo IDs 
were issued. The number has increased with over 150,389 issued 
in 2018.

514,858

566,711
602,627

614,776 605,852 597,221

350,000

400,000

450,000

500,000

550,000

600,000

650,000

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018
Source: Bureau of Driver Services Photo Identification Card Statistics

Residents Holding Identification Cards
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0
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9

10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38

2018
2017
2016
2015
2014
2013
2012
2011
2010
2009
2008
2007
2006
2005
2004
2003
2002
2001
2000
1999
1998
1997
1996
1995
1994
1993
1992
1991
1990
1989
1988
1987
1986
1985
1984
1983
1982
1981
1980

12
41
62

110
162
193
221
291
357
426
472
534
578
743

1,119
1,722
2,749
4,222
7,530
9,093
9,738

10,129
10,498
10,619
11,068
11,010
9,889
8,386
8,554
8,347
7,998
7,025
6,781
6,522
6,371
5,739
5,383
5,157
5,168

9
40
74
95

140
182
213
268
339
427
483
555
641
763

1,232
1,976
2,918
4,322
7,524
8,458
9,105
9,396
9,561
9,381
9,506
9,414
8,404
6,827
6,998
6,779
6,131
5,266
4,871
4,751
4,446
4,099
3,989
3,608
3,504

21
81

136
205
302
375
434
559
696
853
955

1,089
1,219
1,506
2,351
3,698
5,667
8,544

15,054
17,551
18,843
19,525
20,059
20,000
20,574
20,424
18,293
15,213
15,552
15,126
14,129
12,291
11,652
11,273
10,817
9,838
9,372
8,765
8,672

BirthYear               Age                                         Male                                    Female                                           Total 
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39
40
41
42
43
44
45
46
47
48
49
50
51
52
53
54
55
56
57
58
59
60
61
62
63
64
65
66
67
68
69
70
71
72
73
74
75
76
77

1979
1978
1977
1976
1975
1974
1973
1972
1971
1970
1969
1968
1967
1966
1965
1964
1963
1962
1961
1960
1959
1958
1957
1956
1955
1954
1953
1952
1951
1950
1949
1948
1947
1946
1945
1944
1943
1942
1941

4,645
3,995
3,920
3,436
3,489
3,236
3,132
3,150
3,237
3,400
3,129
3,103
3,118
3,096
3,209
3,346
3,319
3,251
3,376
3,161
3,044
2,834
2,624
2,526
2,275
2,185
1,970
1,914
1,746
1,499
1,475
1,374
1,278
1,090
1,004

881
921
859
840

3,321
2,969
2,795
2,585
2,511
2,439
2,407
2,374
2,569
2,635
2,496
2,468
2,395
2,586
2,697
2,714
2,809
2,913
2,880
2,890
2,817
2,720
2,680
2,580
2,540
2,371
2,349
2,231
2,230
2,107
2,125
2,042
2,113
1,943
1,668
1,757
1,798
1,865
1,835

7,966
6,964
6,715
6,021
6,000
5,675
5,539
5,524
5,806
6,035
5,625
5,571
5,513
5,682
5,906
6,060
6,128
6,164
6,256
6,051
5,861
5,554
5,304
5,106
4,815
4,556
4,319
4,145
3,976
3,606
3,600
3,416
3,391
3,033
2,672
2,638
2,719
2,724
2,675

BirthYear               Age                                         Male                                    Female                                           Total 
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Includes all types of status except those which expired prior to 12/01/18    
Source: Bureau of Driver Services, Report YRIDCARD                                       As of 12/31/18

Photo Identification Card (ID) Statistics

78
79
80
81
82
83
84
85
86
87
88
89
90
91
92
93
94
95
96
97
98
99

100
101
102
103
104
105
106
107
108
109
110
111
112

1,753
1,716
1,817
1,829
1,958
2,088
2,062
2,072
2,322
2,409
2,784
2,703
2,643
2,573
2,409
2,204
1,951
1,718
1,393
1,167

855
604
542
352
232
178
99
49
39
13
16
5
2
4
2

296,482

2,592
2,496
2,629
2,618
2,761
2,891
2,840
2,802
3,172
3,227
3,714
3,587
3,475
3,379
3,148
2,874
2,596
2,259
1,828
1,500
1,120

757
697
455
291
209
115
61
50
19
19
6
3
4
2

597,221

839
780
812
789
803
803
778
730
850
818
930
884
832
806
739
670
645
541
435
333
265
153
155
103
59
31
16
12
11
6
3
1
1
0
0

300,739

1940
1939
1938
1937
1936
1935
1934
1933
1932
1931
1930
1929
1928
1927
1926
1925
1924
1923
1922
1921
1920
1919
1918
1917
1916
1915
1914
1913
1912
1911
1910
1909
1908
1907
1906

Total

BirthYear               Age                                         Male                                    Female                                           Total 
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What is a point system suspension? Persons who accumulate 12 or more points in a one-year period 
may be subject to a driver license suspension. The points are 
counted by date of violation.  Offenses include:

• Speeding
• Failure to obey a sign
• Failure to yield right of way
• Other moving traffic violations

What happens to drivers who accumulate 
points?

Their operating privilege may be withdrawn:

Who orders the suspension? Under the present law, the DMV administratively suspends the 
driver’s privilege.

What licenses are suspended? The suspension is of the operating privilege. This means all 
licenses issued by the division. For an unlicensed person, the 
ability to obtain a license is suspended.

Is any type of license available before the 
expiration of the suspension?

A person may, under certain conditions, obtain an occupational 
license.

For more information contact: Bureau of Driver Services
DMV Communication Center Section
(608) 266-2261
To email, visit: wisconsindmv.gov/email

Points

Demerit Points Length of Suspension Length of Suspension
Accumulated in for Probationary for Regular
a 12-month Period License holder License holder
 
12 - 16 points 6 months 2 months

17 - 22 points 6 months 4 months

23 - 30 points 6 months 6 months

More than 30  1 year 1 year
points
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The administrative suspension law provides for the withdrawal of 
a person’s operating privilege if he or she is arrested for operating 
a motor vehicle with a prohibited alcohol concentration, submits 
to chemical testing and fails the test.

The arresting officer issues a notice of intent to suspend. 

The driver has 10 days during which to request a review of the 
suspension. If no review is requested, or if a review is held and the 
outcome is adverse to the person, the suspension will take effect 30 
days after the notice date on the Notice of Intent to Suspend form.

What is an administrative suspension?

Administrative Suspension: Alcohol Concentration

21,343

20,130

18,608 18,250
17,689

18,070

15,000

20,000

25,000

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018

Source: Bureau of Driver Services

Administrative Suspensions for Blood Alcohol Content

Bureau of Driver Services 
Citations and Withdrawals Section 
(608) 261-0127
Email:  AdminSuspensions.dmv@dot.wi.gov

The DMV administratively suspends the person’s operating privi-
lege. The  person must still go through the usual court procedures 
for the OWI arrest, which may result in additional sanctions against 
the person’s operating privilege.

A person may petition for an occupational license immediately 
under an administrative suspension.

The suspension is for a period of six months. It does not allow 
retention of any part of the operating privilege.

What is the length of a suspension?

For more information contact:

Who orders the suspension?

Is an occupational license available?
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An alcohol or drug assessment is an interview between a driver and 
an alcohol and other drug abuse (AODA) assessor. The assessor 
identifies the driver’s alcohol/drug use. As part of the assessment, 
the assessor develops a driver safety plan for the driver. There were 
27,319 assessments and 25,043 completions in 2018.

What happens to non-compliant drivers?

Alcohol/Drug Review

What is an alcohol and drug assessment?

When is an assessment required?

What happens after the driver completes 
an assessment? 

What are driver safety plans?

For more information contact:

The assessor submits a report to the DMV, electronically or with 
a paper document. The Citations and Withdrawals Section in the 
Bureau of Driver Services screens the report to see whether:

• the assessment and driver safety plan are appropriate
• the assessor recommends the individual for a license
• the assessment mentions all OWI related offenses 

The person may be eligible for a license depending on previous 
incidents and must complete the plan within one year.

Driver safety plans for alcohol/drug related driving convictions are 
education and/or rehabilitation programs based on findings. For 
example, when an assessor identifies drivers as:

• Irresponsible Users, they are generally sent to a Group 
Dynamics-Traffic Safety program

• Irresponsible Users-Borderline, they are generally a com-
bination of education and short-term, outpatient counseling

• Suspected Chemical Dependent, they are generally sent to 
outpatient treatment programs

• Chemically Dependent, they are generally sent to inpatient 
or intensive outpatient treatment programs

• Dependency in Remission, any combination of treatment or 
education.

Anyone convicted of operating  while intoxicated (OWI) is required 
to contact the approved assessment facility for their county of resi-
dence (https://www.dhs.wisconsin.gov/idp/directory.htm) within 
72 hours of conviction. Anyone with multiple OWI arrests/convic-
tions over a specified period of time can be ordered by WisDOT to 
have an assessment within 45 days. Second and subsequent OWI 
convictions require completion of an assessment before eligibility 
for an occupational license. An individual may voluntarily obtain 
an assessment after an arrest.

All licenses are withdrawn, including occupational licenses, if a 
person receives another arrest for OWI while in a plan or does not:

• appear for an assessment
• comply with a driver safety plan
• pay the fee for the assessment or the driver safety plan

In 2018, the Alcohol and Drug Review team processed 12,101 
non-compliance cases.

Bureau of Driver Services
Citations and Withdrawals Section
(608) 261-8202
Email:  dotdmvadru@dot.wi.gov
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What is a disqualification? Disqualification means the withdrawal of a person’s privilege to 
operate a commercial motor vehicle because of certain offenses 
committed by the person.  Effective 9/30/05, disqualifications apply 
to  Commercial Motor Vehicle privileges for offenses committed in 
a Commercial Motor Vehicle or a Non-Commercial Motor Vehicle 
when the violation is classified as a major or serious traffic violation.

Disqualification

Who orders a disqualification?

Is an occupational license available?

How is a person notified of a disqualifica-
tion?

What is the length of a disqualification?

For more information contact:

The law provides that a person is disqualified upon receiving certain 
types of convictions. The DMV administratively disqualifies the 
person’s commercial operating privileges.
The Division of Motor Vehicles issues an order of disqualification 
and mails it by first class mail to a person’s last known address.

Periods of disqualification run from a minimum of 60 days to life-
time, depending on the number, type, and severity of the violations.  
Disqualifications begin on the date of order.

Bureau of Driver Services
DMV Communication Center Section
(608) 266-2261
To email, visit: wisconsin.gov/email

No occupational license can be obtained for commercial motor 
vehicle operation privileges during any period of disqualification.
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Habitual Traffic Offenders Revoked/Suspended

What is a habitual traffic offender? Persons who accumulate four major traffic convictions, (including 
those from other jurisdictions) or a combination of 12 minor and 
major convictions, in a five-year period are identified as habitual 
traffic offenders. Major offenses include:

• operating while under the influence
• eluding an officer
• reckless driving

Habitual Traffic Offender

Is any type of license available before the 
expiration of the five-year revocation?

What licenses are revoked?

For more information contact:

Who orders the revocation?

What happens to those identified as habitu-
al traffic offenders?

The operating privilege of habitual traffic offenders is revoked for 
five years.

Bureau of Driver Services
DMV Communication Center
(608) 266-2261
To Email, visit: wisconsindmv.gov/email

The revocation is of the operating privilege which means all licenses 
issued by the division. For an unlicensed person, the ability to obtain 
a license is revoked.

After a two-year waiting period, a person may, under certain condi-
tions, obtain an occupational license by filing an application with 
the Circuit Court in the county in which they reside. The two year 
period is counted from the date of the revocation order.

Under the present law, the DMV administratively revokes the 
driver’s privilege.
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What are revocations and suspensions? Revocations and suspensions are the two most common actions 
taken to withdraw a driver’s operating privilege. Suspension is 
the more lenient action and means the privilege is put on hold for 
a given time. Revocation means complete termination of the driv-
ing privilege.

