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Accident Reporting 1

When must an accident bereported?

Who reports accidentsto the State of Wis-
consin?

What does the Department do with infor-
mation that isreported?

Who uses accident data?

For more information contact:

An accident must be reported when it resultsin:
injury or death of aperson

$1,000 or more total damage to property owned by any one
person

damages of $200 or more to government property
(except motor vehicles)

Generally, law enforcement agencies investigate and file the writ-
ten reports with the DMV. In those reportabl e accidents where an
enforcement agency does not investigate and/or file a report, the
peopleinvolved arerequired to file one. Report forms are available
from the division, law enforcement agencies and DMV Service
Centers located throughout the state or at www.dot.state.wi.us/
dmv/accident.html

DMV creates an accident entry on the driver record of each driver
shown on the accident report. DMV follows up on accident reports
to ensure that liable drivers and owners are insured or make alter-
native arrangements to cover their accident liability. Accident en-
tries remain on the driver record for 4 years from the date of the
accident.

DMV enters and stores detail ed information from the accident re-
port form into a computerized system. The accident diagram, nar-
rative and the names and addresses of uninjured occupants and
witnesses are not stored on the computer.

Primary users of accident data are:

the Department of Transportation for analysis of highway
safety

the DMV for administration of the Safety Responsibility Law
law enforcement agencies for selective enforcement

Traffic Safety Commissions and traffic engineers for safety
and elimination of hazards

driver educators, legislators, insurance companies and other
interested parties

County Highway Safety Commissions to meet their duties
under S. 83.013, Wis. Statutes

Local units of government to target specific accident loca-
tions

Bureau of Driver Services

Traffic Accident Section

(608) 266-8753
traffic-accidents.dmv@dot.state.wi.us



2 Accident Reporting

Drivers Involved in Reportable Accidents
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Safety Responsibility Administrative Hearings 3

What is a Safety Responsibility Adminis- The law requires a person who receives a notice of a safety re-
trative Hearing? sponsibility suspension the opportunity for a hearing on the pro-
posed suspension action, s. 344.02, Stats. The person, called the
petitioner, must request ahearing in writing prior to his’her suspen-

sion date.
How long has Wisconsin conducted In1971, the U.S. Supreme Court ruled in Bell v. Burson that States
SR Hearings? must allow a person an opportunity for ahearing prior to suspend-

ing, an uninsured motorist’s operating or registration privileges.

The scope of an SR Administrative Hearing islimited to whether or
not a reasonable possibility of ajudgment exists against an unin-
sured operator involved in an accident for the amount of bond
claimed, or for alesser amount, as aresult of the accident.

What is the scope of an SR Hearing?

Where arethe SR Hearings conducted? The hearings are conducted at several DMV Service Centers in
Wisconsin. The hearing site closest to the parties involved is cho-
sen whenever possible.

How are SR Hearings conducted? The hearings are formal. Drivers and witnesses are placed under
oath and testify on the record. They may be represented by attor-
neys, bring witnesses, sworn affidavits, picturesor other evidence.
Administrative hearing procedures are governed by ch. 227, Stats.
The hearing examiner is not bound by statutory rules of evidence.
On average, between 800 and 1,000 hearings are conducted each
year.

For more information contact: Bureau of Driver Services
Traffic Accident Section

(608) 266-8753
traffic-accidents.dmv@dot.state.wi.us



4 Safety Responsibility Law

What isthe Safety Responsibility Law?

To whom does the law apply?

How arethe Safety Responsibility
sanctionsinitiated?

What actions ar e taken against uninsur ed
motorists?

How long is the suspension?

For moreinformation contact:

The Safety Responsibility Law was enacted in 1945 to protect per-
sons who suffer damagesin accidents caused by uninsured maotor-
ists. The program providesanincentivefor motoriststo carry liability
insurance or otherwise satisfy accident damages. The law imposes
driver licensing and motor vehicle registration sanctions against
uninsured motorists who do not pay for the damages they cause.

Thelaw appliesto al operators and owners of motor vehicleswho
are involved in reportable accidentsin the State of Wisconsin.

The Safety Responsibility processisinitiated by the receipt of an
accident report in the Traffic Accident Section. If al motoristsin
the accident areinsured, no actionistaken. When the Traffic Acci-
dent Section determinesthat amotorist isuninsured, othersinvolved
in the accident are notified. They can invoke the sanctions of the
law for damages or injuries.

If damages or injuries are substantiated, the Traffic Accident Sec-
tion sends notices of suspension to the operator and registered own-
ersof uninsured vehicles who appear to be at fault in the accident.
The notice warns the uninsured motorist that the operator’sdriving
privilegeand al registrations of the owner will be suspended unless
they do one of thefollowing:

- file proof that liability insurance was in effect at the time of
the accident

deposit security in the amount necessary to cover possible
judgments arising out of the accident

submit evidence that the parties involved have settled the
damage claims directly

request ahearing if they feel ajudgment intheamount claimed
could not be rendered

A Safety Responsibility suspension remainsin effect until the unin-
sured motorist complies with one of the Safety Responsibility re-
quirements. The motorist may reinstate suspended privilegesif the
DMV isnot notified of a pending lawsuit within one year of sus-
pension. Reinstatement requiresthefiling of proof of insurancefor
three years and payment of a $50 fee for reinstatement of operat-
ing privilegesand $50 for reinstatement of registration privileges.

Bureau of Driver Services

Traffic Accident Section

(608) 266-8753
traffic-accidents.dmv@dot.state.wi.us



Safety Responsibility Law 5

2000 Safety Responsibility Program Results*

THE WISCONSIN SAFETY RESPONSIBILITY LAW requires all motoristsinvolved in reportabl e accidents to sub-
mit evidence to the DMV of their financial ability to pay for damages they caused in the accident. An accident is
reportable if there isinjury or death, if there is $200 or more damage to government property (except a government
owned vehicle), or if there is $1,000 or more damage to any one person’s property (including government owned
vehicles). In 2000, therewere 10,418 claims made agai nst 13,182 uninsured drivers and/or owners exceeding $39 million
in damages.

2000 — Safety Responsibility (SR) Claimsby Typeof Claim and Amounts

Claim Total Total
Type Claims Amount
Fatalities 77 $1,876,015
Personal Injuries 1,643 $7,106,708
Property Damage 685 $1,876,314
Vehicle Damage 8,013 $28,803,969
Total 10,418 $39,663,006

A claimisverification of damages or injuriesfiled against an uninsured negligent driver and/or vehicle owner resulting
from an accident. The claim amount includes estimated court costs.

2000 — Motorists Subject To SR Law

13,821 Notices of Suspension were sent to the drivers and owners of 10,088 vehicles in 2000.
In many crashes, the drivers and owners were different persons.

4,623 (35%) Responded to the Notice of Suspension by settling the claims prior to revocation.
331 Posted the required security deposit.

8,559 Driversand ownersfailed to comply with the requirements given on the Notice of Suspension and their
operating and registration privileges were suspended.

2,889 suspended motorists complied with the Safety Responsibility requirements after the Suspension Orders
were entered.

4422 M otorists accepted the one year suspensionof privileges.

1,246 Drivers and owners were still withdrawn as of April 12,2002.

Out of 229,505 vehiclesinvolved in reportable crashesin 2000, only 2% were uninsured, failed to pay for the damages,
and accepted a one-year suspension of privileges.

*2000 isthelatest year that SR program results are available.



6 Accident Statistics

Total Accidents by Accident Severity
with
Licensed Driversand Registered Vehicles
16-Year Summary

Property-
Fatal Injury Damage Reportable Persons Persons  Licensed Registered
Year Accidents Accidents Accidents Accidents Killed Injured Drivers Vehicles
1985 672 41,647 87,296 129,615 750 60,363 3,265,322 3,418,789
1986 661 41,547 84,754 126,962 757 60,557 3,288,517 3,613,124
1987 729 42,031 87,834 130,594 817 61,500 3,313,791 3,690,578
1988 710 40,769 92,791 134,270 813 58,925 3,329,557 3,764,880
1989 714 42,673 99,395 142,782 817 62,108 3,357,339 3,839,647
1990 672 42,395 99,889 142,956 763 62,529 3,3%4,203 3,907,343
1991 675 40,916 97,142 138,733 795 60,055 3,473,236 3,982,901
1992 579 40,792 96,451 137,822 645 60,142 3481421 4,018,786
1993 616 41,215 100453 142,285 703 60,901 3,502,347 4,129,519
1994 616 43,783 103947 148,346 706 66,417 3,554,003 4,172,462
1995 656 43,846 104,362 148,864 739 66,233 3,601,619 4,268,619
1996 656 43,773 92,269 136,698 759 66,048 3,723,685 4,241,260
1997 631 41,962 87,361 129,954 721 63,166 3,672,469 4,503,904
1998 628 41,5% 83,609 125,831 709 62,236 3,709,957 4,449,217
1999 675 41,345 838,930 130,950 745 61,577 3,733,077 4,713,643
2000 718 43,145 95,647 139,510 801 63,890 3,667,497 4,798,056

* |atest data available

Accident Reporting Threshold Changes:

December 20, 1979 Property damage threshold increased from $200 to $400 combined damage.
$200 threshold for government owned property.

July 31, 1981 Property damage threshold $500 to “any one person’s property.”
$200 threshold for government-owned property.

April 19, 1988 Property damage threshold $500 to “any one person’s property.”
Government-owned property changed to $500 for government-owned vehicles,
and $200 for al other government-owned property.

January 1, 1996 Property damage threshold changed to $1,000 to “any one person’s property.”
Government-owned property changed to $1,000 for government-owned vehicles,
but remained at $200 for all other government-owned property.

Note: The “reporting threshold” is the minimum set of criteria that must be met before an accident is considered to
be reportable. The above represent changes to the reporting threshold over recent years.



Buyer Identification (BID) Card 7

What isa BID card?

What aretherequirements?

What doesa BID card cost?

A Buyer Identification (BID) card isapiece of identification which
permits the holder to attend salvage auction pools. DMV licenses
persons who wish to purchase damaged motor vehicles from mo-
tor vehicle salvage pools. The BID card holder must be an em-
ployee of alicensed dealer and may hold BID cards for more than
onededler at atime.

Buyer Identification card holders must be:

amotor vehicledealer, wholesaler, or salvage dedler licensed
in Wisconsin or another jurisdiction;

or an employe of a motor vehicle dealer, wholesaler or sal-
vage dealer

of good character

The annual feeis $6. The fee for areplacement card or renewal is
also $6. Fees of Wisconsin dedlers and their employees are col-
lected for two years and licenses are issued for two years. Out-of -
state BID card holders are issued a card good for the current
calendar year.

For moreinformation contact: Bureau of Vehicle Services

Customer Service Unit
(608) 266-1425
ded ers.dmv@dot.state.wi.us

Buyer Identification (BID) Cards Issued
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8  Consumer Complaint Investigation

What complaints are investigated?

How are complaints filed?

Isthere a fee for filing?

How are complaints handled?

What are the results of investigations?

For more information contact:

The DMV investigates citizen complaints against motor vehicle
manufacturers, distributors, dealers, and salvage dealersfor viola-
tionsrelated to:

» advertising

* sales practices

» product quality or representation

e warranty service

Citizens generally contact the Consumer Assistance Hot Line at
(608) 266-1425. DMV consumer specialistsadvise citizensof per-
tinent regulations. When appropriate, they will mail a complaint
formfor completion, return and investigation.

Thereisno feefor DMV complaint mediation activities.

DMV categorizes the nature of the complaints and enters them
into a shared computer file with the state Department of Agricul-
ture, Trade and Consumer Protection. Field investigators or con-
sumer specialistsinvestigate and mediate complaints depending on
whether an on-site inspection is necessary.

Complaint resolution is usually achieved through informal media-
tion. Wisconsin consumersreceive over $1,500,000 back annually
in the form of cash adjustments, free or discounted repairs, buy-
backs, and refunds. Investigations may also result in the following
disciplinary actions:.

» advisory letter

» formal warning letter

e court action

* civil forfeiture

» administrative specia order

 deder license denial, suspension or revocation

Bureau of Vehicle Services
Customer Service Unit

(608) 266-1425
dealers.dmv@dot.state.wi.us

Number of Consumer Com plaints
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Dealer Inspection 9

Why are dealers inspected?

Wisconsin statutes and DOT Administrative Code specify accept-
able trade practices and business facility and record keeping re-
guirements for motor vehicle, wholesale and salvage dedlers. In-
spections are necessary to ensure dealers comply with standards.

What does the inspection consist of? Facilities and records are periodically inspected to ensure compli-

ance with state regulations pertaining to maintenance of facilities,
record keeping, inspection/disclosure-of-condition of vehicles of-
fered for sale, and proper usage of required forms.

How often are dealers inspected? Aninitial ingpectionismadewhen afirst-time application for awhole-

What do inspections accomplish?

How much do they cost?

sale or salvage dealer license is received and each time the dealer
changes business lacation or there is a change of ownership.

First-time retail motor vehicle dealers complete application forms
ontheir individual backgrounds and their businessfacilities. When
their applicationsare approved, they receive aninformational video
and guide book on record-keeping and disclosurerules, how to com-
plete a purchase contract and how to compl ete title/registration ap-
plications. A field investigator will inspect the dealership after the
dealership has had some time to study the tape and guidebook.

Licensesare granted, granted conditionally, or denied, based onin-
spection findings. Periodic inspectionsresultin an “all OK” rating
or required corrective action by the dealer within 15 days.

Thereis no fee for inspection.

For more infor mation contact: Bureau of Vehicle Services

Dealer Section
(608) 266-1425
Email: dealers.dmv@dot.state.wi.us

Dealer Inspections Completed
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10 Dealer License

Who needs adealer license?

Why are dealerslicensed?

If | sell my own car do | need alicense?

What aretherequirements and qualifica-
tions?

What isthe cost of a license?

For more information contact:

Wisconsin law states, “Motor vehicle dealer licenses are required
of any person, firm or corporation who: for commission, money or
other thing of value, sells, leases, exchanges, buys, offers or at-
temptsto negotiate a sale, consumer lease or exchange of aninter-
est in motor vehicles; or who is engaged wholly or in part in the
business of salling or leasing motor vehicles, including motorcycles,
whether or not such motor vehicles are owned by such person,
firm or corporation.”

Dealers are licensed to ensure fair business competition and pro-
vide consumer protection.

Persons may sell up to five of their own vehicles per year, whether
used for persona or business transportation, without obtaining a
dealer’s license.

An applicant must be of good character, befinancialy solvent, and
have apermanent busi ness|ocation meeting specified requirements.
Proof of financia solvency is accomplished by filing a $25,000
surety bond, or $25,000 irrevocable letter of credit with thelicense
application. Dealers of new motor vehicles must be franchised by
the manufacturer (or authorized distributor) who must also be li-
censed.

The various dealer licenses and their two-year fees are:

Type Fee
Motor Vehicle Dealer $0
Recreational Vehicle Dedler $100
Moped Dedler $40
Used Car Wholesaler $0
Manufacturer & Distributor $0

Dedler plate fees are $150 for the first two plates plus $10
each additional plate except as noted below:

Wholesaler Auction Dealer $100 (plates not issued)
Salvage Dealer $150 (plates not issued)

Fees are collected for two years and licenses and plates are issued
for two years.

Bureau of Vehicle Services
Customer Service Unit

(608) 266-1425
dealers.dmv@dot.state.wi.us



Dealer License 11

Number of Dealer Licenses Issued
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12 Motor Vehicle Salesperson License

What salespeople arelicensed?

What arethelicensing requirements?

What does a license cost?

For moreinformation contact:

Persons selling or approving the retail sales, or leasing or approv-
ing consumer leases of motor vehicles and recreational vehicles
arerequired to belicensed by DMV . The salesperson must be em-
ployed by a dealer and may be licensed for only one dedler at a
time, except in the case of multiple deal erships owned by the same
dealer principal. DMV also licenses motor vehicle manufacturer
and distributor representatives.

Motor vehicle salespersons must be of good character and must
pass a written exam at time of first application. A bond may be
required if the applicant’s character is questionable or past sales
practices are unacceptable.

First-time applicants for a motor vehicle salesperson license must
pay a $5 examination fee in addition to the license fee. Salesper-
sonswho do not renew their licensefor five years must be retested.
Theannual licensefeeis$4. A salesperson’slicense expireson the
same date as the employer’s dedler license.

Bureau of Vehicle Services
Customer Service Unit
(608) 266-1425
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Citations and Convictions 13

What are citations?

What ar e convictions?

What happens to citations and convic-
tions?

How long does a conviction remain on
the record?

Do convictions from other states affect a
person’s Wisconsin record?

What happensto out-of-state drivers?

For more information contact:

Enforcement officers issue traffic citations (tickets) to drivers for
violations of traffic laws. Most citations are written on the Wis-
consin Uniform Traffic Citation (UTC) form. Each citation must be
resolved by a court action.

A traffic conviction results from a guilty plea or court finding of
guilty when a person is cited for atraffic violation. When a court
finds adriver guilty of acharge, the person usually pays afine or
forfeiture and is assessed demerit points on point assessable of -
fenses.

The courtsforward al citationsto the DMV. The DMV isrequired
to record convictions to establish a person’s driving history. The
DMV maintainsthishistory of Wisconsin driversto determinewhen
license withdrawal is necessary. Some single convictions require
that DMV withdraw alicense. Other timesadriver’saccumulation
of demerit pointstriggers an action.

In general, convictions remain on the driver record for five years
from date of conviction. There are some situations, however, where
entriesremain on the record beyond five years. Theseinclude non-
compliancewith adriver safety plan, unsatisfied damage judgments,
all commercia motor vehicledisgualifying convictionsand a cohol
related convictions.

Y es, when Wisconsin drivers are convicted in other states DMV
enters the convictions on the Wisconsin driver record but without
points being assessed. With a serious offense, such as operating
whileintoxicated, driversmay losetheir operating privilege.

When a nonresident is convicted in Wisconsin, DMV notifies the
driver’ shome state of the offense so that state can take appropriate
action. A Wisconsin driver record is created for major offenses
and license withdrawals are entered the same as for a Wisconsin
driver.

Bureau of Driver Services
Revocation and Suspension Section
(608) 266-2261
cnr.dmv@dot.state.wi.us



14 Citations and Convictions

Citations/Convictions
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‘Entered’ means convictions were posted to the Driver Record.

‘Processed’ includes convictions posted to the Driver Record and those that do not post to the Driver Record. For
example, tickets that are written to out-of-state drivers, to companies, that are dismissed, or not guilty, etc., still need
to be sorted, filmed, and processed because of UTC accountability issues.



Citations and Convictions 15

Traffic ConvictionsEntered on Driver Record File
January-December 2001

Rank Charge Quantity YTD & of Total
1 Sl Speeding intermediate 175,389 20.62%
2 S Speeding 91,514 10.76%
3 FFS Failure to fasten seat belt 89,686 10.54%
4 Oows Operating while suspended* ** 54,138 6.36%
5 FOS Failureto obey traffic sign or signal 46,012 5.41%
6 uv Unregistered vehicle 40,870 4.80%
7 SE Speeding excess 34,645 4.07%
8 UAL Underage al cohol (207) 34,582 4.06%
9 owi Operat. under influence intoxi cant/controlled substance 33,164 3.90%
10 OWL Operating w/o driver license 31,084 3.65%
1 OAR Operating after revocation*** 28,099 3.30%
12 ORS Operating whileregistration suspended (209) 19,620 2.31%
13 FYR Failuretoyield right of way 16,302 1.92%
14 DS Defective speedometer 15,412 1.81%
15 IP Improper plates 12,363 1.45%
16 ID Inattentivedriving 10,264 1.21%
17 IL No or improper lights 8,187 0.96%
18 oT Obstructing traffic 8,159 0.96%
19 JA Juvenilealcohol* 6,953 0.82%
20 FTC Followingtoo closely 6,596 0.78%
21 IT [llegal turn 6,159 0.72%
2 IVO Intoxicant in vehicle-operator 5,673 0.67%
23 IS Imprudent speed 5122 0.60%
24 TFC Too fast for conditions 4,858 0.57%
25 CSR Child safety restraint 4,327 0.51%
26 DLT Deviating from lane of traffic 4,264 0.50%
27 Pl Passingillegdly 3872 0.46%
28 FRA Failureto report accident 3,710 0.44%
29 VOR Violation of restriction 3,355 0.39%
30 RD RecklessDriving 2,938 0.35%
31 PAC Prohibited alcohol concentration (212) 2,844 0.33%
32 DWS Driving onwrong side of highway 2,429 0.29%
3 M Improper muffler 2,278 0.27%
A D Drug convictions 2,235 0.26%
35 FvC Failure to keep vehicle under control 2,061 0.24%
36 BI Backingillegaly 1984 0.23%
37 UAO Underage a cohol operation* 1,938 0.23%
3 IVP I ntoxicant in vehicle-passenger 1,870 0.22%
39 T Truancy 1,772 0.21%
40 v Intoxicant in vehicle carrying underage person 1,663 0.20%
41 FSU Failure to stop after accident - unattended vehicle 1,651 0.19%
12 MSC Miscellaneous 1522 0.18%
43 IE Improper equipment 1512 0.18%
4 Csl Comm. speeding intermediate (15-19 over) 1431 0.17%
45 DSP Duty upon striking property 1,381 0.16%
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Citations and Convictions