Revocation and Suspension

For more information contact:

What conditions lead to a license  
revocation?

What conditions lead to a license
suspension?

Who orders revocations and suspensions?

How is a person notified of a revocation or 
suspension?

How long does a revocation run?

How long does a suspension run?

Bureau of Driver Services
DMV Communication Center
(608) 266-2261
To Email, visit: wisconsindmv.gov/email

A conviction on one or more violations of major traffic regula-
tions, crimes, or alcohol regulations leads to a revocation. Other 
conditions are:

• operating while intoxicated
• attempting to elude an officer
• refusal to submit to a chemical test for intoxication
• non-compliance with orders for assessment concerning use 

of alcohol or drugs

These conditions lead to a license suspension:
• truancy
• failure to pay forfeiture
• failure to pay child or family support
• failure to pay damages resulting from a motor vehicle crash

Revocations and suspensions for single offenses are ordered by 
the courts or by the Department of Transportation, depending on 
the type of violation. Administrative actions of the DMV are taken 
when the license withdrawal is the result of multiple offenses.

In some cases court personnel may advise a person that a revocation/
suspension will occur as a result of the court’s actions. In all cases, 
the DMV issues an order of revocation or suspension and mails it 
by first class mail to the person’s last known address

Periods of revocation can run from a one day minimum to 20-years 
for unsatisfied judgments, or up to 55 years for non-compliance 
with alcohol assessment requirements.

Periods of suspension can run from a one day minimum to “indefi-
nite” periods. These periods are strictly governed by the statute 
under which a suspension is ordered.
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Revocations and Suspensions by Reason of Conviction
January -  December, 2018

Rank   Code        Charge                                                      Quantity YTD         % of  Total 

1 
2 
3 
4 
5 
6 
7 
8 
9 

10 
11 
12 
13 
14 
15 
16 
17 
18 
19 
20 
21 
22 
23 
24 
25 
26 
27 
28 
29 
30 
31 
32 
33 
34 
35 
36 
37 
38 
39 
40 
41 
42 
43 
44 
45 
46 
47 
48 
49 
50 
51 
52 
53 

243,323
57,450
26,079
18,070
11,671
9,231
7,957
5,236
3,857
3,657
3,202
3,119
2,837
2,769
2,363
2,056
1,928
1,562
1,093

882
737
696
591
500
379
352
283
272
252
214
179
171
157
149
87
84
68
57
54
51
50
47
46
40
38
33
26
24
20
19
19
10
10

58.75%
13.87%
6.30%
4.36%
2.82%
2.23%
1.92%
1.26%
0.93%
0.88%
0.77%
0.75%
0.68%
0.67%
0.57%
0.50%
0.47%
0.38%
0.26%
0.21%
0.18%
0.17%
0.14%
0.12%
0.09%
0.08%
0.07%
0.07%
0.06%
0.05%
0.04%
0.04%
0.04%
0.04%
0.02%
0.02%
0.02%
0.01%
0.01%
0.01%
0.01%
0.01%
0.01%
0.01%
0.01%
0.01%
0.01%
0.01%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%

FPF
DR
OWI
BAC
NCI
FPJ
INC
NCP
OWS
FCC
FPS
IC
SE
DQF
DJN
PAC
SRR
UAL
SR
AEO
OAR
T
VUF
HTO
DPI
NCA
JA
SVO
OII
FSA
UAO
NCT
SDD
FYR
NCF
INF
SRD
OCS
D
OWL
GBH
DCI
CWI
JCS
NHI
IP
NH
FOS
S
LR1
RD
FA
IT

Failure to pay forfeiture
Driver record
Operating under influence of intoxicant or con. sub.
Blood alcohol concentration
Noncompliance with Assessment Interview
Failure to pay forfeiture-juvenile
Insurance Cancelled
Noncompliance with Driver Safety Plan
Operating while suspended
Failure to complete course
Failure to pay support
Implied consent
Speeding excess
Disqualification
Damage judgment accruing from negligent operation
Prohibited Alcohol Concentration
Safety Responsibility suspension of registration and operating privilege
Underage alcohol
Safety Responsibility - suspension
Attempt to elude officer
Operating after revocation
Truancy
Vehicle used in commission of felony
Habitual traffic offender
DJN default on PIAG
Noncompliance Arrest while in Plan
Juvenile alcohol
Serious violation-occupational license
Operating while intoxicated causing injury
Failure to stop after accident
Underage alcohol operation
Noncompliance Pay Treatment Fee
SRR default on installment
Failure to yield right of way
Noncompliance with Assessment Fee
Insurance Filed
SR default on installment
Operating while intox.-controlled substance
Drug convictions
Operating without driver license
Great bodily harm
DJN default on CIAG
Commercial operating while intoxicated
Juvenile controlled substances
Negligent homicide intoxicated
Improper plates
Negligent homicide
Failure to obey traffic sign or signal
Speeding
Lifetime revocation 1
Reckless driving
Falsified application
Illegal turn
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Source: WisDOT/DMV - Bureau of Driver Services, Report No. WDLSUM
*The total includes all revocations and suspensions for both in-state and out-of-state residents.

Revocations and Suspensions by Reason of Conviction
January -  December, 2018

Revocation and Suspension Statistics

                   Total                           414,176

Rank   Code       Charge                                                    Quantity YTD           % of  Total 

54 
55 
56 
57 
58 
59 
60 
61 
62 
63 
64 
65 
66 
67 
68 
69 
70 
71 
72 
73 
74 
75 
76 
77 
78 
79 
80 
81 
82 
83 
84 
85 
86 
87 
88 
89 
90 

10
10
9
8
8
7
7
6
5
4
4
4
3
3
2
2
2
2
2
2
2
2
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1

0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%
0.00%

LR2
RHT
DWS
CAC
FD
CNI
PI
OSJ
FSU
BI
IIV
UV
IVO
SI
CIC
CNP
DLT
FFS
IUL
LNP
ORS
OSS
CAI
CCS
CSE
CSR
FDL
FRA
FVC
GCV
ICU
ID
IDT
IVP
TPV
UID
VOR

Lifetime revocation 2
Repeat HTO
Driving on wrong side of highway
Commercial administrative suspension
Found delinquent
Compulsory insurance - no insurance
Passing illegally
Out of state judgment certified by state
Failure to stop after accident-unattended vehicle
Backing illegally
Intoxicant in vehicle carrying underage person 
Unregistered vehicle
Intoxicant in vehicle-operator
Speeding intermediate
Commercial implied consent
Compulsory insurance - no proof
Deviating from lane of traffic
Failure to fasten seat belt
Illegal use of operator’s license
License not on person
Operating while Registration Suspended
SR out of state
Commercial alcohol causing injury
Commercial OWI-controlled substance
Commercial speeding excess (20 or more over)
Child safety restraint
Failure to dim lights
Failure to report accident
Failure to keep vehicle under control
GDL Curfew Violation
Implied consent underage
Inattentive driving
Ignition/immobilization device
Intoxicant in vehicle-passenger
Transporting person or vehicle illegally
Underage ID
Violation of restriction
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How can a person reinstate their driving 
privileges after a suspension or revocation?

In most cases, after the period of suspension or revocation expires, 
and all other eligibility requirements have been met, a person may 
either pay the $60 or $200 reinstatement fee online by visiting http://
wisconsindot.gov/Pages/online-srvs/check-elig/eligibility.aspx, 
mail the reinstatement fee to the DMV or go to a DMV Customer 
Service Center to pay the reinstatement fee.  DMV will replace the 
license, if necessary.

A person whose license was suspended must also pay the appropri-
ate renewal fee if their license has expired.

A person whose license was revoked must complete an application 
for reinstatement and take any required tests.

Revocation/Suspension Reinstatement

For more information contact:

What other requirements apply?

Bureau of Driver Services
Driver Information Section
(608) 264-7447
To email, visit:  wisconsindmv.gov/email

Except for a person revoked for a first offense of OWI and non-
compliance with alcohol assessment or driver safety plan, a person 
whose driving privilege is revoked must file proof of financial 
responsibility with the division continuously for three years fol-
lowing the end of the withdrawal period.

Proof of financial responsibility is usually a certificate (SR-22) is-
sued by an insurance company licensed to do business in Wisconsin. 
The SR-22 must certify that the person has liability insurance in 
the amounts of at least $25,000 and $50,000, for personal injury or 
death and $10,000 for property damage. A person can also post a 
bond or make a cash deposit for these amounts with DMV. 

Proof of identity, Legal Presence and residency may also be re-
quired.

119,201

111,238

105,141
101,365 99,770

80,000

100,000

120,000

2014 2015 2016 2017 2018

Source: Bureau of Driver Services, Weekly Workload Report

Insurance Filings SR 22 & SR 26
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Source: Bureau of Driver Services, Director’s Office, TSO Report - Reinfee 

Revocation/Suspension Reinstatement

 
Source: Bureau of Driver Services, Director’s Office, TSO Report - Reinfee 

Suspensions, 
64,884, 73%

Cancellations, 
2,195, 2%Revocations, 

22,068, 25%

Types of Withdrawal Cases Reinstated in 2018

108,172
104,518

93,276
91,707 90,754 90,232

75,000

90,000

105,000

120,000

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018

Operating Privileges Reinstated
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A driver training school teaches students to operate a motor vehicle. 
DMV licenses schools and instructors and inspects them to ensure 
they continue to meet licensing requirements. There are 177 licensed 
driving schools employing 846 instructors.

What is a driving training school

Commercial Driving School

Are there special requirements for driving 
school instructors?

What does the license cost?

How many hours of instruction are re-
quired for persons under age 18?

For more information contact:

Can all commercial schools teach persons 
under age 18?

What does it cost to attend?

If a person does not complete driver educa-
tion, what must be done?

Bureau of Driver Services 
Qualifications and Issuance Section 
(608) 264-7495
Email:  dotdrvrtrnschool@dot.wi.gov

Driving school instructors must:
• hold an instructor’s license
• be employed by a licensed driving school
• have held a valid Wisconsin license at least one year
• meet specified driving record criteria
• present an acceptable medical report
• complete a training program
• pass a knowledge and oral test administered by the DMV to 

evaluate knowledge of instruction procedures, traffic laws, 
safety equipment and the function of automotive equipment

• pass an extensive road test
• pass a vision and hearing screening

The driving school license is $190 for two years. The instructor 
license is $50 for two years. Both licenses expire at the end of two 
years as that is the current renewal cycle.

A school that teaches persons under 18 must receive prior authoriza-
tion. They must submit a course outline and lesson plans. Schools 
meeting these requirements can teach classroom and/or behind-the-
wheel portions of the curriculum and submit the course completion   
required for licensing.

Classroom and/or online instruction must consist of 30 hours ex-
tending over a minimum of three weeks. Behind the wheel contains 
six hours of actual driving and six hours of observation extending 
over a minimum of three weeks. It may run concurrently with the 
classroom portion if given by the same school.

If a person (under 18) does not take the behind-the-wheel portion 
of driver education within 13 months of completing the classroom 
instruction, he/she must take a 10-hour refresher course. These 
courses can be taken at a driving school which offers the refresher 
course.

Driver training schools determine their own fees.
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What is a traffic safety program? The DMV, along with the Wisconsin Technical College System 
(WTCS), administers traffic safety courses to assist individuals in 
modifying their driving behavior. The courses include:

• Traffic Safety School (TSS) course which reviews basic safe 
driving concepts

• Group Dynamics  course designed for drivers who have been 
convicted of operating while intoxicated (OWI), and are as-
sessed to be irresponsible use

• Multiple Offender Program (MOP) course for drivers who 
have been convicted of OWI more than once and are assessed 
to be irresponsible use

• Basic Rider & Experienced Rider courses (see “Motorcycle 
License – Class M”)

Traffic Safety Programs

For more information contact:

How much do the courses cost?