Traffic ConvictionsEntered on Driver Record File

January-December 2001

Rank Charge Quantity % of Total
46 PUP Permitting unauthorized person to operate 1,364 0.16%
47 FSB Failureto stop for school bus 1,249 0.15%
48 FSA Failure to stop after accident 934 0.12%
49 CD Carelessdriving 908 0.11%
5 LNP License not on person 813 0.10%
51 OV Obstructed view or control 770 0.09%
5 IC Implied consent 695 0.08%
5 FGS Failureto givesignal 654 0.08%
5 UID Underage 1D (208) 588 0.07%
5 AEO Attempt to elude officer 581 0.07%
5% IB Improper brakes 439 0.05%
57 Oll Operating whileintoxicated causing injury 437 0.05%
58 DOW Driving over walk 425 0.05%
5 CFC Comm. followingtoo closely 385 0.05%
60 POH Parking on highway 377 0.04%
61 JCS Juvenile controlled substance 368 0.04%
62 UA Unnecessary acceleration 318 0.04%
63 FTT Failureto transfer title 298 0.04%
64 R Racing 265 0.03%
66 CDL Comm. deviating from lane of traffic 264 0.03%
66 FDL Failuretodimlights 259 0.03%
67 TPV Transporting person or vehicleillegally 204 0.02%
68 CSE Comm. speeding excess (20 or more over) 1% 0.02%
69 OwD Operating while disqualified 180 0.02%
70 GPV GDL Passenger Violation (203) 179 0.02%
71  MDO Miscellaneous driving offenses (204) 141 0.02%
72 UN Unnecessary noise 133 0.02%
73 FA Falsfied application 129 0.02%
74 CUL Comm. unlawful license 126 0.01%
7 CTF Comm. too fast for conditions 106 0.01%
76  DAT Driving against traffic 95 0.01%
77 1UL Illegal use of operator’slicense A 0.01%
78 FD Found delinquent R0 0.01%
79 CPI Comm. passingillegaly 0.01%
80 GCV GDL Curfew Violation (202) 838 0.01%
81 OML Operating with multiplelicenses 34 0.01%
82 FAR Falsified accident report 71 0.01%
8 CIS Comm. imprudent speed 53 0.01%
8 Cwi Comm. operating whileintoxicated 49 0.01%
8 LOL Loaning of license 43 0.01%
86 VOO Violation of occupational license 35 0.00%
87 COO Comm. 0.0 - not adrop 28 0.00%
8 CDS Comm. duty upon striking property 24 0.00%
8 CFR Comm. failure to report accident 23 0.00%
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Traffic ConvictionsEntered on Driver Record File

January-December 2001

Rank Charge Quantity % of Total
0 GBH Great bodily harm 23 0.00%
91 JD Juvenile|D 2 0.00%
92 CRD Comm. recklessdriving 18 0.00%
93 CFH Crossing fire hose 16 0.00%
A VUF Vehicle used in commission of felony 13 0.00%
9% CCD Comm. carelessdriving u 0.00%
% LH Littering highway u 0.00%
97 NHI Negligent homicideintoxicated 10 0.00%
98 CPB Comm. possession of intoxicant beverage 8 0.00%
Y CFU Comm. failure to stop after accident-unattended vehicle 7 0.00%
100 CA Commercial acohol 7 0.00%
101 FPS Failureto pay support (205) 4 0.00%
102 HWI Haz comm. operating whileintoxicated 4 0.00%
103 IR Illegal riding (passenger-0 points) 4 0.00%
104 HFR Haz comm. failure to report accident 3 0.00%
105 ICU Implied consent underage 3 0.00%
106 ADL Altering driver license 2 0.00%
107 HCA Haz comm. alcohol 2 0.00%
108 HDS Haz comm. duty upon striking property 2 0.00%
109 HFS Haz comm. failure to stop after accident 2 0.00%
110 IDT Ignition/immobilization device tampering 2 0.00%
111 NH Negligent homicide 2 0.00%
12 AV Arterid violation 1 0.00%
113 BO Boulevard ordinance 1 0.00%
114 CFS Comm. failure to stop after accident-attended vehicle 1 0.00%
115 CiIC Comm. implied consent 1 0.00%
116 CVF Comm. Vehicleused in Commission of Felony 1 0.00%
117 HIC Haz comm. implied consent 1 0.00%
118 OSB Operating w/o school bus license/endorsement 1 0.00%
119 UBH Unnecessary blowing of horn 1 0.00%

TOTAL

* Under thelegal drinking age (under 21); violation under Chapter 48 & 125
** Under 21 years of age;not-a-drop, Statue 345.63(2m)

***Beginning with July 1998 report, OAR & OWSwill bereported as separate totals.

Source: WISDOT/DMV-Bureau of Driver Services-Report No. P7011923-2

850,776
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What are driver record abstracts?

Who requests these abstracts?

Why does DOT providethisinformation?

What is MV2896?

Is any information confidential?

Can driversrequest suppression of per-
sonal identifiable data on files used for
marketing and research?

Driver record abstracts are computer-generated copies of DMV’s
driver records. Most driver record entries are retained for the pre-
ceding fiveyears, however, certain convictionscanresultin adriver
record being retained indefinitely. Driver abstracts contain thefol-
lowing standard information:

name and address

driver license or identification card number
sex and date of birth

former names

dates and types of traffic convictions, accidents, restrictions,
and withdrawals

Federal and state government agencies, county courts and enforce-
ment agencies request information for various reasons. These ab-
stracts are provided at no cost to the users.

Insurance companies, employers, school bus contractors, busi-
nesses, and the general public also request information for various
reasons. These users pay afee for the abstracts.

Wisconsin's Motor Vehicle Law and Open Records Law provide
that anyone who requests and pays the appropriate fee and is ac-
companied by a completed Vehicle/Driver Record Information
Request form(MV 2896) can obtain any person’s driver record in-
formation.

The Federa Drivers Privacy Protection Act became effective on
April 13, 2000, causing any request for driver record informationto
be accompanied by a MV2896 (DPPA) form. The form requires
information regarding the requester, name of person about whom
record(s) are being requested and authorization for the informa-
tion.

Medical informationisconfidential and isonly released if thedriver
has signed a release authorization form.

Certain information on juveniles (such as suspensions for juvenile
alcohol and truancy) is also confidential and will only be released
to courts, law enforcement and, in some cases, parents or guard-
ians.

Socia Security numbersare used for driver licensing purposesand
are not available to the public.

Identification (ID) card information is also confidential and can
only be released to the following: the courts; district attorneys;
county corporation counsels; city, village or town attorneys; law
enforcement agencies, the ID card holder; or to the parent/legal
guardian of an ID card holder who is under 18 years of age.

Yes, customers can “opt out” by completing MV 3592. If 10 or
more records are requested, their personal identifiable datawill be
suppressed. There are currently322,300 driver records containing
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How are requests made?

For more information contact:

the“opt out” notation. Forms can be obtained at all DMV Service
Centers.

Requests can be madeinwriting or in person, at Hill Farms Room
334 in Madison. Somelarge volume requesters maintain tel ephone
accounts for immediate response by our computerized automated
voice system (DOTI), or telephone personnel. Other volume users
provide computer tapes of requests, for next-day return of ab-
stract information.

Written copies of abstracts are $3 each. Telephone account hold-
ers pay $4 per request when they receive information over the
phone from an operator in addition to a printed abstract. Tele-
phone account holders may receive information via DOTI, at $3
per inquiry.

Bureau of Driver Services

Records and Licensing Information Section
Customer Service Unit

(608) 266-2353

rlis.dmv@dot.state.wi.us

Free = 2.1%

Abstract Requests 2001

Brokers = 41.2%

Telephone =1.3%

DOTIFax Back

=8.0%

Counter/Mail =
2.1%

Employers = 1.8%

Voice Mail = 0.3%
DOTI=5.0%

Volume = 38.3%

Source: Bureau of Driver Services, Records and Licensing Information Section
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What isthe Employer Natification
Program?

Who can belong to the Employer
Notification Program?

What doesit cost?

For moreinformation contact:

The Employer Notification Program provides employerswith cur-
rent information regarding the driving record of their employees
who operate commercial motor vehicles.

A copy of the employee’s driver record abstract is mailed to the
employer whenever an accident conviction, suspension, revoca-
tion, cancellation, disqualification, or out of service order is re-
corded. In 2001, 21,426 driver record abstracts were mailed under
thisprogram.

Any employer who owns or leases commercial motor vehicles or
assigns a person to drive a commercial motor vehicle can belong
to this program. Employers of non-commercial driversare not eli-
gible.

In 2001, 1,029 employerswereinvolved in the program, covering a
total of 64,8143 commercia motor vehicledrivers.

The annual fee is $20 plus $2 for each employee enrolled in the
program. In addition, the employer is billed $5 for each abstract
that is generated. An employer can withdraw employees from the
program at any time without incurring afee.

Bureau of Driver Services

Records and Licensing Information Section
Customer Service Unit

(608) 266-2353

rlis.dmv@dot.state.wi.us
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Who needsa CDL?

What does the law require?

A commercial driver license (CDL) isrequired for anyone operat-
ing avehiclethat:

1

Weighs over 26,000 pounds. To determine the weight of the
vehicle, use the highest of the following weights:

manufacturer’ s gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR)
manufacturer’ s gross combination weight rating (GCWR)
actual weight

registered weight

Carries hazardous material sthat require placarding under fed-
eral law. (Placarding requirementsarefound in Title 49, Code
of Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations, part 397.)

Isdesigned or used to carry 16 or more personsincluding the
driver.

Creation of aclassified licensing system consisting of:

Class A — Any combination of vehicles with a GVWR, ac-
tual weight, or registered weight over 26,000 pounds pro-
vided the GVWR, actual weight, or registered weight of the
towed vehicle(s) is more than 10,000 pounds.

Some examples: tractor-trailer combinations with single or
doubletrailers, * 18 wheelers.’

Class B — Any single vehicle with a GVWR, actual weight,
or registered weight over 26,000 pounds or such vehicletow-
ing a vehicle with a GVWR, actual weight, or registered
weight of 10,000 pounds or less.

Some examples: dump trucks, most buses.

Class C — Any single vehicle with a GVWR, actual weight,
or registered weight of 26,000 pounds or less (or such ve-
hicle towing a vehicle less than 10,000 pounds) transporting
hazardous materials in amounts requiring placarding, or de-
signed or used to carry 16 or more persons including the
driver.

Some examples: pick-up trucks, small buses, and other small
vehicles carrying passengers or placarded for hazardous ma-
terials.

Class D — Automobiles and light trucks.
Class M — Motorcycles.
Issuing of only one license to each driver.

Testing of commercial drivers. Commercia operators must
pass a knowledge exam and skills test in the type of vehicle
they drive. School bus drivers are required to pass a knowl-
edge test and abbreviated driving skills test at each renewal.
Commercia drivers with an H endorsement are required to
pass a hazardous materials knowledge test at each renewal.
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What is an endorsement?

For more information contact:

4. Enforcement of the law is through the Commercial Driver
License Information System (CDLIS), a computer network
of all states. Wisconsin has 275,472 commercial drivers en-
tered on CDLIS asof December 1, 2001. Thisincludes com-
mercial instruction permitsand licenses.

5. Enforcement of CDL disqualifications for alcohol and seri-
ous traffic violations such asaBAC of .04 in acommercial
motor vehicle and speeding in excessin acommercial motor
vehicle (15 mph or more).

An endorsement allowsyou to drive avehiclewith special operat-
ing characteristics or with passengers. To receive any of the fol-
lowing endorsements you must pass special tests:

T —Double/Triple Trailers

N —Tank Vehicles

H —Hazardous Materials

S— School Bus

P — Passenger

F — Farm Service (Restricted)

Bureau of Driver Services

Records and Licensing Information Section
Customer Service Unit

(608) 266-2353

rlis.dmv@dot.state.wi.us
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What is a driver license?

What isa probationary license?

What is a regular driver license?

What are the requirements for a driver
license?

Who does not need a Wisconsin driver
license?

What documentation must be provided?

A driver licenseis evidence of authority to operate amotor vehicle.
The two types of driver licenses are probationary or regular.

A probationary license is always a class D and/or class M license
issued for 2 years from the licensee's next birthday. DMV issues
probationary licenses to:

new drivers
persons with foreign or international licenses
persons reinstating revoked or canceled probationary licenses

new residents surrendering a license expired for more than 6
months, or with less than 3 years of driving experience or un-
der the age of 21

Driversconvicted of 2 or more driving offenseswith apoint penalty
are assessed double demerit points if they have a probationary li-
cense.

DMV issues a regular license after completion of the probationary
period. The license is valid for 8 years and can be any combination
of the 5 classes (A, B, C, D, M) and 6 endorsements (F, H, N, B, S,
T).

Driversmust be 18 yearsold or 16 years old and have completed an
approved driver education course. Persons 15 years and 6 months
old, enrolled in adriver education course, may apply for an instruc-
tion permit. Drivers must pass written, sign, vision, and road tests.
New drivers under 18 must have an instruction permit for at least 6
months before taking the road test, be conviction-free for at least 6
months prior to application of their probationary license and have at
least 30 hours of driving practice (10 hours at night) before a proba-
tionary license can be issued.

Non-resident visitors to the state and members of the armed forces
and their familiesliving in Wisconsin but with permanent residence
elsewhere, are not required to obtain a Wisconsin driver license.
However, they must have a valid driver license from their home
jurisdiction and be at least 16 years of age to operate a motor ve-
hicle in Wisconsin. If residency is established, they must obtain a
Wisconsin license within 30 days. Non-registered farm machinery
may also be moved short distances via highways without a driver
license.

An applicant must provide:

proof of name and date of birth (e.g., a certified birth certifi-
cate or passport)

one form of personal identification with signature or photo (if
moving to Wisconsin from another state, thelicenseor ID card
from that state must be surrendered)

Socia Security number

proof of completion of an approved driver education courseif
under age 18
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(con’t) - thesignature of an approved adult sponsor (e.g., parent/legal
guardian) evidencing sponsorship or acceptance of financial
responsibility for the minor as an operator, if applicant is

What does a license cost? under 18

License fees are:

Non-Commercial Driver License

[ nstruction permit $25
Motorcycleinstruction permit $22
Driving skillsexam
Auto (Class D) $15
Motorcycle (Class M) $15
Origina Praobationary or Regular License
Auto (Class D) $18
Motorcycle (Class M) $12
Renewal License—8 year
Auto (Class D) $24
Motorcycle (Class M) 8
4-year extension (Class D) $12
(Class D/M) $16
Commercial Driver License
[ nstruction permit $20
Driving skillsexam (except school bus)
(ClassA, B, C) $20
School bus skillsexam (Class B, C, D) $15

Origina or Renewal License
(Classes A, B and/or C with or
without endorsements

Add Class(es) to existing license

Add Endorsements (each) to existing license

Lift (No CMV operation in interstate commerce)
restriction

Lift (No CMV operation with air brakes) restriction

® eand

For more information contact: Bureau of Driver Services
Records and Licensing Information Section
Customer Service Unit
(608) 266-2353
rlis.dmv@dot.state.wi.us
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Why did Wisconsin pass a GDL law?

How does GDL address the problem?

What are some of the key provisions of

GDL? Effective Date February 1, 2000:

Effective Date September 1, 2000:

Is GDL working?

Contact:

Wisconsin passed a Graduated Driver License (GDL) law to
address the problem of teen drivers’ and passengers’ involvement
in more than their share of crashes.

GDL requires more practice time for teens before they become
licensed.

It keeps teens in lower risk driving situations when they are first
licensed.

Probationary drivers are taken off the road more quickly for
multiple driving offenses.

For drivers under age 18:

e 30 hours driving experience prior to issuance of a probation-
ary license.

e Distinctive license showing driver is under age 18.

For all drivers regardless of age:

e Class D instruction permit valid for 12 months, previously
valid for 6.

e Increase Class D instruction permit fee from $20 to $25.

Simplifies definition of who can accompany permit holders.

For drivers under age 18:

e  Must hold instruction permit 6 months before getting proba-
tionary license.

e  Must be 6 months violation free before getting probationary
license.

e (Can drive alone but passengers are limited: only 1 passenger,
immediate family members and qualified instructor for first
nine months.

e Nodriving midnight to 5 a.m. except between home, work
and school for first nine months.

e Restrictions extended 6 months for driving convictions or
revocation/suspension of driving privilege.

For all probationary drivers regardless of age or issuance date:

e Demerit points doubled for 2™ and subsequent driving
convictions.

6-month suspension for accumulation of 12 points in 12 months.

Preliminary data for 16 year old drivers in the first full year of
GDL shows a reduction in crashes for new teen drivers. Specifi-
cally:

e Property damage crashes down 6 percent!

e Injury crashes down 16 percent!

e Fatal crashes down 33 percent!

Total number of GDL drivers in 2001 was 57,030.
Bureau of Driver Services

John Alley
(608)266-0614

'Source: GDL Evaluation Data examining first year of GDL.
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Whoisrequired to have an I nstruction
Permit?

What isrequired for a permit?

Where are permits issued?
What is the cost?

How long isthe permit valid?
Can it berenewed?

What restrictions apply to persons
operating with a permit?

For more information contact:

Anyone learning to drive an automobile, motorcycle or Commer-
cial Motor Vehicle (CMV) must first obtain an Instruction Permit.

Anapplicant must passthe appropriate knowledge exam and ahigh-
way sign test. To apply for an automobile instruction permit, a
person must:

be at least 15 years and 6 months old
be enrolled in acertified driver education program

provide proof of name and date of birth, such as a certified
birth certificate, a passport or naturalization papers and ac-
ceptable proof of identity (usually adocument with nameand
signature or photo) when applying for thefirst permit

havethe signature of aparent, step-parent, or other adult spon-
sor, or filefinancial responsibility under certain conditionsif
under 18

To apply for an instruction permit to learn to operate a CMV, a
person must be 18 years of age or older and hold avalid Class“D”
(automobile/small truck) driver license.

DMV issuespermitsat Service Centerslocated throughout the state.

Thefeefor aninstruction permit is$25, except motor cycle permits
are $22 and CDL permits are $20.

TheclassD permitisgood for 1 year. CDL and motorcycle permits
are good for 6 months. Each renewal costs $25, $20, and $22 re-
spectively. A minor must show proof of enrollment or completion of
a certified driver education course to renew the permit.

Persons operating with a Class D permit must be accompanied by
apersonwho has at least 2 years licensed driving experience, who
presently holdsavalid regular (non-probationary) license and who
is one of the following: a qualified instructor age 19 or older or
parent, guardian or spouse, age 19 or older, or a person age 21 or
older.

Persons operating a CMV with an instruction permit must be ac-
companied by alicensed driver age 21 or older, with the appropri-
ate class of license and endorsements.

Bureau of Field Services
Technical & Training Services Section
(608) 266-9831

or any local DMV Service Center



Motorcycle License—Class M 27

What is the definition of a motorcycle?

Who needs a Class M —Motorcycle
license?

What are the requirements for a Class M
License?

What rider courses are offered?

How does the Motorcycle Skills Test
Waiver Program work?

A motorcycleisamotor vehicle designed and built to have no more
than 3whedls. It must haveits own power source capabl e of speeds
in excess of 30 mphwith a 150 pound rider, under ideal road condi-
tions.

Anyone who drives amotorcycle must have aClass M motorcycle
license or motorcycle instruction permit. (Moped drivers do not
have the same licensing requirements. They must have a Class D
regular, probationary, or special license restricted to moped use.)

A person must hold a Wisconsin motorcycle instruction permit or
surrender avalid motorcycle license from another state beforethey
may obtain a Class M license. Successful completion of a rider
courseisrequired for personswho fall under any one of thefollow-

ing:
are under 18
held three previous motorcycleinstruction permits
previoudly failed two DOT-administered motorcycle skill tests

Rider courses are highly recommended for anyone who wants to
ride amotorcycle or who wantsto improve their motorcycleriding
kills.

There are two motorcycle rider courses; successful completion of
either course can be used for point reduction of motorcycle viola-
tions. See“ Traffic Safety Programs” for moreinformation on point
reduction.

The 20-hour Basic Rider Courseis designed for beginning riders.
The course was developed and the instructors are certified by the
Motorcycle Safety Foundation and Wisconsin DOT. It is taught
off-street, out of traffic, and motorcyclesand helmetsare provided.
The course consists of 9 hours of classroom and 11 hours of on-
cycleinstruction, including thefollowing: preparing to ride; turning,
shifting and braking; street strategies; special situations; increasing
riding skills; maintenance, and insurance. The courseisoffered by
most of the vocational collegesin Wisconsin and afew other orga-
nizations. A person may get a waiver of the skills test upon suc-
cessful completion of this course, providing other licensing
requirements are met.

The Experienced Rider Courseis an advanced motorcycle safety
coursewith aminimum of 8 hoursof instructions. Thisisavailable
to persons who have a Class M license.

Upon successful completion of a basic rider course (on or after
January 1, 1992), the motorcycle riding instructor issues each stu-
dent a signed waiver authorization form. Thisform is usable only
by the persontowhomi it isissued, and isonly usableonetime. The
form must be presented to a DOT examiner, and when other li-
censing requirements have been met and the motorcycle skillstest
iswaived, an authorization to operate ClassM vehicleswill be added
to the person’s driver’s license. The Waiver Program sets stan-
dards for and administers these waivers.
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How is a Class M license obtained?

What are the fees and period of validity?

Are there special requirements for the
operation of motorcycles?

For more infor mation contact:

To obtain amotorcycle instruction permit, the applicant must pass
the motorcycle knowledge (written) test. Additional tests such as
Class D knowledge (written) test, highway signs test, and vision
and hearing screening may be required.

The applicant must demonstrate competency in motorcycle opera-
tion by passing a DOT-administered motorcycle skills test or pro-
viding awaiver showing completion of DOT approved basic rider
course.

For the skillstest, the applicant must provide acyclein good work-
ing order and wear eye protection and an approved helmet. Skills
tests are conducted by appointment at DMV Service Centers lo-
cated throughout the state.

A motorcycle instruction permit is $22 and is valid for 6 months.
Theoriginal ClassM licenseis $12 plusa$15feeif askillstestis
required. The Class M licenseisvalid for 8 years or whenever the
basic license expires and has a $8 renewal fee.