What rules apply to point reduction?

Where and when are they offered?

Bureau of Driver Services
(608) 266-7386

These interactive courses are offered throughout the state by the 
WTCS. Drivers who receive warning letters about their demerit 
point status are advised of the school locations on the back of the 
letter. Drivers convicted of OWI and ordered to take GD  or MOP 
as part of their driver safety plan will be informed of the school 
or agency to contact by the assessment agency ordering their at-
tendance.

Classes are run during the day, evenings, and weekends to accom-
modate most schedules and allow students to complete the classes 
as soon as possible. 

Instructors are individuals who have been hired by the WTCS 
district and are certified by DMV. Instructors are required to have 
training in driver and safety education, and/or alcohol and other 
drug treatment education or counseling.

Drivers taking the courses may elect to have their demerit points 
reduced by three after successful completion of the course. Only 
motorcycle convictions can be reduced by three points upon comple-
tion of a Basic Rider or Experienced Rider Course. Drivers may only 
have their points reduced once every three years. The student has 
30 days from completion of the course to notify the Department of 
Transportation of any change in his/her request for point reduction.

Drivers whose licenses have been suspended or revoked for demerit 
points may use a point reduction course to regain their driving 
privileges.

Fees for these courses are set by the institutions and they vary.
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Anyone applying for:
• an original Class D operator’s license (auto and small trucks)
• an original Class A, B, or C commercial operator’s license
• an original P (passenger) endorsement to operate large motor 

buses
• an original or renewal S (school bus) endorsement to operate 

any school bus
• renewal or reinstatement of a license not valid more than eight 

years
• a restricted juvenile license
• a special restricted license
• an original Class M (motorcycle) license (unless they com-

plete a Basic Motorcycle Rider course)

Tests may be waived for drivers with a valid out-of-state license 
and for drivers who have had a valid license within the last eight 
years. DMV may require a driving skills test whenever it has good 
cause to question a person’s ability to operate a motor vehicle safely 
due to a physical or medical disability.

Driving Skills Test

Who is required to take a driving  
skills test?

Where are driving skills tests given?

What do I need to bring to the driving 
skills test?

What does it cost?

What comprises a driving skills test? Separate tests are given for each license class and endorsement. All 
tests involve a series of actual traffic situations designed to measure 
how well the driver responds to road and traffic conditions. Start-
ing/stopping; backing (except for class M); parking; left and right 
turns; mirror usage; spacing; lane selection and position within a 
lane; and observing traffic signals; highway signs; right-of-way for 
vehicles and pedestrians, and other traffic laws are tested for all 
license classes. The criteria for a class M license include: use of 
front and rear brakes, balance and control, and position for seeing 
and being seen. CDL skills test exercises include: a pre-trip inspec-
tion; mountain climb and descent; and, depending on class(es) and 
endorsement(s) sought, railroad crossing and student discharge. A 
driving skills test takes 20 to 90 minutes depending on the license 
class and endorsement for which you are applying. 

DMV conducts driving skills tests, by appointment, at Service 
Centers located throughout the state. 

A licensed driver must accompany an applicant with an instruction 
permit or expired license. If the applicant is under 18, sponsorship 
is requitred and proof that driver education was completed must 
be submitted electronically by an approved school.

Applicants moving to Wisconsin from another Jurisdiction, may 
provide DMV with proof of completion from the out of state driv-
ing school, in order to be eligible for the skills test.

An applicant must provide the appropriate vehicle for the class of 
license needed. Prior to the test, the examiner inspects the vehicle 
for safety defects and valid registration. If problems are detected, 
the driving skills test may be denied.

A driving skills test in a commercial vehicle other than a school 
bus costs $20. A skills test in a non-commercial vehicle and school 
bus costs $15.
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For more information contact:

Driving Skills Test

If I don’t pass, can I take the test again? Yes. Depending upon your test results, you may be required to 
wait 1, 7 or 14 days before another test is allowed. Grounds for 
not qualifying include: 

• inexperience
• failure to follow directions
• contributing to an accident
• dangerous action
• law violation

Bureau of Field Services

Technical and Training Services Section
(608) 266-8686
or any local DMV Service Center

108,405

109,822

115,560

110,150

108,068

105,188

100,000

110,000

120,000

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018

Source: Bureau of Field Services, 3089 Annual Report

Driving Skills Tests
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What is the purpose of the knowledge 
exam?

DMV uses knowledge exams to test applicants’ ability to rec-
ognize highway signs and knowledge of traffic laws and safe- 
driving practices.

Driver License Knowledge Exam

How is the exam given?

Where are exams given?

Who is required to take the exam?

What does it cost?

How many exams are conducted annually?

For more information contact:

The knowledge and highway signs tests are administered through 
an  Automated Knowledge Testing System (AKTS). Tests available 
on AKTS include English, Spanish, Chinese, Hmong, Russian,  
Polish, Serbo-Croatian and Somali. An audio assist option is avail-
able for customers with reading or language difficulty. For Class 
D&M drivers, a department-approved interpreter may be used for 
hearing impaired persons or to meet special needs.  CDL drivers 
may use the audio-assist feature to have the knowledge test read 
to them.  Thay may not have a person interpret the test for them.  

The exams are required for:
• original instruction permits
• special restricted licenses
• original CDL endorsements
• original or renewal school bus endorsements
• renewal of CDL HazMat endorsements

• The exams are also required for individuals applying for 
renewal or reinstatement of a license expired more than 8 
years.

DMV offers knowledge exams at Service Centers on a walk-in 
basis. The exams are also given at many local high schools and 
some driver training schools in conjunction with their driver-
education programs.

There is no cost for taking a knowledge exam. Upon successful 
completion of the exam, the applicant is issued either an instruc-
tional permit or a license for a fee. See “Driver License,” “Driving 
Skills Test,” and “Instruction Permits” for applicable fees.

Over  240,947 knowledge exams were conducted in 2018.

Bureau of Drivers Services
Driver Eligibility Unit
(608) 264-7049
or any local DMV Service Center 
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Source: Bureau of Field Services 3089 Annual Report

Source: Bureau of Field Services 3089 Annual Report

Driver License Knowledge Exam

Total 79,427

School Bus
5,645

7%

Tanker
5,469

7%

Air Brakes
18,986

23%

Gen. Knowledge
23,079

28%

Combination Veh.
13,897

17%Double/Triple
1,885

2%

Farm Svc
236
0%

HazMat
7,252

9%

Passenger Bus
6,127

7%

Types of CDL Tests Administered in 2018

Pass
42,781

52%

Fail
39,796

48%

CDL Knowledge Exams
Pass/Fail
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147,484

137,584

155,124 158,282 158,250 158,370

100,000

125,000

150,000

175,000

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018

Source: Bureau of Field Services 3089 Annual Report

Non-Commercial Knowledge Exams Conducted
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What is CDL Third Party Testing? State law allows authorized persons other than employes of the 
department to administer CDL skills tests to applicants for a com-
mercial drivers license (CDL).

Third Party Testing

For more information contact:

What is required of Third Party Testers?

What is a CDL Third Party Tester?

Who is a Third Party Examiner?

Are there special requirements for being a 
Third Party Examiner?

What does it cost to be a Third Party Tes-
ter?

Do Third Party Testers charge for the tests 
they conduct?

Do Third Party Testers issue the CDL?

How many testers and examiners are in the 
program?

A private employer, agency, or person or political subdivision 
authorized by the department to administer the third party testing 
program.

Bureau of Driver Services
CDL Third Party Audit Program
dotdmvcdlunit@dot.wi.gov

A person who is employed by a third party testing company, who is 
trained and certified by the department to conduct CDL skills tests.

A company, agency, or person who wishes to be a testing company 
must meet all department requirements for place of business, em-
ploy at least one third party examiner, employ one official who 
is responsible for the organization’s third party testing program, 
conduct at least 10 CDL skills tests annually, and agree to have their 
program audited/inspected by the department or Federal Motor Car-
rier Safety Administration (FMCSA), with or without prior notice.

Third party examiners must hold a valid certificate issued by the 
department. They must possess a valid Wisconsin CDL with clas-
sification and endorsements necessary for operation of the class 
and type of CMV used in the CDL Skills tests conducted by the 
examiner. Examiners must have at least two years of licensed ex-
perience operating the class of CMV they intend to test. Examiners 
must have an exemplary driving record within past four years. Third 
Party Examiners receive the same sanctioned CDL skills test train-
ing course as employees of the department. Third Party Examiners 
must conduct a minimum of 10 CDL skills test annually.

A third party tester must pay $1,800.00 for training costs and annual 
application fees of $100 plus $25 for each examiner they employ. 
Third party tester authorization expires each year on December 31st.

Third party examiners may charge a fee for the skills tests they 
conduct, but may not exceed the fee set by the department. An ad-
ditional fee may be charged if the Third Party Examiner provides 
the use of a vehicle. The third party testing company retains all fees 
collected for administering skills tests.

Third party testing companies only administer the CDL skills tests. 
The driver must make application for a CDL, take the necessary 
knowledge tests, pay the licensing fee and have the license pro-
cessed at a DMV Customer Service Center.

There are approximately 100 Third Party Testing Companies and 
over 210 Third Party examiners in the program, including those 
who are certified to test school buses. 
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No Administrative Rule updates for 2018

Administrative Rules in Calendar 2018

For more information contact:
For Trans 102
Rob Combs
(608) 266-1449

Reed McGinn
(608) 266-7857
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Act 105 - Relating to: traffic violations requiring operating privilege suspension and attendance at a vehicle right-of-way course, 
increasing penalties for numerous traffic violations, and providing a penalty.

Act 124 – Relating to: court orders regarding the installation of an ignition interlock device and providing a criminal penalty.

Act 127 - Relating to: operating a motor vehicle after revocation of the operating privilege and requirements of the court dur-
ing sentencing.

Act 170 - Relating to: acquisition of a motor vehicle by scrap metal dealers and motor vehicle salvage dealers.

Act 172 - Relating to: Permanent revocation of operating privileges for certain OWI convictions.

Act 194 - Relating to: voluntary payments associated with special distinguishing registration plates expressing support for the 
family members of law enforcement officers who have died in the line of duty and making an appropriation.

Act 224 - Relating to: insurance requirements for intrastate motor carriers of passengers.

Act 229 - Relating to: special registration plate fees for fire fighter, rescue squad member, and emergency medical technician 
and first responder special registration plates.

Act 244 - Relating to: reporting on an operator license or identification card application the existence of a disability that is not 
immediately apparent to another.

Act 249 - Relating to: proceeds from special registration plates associated with professional baseball park districts and making 
an appropriation.

Act 286 - Relating to: the immobilization or removal, impoundment, and disposal of motor vehicles for multiple nonmoving 
traffic violations.

Act 291 - Relating to: waiver of certain fees during a declared state of emergency.

Act 325 - Relating to: enforcing liens on personal property stored in self-service storage facilities and units, towing a vehicle 
of a lessee in default, and providing a penalty.

Act 363 - relating to: correcting a cross-reference related to penalties for drunk driving; penalties for violations of motor vehicle 
mileage disclosure requirements; certain references to obsolete federal motor carrier law; and providing a criminal penalty 
(suggested as remedial legislation by the Department of Transportation).

New Laws in Calendar Year 2018

For more information contact: Rob Combs
(608) 266-1449 

Reed McGinn
(608) 266-7857
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Counter Service Fees 

Registration Fees (1)

Permit Fees - Heavy Trucks

Dealers - Electronic Filing Fee

Dealers - Surcharge Fee

Dealer License Fees

Federal Security Verification Fee

Fast Service Fees

Domestic - IRP

Foreign - IRP (2)

Permit Fees

Motor Carrier Filing Fee

United Carrier Registration Fee

Supplemental Title Fees

Traffic Violation & Reg. Fees

Telephone Access Fees

Drivers License Fees

Occupational License Fees

Handicapped Cards

Financial Reinstatement

Registration Reinstatement Fees

Driver Abstract Fees

Registration Abstracts Fees

Sales to Others

Oversize/Overweight Fees

Salvage Vehicle Inspection Fees

TOTAL

Transportation Fund Revenue

For more information contact: Julie Kalsbeek, (608) 266-2612     Email: Julie.Kalsbeek@dot.wi.gov

Transportation Fund Revenue Collected by The Division of Motor Vehicles

Footnotes:
(1)  Registration Fees include registration, renewal, title and lien fees.
(2)  IRP Foreign Fees are overstated by $38,550,348 because of a transfer of funds from the IRP accounr
The Bonding Program was expanded in October 2003 to include additional revenue sources.  The following amounts were retained by the 
Trustee for the Bonding Program

Counter Service Fees

Registration Fees

Dealer License Fees

Fast Service Fees

Domestic IRP

Foreign IRP

Supplemental Title Fee

Telephone Access Fees

Financial Reinstatement

Registration Reinstatement Fees

Registration Abstract Fees

TOTAL

ITEM FY 2015 FY2016 FY2017 FY2018
2,896,235

384,279,901

82,028

54,598

29,033

278,084

11,086,644

77,650

28,526,638

38,376,527

0

254,150

2,196,680

6,646,801

327,240

17,917

28,337,890

687,656

253,189

3

161,104

15,879,965

209,842

232,540

6,452,093

266,125

$527,610,531

1,716,929

196,999,231

244,128

43,160

22,943,364

358,740

3,817,076

27,031

-3

82,962

81,349

$226,313,966

1,627,991

186,817,224

183,747

37,571

20,760,533

155,803

3,591,804

18,413

0

68,593

112,585

213,374,264

1,754,424

204,056,540

197,562

36,192

16,155,501

1,038,763

3,859,604

24,983

3

80,114

112,422

$227,316,107

3,021,829

370,066,236

82,006

61,272

39,973

408,330

11,124,849

69,142

33,106,280

38,765,938

0

202,200

2,196,680

6,905,254

361,690

17,472

28,253,448

672,763

257,989

119

157,684

15,236,869

191,414

3,533

6,168,448

308,471

$517,697,890

ITEM FY 2015 FY2016 FY2017 FY2018

3,242,667

399,078,289

84,688

55,712

48,918

728,014

11,377,845

75,626

31,406,239

39,001,160

0

260,050

2,093,461

7,135,915

392,305

19,076

28,507,326

670,288

265,941

0

164,663

17,140,914

226,943

4,977

6,691,064

379,747

$549,051,827

1,645,768

191,248,495

223,568

44,922

21,234,934

1,770,138

3,805,710

31,777

3

83,621

75,223

$220,164,158

2,673,104

371,991,939

79,546

56,384

25,196

652,541

10,737,610

74,600

28,732,675

35,449,056

0

273,050

2,196,680

6,393,420

372,713

19,204

27,614,250
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What is “heavy vehicle use tax”? Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (HVUT) is an annual tax assessed by the 
Federal Internal Revenue Service (IRS) on vehicles operating on 
public highways at a gross weight of 55,000 lbs. and greater.

Although the tax has been in effect since 1954, the federal gov-
ernment held the states responsible for enforcement beginning in 
October 1985. The federal government distributes revenues back 
to states for highway construction and maintenance.

Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (HVUT)

When are tax forms filed?

For more information contact:

Are there any exemptions from HVUT?

What is proof of compliance?

A carrier must file tax forms with the IRS by the end of the month 
following the month the vehicles first operated on public highways.

A carrier must send proof of HVUT compliance to the DMV with 
their registration renewal. For vehicles registered annually (IRP and 
Intrastate), proof is sent in with the annual renewal. For Intrastate 
vehicles registered quarterly or consecutive monthly, proof is sent 
in with the first registration during a calendar year. Proof of HVUT 
compliance cannot be sent separately from the IRP or Intrastate 
registration renewal. Proof of compliance may be either:

• a copy of a receipted Schedule 1 from IRS form 2290, or

• a copy of a completed 2290, Schedule 1 and both sides of the 
canceled check

Yes. Some exemptions are:

• vehicles which travel fewer than 5,000 miles annually or 
agricultural vehicles which travel fewer than 7,500 miles an-
nually. Carriers must file Schedule 1 with the IRS and send a 
receipted copy to the DMV

• mobile cranes and well-drilling vehicles when the carrier 
files a signed statement with the DMV which lists the vehicle 
identification number, vehicle type and tax year

• vehicles registered at 56,000 lbs. but actually operating be-
tween 54,001 and 54,999 lbs. when a signed statement is filed 
with the DMV

However, even if exempted, the carrier may be required to file with 
the IRS or notify the DMV of exempt status. 

Bureau of Vehicle Services
Interstate
(608) 266-9900

Intrastate
(608) 264-8735
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What vehicles must be registered?

The International Registration Plan (IRP) is a vehicle registration 
system which registers interstate motor carrier vehicles for all par-
ticipating jurisdictions  in by filing one application with their ‘base’ 
or home state. Registration fees are calculated on the percentage 
of miles a carrier travels in each jurisdiction. The base jurisdiction 
collects the fees for all jurisdictions where the carrier operates and 
forwards the fees to those jurisdictions. The carrier is issued one 
license plate and cab card for each vehicle. The cab card lists all 
jurisdictions and the registered weight. IRP registration is valid for 
both interstate and intrastate operations.

International Registration Plan (IRP)

Who must register with IRP?

Are any vehicles exempt?

How many states participate in IRP?

What is the International Registration 
Plan?

For more information contact:

The 48 contiguous United States, the District of Columbia and 
10 Canadian provinces are members of IRP. Open dialogue is in 
progress with Mexico. Wisconsin joined the IRP in 1978.
Interstate carriers who are residents of an IRP state, or who have an 
established place of business in an IRP state are required to register 
apportionable vehicles with IRP. At the carrier’s option, trip permits 
may be purchased in lieu of IRP registration.

The types of vehicles that register with IRP are:

• vehicles operating or registered over 26,000 lbs.

• vehicles with three or more axles, regardless of weight

• combination vehicles with a combined weight over  
26,000 lbs. 

Vehicles with restricted plates such as farm vehicles, city pickup 
and delivery vehicles, government-owned vehicles and recreational 
vehicles may be exempt from IRP registration.

Bureau of Vehicle Services
Motor Carrier Services Section
Motor Carrier Registration Unit

Hotline: (608) 266-9900
Email: irp-ifta@dot.wi.gov

Ehren Bittorf
(608) 261-2573
Email: ehren.bittorf@dot.wi.gov
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Who is subject to audit by the Department?

What is the purpose of audits?

How are motor carriers selected for audit?

What records are required?

How is the audit  conducted?

For more information contact:

Motor Carrier Audit

Source: Work Unit Statistics

Wisconsin based motor carriers licensing their vehicles under 
the International Registration Plan (IRP), and International 
Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA). 

Records are examined to verify accuracy of miles and fuel re-
ported. When acceptable records indicate the proper fees have 
not been paid, assessments or refunds are issued. Wisconsin 
audits on behalf of all jurisdictions and informs them of the 
audit findings just as Wisconsin is informed of audits done by 
the other jurisdictions.

Audits are selected on a random basis or by information 
received from other sources which may indicate an audit is 
necessary.

Bureau of Vehicle Services
Motor Carrier Services Section
Fuel Tax and Registration Audit Unit
Kurt Grajkowski
(608) 264-7239
Email: kurt.grajkowski@dot.wi.gov

Individual vehicle distance records and their supporting documents 
(trip sheets, fuel receipts, etc.) must be maintained to support the 
miles and fuel listed on the motor carrier’s application and quarterly 
filings. Records are to be retained for 6 1/2 years.

Upon notification of the department’s intent to audit, motor 
carriers may either submit their records to the department or 
be contacted at their place of business during regular working 
hours. Firms may be audited every year. The IFTA and the IRP 
require each base jurisdiction to audit an average of 3% of their 
motor carriers per year.
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How is the state fuel tax collected?

Bureau of Vehicle Services
Motor Carrier Services Section
Motor Carrier Registration Unit

Hotline: (608) 266-9900
Email: irp-ifta@dot.wi.gov

Ehren Bittorf, (608) 261-2573
Email: ehren.bittorf@dot.wi.gov

Motor Carrier Fuel Tax

What is a “base state” fuel tax program?

For more information contact:

What if fuel is over purchased?

Where are tax reports filed?

Why was interstate fuel tax report filing  
transferred to DOT?

How much fuel must be purchased?

Fuel tax is collected at the pump (retail sales), through payments 
made to the Wisconsin Department of Revenue as bulk fuel is used, 
or when the motor carrier files quarterly fuel tax reports with the 
Department of Transportation.

A carrier must pay tax on the number of gallons used on Wisconsin 
highways. For example, if a motor carrier used 1000 gallons of fuel 
on Wisconsin highways, 1000 tax-paid gallons must be purchased 
or funds equal to the amount of tax on 1000 gallons remitted to the 
State of Wisconsin.

If the carrier buys more fuel than is required to cover Wisconsin us-
age, a refund may be obtained on the taxes paid for the excess fuel.
Wisconsin-based motor carriers file quarterly or annual reports with 
the Motor Carrier Services Section, Motor Carrier Registration Unit. 
Annual reports may be filed by Wisconsin residents operating less 
than 5,000 total miles in IFTA jurisdictions.

The program was moved from the Department of Revenue to DOT 
in 1987 to promote a “one-stop” concept of service to motor carriers. 
“One-stop” allows carriers to file all required reports and obtain all 
necessary credentials in one office.

A “base state” agreement allows a carrier to file reports, pay fees, 
and obtain credentials through its base/home state. The base state 
forwards all fuel use data and tax owed to other states in the agree-
ment. There are 58 jurisdictions that are members of IFTA.
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Which motor carriers are required to file 
proof of insurance?

Motor Carrier Insurance

What are the minimum insurance limits?

All intrastate carriers of passengers or property for-hire rental 
companies, owners of all buses, human service vehicles, driver 
education vehicles, and dealer demo vehicles (demonstrated with 
a load) are required to file proof of insurance before operating in 
Wisconsin.

Wisconsin’s insurance minimums are are:

Property (same as federal interstate):
• combined single limit of $300,000 for vehicles of 10,000 lbs. or 

less transporting non-hazardous substances
• combined single limit of $750,000 for vehicles over 10,000 lbs. 

transporting non-hazardous substances
• combined single limit of $1,000,000 to $5,000,000 for vehicles 

transporting hazardous substances (the required amount depends 
upon the type of substances carried)

Passengers:

Passenger for-hire, other than driver education and school bus. See just 
below for motor bus.

• Vehicles with gross weight 10,000 lbs. or less -- $300,000 minimum
• Vehicles with gross weight over 10,000 lbs: 
 Seating capacity including driver of 15 or less (intrastate)-- $500,000
 Seating capacity including driver of 15 or less (interstate) -- 

$1,500,000
 Seating capacity including driver of 16 or more (intrastate) -- 

$1,000,000
 Seating capacity including driver of 16 or more (interstate) -- 

$5,000,000
• combined single limit of $1,000,000 to $5,000,000 for vehicles 

transporting hazardous substances (the required amount depends 
upon the type of substances carried)

Motor bus, private or for-hire (seating capacity of 16 or more):

• Vehicles with gross weight 10,000 lbs. or less -- $300,000

• Vehicles with gross weight over 10,000 lbs. -- $5,000,000

Property for-hire.

• Vehicles with gross weight 10,000 lbs. or less -- $300,000 minimum
• Vehicles with Gross Weight over 10,000 lbs --- $750,000 minimum

Driver education vehicles –- 25/50/10 ($ thousands)

School bus carrying passengers as a school bus, based on seating ca-
pacity:

• 7 or less 75/150/10 ($ thousands)
• 8 to 15 75/200/10 ($ thousands)
• 16 to 24 75/250/10 ($ thousands)
• 25 to 36 75/375/10 ($ thousands)

• 37 or more 75/1000/10 ($ thousands) 

School bus carrying passengers other than for school bus or school bus 
contract purposes – must comply with passenger requirements above, 
based on gross vehicle weight and seating capacity.
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Motor Carrier Insurance

What are the penalties for operating  
without filing insurance?