Eyeprotectionisrequired for all operatorswith instruction permits
and those operators whose cycle does not have awindshield rising
at least 15 inches above the handlebars. Headlights and taillights
must remain on at al timeswhile driving on public roadways. Ap-
proved helmets must be worn by motorcycle operators under 18
years old, passengers under 18 years old and operators with in-
struction permits. Permit holders may ride alone during the day. If
cycling after dark, the permit holder must be accompanied by a
person at least 25 years old with two years|licensed driving experi-
ence and a Class M motorcycle license.

Bureau of Driver Services

For Motorcycle License:
Recordsand Licensing Information Section
(608) 266-2353

For Motorcycle Waiver Program:
Program Development Section
Alice Weiss

(608) 266-7386

alice.wei ss@dot.state.wi.us
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What isan occupational license?

Who qualifiesfor an occupational license?

How arethey issued?

What other requirements apply?

What restrictions apply?

How long is an occupational license valid?

For moreinformation contact:

An occupational licenseis arestricted license that allows a person
to drive:

- to and from work, school, and church
- to court-ordered rehabilitation classes

A person whoselicenseis suspended or revoked may qualify for an
occupational license unless he or she was previously suspended or
revoked within the preceding 12 months. A waiting period is usu-
aly required. Depending upon the offense, the waiting period can
be 15 daysto two years, but some offenses allow the person to get
an occupational licenseimmediately.

A commercia driver whose license is suspended or revoked for
offenses committed in a non-commercia vehicle may get a CDL
occupational to drive commercia vehicles. However, a commer-
cia driver who is disqualified from holding a commercial driver
license, cannot get a CDL occupational .

A person may apply for an occupational licenseat aDMV Service
Center, excluding DMV Express offices. Individuals revoked as a
habitual traffic offender must petition acircuit court in their county
of residence. The judge of the court may order DMV to issue an
occupational licenseif the person’slivelihood dependson driving.

A $40 application fee is required for every application, including
those that change the restrictions on an occupational license.

A driver must prove financial responsibility. This proof can bein
the form of an SR22 certificate, bond or cash deposited with the
DMV. Commercia driverscan list LC, MC, or IC authority num-
bers.

Occupational licenses restrict a person to driving no more than 12
hours per day/60 hours per week. The approved hours, vehicles,
and driving routes are specified on the license, except for emer-
gency services providers and commercial drivers.

An occupational license isvalid from the date it is issued through
the second working day after thelast day of the suspension/revoca-
tion.

Bureau of Driver Services
Compliance and Restoration Section
(608) 266-2261
cnr.dmv@dot.state.wi.us
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Occupational License

Occupational Licenses Issued by Reason
Person Revoked or Suspended
BAC=8,571
27% All Others =

5,969
27%
_ HTO =777

OWI=14,199 206

44%

Source: Bureau of Driver Services, Compliance and Restoration Section Monthly Workload Reports
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Source: Bureau of Driver Services, Compliance and Restoration Section Monthly Workload Report
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Who needs a School Bus (S) endor sement?

What are the requirements for a School
Bus (S) endor sement?

What testsarerequired?

What are the fees and period of validity?

For moreinformation contact:

Anyone operating a school bus to transport:

pupilsto/from public and private schools (and in someinstances
vocational, technical and adult education programs)

pupilsto/from curricular or extra-curricular school activities
pupilsto/from religiousinstruction when school isin session

children (under 21) with exceptiona needsto/from approved
educational programs

handicapped or elderly persons in connection with certain
transportation assistance programs

Drivers must be 18 years of age and hold avalid Wisconsin driver
license. The driver must have vision in both eyes, color percep-
tion, normal hearing, and use of both hands and the foot normally
used to operate the accelerator and brake.

Applicants are not eligible for a school bus endorsement if:

convicted of afelony or other offense within the previous 5
years, which could impact on job performance as a school
bus operator

convicted of an OWI related offense or certain other traffic
convictions within the previous 2 years

Each applicant for a school bus endorsement, regular or renewal,
takes:

. the applicable CDL knowledgetestsif acommercial
motor vehicle, and sign test

. aschool bus knowledge test

. avision and hearing screening

. adriving skillstest in aschool bus

Applicants up to age 70 must fileamedical report or valid Federal
Medical Card every 2 years and take a skills test at renewal.

Applicants 70 years of age and older must file a medical report
yearly and take a skills test every 2 years.

Thefirst CDL issued with an S endorsement is $64 (or a prorated
portion of that fee) plus $15 for the skills test. Adding the S en-
dorsement to an existing CDL costs $5, plus $15 for the skillstest.
Thelicense period of validity is8 yearsor until the expiration of the
current license.

Bureau of Driver Services

Records and Licensing Information Section
Customer Service Unit

(608) 266-2353

rlis.dmv@dot.state.wi.us

For statistics, see “Commercial Driver License: Endorsement TypesS & P’



TYPE JAN FEB MAR APR MAY JUN JUL AUG SEP OCT NOV DEC Year
PHOTO IDENTIFICATION CARD to Date
ORIGINAL 5501 5547 6.483 5,898 5.934 6.804 6,652 6,675 4903 6,249 5775 4,858 71.279
RENEWAL 3,584 3,522 3,849 3,236 3,371 3,331 3,300 3,710 3,145 3,772 3,640 2,967 41,427
DUPLICATE 3,129 2,989 3,292 2,883 3,067 3,052 3,106 3,619 2,905 3,377 3,316 2,710 37,445
REGULAR INSTRUCTION PERMIT (CLASS D)

ORIGINAI 6513 9113 8,397 7,842 7173 10247 7 470 6,305 1,727 8,146 7,563 5,348 91,844
RENEWAL 488 948 1,501 1,442 1,492 1,754 1,553 1,385 930 1,023 868 598 13,982
DUPLICATE 243 207 260 260 299 322 339 313 251 289 274 218 3,275

REINSTATEMENT FROM CANCEL/REVOKE 33 43 37 35 36 34 31 34 21 40 38 21 403
MOTORCYCLE INST PERMIT (CLASS M)

QORIGINAL Q2 176 1,231 2,401 3333 2673 2430 1,091 804 388 172 57 15848
RENEWAL 84 196 1,077 2,018 1,754 1,018 788 501 275 134 66 a7 7,958
DUPLICATE 1 0 0 3 8 16 17 8 5 4 4 0 66

REINSTATEMENT FROM CANCEL/REVOKE 0 0 0 3 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 6
COMMERCIAL INST PERMIT (CLASS ABC)

ORIGINAI 933 1,018 1,335 1,150 1.080 875 852 1,380 939 972 680 586 11,800
RENEWAL 402 478 623 573 481 366 404 564 432 463 359 318 5,463
DUPLICATE 18 21 43 35 31 35 34 26 45 25 22 19 354
CHANGE OF AUTHORITY 47 70 69 92 85 58 63 92 58 77 60 40 811

REINSTATEMENT FROM CANCEL/REVOKE 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
PROBATIONARY (CLASS DM)

QORIGINAL 5984 5057 7.027 7,361 3367 83066 7571 Q633 6740 7 6209 6,864 5000 36263
DUPLICATE 2,169 1,925 2,389 2,120 2,214 2,514 2,527 2,983 1,847 2,297 2,044 1,813 26,842
CHANGE OF AUTHORITY 5 5 14 48 119 198 202 218 87 65 24 11 996

REINSTATEMENT FROM CANCEL/REVOKE 462 524 626 544 657 526 528 582 442 455 422 307 6,075
REGULAR (CLASS ABCDM)

ORIGINAL 10,779 7,562 11,392 8,782 10,858 11,183 11,800 14693 8689 10110 10040 8,649 124,546
RENEWAL 35,632 29,964 35,385 30,882 32,878 32,718 34,094 35041 29,982 32,847 29,032 25,149 383,604
4-YEAR EXTENSION RENEWAL 41,503 26,957 46,117 35,359 22,408 46,379 44,862 32,270 34,782 35,984 26,100 21,544 414,265
DUPLICATE 14,887 12,479 16,300 14,807 16,654 17,087 19,090 21,514 16,820 20,504 19,006 16,602 205,750
CHANGE OF AUTHORITY 993 1,001 1,376 1,833 2,605 2,735 2,580 3,191 2,167 2,091 1,329 927 22,828

REINSTATEMENT FROM CANCEL/REVOKE 1,221 1,397 1,591 1,354 1,338 1,218 1,077 1,149 995 1,136 1,231 1,239 14,946

*QOriginal means first time issued: does NOT include reissued or issued after reinstatement

Panss| spJed a|/asuadi JaAld

ce



OCCUPATIONAL (CLASS ABCDM)

ORIGINAL 1,685 1,723 1,914 1,782 1,827 1,714 1,574 1,857 1,561 1,862 1,799 1,438 20,736
DUPLICATE 54 57 51 39 50 54 62 45 47 51 46 42 598
REINSTATEMENT FROM CANCEL/REVOKE 0 0 0 1 1 2 0 0 0 1 0 1 6

MOPED INSTRCT PERMIT (CLASS D)

ORIGINAL 0 0 0 0 2 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 4

RENEWAL 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1
JUVENILE INSTRUCTION PERMIT (CLASS D)

ORIGINAL 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 2
RENEWAL 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
DUPLICATE 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

JUVENILE PROBATIONARY (CLASS D)

ORIGINAL 0 0 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 3

DUPLICATE 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1
SPECIAL RESTRICTED INST PERMIT (CLASS D)

ORIGINAL 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1

RENEWAL 0 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 3
SPECIAL RESTRICTED (CLASS D)

ORIGINAL 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1
RENEWAL 1 0 0 1 1 1 2 1 1 3 0 0 11
DUPLICATE 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 1
REINSTATEMENT FROM CANCEL/REVOKE 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

TOTALS JAN FEB MAR APR MAY JUN JUL AUG SEP OCT NOV DEC Year
to Date

ORIGINALS 31,487 30,197 37,831 35,216 38,626 41,562 38,359 42,591 31,372 35,356 32,894 26,836 422,327
RENEWALS 40,191 35,109 42,436 38,153 39,977 39,188 40,141 41,202 34,766 38,242 33,965 29,079 452,449
DUPLICATES 20,501 17,678 22,335 20,147 22,323 23,080 25,175 28,508 21,920 26,548 24,712 21,404 274,331
CHANGE OF AUTHORITY 1,045 1,076 1,459 1,973 2,809 2,991 2,845 3,501 2,312 2,233 1,413 978 24,635
REINSTATEMENT FROM CANCEL/REVOKE 1,716 1,964 2,254 1,937 2,033 1,782 1,636 1,765 1,458 1,632 1,691 1,568 21,436

Source: WISDOT/DMV-Bureau of Driver Services-Report N.P7913205

As of 12/31/01

€€
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34 Drivers Licensed by County

County Total County Total County Total
Adams 14,588 lowa 17,119 Polk 32,354
Ashland 12,102 Iron 5,266 Portage 46,778
Barron 34,187 Jackson 13,204 Price 12,206
Bayfidd 11,556 Jefferson 54,861 Recine 130,827
Brown 160,877 Juneau 18,326 Richland 12,571
Buffdo 10,897 Kenosha 105,555 Rock 110,345
Burnett 12,729 Kewaunee 15,317 Rusk 11,512
Caumet 30,257 LaCrosse 74,311 Sauk 42,357
Chippewa 41,063 Lafayette 12,106 Sawyer 12,302
Clark 22,818 Langlade 15,632 Shawano 29,025
Columbia 40,099 Lincoln 22,340 Sheboygan 81,081
Crawford 12,118 Manitowoc 61,045 . Croix 51,547
Dane 314,161 Marathon 92,673 Taylor 14,486
Dodge 60,929 Marinette 33,140 Trempedeau 19,977
Door 22,855 Marquette 11,603 Vernon 19,444
Douglas 32,078 Menominee 2,252 Vilas 18,248
Dum 27,340 Milwaukee 561,568 Walworth 68,521
EauClaire 64,816 Monroe 28,339 Washburn 13,062
Florence 3,937 Oconto 21,273 Washington 90,226
FondduLac 70,741 Oneida 29,983 Waukesha 283,856
Forest 6,875 Outagamie 121,080 Waupaca 37,773
Grant 35,222 Ozaukee 64,678 Waushara 16,885
Green 25,544 Pepin 5,456 Winnebago 111,029
Green Lake 14,652 Plerce 27,163 Wood 57,233

Not Listed 9,173

Total 3,835,549

Source: Bureau of Driver Services-Report #Y RCNTY

Asof 12/31/01



Endorsement Types S & P Commercial Driver License 35
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COMBINED S& P

YEAROF SCHOOL BUSONLY  PASSENGERONLY ENDORSEMENTS % OF
BIRTH AGE MALE  FEMALE MALE FEMALE MALE FEMALE  TOTAL TOTAL
1913 8 1 3 4 0.01%
1914 87 2 1 3 0.01%
1915 & 3 4 7 0.02%
1916 & 3 5 8 0.02%
1917 &4 2 n 13 0.03%
1918 & 2 1 18 1 2 0.05%
1919 (4 6 PA] 2 0.07%
1920 81 1 8 5 2 H 0.08%
EIGHTYEARTOTAL 1 0 27 1 90 3 122 0.28%
1921 80 14 1 A 6 1) 0.17%
1922 7 14 3 5 R 0.21%
1923 B 15 2 77 8 102 0.24%
1924 77 18 2 8 17 125 0.29%
1925 76 27 124 14 165 0.38%
1926 1) 2 155 19 206 0.48%
1927 4 0 3 160 5 23 0.55%
1928 3 0 2 172 % 0 0.58%
1929 7 1 % 2 231 A 344 0.80%
1930 71 &0 5 247 48 300 0.83%
TENYEARTOTAL 0 1 356 17 1,381 202 1,957 4.53%
1931 70 & 9 2N 4 411 0.95%
1932 69 & 5 20 7 a1 0.95%
1933 68 109 10 268 0 457 1.06%
1934 67 b 2 220 B 401 114%
1935 &6 125 n 321 7 528 122%
1936 &b 142 19 336 A 501 137™%
1937 64 1 153 18 31 12 605 1.40%
1938 63 19 2 320 109 640 148%
1939 62 172 18 340 14 634 147%
1940 61 1 jie A 313 110 652 151%
TENYEARTOTAL 0 2 1,382 148 3,045 843 5,420 12.53%
1941 & 1 18 27 365 129 04 163%
1942 0 21 K<) 32 12 728 1.68%
1943 8 1 PR 3B 335 149 762 1.76%
194 57 226 A 303 149 712 165%
1945 % 24 L 306 151 723 167%
1946 % 1 20 37 39% 190 874 202%
147 7] 2 31 46 390 04 953 2.20%
1948 53 25 0 433 197 975 2.25%
1949 2 30 el 30 226 975 2.25%
1950 51 327 53 408 2% 1,023 2.37%
TENYEARTOTAL 3 2 2,595 399 3,648 1,782 8,429 19.49%




36 Commercial Driver License Endorsement Types S & P
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|]

COMBINED S& P

YEAROF SCHOOL BUSONLY  PASSENGERONLY ENDORSEMENTS % OF
BIRTH AGE MALE FEMALE MALE FEMALE MALE FEMALE TOTAL  TOTAL
1951 0 369 &0 426 216 1071 248%
1952 49 349 &4 465 220 1158 2.68%
1953 48 35 b 467 222 1,169 2.70%
1954 a7 2 337 57 521 34 1221 282%
1955 46 1 323 7] 452 326 1156 267%
1956 45 B2 0 466 337 1224 283%
1957 az! 315 7 488 396 1276 295%
1958 43 306 459 372 1,200 2.78%
1959 L 2 34 467 371 1,207 2.7%
1960 4 288 8 471 418 1255 2.90%
TENYEARTOTAL 0 5 3298 60 4682 3302 11937 27.61%
1961 40 1 1 267 8 485 422 1254 2.90%
1962 0 28 446 428 1,200 2.78%
1963 3B 1 248 71 424 39 1,143 264%
1964 37 263 A 31 365 1073 248%
1965 H 1 223 53 378 340 9% 2.30%
1966 b 2 1 176 51 363 336 929 2.15%
1967 A 1 190 45 413 332 %81 221%
1968 K<) 1 10 A 371 320 89%6 207%
1969 2 1 153 48 3B5 4 871 201%
1970 3 3 146 L 398 301 2.06%
TENYEARTOTAL 3 10 2074 A 404 3527 10232 23.66%
1971 0 1 142 4 425 318 927 2.14%
1972 2 119 H 318 317 IeS 1.82%
1973 2 3 107 ) 274 s 663 1.54%
1974 27 3 77 2 249 183 534 1.23%
1975 2% 1 77 ) e} 177 474 1.10%
1976 5 1 2 63 16 1 167 428 0.99%
1977 24 3 46 17 153 1% A 0.82%
1978 23 1 2 4 n 120 110 285 0.66%
1979 2 1 b 9 bl 9] 22 0.61%
1980 2 b 5 106 6§) 22 0.49%
TENYEARTOTAL 2 16 42 206 2139 1,828 4,933 11.41%
1981 20 17 5 63 43 128 0.30%
1982 19 15 6 2 15 64 0.15%
1983 18 9 1 7 1 18 0.04%
THREEYEARTOTAL 0 0 41 12 B 0 210 0.49%
GRAND TOTALS 9 H 105515 1997 19137 11,546 43,240 100.00%

Source: Bureau of Driver Services, Report #Y RABS2 Asof 12/31/01



Endorsement Types T, H & N Commercial Driver License 37
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|]

DBL/TRIPLE HAZARDOUS TANK
TRAILER(T) MATERIAL (H) VEHICLES(T) % OF
YEAROFBIRTH AGE MALE FEMALE MALE FEMALE MALE FEMALE TOTAL TOTAL
1909 o7 1 1 0.00%
1910 a 1 1 0.00%
TWOYEARTOTAL 0 0 0 0 2 0 2 0.00%
1911 D 0 0.00%
1912 3¢ 0 0.00%
1913 83 1 1 0.00%
1914 87 2 2 4 0.00%
1915 & 1 1 0.00%
1916 & 1 2 3 0.00%
1917 &4 1 7 8 0.01%
1918 3¢ 1 3 4 0.00%
1919 & 7 6 13 0.01%
1920 a1 2 5 17 2 0.02%
TENYEARTOTAL 3 0 17 0 38 0 58 0.05%
1921 0 8 K3 3 0.04%
1922 Fe) 7 37 P! 0.04%
1923 78 1 17 a7 &b 0.06%
1924 7 20 1 45 6 0.06%
1925 76 4 3 ) 1 108 010%
1926 S 3 20 2 114 139 013%
1927 74 7 37 152 1 197 019%
1928 73 6 5 2 206 1 268 0.25%
1929 2 8 63 1 235 07 0.29%
1930 71 1 87 B 1 104 0.38%
TENYEARTOTAL 40 0 336 6 1,255 4 1,641 1.54%
1931 70 8 112 3 30 1 493 0.46%
1932 &¢) 13 12 477 4 616 058%
1933 53 13 135 4 3 1 6% 0.66%
1934 67 18 170 6 5% 6 75 0.75%
1935 66 13 181 3 719 2 918 0.86%
1936 &b 16 18 4 757 5 %4 0.91%
1937 64 pal 185 13 85 14 1118 1.05%
1938 3 28 2 %1 19 1241 1.17%
1939 a2 24 1 4 15 1,062 2 1,378 1.30%
1940 6l 40 250 1 1,068 14 1,383 1.30%
TENYEARTOTAL 197 1 1,819 71 7,426 88 9,602 9.04%
1941 60 K¢ 1 A5 17 1226 % 1614 152%
1942 5 %5 1 35 2 1343 2 1,762 1.66%
1943 5 Q 1 A6 D 1423 K3 1,836 1.73%
1994 57 A 336 17 1,364 K 1,783 1.68%
1945 5% vivg 312 17 1437 26 1834 1.73%
1946 % vivg 3 336 31 1,661 40 2,163 2.04%
1947 54 K3 1 450 P 1,869 29 2446 230%
1948 53 P 1 a4 A 1878 48 2447 230%
1949 5 K¢ 1 489 3 1954 51 2567 242%
1950 51 P! 1 475 3B 2,038 2 2,628 247%
TENYEARTOTAL 403 10 3,828 283 16,193 363 21,080 19.84%




38 Commercial Driver License Endorsement Types T, H & N

DBL/TRIPLE HAZARDOUS TANK

TRAILER(T) MATERIAL (H) VEHICLES(T) % OF
YEAROFBIRTH AGE MALE FEMALE MALE FEMALE MALE FEMALE TOTAL  TOTAL
1951 50 49 2 578 45 2,400 &0 3134 2.95%
1952 49 48 1 602 2 2501 o) 3,249 3.06%
1953 8 50 2 635 v} 2451 53 3235 305%
1954 47 5% 645 3] 2474 ) 3312 312%
1955 26 &8 2 728 ) 2,691 64 3637 342%
1956 45 &4 2 69 57 2,601 74 3497 3.29%
1957 M 73 4 738 74 2,666 & 3641 343%
1958 43 3 3 729 53] 2526 74 3456 3.25%
1959 ¥.?) a 2 758 5] 2720 4] 3693 348%
1960 4 704 61 2732 ) 3635 342%
TENYEARTOTAL 630 18 6,816 568 25,762 695 34,489 32.47%
1961 40 70 2 8, 4 2,631 76 3651 3.44%
1962 C) &8 4 778 3 2,588 &b 3561 3.35%
1963 3 &2 2 746 67 2438 ® 3334 3.19%
1964 37 6 1 740 70 2238 63 3177 2.9%%
1965 % 7Bl 669 57 2,055 % 2910 2.74%
1966 K3 V) 640 47 1920 57 271 255%
1967 A 2 50 6 1815 2 2535 2.3%
1968 3 a7 564 2 1,686 43 2,387 2.25%
1969 Y 43 529 6 1577 “ 2,239 211%
1970 a 431 549 K3 1468 50 2,146 2.02%
TENYEARTOTAL 558 13 6,613 512 20,416 589 28,701 27.02%
1971 D % 1 486 A 1375 2 1,971 1.86%
1972 2 C) 2 412 3l 1,146 2 1658 1.56%
1973 28 0 1 A7 PA] 9%B6 24 1381 1.30%
1974 27 3l 318 2 838 23 1282 1.21%
1975 % 27 264 14 719 2 1,048 0.9%%
1976 7 2 187 13 643 20 85 0.83%
1977 2 1“2 131 9 583 13 752 0.71%
1978 PA] 19 b 6 471 10 601 057%
1979 2 5 ) 4 34 10 462 0.43%
1980 21 7 » 2 271 7 323 0.30%
TENYEARTOTAL 240 6 2,335 158 7,436 188 10,363 9.75%
1981 20 4 2 169 3 188 0.18%
1982 19 1 3 al & 0.08%
1983 18 1 PA] 24 0.02%
THREEYEARTOTAL 5 0 16 0 273 3 297 0.28%
GRANDTOTALS 2,076 48 21,780 1,598 78,801 1,930 106,233 100.00%