How is proof of insurance filed?

For more information contact:

An authorized representative of the motor carrier’s insurance company 
must file evidence stating they have met all insurance requirements:

• For US DOT-regulated carriers Form BMC91 or BMC91X must 
be filed with the FMCSA

• For US DOT-exempt carriers Form E or EX must be filed before 
operating in Wisconsin

• For Intrastate-only carriers Form E, EX or S-1 may be filed 

Carriers who operate without filing proof of insurance may be subject to 
enforcement action and cancellation of vehicle registration and permits.

Bureau of Vehicle Services
Motor Carrier Services Section
Motor Carrier Registration Unit

Hotline: (608) 266-9900, Email: irp-ifta@dot.wi.gov
Ehren Bittorf, Supervisor
Email: ehren.bittorf@dot.wi.gov

Why is insurance required? Insurance is required to promote public safety and ensure fiscal respon-
sibility of high-liability operations.

Human service vehicles, based on seating capacity. 

• 7 or less 75/150/10 ($ thousands) 

• 8 to 15 75/200/10 ($ thousands) 

• 16 to 24 75/250/10 ($ thousands)

• 25 to 36 75/375/10 ($ thousands)

• 37 to 49 75/500/10 ($ thousands)

• 50 or more 75/500/10 ($ thousands), plus $10,000 for each seat over 50 
passenger
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What is the Unified Carrier Registration (UCR)?

Motor Carrier Unified Carrier Registration

What businesses must file UCR?

For more information contact:

How does a business file?

What credential will the carrier receive to indicate 
compliance with UCR?

Source: Bureau of Vehicles Services, Motor Carrier Services Section
Note: UCR fees collected continue to accrue for 2 years after registration year.  Numbers 
subject to change.  Fees collected reflect amount collected up to report generation.

The UCR collects fee to be used to be for motor carrier safety and 
enforcement program. The UCR applies to more business opera-
tions.  Fees are lower and vary by the number of vehicles operated 
intarstate by the covered businesses.
Private motor carriers, for-hire motor carriers, leasing companies, 
freight forwarders and brokers in the motor carrier industry must 
file UCR if they operate in interstate business. Canadian carriers 
operating in the USA must file UCR.  Other businesses operating 
in interstate commerce that may not be required to comply with 
the International Registration Plan (IRP) or International Fuel Tax 
Agreement (IFTA) requirements are required to file UCR.   Some 
bus operation across state lines, for school or religious purpose, 
may be exempt from UCR.

The UCR has a national on-line registration site.  The site is 
used by Wisconsin and other states. The UCR web address is:                     
www.ucr.gov   Fees may be paid by credit card or electronic check.  
The site is user-friendly and will calculate fees based on number of 
vehicles being registered.
No paper credential is issued; this is an electronic credential.  Law 
enforcement will review compliance on-line.  A receipt for payment 
can be printed from the on-line system.

Motor Carrier Insurance
Bureau of Vehicle Services
Motor Carrier Services Section
Motor Carrier Registration Unit

Hotline: (608) 266-9900
Email: irp-ifta@dot.wi.gov

Ehren Bittorf: (608) 261-2573
Email: ehren.bittorf@dot.wi.gov
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$2,932,939

$2,196,680 $2,196,680 $2,196,680 $2,196,680 $2,196,680

1,500,000

2,000,000

2,500,000

3,000,000

3,500,000

2014 2015 2016 2017 2018

Carriers, Leasing Companies, Brokers and Freightforwarders Registering 
Through WI

Collected Retained



87Facts & Figures 2018 Oversize/Overweight Permit

The Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) no longer manages OS/OW Permits and customers should contact 
the Division of Transportation System Development (DTSD) Permits Unit: http://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/
dmv/com-drv-vehs/mtr-car-trkr/osowgeneral.aspx.
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What is telephone authorization? Telephone Authorization (TA) is a call-in procedure that allows 
registrants to operate on Wisconsin highways without displaying 
evidence of registration. The program meets a registrant’s immedi-
ate need to place an unregistered or newly-acquired vehicle into 
service in an emergency. 

Telephone Authorization

For more information contact:

How is it obtained?

What does it cost?

Who is eligible?

How long is it valid?

Bureau of Vehicle Services
Title and Registration Processing Section
Vehicle Registration  and  Titling Unit
(608) 267-5103

A TA is available ONLY for intra-state operation of motor carriers;

• motor trucks and truck tractors and certain other vehicles 
registering at gross weights of more than 8,000 lbs., under 
the quarterly or monthly registration system

•	 first-time	registrations,	 re-registrations,	 registration	 renew-
als, or transfer of ownership involving registration of a  
vehicle

The toll-free number in Wisconsin for obtaining a Telephone Au-
thorization is 1-(608) 267-5103.  DMV accepts requests between 
7 a.m. and 4 p.m., Monday through Friday, or by recording service 
during non-business hours. An applicant must provide the depart-
ment with the following information about the vehicle:

• type,	year,	make,	vehicle	identification	number
• license plate number or title number

• operating gross weight, and the type (quarterly or consecutive 
monthly) of registration

• type of operation (private or for-hire) requested

Because all conversations are recorded, the DMV cannot authorize 
a TA on any other phone line.

The fee for a TA is $7.50 per vehicle. If a complete application, 
with correct fees is received by the DMV before the 15th of the 
month preceding the expiration of the registration period, the fee 
will be waived if the DMV fails to return evidence of registration 
by the beginning of the registration period. 

A Telephone Authorization remains valid until the applicant re-
ceives permanent registration. Application for permanent registra-
tion must be made within 72 hours of the TA date. If an applicant 
does not submit the application, with all appropriate fees, including 
the TA fee, DMV will refuse subsequent registration until all prior 
fees have been paid..
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Represents the number of vehicles with Telephone authorization calls; a vehicle 
may receive several Telephone authorizations in a year.
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The Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) no longer manages aircraft registration and customer should contact the 
Bureau of Aeronautics directly: http://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/doing-bus/aeronautics/ac-rgstrtn/default.aspx

Aircraft Registration
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A Certificate of Title is evidence of vehicle ownership.

Certificate of Title

When is a title issued?

What documents are required?

What is a title?

Where do I apply for a title?

An application for title requires the following documents:

• Application for Title/Registration, Form MV1, if private (non-
dealer) sale of any vehicle or MV11 (dealers only); MV14 (Private 
Low Speed Vehicle - NEV); MV15 (Dealer Low Speed Vehicle 
- NEV); MV12 (Banks, etc.)

• Odometer Mileage Statement (on the title or Form MV2488) 
signed and dated by the former owner, if not included on the reas-
signment or MVII (dealer application)

• Proof of ownership (Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin for a 
new vehicle or the current Certificate of Title/Ownership from 
Wisconsin or another jurisdiction, properly signed by the sellers)

Some transactions require additional documents.

Automobiles, light trucks registered at 8,000 lbs or less, farm trucks 
registered at 12,000 lbs, motorcycles, mopeds and recreational vehicle 
trailers (campers and mobile homes under 40 feet) previously titled in 
Wisconsin and being sold to an individual in Wisconsin can begin the 
transfer of ownership online using the eMV Public application.

A title can be applied for in several ways:

•  The Application can be mailed to:

          Wisconsin Dept of Transportation
          P.O. Box 7949
          Madison, WI 53707-7949 

•  For an additional $5 counter service fee, taken to one of the DMV 
Customer Service Centers around the state which offer Title and 
Registration service.

•  For an additional service fee of $19.50, taken to one of many 
authorized agencies and businesses that have been approved by 
DMV to provide electronic title and registration services.  

 A list of these DMV Partners and the services they provide can by 
found at http://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/
walkin.aspx.

•  For an additional service fee of $5.00, plus a $3.00 temporary plate 
fee, taken to a business or agency authorized to accept title and 
license plate applications and provide a temporary plates for  cars 
or light trucks registered at 8,000 lbs or less.  

 A list of these DMV Partners can be found at http://wisconsindot.
gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/walkin.aspx.

•  There are no Walk-in or Third Party processing applications ac-
cepted at the DMV Customer Service Centers for Application Form 
MV-14 and MV-15 (for LSV).  Those applications are processed 
by mail only and can be sent to:

          
          Wisconsin Dept of Transportation
          P.O. Box 7949
          Madison, WI 53707-7949 

The DMV issues a title when it has confirmed who owns the vehicle.
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The fee for filing an application for the first, or original title, or 
a title transfer, is $69.50; $62 for LSVs.. State and County sales 
taxes may also apply, as well as registration fees for vehicle 
operation on Wisconsin roadways. Notation of a security inter-
est (lien holder) costs $10.  Replacement titles — lost, stolen 
or mutilated — cost $20.

For more information contact: DMV Communications Center
(608) 264-7447

Certificate of Title

Source:BVS Title Statistics by Month (From T&R Report)

What does a title cost?

What appears on a title? The “facts” which may appear on a title include:

• the name and address of the owner(s)

• a description of the vehicle, including make, identifica-
tion number and any other information reasonable for the 
identification of the vehicle

• the name of secured party (lien holder) if applicable

• odometer reading information (for vehicles 8,000 lbs or 
less and less than 10 model years old) 

• Notations, such as, Replacement Title, etc.

• if a replacement title, Replacement Title notation is listed

• title branding — if applicable

• previously titled in another state — if applicable
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What is the purpose of the Disabled  
Parking Identification Permit?

Who may obtain a card?

What is required?

A card may be obtained by:

• any person certified by a Health Care Specialist to have a 
disability as defined by statute.

• an organization that regularly transports persons who have a 
disability as defined by statute.

An individual shall complete a Disabled Identification Permit ap-
plication form which includes a section that must be completed 
and signed by any of the following health care specialists  licensed 
to practice medicine in any state: physician, podiatrist, advanced 
practical nurse, chiropractor, public health nurse or physician as-
sistant (licensed or certified)  or Christian Science practitioner 
residing in Wisconsin.

Beginning September 1, 2006, applicants must keep a copy of the 
completed eligibility certification on their person or in the vehicle 
to provide to a traffic officer upon request.

An organization’s application must be completed by an official of 
the organization.

DMV will issue to any person certified by an authorized health care 
specialist as having a disability is eligible for the Disabled Parking 
Identification (DIS ID) Permit. By legal definition, this includes 
any person who:

• Cannot walk 200 feet or more without stopping to rest.

• Cannot walk without the use of, or assistance from, another 
person or brace, cane, crutch, prosthetic device, wheelchair 
or other assistance device.

• Is restricted by lung disease to the extent that forced expira-
tory volume for one second, when measured by spirometry, 
is less than one liter or the arterial oxygen tension is less than 
60 mm/hg on room air at rest.

• Uses portable oxygen.

• Has a cardiac condition to the extent that functional limita-
tions are classified in severity as class III or IV, according to 
standards accepted by the American Heart Association..

• Is severely limited in the ability to walk due to an arthritic, 
neurological or orthopedic condition.

Persons with a permanent disability will be issued a blue DISID 
Permit that must be renewed and recertified every four years. Per-
sons with a temporary disability will be issued a red card that is 
valid for a maximum of six months. If the disability lasts longer 
than six months, a new card is issued upon completion of another 
application.  Organizations that regularly transport persons that 
qualify will be issued a green DISID permit that will be renewed 
and recertified every four years.

What types of DISID cards are available?
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Source: Analysis of disabled ID permits issued (Report 51)

DIS ID Permit Use

What do they cost? There is no fee for DISID permits issued for permanent disabilities. 
The fee for a card for a temporary disability is $6. All applications 
made at DMV Customer Service Centers are subject to a $3 per 
application counter service fee. 