Source: Bureau of Driver Services, Report #Y RNDORS As of 12/31/01



Drivers Licensed — Probationary 39
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|]

YEAR OF BIRTH AGE MALE FEMALE TOTAL % MALE % OF TOTAL
1883 118 1 1 0.00% 0.00%
1908 93 1 1 0.00% 0.00%
1910 91 2 2 100.00% 0.00%
1911 0 1 1 100.00% 0.00%
1913 88 1 1 0.00% 0.00%
1916 85 2 2 0.00% 0.00%
1917 A 1 1 100.00% 0.00%
1918 83 1 1 0.00% 0.00%
1919 82 1 1 2 50.00% 0.00%
1920 81 1 3 4 25.00% 0.00%
TEN YEAR TOTAL 6 10 16 37.50% 0.01%
1921 80 1 4 5 20.00% 0.00%
1922 79 1 4 5 20.00% 0.00%
1923 78 1 4 5 20.00% 0.00%
1924 77 7 3 10 70.00% 0.00%
1925 76 1 9 10 10.00% 0.00%
1926 75 1 5 6 16.67% 0.00%
1927 74 8 4 12 66.67% 0.00%
1928 73 7 10 17 41.18% 0.01%
1929 72 8 7 15 53.33% 0.01%
1930 71 5 9 14 35.71% 0.01%
TEN YEAR TOTAL 40 59 99 40.40% 0.04%
1931 70 4 12 16 25.00% 0.01%
1932 69 n 17 28 39.29% 0.01%
1933 68 7 4 1n 63.64% 0.00%
1934 67 19 13 32 59.38% 0.01%
1935 66 21 14 35 60.00% 0.01%
1936 65 29 14 43 67.44% 0.02%
1937 64 23 17 40 57.50% 0.02%
1938 63 31 27 58 53.45% 0.02%
1939 62 35 19 4 64.81% 0.02%
1940 61 41 29 70 58.57% 0.03%
TEN YEAR TOTAL 221 166 387 57.11% 0.15%
1941 60 41 22 63 65.08% 0.03%
1942 59 44 26 70 62.86% 0.03%
1943 58 49 27 76 64.47% 0.03%
1944 57 43 43 86 50.00% 0.03%
1945 56 89 K7 123 72.36% 0.05%
1946 55 77 52 129 59.69% 0.05%
1947 4 88 59 147 59.86% 0.06%
1948 53 113 61 174 64.94% 0.07%
1949 52 12 78 190 58.95% 0.08%
1950 51 121 70 191 63.35% 0.08%
TEN YEAR TOTAL 77 472 1,249 62.21% 0.50%




40 Drivers Licensed — Probationary
_________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|]

YEAR OF BIRTH AGE MALE FEMALE TOTAL % MALE % OF TOTAL
1951 50 133 81 214 62.15% 0.09%
1952 49 165 93 258 63.95% 0.10%
1953 48 177 120 297 59.60% 0.12%
194 47 230 142 372 61.83% 0.15%
1955 46 229 137 366 62.57% 0.15%
1956 45 276 161 437 63.16% 0.17%
1957 24 201 176 467 62.31% 0.19%
1958 43 348 221 569 61.16% 0.23%
1959 42 394 217 611 64.48% 0.24%
1960 41 455 279 734 61.99% 0.29%
TEN YEAR TOTAL 2.698 1.627 4,325 62.38% 1.73%
1961 40 529 314 843 62.75% 0.34%
1962 39 544 348 892 60.99% 0.36%
1963 3 614 385 999 61.46% 0.40%
1964 37 700 421 1121 62.44% 0.45%
1965 36 694 468 1,162 59.72% 0.46%
1966 35 850 481 1331 63.86% 0.53%
1967 H#A 914 590 1,504 60.77% 0.60%
1968 3 1,059 585 1644 64.42% 0.66%
1969 32 1,237 672 1,909 64.80% 0.76%
1970 31 1437 771 2,208 65.08% 0.88%
TEN YEAR TOTAL 8.578 5,035 13,613 63.01% 5.44%
1971 30 1,560 915 2475 63.03% 0.99%
1972 29 1851 972 2,823 65.57% 1.13%
1973 28 2,053 1,066 3119 65.82% 1.25%
1974 27 2,202 1,194 3,396 64.84% 1.36%
1975 26 2,366 1,255 3,621 65.34% 1.45%
1976 25 2,502 1384 3,886 64.38% 1.55%
1977 24 2,718 1511 4,229 64.27% 1.69%
1978 23 3,107 1,782 4,889 63.55% 1.95%
1979 2 3,864 2,808 6,672 57.91% 2.66%
1980 21 5,039 3,939 8,978 56.13% 3.59%
TEN YEAR TOTAL 27,262 16,826 44,088 61.84% 17.61%
1981 20 6,634 5,408 12,042 55.09% 4.81%
1982 19 9,503 7,770 17,273 55.02% 6.90%
1983 18 32,540 31,438 63,978 50.86% 25.55%
1984 17 29,289 28,846 58,135 50.38% 23.22%
1985 16 17,304 17,849 35,153 49.22% 14.04%
FIVE YEAR TOTAL 95,270 91,311 186,581 51.06% 74.53%
GRAND TOTALS 134,852 115,506 250,358 53.86% 100.00%

Includes all types of status except those which expired prior to 12/01/01
Source: Bureau of Driver Services, Report #YRAGPRO

Asof 12/31/01



Drivers Licensed — Probationary & Regular 41

YEAR OF BIRTH  AGE MALE FEMALE TOTAL %MALE %OF TOTAL
1883 118 1 1 0.00% 0.00%
1898 103 1 1 100.00% 0.00%
1899 102 4 1 5 80.00% 0.00%
1900 101 3 3 6 50.00% 0.00%
FIVE YEAR TOTAL 8 5 13 61.54% 0.00%
1901 100 u 2 13 84.62% 0.00%
1902 N 17 n 28 60.71% 0.00%
1903 98 35 25 60 58.33% 0.00%
1904 97 66 53 119 55.46% 0.00%
1905 9% 12 85 197 56.85% 0.01%
1906 9% 174 174 348 50.00% 0.01%
1907 A 334 274 608 54.93% 0.02%
1908 93 447 488 935 47.81% 0.02%
1909 92 659 782 1441 45.73% 0.04%
1910 91 984 1,143 2,127 46.26% 0.06%
TEN YEAR TOTAL 2,839 3,037 5,876 48.32% 0.15%
191 0 1274 1,568 2,842 44.83% 0.07%
1912 89 1,801 2,227 4,028 44.71% 0.11%
1913 88 2,367 2,755 5122 46.21% 0.13%
1914 87 3,012 3,768 6,780 44.42% 0.18%
1915 86 3,714 4,589 8,303 44.73% 0.22%
1916 85 4,497 5,344 9,841 45.70% 0.26%
1917 84 5334 6,365 11,699 45.59% 0.31%
1918 83 6,169 7,680 13,849 44.54% 0.36%
1919 82 6,519 7,789 14,308 45.56% 0.37%
1920 81 7,897 9,287 17,184 45.96% 0.45%
TEN YEAR TOTAL 42,584 51,372 93,956 45.32% 2.45%
1921 80 8,926 10,691 19,617 45.50% 0.51%
1922 I 9,713 11,230 20,943 46.38% 0.55%
1923 78 10,527 11,986 22,513 46.76% 0.59%
1924 7 11,755 12,889 24,644 47.70% 0.64%
1925 76 12,096 13,318 25414 47.60% 0.66%
1926 75 12,993 13,988 26,981 48.16% 0.70%
1927 74 13,747 14,851 28,598 48.07% 0.75%
1928 73 14,472 15,201 29,763 48.62% 0.78%
1929 72 14,586 15,407 29,993 48.63% 0.78%
1930 71 15477 16,206 31,683 48.85% 0.83%
TEN YEAR TOTAL 124,292 135,857 260,149 47.78% 6.78%
1931 70 15,499 15,972 31,471 49.25% 0.82%
1932 69 15,681 16,406 32,087 48.87% 0.84%
1933 68 15,487 15,762 31,249 49.56% 0.81%
1934 67 16,623 16,801 33,424 49.73% 0.87%
1935 66 17,254 17,573 34,827 49.54% 0.91%
1936 65 17,970 18,003 35,973 49.95% 0.94%
1937 64 18,585 18,799 37,384 49.71% 0.97%
1938 63 19,724 19,518 39,242 50.26% 1.02%
1939 62 19,803 19,549 39,352 50.32% 1.03%
1940 61 20412 20,592 41,004 49.78% 1.07%
TEN YEAR TOTAL 177,038 178,975 356,013 49.73% 9.28%
1941 60 22,158 21,960 44118 50.22% 1.15%
1942 59 24,854 24,940 49,794 49.91% 1.30%

1943 58 25,781 25,445 51,226 50.33% 1.34%



42 Drivers Licensed — Probationary & Regular

YEAR OF BIRTH AGE MALE FEMALE TOTAL % MALE % OF TOTAL
1944 57 25,036 24,642 49,678 50.40% 1.30%
1945 56 25,351 24,527 49,878 50.83% 1.30%
1946 55 30,248 20,664 59,912 50.49% 1.56%
1947 4 34,643 33,671 68,314 50.71% 1.78%
1948 53 33,962 32,846 66,808 50.84% 1.74%
1949 52 34,938 34,098 69,036 50.61% 1.80%
1950 51 35,518 34,118 69,636 51.01% 1.82%
TEN YEAR TOTAL 292,489 285,911 578,400 50.57% 15.08%
1951 50 38,049 36,627 74,676 50.95% 1.95%
1952 49 38,701 37,518 76,219 50.78% 1.99%
1953 48 39,109 37,900 77,009 50.78% 2.01%
1954 47 40,616 39,869 80,485 50.46% 2.10%
1955 46 41,116 39,762 80,878 50.84% 2.11%
1956 45 41,893 40,489 82,382 50.85% 2.15%
1957 44 42,640 42,349 84,989 50.17% 2.22%
1958 43 42,558 41,656 84,214 50.54% 2.20%
1959 42 43,459 43,314 86,773 50.08% 2.26%
1960 41 43,588 43427 87,015 50.09% 2.27%
TEN YEAR TOTAL 411,729 402,911 814,640 50.54% 21.24%
1961 40 43,614 43154 86,768 50.27% 2.26%
1962 39 42,150 41,903 84,053 50.15% 2.19%
1963 3B 41,530 40,910 82,440 50.38% 2.15%
1964 37 40,799 40,167 80,966 50.39% 2.11%
1965 36 38,516 37,684 76,200 50.55% 1.99%
1966 35 37,412 36,409 73,821 50.68% 1.92%
1967 A 36,612 35,506 72,118 50.77% 1.88%
1968 3 35,982 34,637 70,619 50.95% 1.84%
1969 32 35,982 34,105 70,087 51.34% 1.83%
1970 31 36,918 35,734 72,652 50.81% 1.89%
TEN YEAR TOTAL 389,515 380,209 769,724 50.60% 20.07%
1971 30 36,044 34,526 70,570 51.08% 1.84%
1972 29 32,743 31,108 63,851 51.28% 1.66%
1973 28 31,036 20,925 60,961 50.91% 1.59%
1974 27 31,867 30,073 61,940 51.45% 1.61%
1975 26 34,429 32,635 67,064 51.34% 1.75%
1976 25 33,455 32,019 65,474 51.10% 1.71%
1977 24 34,213 33,067 67,280 50.85% 1.75%
1978 23 32,822 31,715 64,537 50.86% 1.68%
1979 2 36,925 35,150 72,075 51.23% 1.88%
1980 21 36,259 35,014 71,273 50.87% 1.86%
TEN YEAR TOTAL 339,793 325,232 665,025 51.09% 17.34%
1981 20 35,004 33,826 68,830 50.86% 1.79%
1982 19 33,117 32,001 65,118 50.86% 1.70%
1983 18 32,897 31,620 64,517 50.99% 1.68%
1984 17 29,289 28,846 58,135 50.38% 1.52%
1985 16 17,304 17,849 35,153 49.22% 0.92%
FIVE YEAR TOTAL 147,611 144,142 291,753 50.59% 7.61%
GRAND TOTALS 1,927,898 1,907,651 3,835,549 50.26% 100.00%

Includes all valid license typesincluding: Orginals, Regulars, CDL, Probationary (does not include Instruction Permits)
Includes all types of status (revoced, suspended, cancelled) except those which expired prior to 12/01/01
Source: Bureau of Driver Services, Report # YRCNTY & #YRAGPRO (P7011805-03-07)
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Total Licensed Total Licensed

Year Drivers Year Drivers Total Licensed
1928 893,450 1961 2,069,750 Year Drivers
1930 995,000 1962 2,048,300 1982 3,070,956
1940 1,230,000 1963 2,076,500 1983 3,123,649
1941 1,246,600 1964 2,089,700 1984 3,192,135
1942 1,309,475 1965 2,155,007 1985 3,265,322
1943 1,369,750 1966 2,197,038 1986 3,283,517
1944 1,422,050 1967 2,280,544 1987 3,308,903
1945 1,505,700 1968 2,360,815 1988 3,329,557
1946 1,547,100 1969 2458,037 1989 3,357,339
1947 1,553,500 1970 2459539 1990 3,394,203
1948 1575500 1971 2465,315 1991 3473,236
1949 1,613,800 1972 2527,731 1992 3481421
1950 1,661,700 1973 2,593,838 1993 3,502,347
1951 1,721,700 1974 2,663,796 1994 3,554,003
1952 1,750,100 1975 2,721,284 1995 3,601,619
1953 1,804,300 1976 2,792,905 1996 3,723,685
1954 1,817,700 1977 2,864,689 1997 3,672,469
1955 1,848,700 1978 2927546 1998 3,709,957
1956 1,879,750 1979 2,964,404 1999 3,733,077
1957 1,910,500 1980 3,014,715 2000 3,667,497
1958 1,930,500 1981 3,059,428 2001 3,835,549
1959 1,936,600

1960 2,002,900

Licensed Drivers in Wisconsin

4,000,000 4

3,800,000 4 =

3,600,000 - ]

3,400,000 4

3,200,000 4

3,000,000
1991 1992 1993 1994 1995 1996 1997 1998 1999 2000* 2000 2001

Includes al types of status, except those which expired prior to 12/01/01.
*Prior to 2000, this number did not include ‘opt out’ drivers. (see page 18 Abstracts Driver Records.)

Source: Bureau of Driver Services, Report # YRCNTY & #YRAGPRO



44 Instruction Permits-Counts

YEAR OF COMMERCIAL REGULAR MOTORCYCLE % OF

BIRTH AGE MALE FEMALE MALE FEMALE MALE FEMALE TOTAL TOTAL
1911 90 1 1 0.00%
1912 89 0 0.00%
1913 88 0 0.00%
1914 87 0 0.00%
1915 86 0 0.00%
1916 85 1 3 4 0.01%
1917 84 2 2 0.00%
1918 83 4 2 6 0.01%
1919 82 1 2 3 0.00%
1920 81 2 2 0.00%
TENYEARTOTAL 0 0 7 11 0 0 18 0.03%
1921 80 2 1 3 0.00%
1922 79 1 5 6 0.01%
1923 78 7 1 8 0.01%
1924 77 1 4 2 7 0.01%
1925 76 2 1 6 1 10 0.02%
1926 75 1 9 2 12 0.02%
1927 74 9 1 12 2 24 0.04%
1928 73 2 4 14 1 21 0.03%
1929 72 5 1 8 2 16 0.03%
1930 71 7 2 8 4 21 0.03%
TENYEARTOTAL 26 0 13 74 15 0 128 0.20%
1931 70 4 3 15 3 25 0.04%
1932 69 13 4 11 3 31 0.05%
1933 68 8 5 12 7 32 0.05%
1934 67 13 7 11 5 36 0.06%
1935 66 12 2 5 15 4 38 0.06%
1936 65 23 1 9 13 8 54 0.08%
1937 64 20 1 9 19 4 53 0.08%
1938 63 25 2 3 17 12 2 61 0.10%
1939 62 34 1 7 19 13 2 76 0.12%
1940 61 43 1 10 32 15 2 103 0.16%
TEN YEARTOTAL 195 8 62 164 74 6 509 0.80%
1941 60 43 2 11 28 14 2 100 0.16%
1942 59 40 1 8 34 16 4 103 0.16%
1943 58 41 6 15 29 22 2 115 0.18%
1944 57 54 6 18 26 26 3 133 0.21%
1945 56 54 5 10 42 20 3 134 0.21%
1946 55 70 9 21 50 30 6 186 0.29%
1947 54 78 11 19 49 56 16 229 0.36%
1948 53 76 14 32 44 48 11 225 0.35%
1949 52 75 5 23 59 a4 16 222 0.35%
1950 51 66 10 23 64 41 15 219 0.34%
TENYEARTOTAL 597 69 180 425 317 78 1,666 2.61%
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YEAR OF COMMERCIAL REGULAR MOTORCYCLE % OF

BIRTH AGE MALE FEMALE MALE FEMALE MALE FEMALE TOTAL TOTAL
1951 50 72 9 30 58 50 14 94 0.15%
1952 49 115 18 31 75 76 33 348 0.55%
1953 48 92 23 29 92 61 28 325 0.15%
1954 47 114 23 34 91 68 35 365 0.57%
1955 46 111 25 34 84 91 42 387 0.61%
1956 45 136 21 56 93 80 54 440 0.69%
1957 44 127 16 43 93 95 48 422 0.66%
1958 43 142 22 56 116 87 48 471 0.74%
1959 42 134 26 69 108 108 45 490 0.77%
1960 41 140 24 62 132 116 62 536 0.84%
TEN YEARTOTAL 1,183 207 444 942 832 409 4,017 6.30%
1961 40 131 26 75 119 98 62 511 0.80%
1962 39 121 39 7 128 106 73 544 0.85%
1963 38 147 21 76 124 115 56 539 0.85%
1964 37 146 28 96 162 123 69 624 0.98%
1965 36 161 29 102 158 119 61 630 0.99%
1966 35 139 15 111 157 126 43 591 0.93%
1967 34 113 25 128 165 124 55 610 0.96%
1968 33 125 24 129 212 112 48 650 1.02%
1969 32 181 22 147 195 102 56 703 1.10%
1970 31 150 31 176 219 122 62 760 1.19%
TEN YEARTOTAL 1414 260 1117 1,639 1147 585 6,162 9.67%
1971 30 167 21 182 237 142 61 810 1.27%
1972 29 182 16 216 254 133 48 849 1.33%
1973 28 135 36 258 261 111 49 850 1.33%
1974 27 175 22 292 311 146 46 992 1.56%
1975 26 169 29 298 323 150 40 1,009 1.58%
1976 25 189 19 324 357 180 46 1,115 1.75%
1977 24 191 25 395 359 195 47 1,212 1.90%
1978 23 212 20 369 414 178 38 1,231 1.93%
1979 22 202 34 486 473 230 42 1,467 2.30%
1980 21 218 19 523 570 223 33 1,586 2.49%
TEN YEARTOTAL 1,840 241 3,343 3,559 1,688 450 11,121 17.45%
1981 20 246 15 661 674 239 37 1,872 2.94%
1982 19 174 14 890 1,010 221 29 2,338 3.67%
1983 18 110 5 1,256 1,307 166 18 2,862 4.49%
1984 17 2,093 2,013 68 3 4,177 6.56%
1985 16 7,835 7,447 15,282 23.98%
1986 15 6,648 6,915 13,563 21.29%
SIXYEAR TOTAL 530 34 19,383 19,366 694 87 40,094  62.93%
GRAND TOTALS 5,785 819 24,549 26,180 4,7671,615 63,715 100.00%

Commercial and Regular instruction permit statistics include all types of status except those which expired prior to 12/01/01
Motorcyle instruction permit statistics include all types of status except those which expired prior to 06/01/01

(due to seasonal nature of this license type)

Source: Bureau of Driver Services, Report #Y RAGIPS and #Y RAGEMC
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YEAR OF PROBATIONARY REGULAR