For more information contact: Bureau of Vehicle Services
Special Plates Unit
(608) 264-7169
Email: special-plates.dmv@dot.wi.gov

Note: DISID permits are available for individuals at all DMV 
Service Centers. A comprehensive list of those issuing DISID 
permits may be obtained online at http://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/
online-srvcs/find-dmv/default.aspx or by calling (608) 264-7169. 

A motor vehicle displaying a DIS ID permit issued by Wisconsin or 
any other state or country, is subject to all Wisconsin motor vehicle 
laws and qualifies for certain privileges:

• May park in spaces marked by official traffic signs reserving 
the space for vehicles displaying VET or DIS plates or a DIS 
ID permit in all 50 states, D.C. and Puerto Rico. 

• Is exempt from any parking ordinance imposing time limits 
of one-half hour or more and is subject to the laws relating 
to parking.

• May park at a municipally-owned/leased lot without payment 
in metered spaces when the time limit is one-half hour or more. 
Payment may be required for privately-owned parking lots or 
those with an attendant.
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What is the electronic title and registration program? The electronic title and registration program allows dealers, financial institutions, fleets and other 
approved businesses as DMV agents to complete title and registration transactions for themselves or 
their customers electronically. The funds for the registration and title are also submitted electroni-
cally. The electronic data updates the DMV database directly and eliminates the need for DMV 
to re-key the application. The paper applications and source documents continue to be submitted 
to DMV separately for audit and imaging purposes.

Electronic Title and Registration

Source: Dealer And Agent Section

How does the program work?

For more information contact:

Could the program be expanded to other businesses?

What are the benefits of the program?

Bureau of Vehicle Services
Dealer And Agent Section
Dianne Parish
(608) 267-5253

• Customers get faster and more convenient service. This is especially important to people 
who plan out-of-state trips shortly after buying the vehicle and those who live near the 
state border.

• Agents are able to transmit information electronically instead of mailing or hand deliver-
ing it to DMV. They offer a service to their customer and get quick access to important 
information about a vehicle’s history and mileage.

• Law enforcement agencies have more immediate access to changes in vehicle registrations 
and fewer temporary plates are necessary.

• DMV gets updates to the database without re-keying the data, streamlining the process. 
Electronic filing helps keep lines shorter at Customer Service Centers.

DMV has authorized four vendors to act as a gateway between our database and the agents. Deal-
ers, financial institutions and fleet owners use the electronic program to complete transactions 
for their vehicle sale, loan or fleet customers. Police departments participating in the program 
complete both title and registration renewal applications for walk-in customers. Some agents, such 
as grocery stores and financial service centers, process only registration renewal transactions for 
most auto, small trucks and motorcycle license plates. The vendor is paid out of the electronic 
filing fee collected from the vehicle owner. Agents issue regular auto and truck plates and stickers 
to the customer. Titles are printed centrally at DMV. Agents offering registration renewal services 
print the updated Certificate of Registration for the customer.

In addition to the four vendor systems, DMV has developed  two Internet applications: eMV11, 
which is available to WI licensed dealers free of charge and eMV Agent which is available to 
lien holders free of charge.  Using eMV11, the customer receives a temporary plate and a printed 
receipt upon delivery of their vehicle.  The title and metal license plates are sent directly from 
DMV.  Dealers may include costs of participating  in the eMV11 program in the dealership ser-
vice fee currently allowed by law to cover dealer costs for regulatory compliance.  Using eMV 
Agent, lenders may process applications to add or remove their liens from their customers’ titles.  
As with eMV11, a receipt is printed for the customer. When adding a lien, a new title is sent to 
the lien holder by DMV.  When a lien is removed, the lender mails the clear title to the customer.

Effective June 30, 2007, WI licensed motor vehicle dealers are required to electronically process 
all title/registration applications for their customers. Effective July 1, 2010, lienholders are required 
to electronically process applications for original notation and subsequent release of liens when 
not part of a title transaction. The service is voluntary at all other locations.

DMV will continue to explore business partnerships with other customers.

5,090 5,042 5,250 5,446 5,608 5,594

1,000

3,000

5,000

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018

Number of Agents
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It is the titling and registration of non-autos: trucks (10,000 lbs and 
over), tractors, buses, motor homes and trailers, except for those ve-
hicles apportioned under the International Registration Plan (IRP).

What is heavy vehicle registration and  
titling?

Heavy Vehicle Registration & Titling

Where is application made?

Vehicle Registration Periods for Heavy 
Vehicles:

What type of registration is issued?

Registration is available on a quarterly basis (January-March, 
April-June, July-September, October-December) for most vehicles 
registered with a gross weight over 8,000 pounds. An extra fee of $5 
is charged per quarter of registration. Consecutive monthly registra-
tion is also available (with a minimum registration period of three 
months) for registration of a number of special-use vehicles. The 
fee is 1/12 the annual fee times the number of months of registra-
tion, plus a fee of $15 per vehicle.

Any of the following vehicles may be registered on a consecutively 
monthly registration basis:

• a motor truck or a trailer or a truck tractor used exclusively to 
transport concrete pipe or block and related materials, calcium 
chloride liquid, a weight transfer machine for purposes as-
sociated with truck or tractor pulling competitions or events, 
recycled metal salvage materials, logs or pulpwood, dirt, fill 
or aggregates or fresh milk, or to transport perishable fresh 
fruits or vegetables for canning, freezing, dehydrating or 
storage prior to processing, including return of waste, or to 
transport petroleum products

• a motor truck or a trailer or a truck tractor equipped with a 
dump, box or other container used exclusively to transport 
gravel, concrete or cement and bituminous road construc-
tion materials or agricultural lime, feed, grain or fertilizer, or 
equipped with a mechanical mixer used exclusively to mix 
and deliver concrete

• motor truck or truck tractor which is owned or leased by a retail 
lumberyard used exclusively to transport building construction 
materials from that lumberyard to a building construction site

• any motor vehicle used exclusively for towing operations of 
stalled or disabled vehicles

A wide variety of license plates and registration stickers for vehicles 
ranging from pick-up truck licenses (LTK), trucks, truck tractors, 
semitrailers, farm and heavy farm trucks, trailers of all types (from 
camping trailers to semi-trailers), buses, including school buses, 
motor homes, dual purpose vehicles and specialty vehicle licenses 
(X, UX, and Z plates).

Applications may be mailed directly to the Madison central office. 
Heavy vehicle registration services are available at many DMV 
Service Centers throughout the state.  Visit: wisconsindot.gov/
pages/online-svrcs/find-dmv/default.aspx for services offered by 
a DMV Service Center location.
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For more information contact:

Farm Truck Use:

Immediate Operation:

School Bus Inspection and Charters:

Trucks licensed as farm trucks may not be used for any non-farm 
occupation, trade or employment. A truck that is used for both farm 
and non-farm uses may be registered as a dual purpose farm vehicle. 
A farm truck may be used for personal or family purposes but not for 
commuting to another job. A heavy farm truck (registered at 38,000 
lbs. or more) may not be used for personal or family purposes.

Vehicles registered 54,000 pounds or lower may renew online at 
wisconsindmv.gov with a credit card or Telephone Authorization 
is available for a fee of $7.50 by calling (608) 267-5103. This al-
lows for immediate operation for vehicles registered quarterly or 
consecutive monthly. See section on “Telephone Authorization” 
for information.

DMV Communication Center
vehiclequestions@dot.wi.gov
(608) 266-7447

Prior to issuing an original title for a new school bus, or a Wisconsin 
title for a used school bus purchased out-of-state, the bus must be 
inspected by the Wisconsin State Patrol. Contact the nearest State 
Patrol District Headquarters for inspection information.

To use a school bus for a charter operation, the bus must be regis-
tered as a charter bus, paying regular gross weight registration fees. 
Quarterly or annual charter registration is available.

mailto:vehiclequestions%40dot.wi.gov?subject=Heavy%20Vehicle%20REgistration%20%26%20Titling%20-%20Facts%20%26%20Figures
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What is an involuntary transfer? An involuntary transfer of a motor vehicle is a transfer of own-
ership due to legal action or something other than a voluntary 
transfer.

Involuntary Transfer

Is there an extra charge for this service?

For more information contact:

Who would use this service?

What is a repossesion?

There is no charge other than the normal title fee, sales tax and 
registration fee as appropriate.

Anyone with an application that would fall under one of the 
categories described below needs to send the application to the 
Vehicle Research Unit:

• no trace of ownership – an applicant seeking to title or 
register a vehicle without a certificate of title; the applicant 
must provide some proof of ownership of the vehicle

• wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/surety-
bond.aspx

Repossesions (MV2117 Repossession Application) are com-
monly processed at DMV Service Centers, as are MV2419  
Abandoned/Unregistered Vehicle Transer Certificate both of 
which are treated as involuntary transfers.

DMV Communication Center
(608) 267-7447
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A4H Foundation
Amateur Radio
Antique
Apportioned Power
Auto
Boy Scouts
Bus
Celebrate Children
Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin
Choose Life
Civilian Group*
Collector
Collector Special
Cure Childhood Cancer
Dealer
Dealer Annual and Transporter***
Disabled
Disabled Veteran
Donate Life
Ducks Unlimited
ELK
EMT (red design)
Endangered Resources (Badger/Eagle design)
Endangered Resources (Wolf design)
Ex-POW
Farm Trailer
Farm Truck
Firefighter (red design)
Firefighter (white design)
Gold Star Family
Green Bay Packers
Harley-Davidson share the road
Heavy Farm Truck
Heavy Trailer
Heavy Truck
Historic Military Vehicle
Hobbyist
Human Service Vehicle
In God We Trust
Junior Golf
Law Enforcement Memorial
Light Trailer
Light Truck
Lions Foundation

License Plates Issued

 NA 
 123 
 117 

 14,053 
 586,041 

 176 
 1,045 

 117 
 NA 
 256 
 59 

 11,594 
 164 
 227 

 6,882 
 10,631 
 6,382 

 451 
 115 
 127 
 170 
 167 

 1,418 
 422 

 6 
 2,118 
 5,030 

 690 
 473 
 31 

 1,523 
 719 
 899 

 24,671 
 24,874 

 82 
 1,355 

 72 
 680 
 67 

 452 
 1,322 

 152,984 
 20 

 NA 
 129 
 102 

 14,592 
 676,459 

 NA 
 1,103 

 120 
 NA 
 NA 
 73 

 8,465 
 140 
 NA 

 4,709 
 15,926 
 5,375 

 397 
 97 
 87 

 NA 
 188 
 266 
 627 

 2 
 2,212 
 5,611 

 558 
 319 
 33 

 1,397 
 743 
 929 

 18,733 
 20,732 

 69 
 1,129 

 95 
 18 
 51 

 NA 
 408 

 144,094 
 19 

Plate Type 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018

 NA 
 119 
 103 

 15,300 
 553,204 

 NA 
 1,177 

 107 
 NA 
 NA 
 61 

 8,847 
 126 
 NA 

 4,453 
 10,885 
 5,641 

 409 
 101 
 103 
 NA 
 167 

 1,586 
 349 

 9 
 2,053 
 5,033 

 648 
 412 
 29 

 1,565 
 652 
 962 

 20,843 
 21,794 

 65 
 1,155 

 135 
 920 
 42 

 581 
 517 

 140,016 
 -   

 NA 
 138 
 85 

 16,071 
 569,490 

 NA 
 925 
 125 
 NA 
 NA 
 50 

 11,299 
 178 
 NA 

 5,186 
 6,130 
 6,179 

 367 
 125 
 108 
 NA 
 187 

 1,615 
 346 

 1 
 1,981 
 5,019 

 642 
 465 
 32 

 1,466 
 687 
 837 

 22,199 
 22,617 

 68 
 1,262 

 107 
 687 
 57 

 450 
 556 

 148,645 
 13 

 36 
 120 
 119 

 14,987 
 581,705 

 97 
 1,560 

 125 
 282 
 839 
 58 

 13,109 
 191 
 157 

 10,463 
 7,978 
 6,214 

 493 
 132 
 125 
 144 
 206 

 1,130 
 469 

0
 1,924 
 5,141 

 691 
 337 
 37 

 1,311 
 672 
 824 

 25,069 
 25,408 

 65 
 1,588 

 120 
 680 
 62 

 420 
 765 

 153,531 
 11 
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Source: File analysis Report 62 and License Plate Issuance Unit’s System Issuance Report. Includes license plates 
issued for first time registrations, base plate renewals, duplicates and replacements for calendar years 2013 through 
2018.