BIRTH AGE MALE FEMALE MALE FEMALE TOTAL % MALE % OF TOTAL
1905 96 1 1 100.00% 0.00%
1906 95 2 2 100.00% 0.00%
1907 94 3 3 100.00% 0.00%
1908 93 7 7 100.00% 0.00%
1909 92 3 3 100.00% 0.00%
1910 91 8 8 100.00% 0.00%
SIXYEARTOTAL 0 0 24 0 24 100.00% 0.01%
1911 90 11 11 100.00% 0.00%
1912 89 16 16 100.00% 0.00%
1913 88 39 39 100.00% 0.01%
1914 87 48 48 100.00% 0.01%
1915 86 69 2 71 97.18% 0.02%
1916 85 64 64 100.00% 0.02%
1917 84 109 2 111 98.20% 0.03%
1918 83 163 5 168 97.02% 0.05%
1919 82 180 5 185 97.30% 0.05%
1920 81 225 8 233 96.57% 0.07%
TEN YEAR TOTAL 0 0 924 22 946 97.67% 0.26%
1921 80 289 14 303 95.38% 0.08%
1922 79 343 17 360 95.28% 0.10%
1923 78 424 16 440 96.36% 0.12%
1924 77 503 29 532 94.55% 0.15%
1925 76 559 18 577 96.88% 0.16%
1926 75 632 38 670 94.33% 0.19%
1927 74 774 50 824 93.93% 0.23%
1928 73 806 47 853 94.49% 0.24%
1929 72 914 55 969 94.32% 0.27%
1930 71 1,093 55 1,148 95.21% 0.32%
TEN YEAR TOTAL 0 0 6,337 339 6,676 94.92% 1.87%
1931 70 1,266 84 1,350 93.78% 0.38%
1932 69 1,334 84 1,418 94.08% 0.40%
1933 68 1,452 108 1,560 93.08% 0.44%
1934 67 1,703 120 1,823 93.42% 0.51%
1935 66 1,928 152 2,080 92.69% 0.58%
1936 65 2,140 155 2,295 93.25% 0.64%
1937 64 1 2,373 181 2,555 92.92% 0.71%
1938 63 2,590 272 2,862 90.50% 0.80%
1939 62 2,782 244 3,026 91.94% 0.85%
1940 61 1 3,191 311 3,503 91.12% 0.98%
TEN YEAR TOTAL 2 0 20,759 1,711 22,472 92.39% 6.28%
1941 60 3,668 317 3,985 92.05% 1.11%
1942 59 4,331 449 4,780 90.61% 1.34%
1943 58 1 4,896 447 5,344 91.64% 1.49%
1944 57 4,924 484 5,408 91.05% 1.51%
1945 56 5,277 525 5,802 90.95% 1.62%
1946 55 6,504 658 7,162 90.81% 2.00%
1947 54 1 8,008 749 8,758 91.45% 2.45%
1948 53 8,368 837 9,205 90.91% 2.57%
1949 52 1 9,043 902 9,946 90.93% 2.78%
1950 51 2 9,507 899 10,408 91.36% 2.91%

TEN YEAR TOTAL

o
o
@

-
5
[}
o

6,267 70,798 91.15% 19.79%




47 Motorcycle License Class M Counts
______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________|
YEAR OF PROBATIONARY  REGULAR

BIRTH AGE MALE FEMALE MALE FEMALE TOTAL % MALE % OF TOTAL
1951 50 2 10,609 1,006 11,617 91.34% 3.25%
1952 49 10,721 1,087 11,808 90.79% 3.30%
1953 48 3 11,384 1,181 12,568 90.60% 3.51%
1954 47 1 11,867 1,249 13,117 90.48% 3.67%
1955 46 5 12,109 1,272 13,386 90.50% 3.74%
1956 45 2 1 12,070 1,218 13,291 90.83% 3.72%
1957 44 3 12,482 1,296 13,781 90.60% 3.85%
1958 43 4 11,863 1,283 13,150 90.24% 3.68%
1959 42 5 12,047 1,294 13,346 90.30% 3.73%
1960 41 7 1 11,621 1,308 12,937 89.88% 3.62%
TEN YEAR TOTAL 32 2 116,773 12,194 129,001 90.55% 36.07%
1961 40 6 11,289 1,236 12,531 90.14% 3.50%
1962 39 8 1 10,397 1,278 11,684 89.05% 3.27%
1963 38 5 10,180 1,158 11,343 89.79% 3.17%
1964 37 7 9,339 1,107 10,453 89.41% 2.92%
1965 36 11 8,199 974 9,184 89.39% 2.57%
1966 35 10 7,345 825 8,180 89.91% 2.29%
1967 34 13 6,954 833 7,800 89.32% 2.18%
1968 33 15 6,333 753 7,101 89.40% 1.99%
1969 32 23 2 5,762 685 6,472 89.39% 1.81%
1970 31 13 2 5,413 667 6,095 89.02% 1.70%
TEN YEAR TOTAL 111 5 81,211 9,516 90,843 89.52% 25.40%
1971 30 14 1 5041 577 5,633 89.74% 1.57%
1972 29 15 2 4,176 496 4,689 89.38% 1.31%
1973 28 18 1 3,529 442 3,990 88.90% 1.12%
1974 27 33 1 3,285 353 3,672 90.36% 1.03%
1975 26 25 1 3271 342 3,639 90.57% 1.02%
1976 25 24 1 2,776 319 3,120 89.74% 0.87%
1977 24 20 2 2,476 267 2,765 90.27% 0.77%
1978 23 24 2,040 204 2,268 91.01% 0.63%
1979 22 40 5 2,002 194 2,241 91.12% 0.63%
1980 21 48 4 1,552 149 1,753 91.27% 0.49%
TEN YEAR TOTAL 261 18 30,148 3,343 33,770 90.05% 9.44%
1981 20 45 5 1,138 107 1,295 91.35% 0.36%
1982 19 63 4 753 65 885 92.20% 0.25%
1983 18 509 30 49 3 591 94.42% 0.17%
1984 17 286 18 304 94.08% 0.08%
1985 16 63 5 68 92.65% 0.02%
FIVE YEAR TOTAL 966 62 1,940 175 3,143 92.46% 0.88%
GRAND TOTALS 1,377 87 322,642 33567 357,673 90.59% 100.00%

Includes all types of status except those which expired prior to 12/01/01.

Source: Bureau of Driver Services, Report #¥ RAGEMC

Asof 12/31/01



48 Medical Evaluation for Drivers

Whoisrequired to file medical reports?

How are medical reportsreviewed?

How often do drivers have to file re-
ports?

What aretheresults of medical reviews?

How can a per son appeal a medical review
decision?

For more infor mation contact:

DMV evaluates whether each applicant for alicense can exercise
reasonable control over avehicle. To carry out thisresponsibility,
the DMV conducts written exams, road tests, sign identification
tests, and vision screenings. Some persons have medical condi-
tions or disabilities which the DMV cannot adequately assess us-
ing these tests. These individuals are required to submit medical
information to aid the Division in making licensing decisions.

DMV staff review the medical reports. They focus on:
- whether the person’s condition is stable
- the degree of impairment from the condition
- the physician’srecommendation regarding driving
medical standards (TRANS 112, W1 Adm code)

Physicians and vision specialists throughout the state review more
complex cases.

Many drivers only require one medical report. Some people with
recurring or progressive medical conditions file medical reports
periodically to maintain avalid license.

Of the 30,600 medical reportsreviewed, 3,700 resulted in cancella-
tions of the driving privilege. Many people are required to pass a
written test on driving laws and/or an on-the-road driving test to
maintain their license. Over 1,500 drivers voluntarily surrendered
their license when asked for amedical report or adriving test.

DMV attemptsto allow each personto drive under conditionswhich
are safe for them. For example, some drivers will be restricted to
an areawithin 15 miles of their homeif they can demonstrate good
driving skillsin that limited area. Physicians often recommend re-
strictions such as daytime driving only, no driving on freeways, or
driving with an automatic transmission. Through the use of restric-
tions, driving testsand medical reportsthe DMV ensuresthat people
with conditions limiting their functional ability are able to main-
tain asafe level of driving.

DMV provides medical review boards for persons who wish to
appeal alicense denial or cancellation. Any person can request an
in-person review (actual appearance or filereview only) of his/her
case by a panel of three physicians. The appeal must be in writing
and postmarked within 10 days from the cancel order or denia
letter.

Bureau of Driver Services
Records & Licensing Information
(608) 266-2327
rlis.dmv@dot.state.wi.us



Points 49

What is a point system suspension?

What happens to drivers who accumulate
points?

Who orders the suspension?

What licenses are suspended?

I's any type of license available before the
expiration of the suspension?

For more infor mation contact:

Persons who accumulate 12 or more pointsin a one-year period
may be subject to a driver license suspension. The points are
counted by date of violation.

Offensesinclude:

. Speeding

. Failureto obey asign

. Failuretoyield right of way

. Other moving traffic violations

Their operating privilege may bewithdrawn:

Demerit Points | Length of Suspension| Length of Suspension
Accumulated in a for Probationary for Regular
12-month Period Licenseholder Licenseholder

12 - 16 points 6 morths 2 months

17 - 22 points 6 months 4 morths

23 - 30 points 6 months 6 months

More than 30 1 vear 1 vear

points Y 4

Under the present law, the DMV administratively suspends the

driver’sprivilege.

The suspension is of the operating privilege. Thismeansal
licensesissued by the division. For an unlicensed person, the
ability to obtain alicenseis suspended.

A person may, under certain conditions, obtain an occupational

license.

Bureau of Driver Services
Revocation and Suspension Section

(608) 266-2261

cnr.dmv@dot.state.wi.us



50 Administrative Suspension: Alcohol Concentration

What isan administrative suspension?

What is the length of a suspension?

Who ordersthe suspension?

Is an occupational license available?

For more information contact:

The administrative suspension law provides for the withdrawal of
aperson’ s operating privilegeif he or sheis arrested for operating
amotor vehiclewith aprohibited alcohol concentration, submitsto
chemical testing and failsthe test.

The arresting officer takes possession of the license and issues a
notice of intent to suspend. The notice serves as a driving receipt
and isvalid for 30 days.

The driver has 10 days during which to request a review of the
suspension. If no review isrequested, or if areview isheld and the
outcome is adverse to the person, the suspension will take effect
30 days after the notice of intent to suspend is issued.

The suspension is for a period of six months. It does not alow
retention of any part of the operating privilege.

The DMV administratively suspends the person’s privilege. The
person must still go through the usual court proceduresfor the OWI
arrest, which may result in additional sanctionsagainst the person’s
operating privilege.

A person may petition for an occupational license immediately
under an administrative suspension.

Bureau of Driver Services
Revocations and Suspensions Section
(608) 266-2261
cnr.dmv@dot.state.wi.us

35,000

30,000

25,000

20,000

15,000

10,000

Administrative Suspensions for
Blood Alcohol Content
26,636 27,079 28,543 27,948
1997 1999 2000 2001

Source: Bureau of Driver Services, Report #P7011924-2



Alcohol/Drug Review 51

What isan alcohol and drug assessment?

When is an assessment required?

What are driver safety plans?

What happens after thedriver completes
an assessment?

What happensto non-compliant drivers?

For more information contact:

An acohol or drug assessment is an interview between a driver
and an alcohol and other drug abuse (AODA) assessor. The asses-
sor identifies the driver’s alcohol/drug use. As part of the assess-
ment, the assessor develops a driver safety plan for the driver.
34,372 assessments were completed in 2001.

Anyone convicted of operating whileintoxicated (OWI) isrequired
to contact an approved assessment facility within 72 hours of con-
viction. Anyonewith multiple OWI arrests/convictions over aspeci-
fied period of timeis ordered by WisDOT to have an assessment
within 45 days. Second and subsequent OWI convictions require
completion of an assessment before eligibility for an occupational
license. Anindividual may voluntarily obtain an assessment after
an arrest.

Driver safety plans are training or rehabilitation plans based on
findings. For example, when an assessor identifies drivers as:

Irresponsible Users, they are generally sent to a Group Dy-
namics-Traffic Safety program

Irresponsible Users- Borderline, they are generally acom-
bination of education and short-term, outpatient counseling

Having Suspected Chemical Dependency, they are gener-
aly sent to outpatient treatment programs

Chemically Dependent, they are generally sent to inpatient
or intensive outpatient treatment programs

The assessor submits a report to the DMV. The Compliance and
Restoration Section in the Bureau of Driver Services screens the
report to see whether:

- the assessment and driver safety plan are appropriate
- the assessor recommends the individual for alicense
- the assessment mentions all OWI related offenses
The person may beeligiblefor alicense oncethe planissubmitted.

All licenses are suspended, including occupational licenses, if a
person receives another arrest for OWI whilein aplan or does not:

appear for an assessment
comply with aDriver Safety Plan
pay the fee for the assessment or the Driver Safety Plan

In 2001, Compliance and Restoration processed 22,249 non-com-
pliance cases.

Bureau of Driver Services
Compliance & Restoration Section
Alcohol/Drug Review Unit

(608) 261-8202
cnr.dmv@dot.state.wi.us



52 Disqualification

What isa disqualification?

What isthelength of a disqualification?

Who orders a disqualification?

How is a person notified of a disqualifica-
tion?

Is an occupational license available?

For moreinformation contact:

Disqualification means the withdrawal of a person’s privilege to
operate a commercial motor vehicle because of certain offenses
committed by the person while driving or operating a commercial
motor vehicle.

Periods of disgualification run from a minimum of 60 daysto life-
time, depending on the number, type, and severity of the viola-
tions.

The law provides that a person is disqualified upon receiving cer-
tain types of convictions. The DMV administratively disqualifies
the person’scommercial operating privileges.

The Division of Motor Vehiclesissues an order of disgualification
and mailsit by first class mail to a person’slast known residence.

No occupational license can be obtained for commercial motor ve-
hicle operation privileges during any period of disqualification.

Bureau of Driver Services
Revocations & Suspensions Section
(608) 266-2261
cnr.dmv@dot.state.wi.us
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Source: Bureau of Driver Services, Revocation & Suspensions Section



Habitual Traffic Offender 53

What is a habitual traffic offender?

What happensto thoseidentified as
habitual traffic offenders?
Who orderstherevocation?

What licenses arerevoked?

Isany type of license available beforethe
expiration of the five-year revocation?

For moreinformation contact:

Personswho accumulate four major traffic convictions, (including
those from other jurisdictions) or a combination of 12 minor and
major convictions, in afive-year period are identified as habitual
traffic offenders. Mgjor offenses include:

operating while under the influence
eluding an officer
recklessdriving

The operating privilege of habitual traffic offendersisrevoked for
fiveyears.

Under the present law, the DMV administratively revokes the
driver’s privilege.

The revocation is of the operating privilege which means all li-
censesissued by the division. For an unlicensed person, the ability
to obtain alicenseis revoked.

After atwo-year waiting period, a person may, under certain con-
ditions, obtain an occupational license. The two year period is
counted from the date of the revocation order.

Bureau of Driver Services
Revocations and Suspensions Section
(608) 266-2261
cnr.dmv@dot.state.wi.us
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12,500 -

10,000 { 8,608

Habitual Traffic Offenders Rewvoked
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2,500 |
0
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Source: Bureau of Driver Services, Report #P7011924-2

In August, 1998, the department implemented a portion of Act 84, Laws of 1997. The law change made Operating
After Revocation (OAR) and Operating While Suspended (OWS) a‘minor’ rather than a‘major’ violation for
calculating Habitual Traffic Offender (HTO) status. The result has been a significant drop in HTO's.



54 Revocation/Suspension Reinstatement

How can a person obtain reinstatement?

What other requirements apply?

For more information contact:

In most cases, after the period of suspension expires, aperson may
either mail the $50 feetothe DMV or gotoaDMV Service Center
to pay the $50 fee and DMV will replace the license. If the license
has expired, the person must also pay the appropriate renewal fee.

A person whose license was revoked must appear at aDMV Ser-
vice Center and:

complete an application
- take any required tests
provide proof of identity
pay a $50 reinstatement fee for a new license

Except for a person revoked for afirst offense of OWI, a person
whose driving privilege is revoked must file proof of financial re-
sponsibility with the division continuously for three yearsfollowing
the end of the withdrawal period.

Proof of financial responsibility is usualy a certificate (SR-22)
issued by an insurance company licensed to do business in Wis-
consin. The SR-22 must certify that the person has liability insur-
ance in the amounts of at least $25,000 and $50,000, for personal
injury or death and $10,000 for property damage. A person can
also post a bond or make a cash deposit for these amounts with
DMV.

Bureau of Driver Services
Compliance and Restoration Section
(608) 266-2261
cnr.dmv@dot.state.wi.us

Insurance Filings SR22 & SR 26
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Withdrawal Cagses Reinstated
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What arerevocations and suspensions?

What conditions lead to a license
revocation?

What conditions lead to a license
suspension?

Who orders revocations and suspen-
sions?

How isa person notified of a revocation or
suspension?

How long does a revocation run?

How long does a suspension run?

For moreinformation contact:

Revocations and suspensions are the two most common actions
taken to withdraw adriver’ s operating privilege. Suspensionisthe
more lenient action and means the privilege is put on hold for a
given time. Revocation means compl ete termination of thedriving

privilege.
A conviction on one or moreviolations of major traffic regulations,

crimes, or alcohol regulations leads to a revocation. Other condi-
tionsare:

operating whileintoxicated
attempting to elude an officer

refusal to submit to achemical test for intoxication

truancy
failureto pay forfeiture
failureto pay child or family support

non-compliance with orders for assessment concerning use
of alcohol or drugs

failure to pay damages resulting from amotor vehicle crash

Revocations and suspensions for single offenses are ordered by
the courts or by the Department of Transportation, depending on
thetype of violation. Administrative actions of the DMV aretaken
when the license withdrawal is the result of multiple offenses.

In some cases court personnel may advise a person that arevoca
tion/suspension will occur as aresult of the court’s actions. In all
cases, the DMV issues an order of revocation or suspension and
mailsit by first class mail to the person’slast known address.

Periods of revocation can run from a one day minimum to a 20-
year maximum for unsatisfied judgments.

Periods of suspension can run from aone day minimum to “indefi-
nite” periods. These periods are strictly governed by the statute
under which a suspension is ordered.

Bureau of Driver Services
Revocations and Suspensions Section
(608) 266-2261
cnr.dmv@dot.state.wi.us
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Revocations/Suspensions
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Rank Code Charge Quantity YTD % of Total
1 FPF Failureto pay forfeiture 120,911 38.61%
2 DR Driver record 41,247 13.17%
3 owl Operating under influence of intoxicant or con. sub. 32,689 10.44%
4 BAC Blood alcohol concentration 27,948 8.92%
5 OAR Operating after revocation** 11,956 3.82%
6 UAL Underage al cohol 11,498 3.67%
7 NCI Noncompliance with Assessment | nterview 11,011 3.52%
8 Oows Operating while suspended* * 10,513 3.36%
9 D Drug convictions 8,130 2.60%
10 NCP Noncompliance with Driver Safety Plan 4,989 1.59%
u FPJ Failureto pay forfeiture-juvenile 4,353 1.39%
12 HTO Habitual traffic offender 3,560 1.14%
13 DJN Damage judgement accruing from negligent operation 3,226 1.03%
14 SRR Safety Responsibility revocation of registration 2,782 0.89%
15 IC Implied consent 2,673 0.85%
16 JA Juveniled cohol 2,333 0.74%
17 SE Speeding excess 1,979 0.63%
18 PAC Prohibited Alcohol Concentration 1,767 0.56%
19 SR Safety Responsibility - revocation 1,448 0.46%
20 FPN Failureto pay non-traffic 1414 0.45%
21 T Truancy 1,298 0.41%
22 UAO Underage a cohol operation 1,243 0.40%
23 NCA NoncomplianceArrest whilein Plan 849 0.27%
24 AEO Attempt to elude officer 593 0.19%
25 NCF Noncompliance with Assessment Fee 447 0.14%
26 Oll Operating whileintoxicated causing injury 434 0.14%
27 JCS Juvenile controlled substances 327 0.10%
28 FSA Failure to stop after accident 262 0.08%
29 FD Found delinquent 157 0.05%
30 NCT Noncompliance Pay Treatment Fee 120 0.04%
3l RHT Repeat HTO 18 0.04%
32 DQF Disqualification 110 0.04%
33 CAC Commercial administrative suspension 3 0.03%
A RD Recklessdriving 76 0.02%
35 VUF Vehicle used in commission of felony 76 0.02%
36 UL Illegal use of operator’slicense 71 0.02%
37 GBH Great bodily harm 43 0.01%
3 1Y Intoxicant in vehicle carrying underage person 42 0.01%
39 FA Falsified application 36 0.01%
40 uiD Underage 1D 36 0.01%
41 LOL Loaning of license 32 0.01%
42 CWiI Commercia operating whileintoxicated 28 0.01%
43 OwWL Operating without driver license 26 0.01%
4 SVO Seriousviolation-occupational license 23 0.01%
45 NHI Negligent homicideintoxicated 21 0.01%
46 FPS Failureto pay support 16 0.01%
a7 INF Insurance Filed 15 0.00%
48 owbD Operating whiledisqualified 14 0.00%
49 IVO Intoxicant in vehicle-operator 13 0.00%
50 NH Negligent homicide 12 0.00%
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Rank Code Charge Quantity YTD % of Total
51 VOO  Violation of occupational license 12 0.00%
52 S Speeding 9 0.00%
53 ICU Implied consent underage 8 0.00%
7 ORS  Operating while Registration Suspended 8 0.00%
55 FOS Failureto obey traffic sign or signal 7 0.00%
56 FRA Failure to report accident 7 0.00%
57 FSU Failure to stop after accident-unattended vehicle 7 0.00%
53 OCS  Operating whileintox.-controlled substance 7 0.00%
59 Sl Speeding intermediate 7 0.00%
60 DSP Duty upon striking property 5 0.00%
61 ID I nattentivedriving 5 0.00%
62 CA Commercia alcohol 4 0.00%
63 FFS Failure to fasten seat belt 4 0.00%
64 UCD  Underage Consent Decree 4 0.00%
65 CSE Commercial speeding excess (20 or more over) 3 0.00%
66 IS Imprudent speed 3 0.00%
67 IVP I ntoxicant in vehicle-passenger 3 0.00%
68 R Racing 3 0.00%
69 uv Unregistered vehicle 3 0.00%
70 ADL  Altered driver license 2 0.00%
71 DWS  Driving onwrong side of highway 2 0.00%
72 FSB Failureto stop for school bus 2 0.00%
73 JD Juvenile|D 2 0.00%
74 PI Passingillegally 2 0.00%
75 BI Backingillegally 1 0.00%
76 CAD Commercia acohol causing death 1 0.00%
77 CUL Commercial unlawful license 1 0.00%
78 CVF  Commercia Vehicleused in Commission of Felony 1 0.00%
79 DLT Deviating from lane of traffic 1 0.00%
80 FPD Failureto pay Driver Improvement Surchrge 1 0.00%
81 FYR Failuretoyield right of way 1 0.00%
82 FTC Followingtoo closely 1 0.00%
83 HIC Haz commercial implied consent 1 0.00%
A IE I mproper equipment 1 0.00%
85 MSC  Miscellaneous 1 0.00%
86 IL No or improper lights 1 0.00%
87 oT Obstructing traffic 1 0.00%
83 PUP  Permitting unauthorized person to operate 1 0.00%

Total*

*Includes only in-state revocations and suspensions.
** Beginning with the July 1998 report, OAR & OWS will be reported as separate totals.
Source: WISDOT/DMV Bureau of Driver Services Report No. P7011924-2

313,191
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What isa commercial driving school ?

Arethere special requirementsfor driving
school instructor s?

What does the license cost?

Can all commercial schools teach persons
under age 18?

How many hours of instruction arere-
quired for personsunder age 18?

If a person does not completedriver educa-
tion, what must be done?

What doesit cost to attend?

For more information contact:

A commercial driving school teaches students to operate a motor
vehicle. DMV licenses schools and instructors and inspects them
to ensure they continue to meet licensing requirements. There are
110 licensed driving school semploying 598 instructors.

Commercia driving school instructors must:
hold an instructor’ s license
be employed by alicensed driving school
have held avalid Wisconsin license at |east one year
meet specified driving record criteria
present an acceptable medical report
completeatraining program

passawritten and oral test administered by theDMYV to evalu-
ate knowledge of instruction procedures, traffic laws, safety
eguipment and the function of automotive equipment

pass an extensive road test
pass avision and hearing screening

The driving school license is $95. The instructor license is $25.
Both licenses expire December 31st each year.

A school that teaches persons under 18 must receive prior authori-
zation. They must submit a course outline, lesson plans and the
name of the text book. Schools meeting these requirements can
teach classroom and/or behind-the-wheel portions of the curricu-
lum and issue the course completion certificates required for li-
censing.

Classroom instruction consists of 30 hoursover aminimum of three
weeks. Behind the whedl contains six hours of actual driving and
six hours of observation. It may run concurrently with the class-
room portion.

If aperson (under 18) does not take the behind-the-wheel portion
of driver education within 13 months of completing the classroom
instruction, he/she must take a 10-hour refresher course. These
courses can be taken at a commercial school which offers the re-
fresher course.

Commercial driving schools determine their own fees.

Bureau of Driver Services

Records and Licensing Information Section
(608) 266-2353

rlis.dmv@dot.state.wi.us
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What isatraffic safety program?

Where and when are they offered?

What rules apply to point reduction?

How much do the cour ses cost?

For moreinformation contact:

TheDMV, along with Dodge County Human Servicesand the Wis-
consin Technical College System (WTCS), administerstraffic safety
courses to assist individuals in modifying their driving behavior.
The coursesinclude:

- Traffic Safety School (TSS) course which reviews basic safe
driving concepts

Group Dynamics course designed for drivers who have been
convicted of operating while intoxicated (OWI1), and are as-
sessed to beirresponsible drinkers

Multiple Offender Program (MOP) course for drivers who
have been convicted of OWI more than once and are assessed
to beirresponsible drinkers

Basic Rider & Experienced Rider courses (see “Motorcycle
License—ClassM")

These interactive courses are offered throughout the state, prima-
rily through the WTCS. Driverswho receive warning | etters about
their demerit point status are advised of the school locations on the
back of the letter. Drivers convicted of OWI and ordered to take
GD or MOP as part of their driver safety plan will beinformed of
the school or agency to contact by the assessment agency ordering
their attendance.

Classes are run during the day, evenings, and weekends to accom-
modate most schedules and allow students to compl ete the classes
assoon aspossible. In 2001, 3,511 individualscompleted the Traffic
Safety School; 10,213 the Group Dynamics; and 1,502 the Multiple
Offender Program.

Instructors are individuals who have been hired by the WTCS dis-
trict and are certified by DMV. Instructors are required to have
training in driver and safety education, and/or alcohol and other
drug treatment education or counseling.

Drivers taking the courses may elect to have their demerit points
reduced by three after successful completion of the course. Only
motorcycle convictions can be reduced by three points upon comple-
tion of a Basic Rider or Experienced Rider Course. Drivers may
only have their points reduced once every five years. The student
has 30 days from completion of the course to notify the Depart-
ment of Transportation of any change in his/her request for point
reduction.

Drivers whose licenses have been suspended or revoked for de-
merit points may not use a point reduction course to regain their
driving privileges.

Fees for these courses are set by the institutions and they vary.
Bureau of Driver Services

Program Development

John Alley
(608) 266-0614
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Whoisrequired totakeadriving
skillstest?

Wherearedriving skillstests given?

What do | need to bringtothedriving
skillstest?

What doesit cost?

What comprisesadriving skillstest?

Anyone applying for:
an original Class D operator’slicense (auto and small trucks)
anoriginal ClassA, B, or C commercial operator’s license

an original P (passenger) endorsement to operate large motor
buses

an origina S(school bus) endorsement to operate any school
bus

reinstatement of alicense expired more than four years
arestricted license

aspecial restricted license

an original ClassM (motorcycle) license

Tests may be waived for drivers with a valid out-of-state license
and for drivers who have had a valid license within four years.
DMV may require adriving skillstest whenever it has good cause
to question a person’s ability to operate a motor vehicle safely due
toaphysical or medical disability.

DMV conductsdriving skillstests, by appointment, at Service Cen-
ters located throughout the state.

A licensed driver must accompany an applicant with aninstruction
permit or expired license. If the applicant is under 18, proof of
driver education and sponsorship is also required.

An applicant must provide the appropriate vehicle for the class of
license needed. Prior to the test, the examiner inspects the vehicle
for safety defects and valid registration. If problems are detected,
the driving skillstest may be denied.

A driving skillstest inacommercial vehicle other than aschool bus
costs $20. A skillstest in anon-commercia vehicle and school bus
costs $15.

Separate tests are given for each license class and endorsement.
All tests involve a series of actual traffic situations designed to
measure how well the driver responds to road and traffic condi-
tions. Starting/stopping; backing (except for classM); parking; left
and right turns; mirror usage; spacing; lane selection and position
within alane; and observing traffic signals; highway signs; right-
of-way for vehiclesand pedestrians, and other traffic laws aretested
for al license classes. The criteriafor a class M license include:
use of front and rear brakes, balance and control, and position for
seeing and being seen. CDL skillstest exercisesinclude: apre-trip
inspection; mountain climb and descent; and, depending on class(es)
and endorsement(s) sought, railroad crossing and student discharge.
A driving skillstest takes 20 to 90 minutes depending on thelicense
class and endorsement for which you are applying.
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If1 don’t pass, can | takethetest again? Yes. Depending upon your test results, you may berequired to wait

For moreinformation contact:

1, 7 or 14 days before another test is allowed. Grounds for not
qudifyinginclude:

inexperience
failuretofollow directions
contributing to an accident
dangerous action

law violation

Bureau of Field Services
Bonnie Phafeuf

Technical & Training Services Section
(608) 266-9547

or any local DMV Service Center

150,000
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Source: Bureau of Field Services, 3089 Annual Report
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What is the purpose of the knowledge DMV uses knowledge exams to test applicants’ ability to recog-
exam? nize highway signs and knowledge of traffic laws and safe-
driving practices.

How isthe exam given? The exam is generally a self-administered knowledge test. It is
available in Spanish, Vietnamese, Korean, Laotian, Hmong, Pol-
ish, Russian, Chinese, Cambodian, German, Italian, Serb/Croatian
and Arabic as well as English. Examiners can also give an oral
exam to individuals with reading or language difficulty. A depart-
ment-approved interpreter may be used for learning-impaired per-
sons or to meet specia language needs.

Whoisrequired to take the exam? The exams are required for:
original instruction permits
- specia restricted licenses
original CDL endorsements
original or renewal school bus endorsements
renewal of CDL HazMat endorsements

The exams are also required for individuals applying for renewal
of aninstruction permit and renewal of alicense expired morethan
4 years.

Where are exams given? DMV offers exams at Service Centers on a wak-in basis. The
exams are also given at many local high schools in conjunction
with their driver-education programs.

What does it cost? There is no cost for taking a knowledge exam. Upon successful
completion of the exam, the applicant isissued either an instruc-
tional permit or alicensefor afee. See“ Driver License,” “ Driving
Skills Test,” and “Instruction Permits’ for applicable fees.

How many exams are conducted annu- Over 350,162 knowledge exams were conducted in 2001.
ally?
For more information contact: Bureau of Field Services

Bonnie Phaneuf

Technical & Training Services Section
(608) 266-9547

or any local DMV Service Center
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2001 CDL Knowledge Exams

Pass/Fail

Failed =
39,552

Passed =
60,157

Source: Bureau of Field Services 3089 Annual Report

Types of Exam
Double/Triple
Tanker 2% FarmSvc
5% 0.2%
Passenger Bus Gen.
8% Know ledge
School Bus 24%
8%
Combination
Veh. Air Brakes
13% 21%
Hazmat
19%

Source: Bureau of Field Services 3089 Annual Report
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Non-Commercial Knowledge Exams Conducted
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What isCDL Third Party Testing?

What isa CDL Third Party Tester?

Whoisa Third Party Examiner?

What isrequired of Third Party Testers?

Arethere special requirementsfor being a
Third Party Examiner?

What doesit cost to bea Third Party
Tester?

Do Third Party Testerschargefor thetests
they conduct?

Do Third Party Testersissuethe CDL?

How many testersand examinersarein the
program?

For moreinformation contact:

State law allows authorized persons other than employes of the
department to administer skillsteststo applicantsfor acommercial
driverslicense.

A private employer, agency, or person authorized by the depart-
ment to administer the third party testing program.

A person who is employed by a third party tester, who is trained
and certified by the department to conduct CDL skillstests.

A company, agency, or person who wishesto be atester must meet
all department requirements for place of business, employ at least
one third party examiner, employ one official who is responsible
for the organization’ sthird party testing program, conduct at |east
12 CDL skillstests annually, and agree to have their program au-
dited/inspected by the department or FMCSA, with or without prior
notice.

Third party examiners must hold a valid certificate issued by the
department. They must have a CDL of the class, and endorsed for
vehicles representative of the type they intend to test. Examiners
must have an exemplary driving record. Examiners must have at
least two years of licensed experience driving the class of vehicle
they intend to test. Third party examiners must receive the same
CDL skillstest training as employes of the department and conduct
the same skills tests. Third party examiners must conduct at least
12 CDL skill testsannually.

A third party tester must pay for training costs and annual applica-
tion fees of $100 plus $25 for each examiner they employ. Third
party tester authorization expires each year on December 31st.

Third party testers may charge a fee for the skills tests they con-
duct, but may not exceed the fee set by the department for third
party testers. Any chargefor providing the applicant with avehicle
to use for the test may be determined by the third party tester. The
third party tester retains all fees collected for administering skills
tests.

Third party testers may only administer the CDL skills test. The
driver must make application for aCDL, takethe necessary knowl-
edge tests, pay the license fee, and have the license processed at
one of the DMV Service Centers.

There are 141 testerswho employ approximately 243 examinersin
the program. (Thisincludes about 150 examinerswho are certified
to test school buses).

Bureau of Field Services
Technical and Training Services Section
(608) 266-9831 or (608) 266-2653
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Trans 101,102, 103, 104 and 117:

The following rules were modified to incorporate the provi-
sionsof 1999 Act 9, mostly related to Wisconsin's Graduated
Driver Licensing (GDL) law. All were effective 9/1/00.

Trans101- Prior torevision, thisruledealt primarily with the
demerit point system and it was changed to reflect point dou-
bling and mandatory 6 -month suspensions for probationary
drivers. In addition it was enhanced and it’s title changed to
include specific language covering GDL restriction extensions.
The changes cover many areas including the demerit point
system, offensesresulting in extension of GDL restrictions.

Trans102 - Thisrulecoversoperator’slicensesand ID cards.
Under authority given by 1999 Act 9, WisDOT added rules
relating to copying of driver licenses.

Trans 103 - A change making Habitual Traffic Offender
(HTO) cases effective on the date WisDOT mails the order
of license revocation was madeto the HTO rule. Thisamend-
ment was already in process prior to rule revisions related to
1999 Act 9 and was incorporated with the GDL changes for
efficiency in the rule-making process.

Trans 104 - The rule relating to examination procedures for
operator’slicense was enhanced to include provisionsof GDL
and to specify policy for processing drivers moving to Wis-
consin from others states in relation to the new GDL law.

Trans 117 - A paragraph was added to the occupational li-
censeruleto makeit clear that restrictionson aperson’sregular
license carry over totheir occupational license, including GDL
restrictions.

*Note: These rules were actually effective
9/1/2000 but did not make the 2000 DMV Facts & Figures.
Therefore they are included here for historical purposes.
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AB 245/SB 10 - ACT 15 Requires motorists approach-
ing certain authorized emergency vehicles, tow trucks,
road machinery or highway construction or maintenance
vehicles (that are stopped near a highway and that are
flashing emergency lights) to moveinto alane not near-
est the stopped vehicleand totravel inthat laneif avail-
able or to dow down to a safe speed until they have
passed by the stopped emergency vehiclesor tow trucks.
Forfeitureis $30-300 and DL suspensions; 90 days - 1
year, if property damage; 180 days - 2 year if injury;
and 2 yearsif death. (Effective: 12/1/01)

Budget Bill - ACT 16
1. Creates anew set of Repeat OWI penaltiesfor 2 or
more convictionsin any 5 year period (9/30/01)
e A minimum 1 year revocation with no
occupational licensng during that period
e Immobilizationor 11D requiredonal
vehicles
e Seizure may be ordered onthird or more
conviction
« For the second conviction, the court shall
order 5daysinjail or at lest 30 daysof
community service,
» Double community servicetimefor
second offense OWI to 30 days
(Effective9/30/01)

2. Increasesthe OWI surcharge by $10 (from $345
to $355) (9/1/01)

3. Permits courts to suspend the operating privilege of
ajuvenileif they have not paid aforfeitureimposed for
an ordinance violation unrelated to the use of a motor
vehicel (AB 5/SB 59/SB 60) (Effective on FPJ con-
victionson or after 10/1/01)

DMV Redesign: DOT received $1 million in FY 02
for DMV redesign. DOT also received $660,990 in
FY 02 to implement daily expiration and 1999 Act 88.
In FY03, $2 million is placed in DOA reserve. DOT
and DEG to prepare areport on DOT IT needs. DOA
may transfer any of the $2 million to pay the cost of the
study. Upon DOA approval, DOA may release funds
for DMV redesign.

License Plates. Plate reissuance is extended from 5to 7
years, and reissuing heavy trucks/trailer plates in FY03.
Also, establish a uniform $15 issuance/reissuance fee for
special plates.

Oversize/Overweight Permit System: Surcharge re-
mains at 10%, to sunset 6/30/03.

DMV Record Fees; Increase in vehicle and driver record
access fee by $2.

Vehicle Theft: Statutory change to specify that theft of a
leased or rented motor vehicle occurs after the lease or
rental agreement has expired.

Failure to Pay Judgement: Authority for courts to sus-
pend juveniles driverslicensefor failureto pay fineor for-
feiture for non-traffic related offense.

Veterans Motorcycle Plate: A special motorcycle plate
is created for veterans. The plate will be available in se-
quential and personalized plates. Effective March 1, 2002.
DOT received $34,600 in FY 02 for implementation.

Environmental Impact Fee: This fee, which goes to
DNR, increases from $6 to $9, effective 10/1/01. The fee
is included with the title fee. The fee sunsets December
31, 2003.

Lapses. Severa provisions that will Iapse funds to the
Transportation Fund. Two of these directly affect DMV:
1. General Fund Lapse
2. Administrative Appropriation Reduction
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ITEM

Counter Service Fees
Registration Fees (1 & 2)
Dedler License Fees

Fast Service Fees

Domestic - IRP (2)

Foreign - IRP (2)
Supplemental Title Fee
Traffic Violation & Reg. Fees
Permit Fees

Telephone Access

Drivers License Fees
Occupational License Fees
Disabled ID Cards

Financial Reinstatement
Registration Reinstatement Fees
Abstract Sales (2)

Sales to Other (2)
Oversize/Overweight Permits
Salvage Veh. Inspection Fees
TOTAL

FY 1998
5,229,338
200,412,930
861,648
467,926
18,686,945
17,292,300
10,839,418
764,320
2,623,466
81,065
26,346,968
780,367
374,619
7,265
556,115
8,586,178
1,169,922
3,615,715
275,997

$ 298,972,502

FY 1999
5,403,857
203,927,120
876,200
477,184
15,750,903
23,947,397
10,977,353
839,143
2,660,658
75,936
32,350,112
800,783
630,549
8,571
613,373
8,608,119
1,288,859
3,965,105
284,951

$ 313,216,173

Transportation Fund Revenue Collected by
TheDivision of Motor Vehicles

FY 2000
5,584.847
222,166,502
879,957
452,265
18,159,572
20,648,107
11,280,020
758,905
2,644,611
73,487
34,711,024
897,672
666,920
8,038
615,188
9,467,267
583,697
4,276,146
296,340

$ 334,170,565

FY 2001
5,486,019
217,430,891
871,762
427,855
17,158,330
21,599,088
10,940,625
875,924
2,595,766
77,000
34,665,141
963,807
735,452
9,512
519,914
9,916,184
526,482
4,464,177
347,810
$329,611,739

Notes:

(1) 7210 Registration Fees. Includeregistration, renewal, titleand lien fees.
(@ Revenuefrom Explorewerereportedin Salesto Othersin FY9andinAbstract Salesin FY 0.

(3 The revenue amounts are net amounts.The following amounts were retained by the Trustee for highway bonding purposes.

Registration Fees
Domestic IRP
Foreign IRP
TOTAL

FY 1998
59,352,713
5,119,345
7,461,422

$ 71,933,480

FY 1999
70,757,520
6,936,338
3,575,016

$ 81,268,874

FY 2000
67,566,539
9,070,985
7,535,504

$ 84,173,028

FY 2001
72,067,282
8,815,753
8,192,960
$89,075,995

For more information contact:

Bureau of Driver Services
Traffic Accident Section

Candy Dyhr
(608) 266-2612
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What isaircraft registration?

Do aircraft actually have license plates?

Why isDMV now registering aircraft?

How isaircraft registration enforced?

What isthe annual volumefor aircraft
registration activities?

For moreinformation contact:

Private non-commercial aircraft based in Wisconsin are required
to either obtain registration or file for an exemption. Wisconsin
aircraft registration wasfirst implemented in the 1950s at the same
time that private aircraft were exempted from the local property
tax. The Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) issues Federal
registration for aircraft.

No. All aircraft areissued an“N” number by the FAA, for example
“N-1234." This number must be displayed on avisible part of the
aircraft. Having an “N” number does not mean that registration is
current. Aircraft are issued a certificate of registration similar to
the certificate of registration issued for highway vehicles.

Aircraft registration was previously handled by the Bureau of Aero-
nautics in the Division of Transportation Infrastructure Develop-
ment. DMV staff are registration experts, efficiently handling almost
4 million vehicle renewals annualy. Aircraft registration is very
similar to vehicle registration. There are 21 weight categories for
registration fees, annual and biennial registration. Thereisaregis-
tration category of antique aircraft very similar to antique and col-
lector motor vehicles. There are anumber of aircraft typesthat are
exempt from registration fees. Even the aircraft registration form
looks very much like DMV'sMV 1 form.

All aircraft using federal or state-financed airports must be regis-
tered with the FAA in order to use a publicly-financed airport. A
match with DOT and FAA records is done annually to check for
non-registered aircraft. Owners of unregistered aircraft are con-
tacted by DOT. If aircraft registration feesare not paid, the FAA is
contacted and alien is placed on the aircraft listing DOT asalien-
holder. This FAA lien is not removed until all fees, including late
penalties, are paid to DOT. Bureau of Aeronautics staff on airport
inspection tripswill check for unregistered aircraft. If any unregis-
tered aircraft are found, the owner will be sent a letter by DMV.
Airport operators are also instructed to check for unregistered air-
craft. As revenue from aircraft registration goes to Wisconsin air-
port maintenance and improvement funding, there has been very
good cooperation with aircraft ownersand airport operatorsin find-
ing unregistered aircraft.

Registered aircraft as of December 31, 2001: 7,297
Renewals processed annually: 3,139, based in WI
Unregistered aircraft found through FAA match: 470
L ate renewal notices sent: 120

Bureau of Vehicle Services
Vehicle Registration and Titling Unit
(608) 266-1861
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What isthe purpose of the Disabled
Parking I dentification Card?

Who may obtain a card?

What isrequired?

What types of cards are available?

DMV issues Disabled Parking Identification Cards (DISID) to
physically disabled personsor to organizationsthat regularly trans-
port persons with disabilities.

A person displaying aDISID card on their vehicle:

isexempt from any parking ordinanceimposing time limits of
one-half hour or morelimitation but otherwiseis subject tothe
lawsrelating to parking.

can park without payment in metered stalls when the time
limit is one-half hour or more.

may park in spaces reserved for disabled persons marked by
official traffic signsindicating the restriction.

may obtain motor fuel from afull-service pump at the same
price as the motor fuel dispensed from aself-service pump at
locations which sell both.

A card may be obtained by:

any person certified by a Health Care Specialist to have a
disability as defined by statute that limits or impairsthe abil-
ity towalk.

an organization that regularly transports persons who have a
disability as defined by statute that limits or impairsthe abil-
ity towalk.

Anindividual shall complete a specia application form which in-
cludes a section that must be completed and signed by aphysician
whoislicensed to practice medicinein any state, an advanced prac-
tice nurse licensed to practice nursing in any state, aphysician as-
sistant who is licensed or certified to practice in any state, a
chiropractor licensed to practice chiropractic in any state, a Chris-
tian Science practitioner residing in thisstateand listed inthe Chris-
tian Science journal, or arepresentative of the U.S. Department of
Veterans Affairs.