License Plates Issued

Low Speed Vehicle
Marquette University
Military Group
Milwaukee Brewers (Ball & Glove Logo)
Milwaukee Brewers (‘M’ Logo)
Milwaukee Bucks
Moped 
Motorcycle
Motor home
Municipal
Municipal Cycle
Musky Clubs Alliance
National Guard
Nurses
Official
RV Trailer
Semi-Trailer
Special “X”
Special Recognition Group**
State Owned
Tractor
Trout
University Group
Veteran’s Motorcycle
Whitetail Unlimited
Wisconsin Salutes Veterans
Wisconsin Women’s Health Foundation
Duplicate Plates
Total Metal Plates
Temporary Plates

Total All Plates

For more information contact: Bureau of Vehicle Services 
(608) 266-1473

Plate Type 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018

 90 
 189 

 2,278 
 782 
 676 
 NA 

 4,249 
 37,935 
 3,987 
 2,241 

 4 
 NA 
 33 

 NA 
 491 

 11,480 
 18,974 

 104 
 28 

 293 
 2,179 

 NA 
 785 
 317 
 NA 
 205 
 31 

 1,982 
 1,015,340 

 214,440 
 1,229,780 

 91 
 163 

 2,137 
 588 
 566 
 NA 

 4,093 
 102,419 
 10,905 
 2,441 

 6 
 NA 
 24 

 NA 
 534 

 47,699 
 20,478 

 92 
 48 

 176 
 2,504 

 243 
 883 
 163 
 NA 
 190 
 26 

 2,385 
 999,023 
 225,528 

 1,224,551 

 50 
 171 

 2,535 
 697 
 671 
 505 

 3,451 
 37,915 
 4,215 
 2,929 

 4 
 189 
 15 

 316 
 716 

 16,849 
 19,770 

 100 
 36 

 217 
 2,475 

 101 
 990 
 290 
 317 
 225 
 29 

 3,163 
 957,470 
 256,317 

 1,213,787 

 42 
 149 

 2,181 
 474 
 465 
 196 

 4,047 
 39,588 
 4,256 
 2,856 

 8 
 NA 
 22 

 NA 
 579 

 16,333 
 19,257 

 143 
 32 

 401 
 2,364 

 125 
 869 
 292 
 NA 
 192 
 25 

 2,802 
 924,093 
 182,917 

 1,107,010 

 44 
 182 

 2,533 
 537 
 468 
 581 

 3,807 
 35,411 
 4,379 
 3,116 

 2 
 NA 
 21 

 428 
 619 

 16,945 
 17,630 

 96 
 36 

 151 
 2,576 

 80 
 994 
 158 
 267 
 210 
 38 

 2,943 
 953,057 
 223,475 

 1,176,532 

* Civilian Group includes: EMT (white design), Civil Air Patrol and Rescue squad member  
** Special Recognition Multi-Group includes:  Freemason and LaoVeterans
***Only Transporter plates were counted until 2018
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Why are license plates required? License plates are evidence that registration fees have been paid 
and are a means of identifying a vehicle and tracing ownership.

License Plates & Renewal Stickers

For more information contact:

How long are plates valid?

How many types of Wisconsin license 
plates are there?

When are license plates issued?

When are renewal stickers issued?

DMV Communication Center
(608) 267-7447

There are 96 plate types in 63 designs with 178 stickers and decals. 
There are 321 variations of Wisconsin license plates currently on 
the road.  The plate issued depends on the design and use of the 
vehicle or the owner’s special interest. Examples of plate types are:

 Automobile Disabled Parking

 Truck Tractor

 Collector Semi-trailer

Most plate types are issued in sets of two for front and rear vehicle 
display.

The length of the registration period depends on the type of license 
plate. There are 7 valid registration periods: annual, quarterly, 
monthly, 2 year, 5 year, 6 year and non-expiring. More detail on 
license plate types and registration periods is available in the Wis-
consin License Plate and Motor Carrier Credentials Guide, avail-
able at our website: http://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/
title-plates/plateguide.aspx. For information on truck and bus 
registration, see “Heavy Vehicle Registration & Titling.”

Individuals receive plates when first registering a vehicle (unless 
plates are transferable).  They may replace their plates (same plate 
design) for a fee of $4 per set for regular plates and $10 or $12 
per set for some special plates. Plate holders are responsible for 
replacing plates that are no longer readable.

DMV issues stickers upon renewal to show the date of vehicle 
registration expiration.  DMV sometimes issues plates with a new 
design instead of a renewal sticker.
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4,406,256

4,766,495

4,474,381

4,840,189

4,554,938

4,892,260

4,000,000

4,250,000

4,500,000

4,750,000

5,000,000

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018

Source: BVS Title Renewal (Monthly T&R) Report

Registration Renewals
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What is online registration renewal? Online registration renewal is an option available in addition to 
the traditional mail-in and walk-in methods. Online renewals are 
available for many license plate types. 

Online Registration Renewal

For more information contact:

Which plate types are eligible?

What are the benefits?

How do I use this option?

Speed and convenience. You can print a receipt of registration 
fees paid to carry in your vehicle and are legal to operate.  You 
will receive your Certificate of Registration and year expiration 
stickers within a few days. The service is available 24 hours a day, 
seven days a week.

You can use your checking or savings account, debit card, Visa, 
American Express, MasterCard, or Discover Card to renew your 
vehicle’s license plate online. The web site address is http://wis-
consindot.gov/Pages/online-srvcs/online.aspx.

DMV Communications Center
(608) 264-7447

vehiclequestions@dot.wi.gov

Any vehicle up to 54,000 lbs. gross weight is eligible, except those 
with ex-POW plates and buses registered as school buses or mass 
urban transit.  If your renewal card has an RRN (Renewal Refer-
ence Number) on it, you are eligible to use this renewal service.
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Source: BVS Title Renewal (Monthly T&R) Report

1,078,131

1,221,784 1,186,444

1,396,034 1,409,285

1,614,903

900,000

1,100,000

1,300,000

1,500,000

1,700,000

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018

Charge Card Renewals
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A license plate consisting of requested numbers or letters or both, 
not exceeding 7 positions and not less than 1 position on regular 
registration plates, In God We Trust and Wisconsin National Guard, 
and not exceeding 6 positions and not less than 1 position on spe-
cial group plates. Disabled and Disabled Veteran plates may also 
be personalized.

Personalized License Plate

How are personalized license plates  
obtained?

What is the cost?

For more information contact:

What vehicle types are eligible for  
personalized license plates?

What is a personalized license plate?

An annual fee of $15 is required in addition to the regular registra-
tion fees.

Personalized license plates are available for the following vehicle 
types:

• automobiles

• motorcycles (up to 5 characters;  not available for special 
groups except US Veterans which have up to 4 characters)

• motor homes (annual registration only)

• motor trucks: 
~ 4,500, 6,000 or 8,000 pound gross weight including dual-

purpose farm and dual-purpose motor home
~ 12,000 pound gross weight farm truck

An applicant must complete and return a special application form 
which includes a section where the personalized message choice(s) 
is listed.

Bureau of Vehicle Services
Special Plates Unit
(608) 266-3041
Email: special-plates.dmv@dot.wi.gov

24,431

32,192

17,348 16,850

18,797
20,325

10,000

15,000

20,000

25,000

30,000

35,000

2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018

Source: Weekly Work Report  Report 62

Personalized Plate Applications Processed
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The Traffic Violation and Registration Program (TV&RP) was 
created by state law in 1981. Under this program, DMV imposes 
sanctions for unpaid tickets resulting from unpaid non-moving 
traffic violations (unpaid parking citations) and/or unpaid towing/
storage charges.

What is the Traffic Violation and 
Registration Program?

Traffic Violation & Registration Program (TV&RP)

Source: TV & RP  Unit Work Statistics

How is the program funded?

How does it work?

Number of TVRP participants:

For more information contact:

What happens when tickets are paid?

How are people notified?

The cost of the program is paid by participating local authorities.

The court or local authority must notify defendants that they have 
unpaid tickets. If the defendant does not contest the ticket or pay 
the fine, the authority directs the department to take action. The 
department then notifies the defendant by letter and by notice on 
vehicle registration renewal forms.

A court or local authority participating in the program forwards 
information regarding the unpaid tickets to the department and 
requests the DMV to:

• suspend the registration of the vehicle involved

• refuse all registration applications, including renewals,  made
by the owner of the ticketed vehicle, or

• both of the above

Bureau of Vehicle Services
Vehicle Registration and Titling Unit 
(608) 267-9791

In 2017, 281 counties, cities, villages, towns, courts, or other local 
agencies participated in the program.

Once a defendant has paid the forfeiture or appeared in court, the 
local authority or court notifies the department and vehicle registra-
tion privileges are reinstated.

90,223

75,567 75,367

88,537

71,594

97,789

83,997

76,673
84,102

75,300

50,000

100,000

2014 2015 2016 2017 2018

Traffice Violation & Registration Program Statistics

Cases Created Cases Satisfied
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Why vehicle emission testing? The federal Clean Air Act spells out air quality standards that all 
areas of the United States must meet. Motor vehicles are one of 
the major sources of air pollutants in metropolitan areas. Vehicle 
exhaust emissions include nitrogen oxide, carbon monoxide 
and hydrocarbons. Vehicle testing assures that in-use vehicle 
emissions are within specified standards.

Vehicle Emission Inspection Program (I/M)

Why is emission testing required in  
southeastern Wisconsin?

Where are vehicles tested?

Who sets emission standards?

When are vehicles tested?

Who does the testing and what does it cost?

What vehicles require testing?

There are approximately 200 Private Inspection Facilities (PIFs) 
located throughout southeastern Wisconsin.

Southeastern Wisconsin is one of more than 40 metropolitan 
areas in the United States with ground-level ozone levels that 
exceed federal air quality standards.  Excessive air pollution 
is a public health hazard.  Geographically, as part of the south 
Lake Michigan air basin, southeastern Wisconsin is one of the 
worst areas in the country for ozone pollution.

The purpose of the Wisconsin Vehicle Inspection Program 
(WIVIP) is to:

• identify vehicles that exceed exhaust and evaporative 
emissions

• prevent registration until vehicles meet emissions stan-
dards

The Department of Natural Resources (DNR) sets the emissions 
standards for vehicles. DMV administers the Vehicle Inspec-
tion  Program.
Vehicles kept in the following seven counties of southeastern 
Wisconsin are subject to emissions testing: Sheboygan, Wash-
ington, Ozaukee, Waukesha, Milwaukee, Racine and Kenosha.

 Model years 1996-2006 with a gross vehicle weight rating 
(GVWR) < 8,501 lbs. require testing. (Gasoline only)

Model years 2007 and newer up to 14,000 GVWR require test-
ing. (Diesel and gasoline)

Motorcycles are exempt from emissions testing.

The DMV contracts with Opus Inspection to manage the net-
work of about 200 Private Inspection Facilities (PIFs). The 
DMV audits test equipment at facility regularly to assure ac-
curate testing. There is no direct charge to the motorist for the 
required test.

Vehicles are tested biennially based upon vehicle model year. 
The testing is required at the time of vehicle registration renewal. 
Renewal notices indicate if testing is required.