An organization’ s application must be completed by an official of
the organization.

Persons with a permanent disability will be issued ablue disabled
parking ID card that must be renewed and recertified every four
years. Persons with atemporary disability will beissued ared card
that isvalid amaximum of six months. If the disability lastslonger
than originally estimated, anew card is issued upon completion of
an application.
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What do they cost?

For more information contact:

Thefeefor adisability card (permanent or temporary) is$6. Appli-
cations made at DMV Service Centers are subject to an additional
$3 per application counter service fee.

Bureau of Vehicle Services

Special Plates & Parking Citations Unit
(608) 266-3041
specia-plates.dmv@dot.state.wi.us

or

Dennis Barr

(608)261-2575
dennis.barr@dot.state.wi.us

Note: DISID cards are available at several DMV Service Centers.
A comprehensive list of those issuing DISID cards may be ob-
tained by calling (608) 266-3041.

Disabled Parking Identification Cards
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What is* heavy vehicle use tax” ? Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (HVUT) isan annual tax assessed by the
Federal Internal Revenue Service (IRS) on vehicles operating on
public highways at a gross weight of 55,000 Ibs. and greater.

Although the tax has been in effect since 1954, the federal govern-
ment held the states responsible for enforcement beginning in Oc-
tober 1985. The federal government distributes revenues back to
states for highway construction and maintenance.

What is proof of compliance? A carrier must send proof of HYUT compliance to the DMV with
their registration renewal. For vehicles registered annual (IRP and
Intrastate), proof is sent in with the annual renewal. For Intrastate
vehicles registered quarterly or consecutive monthly, proof is sent
inwith thefirst registration during acalendar year. Proof of HVUT
compliance cannot be sent separately from the IRP or Intrastate
registration renewal. Proof of compliance may be either:

acopy of areceipted Schedule 1 from IRS form 2290, or

acopy of acompleted 2290, Schedule 1 and both sides of the
canceled check

Arethere any exemptionsfrom HVUT? Y es. Some exemptions are:

- vehicleswhich travel fewer than 5,000 miles annually or ag-
ricultural vehicleswhich travel fewer than 7,500 miles annu-
ally. Carriers must file Schedule 1 with the IRS and send a
receipted copy to the DMV

mobile cranesand well-drilling vehicleswhen the carrier files
asigned statement with the DMV which liststhe vehicleiden-
tification number, vehicle type and tax year

- vehicles registered at 56,000 Ibs. but actually operating be-
tween 54,001 and 54,999 Ibs. when asigned statement isfiled
with the DMV

However, evenif exempted, the carrier may berequired to filewith
the IRS or notify the DMV of exempt status.

A carrier must file tax forms with the IRS by the end of the month

iled?
When are tax forms filed following the month the vehiclesfirst operated on public highways.

For more information contact: Bureau of Vehicle Services
Interstate
(608) 261-2573

Intrastate
(608) 264-8735



International Registration Plan (IRP) 75

What isthe International Registration
Plan?

How many states participatein IRP?

Who must register with IRP?

What vehiclesmust beregistered?

Areany vehicles exempt?

For moreinformation contact:

The International Registration Plan (IRP) is a vehicle registration
system which registers motor carriers with al jurisdictions they
operatein by filing one application with their ‘base’ or home state.
Registration fees are calculated on the percentage of miles a car-
rier travels in each jurisdiction. The base jurisdiction collects the
fees for all jurisdictions where the carrier operates and forwards
the fees to those jurisdictions. The carrier is issued one license
plate and cab card for each vehicle. The cab card lists all jurisdic-
tionswith which the vehicleisregistered. IRP registrationisvalid
for both interstate and intrastate operations.

By January 2003, there will be 58 member states and Canadian
provinces (Wisconsinjoined the IRPin 1978).

Interstate carriers who are residents of an IRP state, or who have
an established place of business in an IRP state are required to
register with IRP. At the carrier’ s option, trip permits may be pur-
chased in lieu of IRP registration.

The types of vehiclesthat register with IRP are:
- vehicles operating or registered over 26,000 |bs.
- vehicles with three or more axles, regardless of weight

combination vehi cleswith acombined weight over
26,000 Ibs.

Vehicles with restricted plates such as farm vehicles, city pickup
and delivery vehicles, government-owned vehicles, recreationa
vehicles, and charter buses may be exempt from IRP registration.

Bureau of Vehicle Services
Motor Carrier Services Section
Motor Carrier Registration Unit
Tim Gabraith

(608) 261-2573

timothy.gal braith@dot.state.wi.us
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International Registration Plan Applications Processed
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Due to the migration to staggered registration, FY99/00 IRP was reduced by about 25%.
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Who is subject to audit by the Depart-

ment?

What is the purpose of audits?

How are motor carriers selected for
audit?

What records are required?

How is the audit conducted?

For more infor mation contact:

Motor carrierslicensing their vehicles under the International Reg-
istration Plan (IRP), and International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA).

Records are examined to verify the miles and fuel use reported.
Billings or refunds are i ssued when acceptably maintained records
indicate additional payments or refunds are due. Other IRP and
IFTA jurisdictions are informed of audit findings just as Wiscon-
sinisinformed of audits done by the other IRP and IFTA jurisdic-
tions.

Audits are picked on arandom selection basis and al so selected by
information received from other sources which may indicate an
audit is necessary.

Individual vehicle distance recordsand their supporting documents
(drivers daily logs, billsof lading, fuel receipts, etc.) must be main-
tained to support the miles listed on the motor carrier’s applica-
tion. Records are to be retained for 5 1/2 years.

Upon noetification of the department’ s intent to audit, motor carri-
ers may either submit their records to the department or be con-
tacted at their place of business during regular working hours. Firms
may be audited every year. The IFTA and the IRP require the base
jurisdictions to audit am average of 3% per year.

Bureau of Vehicle Services

Motor Carrier Services Section

Motor Carrier Insurance AuthorityAudit Unit
Thom Rabaglia

(608) 264-7239
thomas.rabaglia@dot.state.wi.us
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How isthe state fuel tax collected?

How much fuel must be purchased?

What if fuel isover purchased?

Wherearetax reportsfiled?

Why was interstate fuel tax report filing

transferred to DOT?

What isa “base state” fuel tax program?

For moreinformation contact:

Fuel tax is collected at the pump (retail sales), through payments
made to the Wisconsin Department of Revenue ashbulk fuel isused,
or when the motor carrier files quarterly fuel tax reports with the
Department of Transportation.

A carrier must pay tax on the number of gallons used on Wiscon-
sin highways. For example, if amotor carrier used 1000 gallons of
fuel on Wisconsin highways, 1000 tax-paid gallons must be pur-
chased or funds equal to the amount of tax on 1000 gallons remit-
ted to the State of Wisconsin.

If the carrier buys more fuel than is required to cover Wisconsin
usage, a refund may be obtained on the taxes paid for the excess
fuel.

Wisconsin-based motor carriersfile quarterly or annual reportswith
theMotor Carrier Services Section, Motor Carrier Registration Unit.
Annual reports may befiled by Wisconsin residents operating less
than 5,000 total milesin IFTA jurisdictions.

The program was moved from the Department of Revenueto DOT
in 1987 to promote a“ one-stop” concept of service to motor carri-
ers. “One-stop” allows carriersto file al required reports and ob-
tain all necessary credentialsin one office.

A “base state” agreement allows a carrier to file reports, pay fees,
and obtain credentials through its base/home state. The base state
forwards all fuel use dataand tax owed to other statesin the agree-
ment. There are 58 jurisdictions that are members of IFTA.

Bureau of Vehicle Services
Motor Carrier Services Section
Motor Carrier Registration Unit
Tim Gabraith

(608) 261-2573

timothy.gal braith@dot.state.wi.us
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Which motor carriersarerequired tofile
proof of insurance?

What are the minimum insurance limits?

Why is insurance required?

How is proof of insurance filed?

What arethe penaltiesfor operating
without filing insurance?

For moreinformation contact:

All carriers of passengers or property for-hire rental companies,
owners of all buses, human service vehicles, driver education ve-
hicles, and dealer demo vehicles (demonstrated with a load) are
required to file proof of insurance before operating in Wisconsin.

“For-hire” carriers need to carry insurance and pay the heavy ve-
hicle use tax (HVUT) on vehicles operating at a gross weight of
55,000 Ibs. even if they only operate in Wisconsin. See section on
“Heavy Vehicle Use Tax.”

Wisconsin's insurance minimums are established by the federal
government. They are:

combined singlelimit of $300,000 for vehiclesof 10,000 |bs.
or less transporting non-hazardous substances

combined singlelimit of $750,000 for vehiclesover 10,0001 bs.
transporting non-hazardous substances

combined singlelimit of $1,000,000 to $5,000,000 for vehicles
transporting hazardous substances (the required amount de-
pends upon the type of substances carried)

Insurance is required to promote public safety and ensure fiscal
responsibility of high-liability operations.

An authorized representative of the motor carrier’ sinsurance com-
pany must file evidence stating they have met all insurance re-
guirements:

For US DOT-regulated carriers Form BMC91 or BMC91X
must be filed with their base state

For US DOT-exempt carriers Form E or EX must be filed
before operating in Wisconsin

For Intrastate-only carriers Form E, EX or S-1 may befiled

Carrierswho operate without filing proof of insurance may be sub-
ject to enforcement action and cancellation of vehicle registration
and permits.

Bureau of Vehicle Services

Motor Carrier Services Section

Motor Carrier Insurance Authority/Audit Unit
Thom Rabaglia

(608) 264-7239
thomas.rabaglia@dot.state.wi.us
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Motor Carrier Insurance Filings
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What isthe Single State Registration
System (SSRS)?

How many states participate?

What credential will the carrier receiveto
indicate compliance with the SSRS
program?

For moreinformation contact:

The SSRSisaprogram in which for-hire carriers of passengers or
property file their US DOT authority and proof of insurance with
the base state in which the carrier has its principal place of busi-
ness.

All fees required for al states into which the carrier operates are
paid only to the base state, which then transmits the fees to the
other states. The registration period runs from January 1 through
December 31.

Carrierslocated in states not participating in the program and those
carriers from Canadian provinces are required to register with the
participating state where the greatest number of vehicleswill oper-
ate in the upcoming year.

As of December 31, 2000, there are 39 states participating in the
SSRS.

The base state will issue a single receipt indicating the states in
which the carrier may operate. The carrier isthen required to make
acopy for each vehiclefor which fees have been paid. The copy of
the receipt must be carried in each vehicle and the original kept at
the carrier’ s principal place of business. Carriers who operatein a
state for which fees haven’t been paid are subject to enforcement
action.

Bureau of Vehicle Services

Motor Carrier Services Section

Motor Carrier Insurance Authority/Audit Unit
Thom Rabaglia

(608) 264-7239
thomas.rabaglia@dot.state.wi.us
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Who can be an organ donor?

How do | indicate that | want to be an
organ donor?

What if | decide to become a donor after |
leavethe DMV station?

How do | amend the donor statement?

What if | change my mind about being a
donor?

DoesDMYV keep an organ-donor registry?

For moreinformation contact:

Anyone can be an organ donor. The anatomical Gift Act in
s.157.06(2) requires persons 18 or older to indicateif they wish to
be a donor.

Complete an application for aWisconsin driver license/identifica-
tion card:

Mark “yes’ to the organ donor question

Sign and date the reverse side of your driver license or iden-
tification card

Specify al or only specific parts/organs

NOTE: An orange sticker can also be placed on the license to aert
medical personnel.

Sign and date the reverse side of your driver license/identification
card:

- Specify al or only specific parts/organs

- Whenyou renew your driver license/identification card mark
“yes’ on the application to the organ donor question

Apply for aduplicatedriver license/identification card:
Pay $4.00 (driver license) or $6.00 (ID card)
Sign and date the reverse side of the driver license
- Specify all or specific partsorgans

Cross out the donor statement on the reverse of the driver license/
identification card.

No, the Division of Motor Vehicle records only indicate that the
person isapotentia donor.

Bureau of Driver Services

Recordsand Licensing Information Section
Customer Service Unit

(608) 266-2353

rlis.dmv@dot.state.wi.us
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887,691
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Organ Donors

Yes
719,070
29%

Not Checked
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35%

Source: Bureau of Driver Services, DONOR Report
NOTE: Does not include under 18 year olds or 'non’ records.
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When are permitsrequired?

Are all loads exceeding size or weight
limits eligible for a permit?

How are permits obtained?

Aretheredifferent types of permits?

Do carrierschoose their own routes?

Arecarriersrequired to haveinsurance?

For moreinformation contact:

Permits are required when:
the load size exceeds statutory limits
the gross vehicle weight exceeds 80,000 |bs.
individual axleweightsexceedlegal limitations

Generally only non-divisible loads, those that cannot be broken
into smaller loads, are eligible for the permit. There are some ex-
ceptions authorized by Wisconsin Statute 348.27.

Permits may be obtained:
at the Motor Carrier Services counter in Madison
by mail
by wire service
or with prior authorization, by phone, or internet

Yes. Carriers who frequently haul oversize or overweight loads
can apply for an annual permit. Special annual permits exist, e.qg.,
garbage loads, recyclable scrap, forest products, and others. Carri-
ers who occasionally haul oversize or overweight loads can pur-
chase asingletrip permit.

Annual permit holders can choose their own routes. Single trip
permits list a specific route which is reviewed by the DMV based
on road and bridge width, height, weight and construction limita-
tions. Carriers must stay on the assigned route.

Y es. Carriers must certify that insuranceisin effect in the amount
required for the size and weight of the vehicle/load being trans-
ported.

Bureau of Vehicle Services
Motor Carrier Services Section
Permits Unit

Kathleen Nichols

(608) 261-2574

kathl een.nichol s@dot.state.wi.us
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Who is eligible for a photo ID? Any Wisconsin resident who does not hold avalid photo license or
ID card from Wisconsin or other jurisdiction may request a photo
ID.

What must a person provide when apply- Theapplicant must provide:

ing for a photo ID? - proof of his’her name and date of birth through a certified

birth certificate, passport, or naturalization papers

acceptable proof of personal identification (usually a docu-
ment with a signature or photo)

his/her social security number

proof of residency (usually adocument with customer’sname
and Wisconsin address, such asautility bill)

What does it cost? Anoriginal or renewal 1D costs $9.00. A duplicate ID costs $6.00.

How long is a photo ID valid? Can it be The photo ID is valid for 4 years and can be renewed. A person

renewed? who holds an ID and obtains aWisconsin driver’s license may re-
tainthe ID until it expires.

Where can | get one? DMV issues photo IDs at DMV Service Centers located through-
out the state.

What record does the Department DMV creates or updates a computer record at the time the card is

maintain of photo |Ds? issued or renewed. It retainsthisrecord for at least 4 years beyond

the expiration date. Thisinformation is confidential and not avail-
ableto the public.

How many photo IDs are issued annu- In 1983, the first year of the program, fewer than 7,500 photo IDs
ally? wereissued. Thenumber hasincreased steadily. Over 155,996 were
issuedin 2001.

For more information contact: Bureau of Field Services

Bonnie Phaneuf

Technical & Training Services Section
(608) 266-9547

or any local DMV Service Center

Identification Cards Issued
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YEAROFBIRTH AGE MALE FEMALE TOTAL % MALE TOTAL
1902 B 13 0 2 25.00% 0.01%
1903 97 10 53 63 15.87% 0.02%
1904 9] 20 67 87 29% 0.02%
1905 b 24 117 141 17.02% 0.04%
1906 A H 134 20 16.36% 0.05%
1907 B 4 A A 13.61% 007%
1908 R 63 39 32 16.07% 0.10%
1909 a 418 489 14.52% 0.12%
EIGHTYEARTOTAL 277 1,461 1,738 15.94% 0.43%
1910 D 101 47 648 155%% 0.16%
91 & 14 639 743 14.00% 0.18%
1912 8 133 7% 929 14.32% 0.23%
1913 87 143 1032 13.86% 0.26%
1914 & 164 1031 1195 13.72% 0.30%
1915 & 171 1192 1,363 1255% 0.34%
1916 & 1% 1,289 1484 1314% 0.37%
1917 8 e’} 1,285 1479 1312% 0.37%
1918 2 ™ 1447 1681 12.14% 042%
1919 81 240 1385 1625 14.77% 040%
TENYEARTOTAL 1,649 10,530 12,179 13.54% 3.03%
1920 80 214 1532 1,746 12.26% 0.43%
1921 I 246 1571 1817 1354% 0.45%
192 K] 2711 1577 1,848 14.66% 0.46%
1923 7 20 1544 1794 1394% 0.45%
1924 76 2711 1676 1947 13.92% 0.48%
1925 1) 283 1,607 1,890 14.97% 047%
1926 A 22 1567 1859 15.71% 0.46%
1927 3 340 1577 1917 17.74% 048%
1928 7 349 1563 1912 18.25% 048%
1929 71 316 1450 1,766 17.8% 044%
TENYEARTOTAL 2,832 15,664 18,496 15.31% 4.60%
1930 0 375 1,618 1,993 1882% 0.50%
1931 ee) 329 1,398 1727 19.05% 043%
1932 35 1,367 1722 20.62% 0.43%
1933 67 #5 1295 1,640 21.04% 041%
1934 69) 35 1,309 1664 21.33% 041%
1935 b 39 1304 1,703 2343% 0.42%
1936 &4 451 1201 1652 27.30% 041%
1937 63 458 1,249 1,707 26.83% 042%
1938 62 537 1159 1,69% 31.66% 042%
1939 61 495 1152 1647 30.05% 041%
TENYEARTOTAL 4,099 13,052 17,151 23.90% 4.27%
1940 60 548 1175 1,723 3L.80% 043%
94 0 602 1224 1,826 3297% 045%
1942 <] 641 1123 184 3A5™% 0.46%
1943 57 713 1197 1910 37.33% 0.48%
1944 % 70 1235 1,965 37.15% 049%
1945 % 84 1189 2043 41.80% 0.51%
1946 7 905 1,336 2241 40.38% 0.56%
1947 3 1,149 1518 2667 43.08% 0.66%
1948 2 1,166 1425 2591 4500% 0.65%
1949 5l 1251 1510 2,761 4531% 0.69%

TENYEARTOTAL 8,559 13,022 21,581 39.66% 5.37%
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YEAROFBIRTH AGE MALE FEMALE TOTAL % MALE TOTAL

1950 0 1428 1482 2910 49.07% 0.72%
1951 49 1587 1632 3219 49.30% 0.80%
1952 48 1741 1,659 3400 51.21% 0.85%
1953 47 1929 1,783 3,712 5197% 0.92%
194 46 2,052 1,888 3940 52.08% 0.98%
1955 45 2178 2081 4,259 51.14% 1.06%
1956 4 2412 2092 4504 53.55% 1.12%
1957 43 2,772 2275 5047 54.92% 1.26%
1958 L2 2825 2208 5123 55.14% 1.28%
1959 4 3197 2378 5575 57.35% 1.3%
TENYEARTOTAL 22,121 19,568 41,689 53.06% 10.38%
1960 40 3405 2622 6,027 56.50% 150%
1961 el 3553 2651 6,204 57.2M% 1.54%
1962 3B 3618 2,689 6,307 57.36% 157%
1963 37 3,868 2695 6,563 58.94% 163%
1964 H 3972 2816 6,788 5852% 1.69%
1965 b 3,986 2,808 6,794 58.67% 1.69%
1966 H# 4,281 2915 7,196 59.49% 1.7%
1967 3B 4,387 292 7,309 60.02% 1.82%
1968 K74 4,604 3148 7,752 59.3% 1.93%
1969 3 5083 3,355 8438 60.24% 210%
TENYEARTOTAL 40,757 28,621 69,378 58.75% 17.27%
1970 0 5905 3817 9,722 60.74% 242%
1971 2 6,096 4042 10,138 60.13% 252%
1972 2 6,529 4,169 10,698 61.03% 2.66%
1973 27 6,932 4,365 11,297 61.36% 281%
1974 % 7922 4,955 12877 61.52% 3.21%
1975 ) 8,963 5505 14,468 61.95% 3.60%
1976 24 9,261 5775 15,036 61.5%% 3.74%
1977 PA] 9,762 5992 15754 61.97% 392%
1978 2 11,153 7,789 18942 58.88% 4.72%
1979 2 11,686 8,703 20,389 57.32% 5.08%
TENYEARTOTAL 84,209 55,112 139,321 60.44% 34.68%
1980 20 10,890 8,993 19,883 SA7% 4.95%
1981 19 9627 8,852 18479 52.10% 4.60%
1982 18 7594 7,900 15494 49.01% 3.86%
1983 17 3843 4,707 8550 44.95% 213%
1984 16 2,662 3,406 6,068 43.8M% 151%
1985 15 1,772 2322 4,094 43.28% 1.02%
1986 14 1,093 1271 2364 46.24% 0.59%
1987 13 603 668 1271 47.44% 0.32%
1988 12 451 466 o7 49.18% 0.23%
1989 n 328 314 642 51.09% 0.16%

TENYEARTOTAL 38,863 38,899 77,762 49.98% 19.36%
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YEAROFBIRTH AGE MALE FEMALE TOTAL % MALE TOTAL
1990 10 249 20 509 48.92% 0.13%
1991 9 23 20 439 54.44% 0.11%
1992 8 167 185 B2 47.44% 0.09%
1993 7 133 125 28 51.55% 0.06%
194 6 102 126 28 44.74% 0.06%
199% 5 DN A 193 51.30% 0.05%
19% 4 3 8L 14 47.40% 0.04%
1997 3 51 <] 109 47.7% 0.03%
1998 2 a1 % 100 44.00% 0.02%
1999 1 18 % 4 40.91% 0.01%
TENYEARTOTAL 1,175 1,211 2,386 49.25% 0.59%
GRANDTOTALS 204,541 197,140 401,681 50.92% 100.00%

Includes all types of status except those which expired prior to 12/31/01.
Source: Bureau of Driver Services, Report # #P70-118-05-03-07

As of 12/31/01
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What istelephone authorization?