Additionally, vehicles more than 5 model years old are required 
to be tested at the time of change of ownership. DMV mails a 
letter outlining the testing requirements to the new owner.
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I/M Customer Service Representatives at

(866) OBD-TEST ((866) 623-8378)
or
www.wisconsinvip.org

Vehicle Emission Inspection Program (I/M)

What happens to vehicles which fail?

For more information contact:

How is the test performed? When motorists enter the test facility, the lane inspector asks for 
the registration renewal notice and enters essential information 
into a computer. 

Vehicles then receive an on-board diagnostic (OBDII) test, 
which checks the vehicle’s on board diagnostic system rather 
than measuring tailpipe emissions.

After the emission inspection, motorists receive results on a 
computer-generated report form. This report contains the results 
of the emissions test.

When vehicles pass the vehicle inspection, the owner may com-
plete the registration by mail, at the emission test facility, with 
a Third Party Agent authorized by the Department or in person 
at a DMV Service Center, or online.The computer automati-
cally matches test records from the inspection stations with the 
DMV’s registration records to verify inspection compliance.

If a vehicle fails the test, the owner must have  emission-
related repairs performed prior to being retested. Satisfactory 
completion of the test requirements is necessary before vehicle 
registration renewal.The inspector provides all motorists with 
printed information at the initial failed test to explain the repair 
and retest process.
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Abbreviations for Vehicle, License Plate and Registration Types

4HF Wisconsin 4H Foundation
AMA  Amateur Radio
AMC Antique Motorcycle
ANT Antique
APO Apportioned – Power Unit
AUT Automobile
BRV Bad River Band Tribe
BSA Scouting Alumni
BUS Bus
CCC Cure Childhood Cancer
CHW Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin
CLS Collector Special
CLW Choose Life Wisconsin
CMC Collector Motorcycle
COL Collector Vehicle
CVG Civilian Group (Civil Air Patrol, EMT   
                white design, Rescue squad member)
CYC Motorcycle
DIS Disabled Parking
DMC Disabled Motorcycle
DUK Ducks Unlimited
DVC Driver Education Motorcycle 
ELK Rocky Mountain Elk Foundation
EMT Emergency Medical Tech (Red design)
END Endangered Resources (Wolf)
ENN Endangered Resources (Badger)
FFO	 Firefighter	(Red	design)
FRF	 Firefighter	(White	design)
FRM Farm Truck
FTL Farm Trailer
GLF Golf Wisconsin
GST Gold Star Family
HAR Harley-Davidson share the road
HEG Higher Education (UW)
HEM Higher Education (UW-Madison)
HFM Farm Truck – Heavy
HMC Hobbyist Motorcycle
HMM Historic Military Vehicle (motorcycle)
HMV Historic Military Vehicle
HOB Hobbyist
HSV Human Service Vehicle
HTK Heavy Truck
IGT In God We Trust
KID Celebrate Children
LCF Lions Foundation

Vehicle/Plate/Registration Type Abbreviations

Auto
Motorcycle (includes Moped and Special Design Vehicle)
Trailer (includes Camping Trailer, Recreational Vehicle Trailer and Semi-Trailer)
Truck (includes Bus, Motor Home, Road Tractor, SUV, Tractor and Van)

Vehicle Types

ANT  Antique
AUT Automobile
BBX Bus – Mass Transit Vehicle
BSB School Bus
BUS Motor Bus
CHT Charter Bus
CYC Motorcycle
DEV Driver Education
DPF Dual Purpose Farm
DPV Dual Purpose Vehicle 
DRY Dairy
FRM Farm
FTL Farm Trailer
FTR Farm Tractor
GOV Government
HFM Heavy Farm
HMV Historic Military Vehicle
HSV Human Service Vehicle
HTK Heavy Truck
LSV Low-speed vehicle

LTK Light Truck
LTL Light Trailer
MDC Medal of Honor Motorcycle
MDH Medal of Honor
MPD Moped
MTM Motor Home
RFP Raw Forest Products
RTR Road Tractor
RVT Recreational Vehicle Trailer
SDV Special Design Vehicle
SPX Special X
SPZ Special Mobile Equipment – Z
STL Semi Trailer
SUX Special Mobile Equipment – UX 
TMP Temporary
TOR Tractor
TRL Trailer
XTL Transferable Trailer

Registration Types

LCO Lac Courte Oreilles Tribe
LDF Lac du Flambeau Tribe
LEM  Law Enforcement Memorial
LIF Donate Life
LSV Low Speed Vehicle
LTK Light Truck 
LTL Light Trailer
MBK Milwaukee Bucks
MBN Milwaukee Brewers (“M” logo)
MBO Milwaukee Brewers (Ball & Glove logo)
MCA Musky Clubs Alliance of Wisconsin
MDC Medal of Honor Motorcycle
MDH Medal of Honor
MEN Menominee Tribe
MGP Multi-Group (Lao Veteran, Freemason)
MLG Military Group
MNC Municipal Motorcycle
MPD Moped
MRQ Marquette University
MTM Motor Home
MUN Municipal
NUR Nurses Change Lives
OFF	 Municipal	Official
ONI Oneida Tribe
PAK Packers
RCF	 Red	Cliff	Tribe
RVT Recreational Vehicle Trailer
SOV State Owned Vehicle
SPT Wisconsin Salutes Veterans
SPX Special X
STL Semi-Trailer
TMP Temporary 
TOR Tractor
TPD Temporary Disabled Motorcycle 
TRL Trailer
TRT Trout Unlimited
VET Disabled Veteran Parking
VMC US Veteran Motorcycle
WHF Wisconsin Women’s Health Foundation
WNG Wisconsin National Guard
WSC Wisconsin State Patrol Motorcycle
WSP Wisconsin State Patrol
WTU Whitetails Unlimited
XPW Ex-Prisoner of War

Plate Types
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County Auto  Cycle Trailer Truck Total

Adams
Ashland
Barron
Bayfield
Brown
Buffalo
Burnett
Calumet
Chippewa
Clark
Columbia
Crawford
Dane
Dodge
Door
Douglas
Dunn
Eau Claire
Florence
Fond Du Lac
Forest
Grant
Green
Green Lake
Iowa
Iron
Jackson
Jefferson
Juneau
Kenosha
Kewaunee
La Crosse
Lafayette
Langlade
Lincoln
Manitowoc
Marathon
Marinette
Marquette

8,354
4,619

15,569
5,168

91,542
5,009
5,690

16,832
21,945
10,151
21,776
5,419

201,490
32,896
12,423
15,196
14,975
34,767
1,694

37,371
2,809

16,147
13,543
6,846
8,378
1,880
6,978

33,014
9,406

55,173
7,682

39,369
5,728
6,758
9,675

31,635
47,005
15,530
6,242

1,827
836

3,169
1,197

14,523
1,052
1,239
3,440
4,421
2,046
3,897
1,016

20,878
6,451
3,476
2,440
2,668
4,951

337
6,974

630
3,502
2,966
1,291
1,547

508
1,597
5,917
2,045
8,815
1,940
5,796
1,003
1,353
2,387
7,077
8,576
3,386
1,275

2,840
1,879
6,618
2,147

30,499
2,191
2,164
4,228
9,153
5,326
6,422
2,148

33,911
11,597
2,913
6,757
5,411
9,739

904
10,349
1,679
6,569
3,844
2,633
3,684

715
7,000
7,127
3,492
9,352
2,411
8,938
5,702
3,290
4,604
8,494

17,550
7,620
1,968

16,506
10,740
32,211
12,352

143,059
10,446
12,596
28,651
41,863
23,197
37,111
11,079

254,009
56,310
23,351
27,047
26,536
53,681
4,206

61,377
7,665

31,372
24,148
13,393
15,883
5,723

14,226
50,656
18,495
76,890
14,653
60,723
12,194
15,105
20,423
49,294
82,547
31,299
12,242

29,527
18,074
57,567
20,864

279,623
18,698
21,689
53,151
77,382
40,720
69,206
19,662

510,288
107,254
42,163
51,440
49,590

103,138
7,141

116,071
12,783
57,590
44,501
24,163
29,492
8,826

29,801
96,714
33,438

150,230
26,686

114,826
24,627
26,506
37,089
96,500

155,678
57,835
21,727
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County Auto  Cycle Trailer Truck Total

Source: RPT  26 VAL VEH_REG_TY_CNTY_FL_ANLY_CALYR TAB 3 (Report 26)

Vehicles Registered by County

For more information contact: Bureau of Vehicle Services
(608) 266-2235

Menominee
Milwaukee
Monroe
Oconto
Oneida
Outagamie
Ozaukee
Pepin
Pierce
Polk
Portage
Price
Racine
Richland
Rock
Rusk
Sauk
Sawyer
Shawano
Sheboygan
St. Croix
Taylor
Trempealeau
Vernon
Vilas
Walworth
Washburn
Washington
Waukesha
Waupaca
Waushara
Winnebago
Wood
Unknown

Total

577
288,825
14,503
14,575
12,384
69,944
33,793
2,701

15,460
16,661
25,312
4,720

67,594
5,784

59,923
4,834

23,012
4,909

14,713
39,708
33,318
6,165

11,129
9,512
7,410

42,551
5,537

48,878
151,322
19,278
9,341

61,324
26,128
8,522

2,047,031

107
52,599
6,781
4,835
3,957

17,688
4,076
1,222
5,456
5,231
8,726
2,383

10,377
1,969

12,941
2,165
6,300
2,030
4,801
9,652
9,724
5,314
7,200
2,977
2,425
9,658
2,146

11,327
25,032
6,023
4,152

15,828
19,258
14,353

562,581

71
26,143
3,284
3,733
3,048

12,451
5,515

585
2,891
3,211
3,789
1,153

10,683
1,274
9,134

870
4,222

957
2,865
9,308
6,138
1,440
2,189
1,847
1,875
8,099
1,078
9,728

22,869
4,129
2,017

10,061
5,400

850

331,356

924
293,351
28,991
28,104
29,360

106,618
45,842
5,674

25,408
31,385
40,546
11,471
93,555
11,461
86,862
10,531
41,010
13,211
27,455
59,690
56,010
14,734
21,878
19,520
20,190
63,360
13,233
72,190

211,294
34,722
18,755
88,020
48,171
11,337

3,128,122

1,679
660,918
53,559
51,247
48,749

206,701
89,226
10,182
49,215
56,488
78,373
19,727

182,209
20,488

168,860
18,400
74,544
21,107
49,834

118,358
105,190
27,653
42,396
33,856
31,900

123,668
21,994

142,123
410,517
64,152
34,265

175,233
98,957
35,062

6,069,090
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Sources: 1930-1975 State of Wisconsin Blue Books; 1980-2004  BVS statistical  files; 
2005-2018 analysis of current non-expiring vehicles (Report 26)

Vehicles Registered by Year

For more information contact:   Bureau of Vehicle Services, (608) 266-2235

Motor Vehicle Registrations In Wisconsin 

From 1930 - 2018

Year Total Registrations Year Total Registrations

1930 791,492

1935 771,499

1940 921,149

1945 860,031

1950 1,226,683

1955 1,416,425

1960 1,658,520

1965 1,933,266

1970 2,350,154

1975 2,815,109

1980 3,103,784

1981 3,284,746

1982 3,225,611

1983 3,405,671

1984 3,493,737

1985 3,418,789

1986 3,613,124

1987 3,696,348

1988 3,764,880

1989 3,839,647

1990 3,907,343

1991 3,982,901

1992 4,018,786

1993 4,129,519

1994 4,172,462

1995 4,268,619

1996 4,241,260

1997 4,503,904

1998 4,449,217

1999 4,713,643

2000 4,798,056

2001 4,946,305

2002 5,038,541

2003 5,160,673

2004 5,278,402

2005 5,371,800

2006 5,326,693

2007 5,455,985

2008 5,402,565

2009 5,539,105

2010 5,482,518

2011 5,526,798

2012 5,569,097

2013            5,585,489

2014 5,695,648

2015 5,819,875

2016 5,871,302

2017 6,019,215

2018 6,069,090