Whoisé€ligible?

How isit obtained?

What doesit cost?

How longisit valid?

For moreinformation contact:

Telephone Authorization (TA) is a call-in procedure that allows
registrants to operate on Wisconsin highways without displaying
evidence of registration. The program meets a registrant’s imme-
diate need to place an unregistered or newly-acquired vehicleinto
service in an emergency. A TA isavailable ONLY for intra-state
operation of motor carriers.

motor trucksand truck tractors and certain other vehiclesreg-
istering at gross weights of more than 8,000 |bs., under the
guarterly or monthly registration system

- first-timeregistrations, re-registrations, registration renewals,
or transfer of ownership involving registration of a
vehicle

The number in Wisconsin for obtaining a Telephone Au-
thorization is (608) 267-5103. DMV accepts requests between
7:00 am. and 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, or by recording
service during non-business hours. An applicant must provide the
department with the following information about the vehicle:

- type, year, make, vehicleidentification number
license plate number or title number

operating gross weight, and the type (quarterly or consecu-
tive monthly) of registration

- type of operation (private or for-hire) requested

Because all conversations are recorded, the DMV cannot autho-
rizeaTA on any other phoneline.

The fee for a TA is $7.50 per vehicle. If a complete application,
with correct fees is received by the DMV before the 15th of the
month preceding the expiration of the registration period, the fee
will be waived if the DMV failsto return evidence of registration
by the beginning of theregistration period. Thereisalate-payment
penalty of $10.

A Telephone Authorization remains valid until the applicant re-
ceives permanent registration. Application for permanent registra-
tion must be made within 72 hours of the TA date. If an applicant
does not submit the application, with all appropriate fees, includ-
ingthe TA fee, DMV must suspend the vehicleregistration. A $25
reinstatement fee is assessed for each vehicle suspended.

Bureau of Vehicle Services

Title & Registration Processing Section
Vehicle Registration & Titling Unit
(608) 264-8735
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Telephone Authorization
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Source: Revenue Accounting Unit Audit Reports
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What is a title?
When is a title issued?

What documents are required?

What does a title cost?

What appears on a title?

A Certificate of Titleis evidence of vehicle ownership.

The DMV issues a title when it has confirmed who owns the ve-
hicle.

An application for title requires the following documents:

- Applicationfor Title/Registration, Form MV 1, if private (non-
dealer) sale of an auto or MV 11 (dealers only)

Odometer Mileage Statement (on thetitle or Form MV 2493)
signed and dated by the former owner

Proof of ownership (Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin for
anew vehicle or the current Certificate of Title/Ownership
fromWisconsin or another jurisdiction, properly signed by the
sellers)

Some transactions require additional documents.

Thefeefor filing an application for the first, or original title, or a
title transfer, is $25.00. State and County sales taxes and environ-
mental impact fees may also apply, aswell asregistration feesfor
vehicle operation on Wisconsin highways. Notation of a security
interest (lien holder) costs $4. Replacement titles — lost, stolen or
mutilated — cost $8.

The“facts” which may appear on atitle include:
- the name and address of the owner

adescription of thevehicle, including make, identification num-
ber and any other information reasonable for the identifica-
tion of thevehicle

- the name of secured party (lien holder) if applicable
odometer reading information

- the license plate number assigned to the vehicle at the time
titleisissued

if areplacement title, Replacement Title Notation
- titlebranding — if applicable

undisclosed Security Interest — if applicable

previoudly titled in another state — if applicable
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Where do | apply for atitle? A titleapplication may be mailed to:

Wisconsin Division of Motor Vehicles
PO. Box 7949
Madison, WI 53707-7949

or, for an additional $5 counter service fee, taken to one of the
DMV Service Centers around the state which offer registration
service.

For more information contact: Bureau of Vehicle Services

Research and Information Unit
(608) 266-1466
bur-veh-services.dmv@dot.state.wi.us

Titles Issued
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What is the electronic title and registra-
tion program?

How doesthe program work?

What are the benefits of the program?

Could the program be expanded to other
businesses?

For more information contact:

The electronic title and registration program allows dealers, finan-
cial ingtitutions, fleetsand other approved businessesasDMV agents,
to completetitle and registration transactionsfor themselves or their
customerselectronically. Thefundsfor theregistration andtitleare
also submitted electronically. The electronic data updatesthe DMV
data base directly and eliminates the need for DMV to re-key the
application. The paper applications and source documents continue
to be submitted to DMV separately for audit and microfilming pur-
poses.

DMV has contracted with three vendors to act as a gateway be-
tween our computer and the agents. Deadlers, financial institutions
and fleet owners use the electronic program to complete transac-
tions for their vehicle sale, loan or fleet customers. Police depart-
ments participating in the program compl ete both title and registration
renewal applicationsfor walk-in customers. Some agents, such as
grocery stores and financial service centers, process only registra-
tion renewal transactions for most auto, small trucks and motor-
cyclelicense plates. The vendor is paid out of the electronic filing
fee, collected from the vehicle owner. The service is voluntary;
only those customers who want on-the-spot service will use the
system. Agents issue regular auto and truck plates and stickersto
the customer. Titles are printed centrally at DMV. Agents offering
registration renewal services print the updated Certificate of Reg-
istration for the customer.

Customers get faster and more convenient service. This is
especialy important to peoplewho plan out of Satetripsshortly
after buying the vehicle or those who live near the state bor-
der.

- Agentsareableto transmit information electronically instead
of mailing or hand deliveringitto DMV. They offer aservice
to their customer and get quick access to important informa-
tion about a vehicle' s history and mileage.

Law enforcement agencies have more immediate access to
changes in vehicle registration and fewer temporary plates
are necessary.

DMV gets updatesto the database without rekeying the data,
streamlining the process. And electronic filing hel pskeep lines
shorter at Customer Service Centers.

DMV will continue to explore business partnerships with other
customers.

Bureau of Vehicle Services
Program Third Party Section
Bev Schwartz

(608) 267-5253
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Can auto platesbeplaced on avan?

How do| apply torenew my license plates?

How long doesit taketo issue platesand
stickers?

What isthe cost of renewing plates?

How dol titleand register my homemadetrailer?

Yes, if seating capacity of thevanisgreater than 50%
of thetota spaceavailable, youmay licenseit asan
auto. If cargo space comprises more than 50% of
availablefloor space, you must register it asatruck at
the appropriategrossweight. If thevehiclehasa
separate, open cargo box, it must beregistered asa
truck.

DMV mailsrenewal noticesabout one month prior to
theexpiration of the current registration. If arenewal
noticeisnot received, therenewal fee, dongwitha
letter or other document such asacertificate of
registration which givesthelicense plate number to be
renewed, may be senttotheDMV.

Renewa applicationsare generally processed in about
10days. Applicationsfor registration are processed
immediately for an additional $3 counter servicefeeat
those DMV Service Centersoffering vehicleregistra-
tionservice.

If your renewa notice saysthat you canrenew regis-
tration by phone, you may call (800) 236-7368 froma
touch-tone phone and charge your renewa to your
VISA, MasterCard, or Discover card.

Thereisa$2.50 handling fee, and you' |l receiveyour
platesor stickersinaweek or less. Renewal isaso
availableviathelnternet at http://www.dot.state.wi.us.

Completean MV 1 formindicating theweight at which
youwishtoregister thetrailer. Attachinformation on
thetypeof trailer, width, length, axles, year built and
thebuilder. DMV will issueaVehicleldentification
Number (VIN). You then need to permanently attach
thisVIN tothetrailer and haveit inspected by either a
licensed motor vehiclededer or policeofficer. After
you havereturned theinspectionform, DMV will issue
atitleand registration.
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What isan involuntary transfer? An involuntary transfer of amotor vehicle is atransfer of owner-
ship due to legal action or something other than a voluntary trans-
action. These applications are complex and generally not handled
in Motor Vehicle Service Centers. DMV reviews legal opinions
and court decisionsto processinvoluntary transfers.

Who would usethis service? Anyone with an application that would fall under one of the cat-
egories described below may wish to use this service:

glider kits — incomplete units of semi-tractorswhich are pur-
chased and assembled into acomplete unit (e.g., acab, or cab
axle): ownership of theglider kitisinitially transferred witha
bill of sale, rather than thetitle or a Certificate of Origin.

no trace of ownership —an applicant seeking to register a
vehicle without a certificate of title; the applicant must pro-
vide some proof of the background of the vehicle

liens —towing and storage liens, mechanics and storageliens,
self service storage facilities lien and landlord liens

Istherean extrachargefor this service? Thereis no charge other than the normal title fee, salestax, regis-
tration fee, and a counter service fee as appropriate.

For moreinformation contact: Bureau of Vehicle Services
Research and Information Unit
(608) 266-1466
bur-veh-services.dmv@dot.state.wi.us
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What is heavy vehicle registration and
titling?

What type of registration isissued?

Where is application made?

Vehicle Registration Periods for Heavy
Vehicles:

Immediate Operation:

Itisthetitling and registration of non-autos: trucks, tractors, buses,
motor homes and trailers, except for those vehicles apportioned
under the International Registration Plan (IRP).

A wide variety of license plates and registration stickers for ve-
hicles ranging from pick-up truck licenses (ATK), trucks, truck
tractors, semitrailers, farm and heavy farm trucks, trailers of all
types (from camping trailers to semi-trailers), buses, including
school buses, motor homes, dual purpose vehicles and specialty
vehicle licenses (X, UX, and Z plates).

Applications may be mailed directly to the Madison central office.
Heavy vehicle registration services are available at the La Crosse,
Milwaukee, and Madison DMV Service Centers.

Regigtrationisavailable on aquarterly basis (January-March, April-
June, July-September, October-December) for vehicles registered
with agrossweight over 8,000 pounds. An extrafee of $5ischarged
per quarter of registration. Consecutive monthly registrationisalso
available (with aminimum registration period of three months) for
registration of anumber of special-usevehicles. Thefeeis1/12the
annual feetimesthe number of months of registration, plusafee of
$15 per vehicle.

Any of the following vehicles may be registered on a consecu-
tively monthly registration basis:

amotor truck or atrailer or atruck tractor used exclusively to
transport concrete pipeor block and related materids, recycled
metal salvage materials, logs or pulpwood, dirt, fill or aggre-
gates or fresh milk, or to transport perishable fresh fruits or
vegetablesfor canning, freezing, dehydrating or storage prior
to processing, including return of waste, or to transport pe-
troleum products

amotor truck or atrailer or atruck tractor equipped with a
dump, box or other container used exclusively to transport
gravel, concrete or cement and bituminous road construction
materials or agricultural lime, feed, grain or fertilizer, or
equipped with a mechanical mixer used exclusively to mix
and deliver concrete

motor truck or truck tractor which is owned or leased by a
retail lumberyard used exclusively to transport building con-
struction materials from that lumberyard to a building con-
struction site

any motor vehicle used exclusively for towing operations of
stalled or disabled vehicles

Telephone Authorization is available for afee of $7.50 by calling
1-800-422-6771. Thisallowsfor immediate operation for vehicles
registered quarterly or consecutive monthly. See section on“ Tele-
phoneAuthorization” for information.
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School Bus Inspection and Charters:

Farm Truck Use

For more infor mation contact:

Prior toissuing anoriginal titlefor anew school bus, or aWisconsin
title for a used school bus purchased out-of-state, the bus must be
inspected by the Wisconsin State Patrol. Contact the nearest State
Patrol District Headquartersfor inspection information. Thereisa
$5 fee for five-year school bus plates.

To use a school bus for a charter operation, the bus must be regis-
tered asacharter bus, paying regular grossweight registration fees.
Quarterly or annual charter registration is available as well as 72-
hour trip permits for intrastate operation.

Trucks licensed as farm trucks may not be used for any non-farm
occupation, trade or employment. A truck that isused for both farm
and non-farm uses may be registered as a dual purpose farm ve-
hicle. A farm truck may be used for personal or family purposes but
not for commuting to another job. A heavy farm truck (registered at
38,000 Ibs. or more) may not be used for personal or family pur-
poses.

Bureau of Vehicle Services

Title and Registration Processing Section
Vehicle Registration & Titling Unit
(608) 264-8735
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LicensePlates|ssued by Calendar Year

Plate Type 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001
Auto 541,016 557,404 596,205 762,794 742,513
Personalized (all types) 95,918 25,681 28,028 63,908 113,630
Disabled 2,646 4,280 2,730 16,523 8,785
Disabled Vet 259 242 193 207 195
Amateur Radio 365 321 461 1,660 2,053
ZZ Auto 5 27 45 36 60
ZY Auto 568 568 589 72 2,093
Special Collector 333 345 273 1,110 3,013
Motorhome 5,034 4,023 5,736 5,026 4543
ATK New Design 0 0 0 0 244,600
ATK Truck ‘A’ (Old Design) 73,931 81,252 82,040 108,070 896
ATK Truck ‘B’ (Old Design) 63,170 64,247 66,325 104,748 694
ATK Truck ‘C’ (Old Design) 18,243 22,401 24,045 36,803 349
Dual Purpose Vehicle 671 632 487 502 423
Farm Truck 12,000# 6,240 6,964 6,029 5,817 5474
Dual Purpose Farm 2,235 2,518 2,333 2,263 2,104
Insert Truck (A,B,C) 966 819 1,195 475 501
Insert Truck (X, D-T) 19,613 19,577 20,443 20,006 19,259
Tractor 2,205 2,078 2,247 2,430 2,019
Insert Trailer 11,616 12,765 14,320 14,961 14,798
Heavy Farm Truck 1,347 1,484 1,536 1,268 1,152
Farm Trailer 1512 1,666 2,054 1,809 1,718
ZA Trailer 373 167 373 2,093 521
Camping Trailer 216 0 0 0 0
BX Bus 16 4 254 126 10
Special “ X” 83 127 492 143 136
Specid “UX” 674 602 525 553 519
Specia “Z” 1,027 1,301 1221 1,222 1,115
Insert Bus 138 137 172 294 407
School Bus 1,009 837 4,494 950 970
Semi-Trailer 14,579 15111 15,108 13,669 12,286
MobileHome 6,954 5374 8,837 9,216 8,723
Trans. Trailer 10 6 7 49 u
Motorcycle 30,548 35,932 34,307 39,202 36,779
Moped & SDV 1,902 2173 2,142 2,823 3,320
EX POW 12 23 5 17 7
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LicensePlates|ssued by Calendar Year

Plate Type 1997 1998 1999 2000 2001
National Guard 36 44 81 27 23
State Owned 720 740 784 1,033 1,045
Municipd 2,372 2,397 2,397 2,978 2,565
Officia 443 414 586 510 455
Collector 7,809 9,321 9,479 5,169 8,928
Hobbyist 396 528 585 612 837
Antique 129 180 148 128 15
Driver Education 33 28 340 56 29
Deder Plates 12,096 11,341 17,189 10,990 9,681
Apportioned Power 40,264 25178 43,219 10,538 9,264
Apportioned FL TRL 166 0 76 67 67
Apportioned 12 Y. Trailer 4,956 4,935 13,925 19,923 2,233
Military Group 779 702 1,233 623 698
Civilian Group 521 364 2,360 488 526
University Group 299 533 977 365 376
Endangered Resources 3,748 2,621 2571 1,353 2,096
Sesquicentennial 348,410 87,958 N/A 293 348
Special Recognition Group N/A N/A N/A N/A 583
Green Bay Packers N/A N/A N/A N/A 5,146
DucksUnlimited N/A N/A N/A N/A 455
Temporary Plates 46,130 465,373 342,324 293,636 338,861
Metal Plates 1,328,621 1,018,413 1,021,301 1,280,998 1,281,146

Totals 1,374,751 1,363,25 1,574,634 1,620,007

Source: License Plate Issuance Unit’'s System Issuance Report. Includes license plates issued for first time registra-
tions, base plate renewals, duplicates and replacements.
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Why are license plates required?

How many types of Wisconsin license
plates arethere?

How long are plates valid?

When are license plates issued?

When are renewal stickers issued?

For more information contact:

License plates are evidence that registration fees have been paid
and are ameans of readily identifying avehicle and tracing owner-
ship.

There are 76 plate designs in 32 color combinations with 158
stickers and decals. The plate issued depends on the design and
use of the vehicle or the owner’s specia interest. Examples of
plate types are:

Automobile Disabled
Truck Tractor
Collector Semi-traler

Most plate types are issued in sets of two for front and rear vehicle
display.

Thelength of the registration period depends on the type of license
plate. There are 8 valid registration periods: annual, quarterly,
monthly, 2 year, 5 year, 6 year, 12 year and non-expiring. More
detail onlicense plate types and registration periodsisavailablein
the Wisconsin License Plate and Motor Carrier Credentials
Guide, published annually. For information on truck and busregis-
tration, see“Heavy Vehicle Registration & Titling.”

Autoandlight truck platesissued from 1987 through June 2000 will
be replaced over the seven year period of July 2000 - June, 2007,
with oldest platesfirst. Special plate types may be replaced during
this period, but a start date has not yet been set. Plates for motor-
cyclesand heavy vehicles are not scheduled for replacement. Indi-
viduals may replace their plates (same plate design) for afee of $2
for regular plates and $5/6 for some specia plates. Plate holders
are responsible for replacing plates that are no longer readable.

DMV issues stickers upon renewal to show the date of vehicle
registration expiration when new plates are not issued.

Bureau of Vehicle Services

Vehicle Records Section

Research & Information Unit

(608) 266-1466
bur-veh-services.dmv@dot.state.wi.us
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Registration Renewals
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Motor Vehicle RegistrationsIn Wisconsin

From 1930
Year Total Registrations Year Total Registrations
1930 791,492 1986 3,613,124
1935 771,499 1987 3,696,348
1940 921,149 1988 3,764,880
1945 860,031 1989 3,839,647
1950 1,226,683 1990 3,907,343
1955 1,416,425 1991 3,982,901
1960 1,658,520 1992 4,018,786
1965 1,933,266 1993 4,129,519
1970 2,350,154 1994 4,172,462
1975 2,815,109 1995 4,268,619
1980 3,103,784 1996 4,241,260
1981 3,284,746 1997 4,503,904
1982 3,225,611 1998 4,449,217
1983 3,405,671 1999 4,713,643
1984 3,493,737 2000 4,798,056
1985 3,418,789 2001 4,946,305

Sources; 1930-1975 State of Wisconsin Blue Books;
1980-2002 January fileanalysis.
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What isa personalized license plate?

What vehicle types areeligible for
personalized license plates?

How are personalized license plates
obtained?

What isthe cost?

For more information contact:

A license plate consisting of requested numbers or letters or both,
not exceeding 7 positions and not less than 1 position on regular
registration plates, and not exceeding 6 positions and not less than
1 position on special group plates.

Personalized license plates are available for the following vehicle
types:
automobiles

motorcycles (up to 5 characters; not available for specia
groups)

motor homes (annual registration only)

motor trucks:

4,500, 6,000 or 8,000 pound gross weight including dual-
purpose farm and dual-purpose motor home

12,000 pound gross weight farm truck

An applicant must complete and return a special application form
which includes a section where the personalized message choice(s)
islisted.

Anannual fee of $15isrequired in addition to the regular registra-
tion fees.

Bureau of Vehicle Services

Special Plates & Parking Citations Unit
(608) 266-3041
specia-plates.dmv@dot.state.wi.us

or

Dennis Barr

(608) 261-2575
dennis.barr@dot.state.wi.us

Personalized Plate Applications Processed
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What ischarge card renewal?

How do | use this option?

What is the fee?
Which platetypesareeligible?

What are the benefits?

For moreinformation contact:

Charge card renewal is aregistration renewal option available in
addition to the traditional mail-in and walk-in methods of renew-
ing. Telephone and Internet charge card renewals are available for
many license plate types. If your renewal card has an RRN num-
ber onit, you are eligible to use this renewal service.

You need atouch-tone tel ephone, your registration renewal notice,
and a Visa, Mastercard, or Discover card. Cal the toll-free num-
ber, (800) 236-7368, which is shown on the renewal notice. A com-
puterized voice response unit guides you through the process.

OR

Y ou can useyour Visa, MasterCard, or Discover Card and use the
World Wide Web to renew your vehicle's license plate. Our web
Site address iswww.dot.state.wi.us.

$2.50 per renewal, which isthe cost of providing the service.

Auto, light truck, higher education group, military special group,
civilian group (sesquicentennial, endangered resources, university,
firefighter, emergency medical technicians), moped, annual trailer,
farm, camping trailer, motorcycle, collector special, Wisconsin Na-
tional Guard, Ex-Prisoner of War. Also, disabled and disabled vet-
eran when certification is not required.

Speed and convenience. You will receiveyour Certificate of Regis-
tration, plates, or stickerswithin afew days. You may legally oper-
ate your vehicleimmediately upon completing the call or Internet
transaction. The service is available 24 hours a day, seven days a
week.

Bureau of Vehicle Services

Titleand Registration Processing Section
Vehicle Registration & Titling Unit

Scott Brummond

(608) 267-2030
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Charge Card Renewals
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The drop in charge card renewals in 1997 was due to the issuance of Sesquicen-
tennial plates, which began December 2, 1996. Sesqui plates were not available
with the charge card renewal program. There was apparently a big overlap be-
tween the peoplewho wanted to order Sesqui plates and those who normally used
the telephone renewal program.
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What isthe Traffic Violation and
Registration Program?

How doesit work?

How are people notified?

What happenswhen ticketsare paid?

How isthe program funded?

Number of TVRP participants:

For moreinformation contact:

TheTraffic Violation and Registration Program (TV & RP) was cre-
ated by statelaw in 1981. Under thisprogram, DMV imposes sanc-
tions for unpaid tickets resulting from unpaid non-moving traffic
violations (unpaid parking citations).

A court or local authority participating in the program forwards
information regarding the unpaid tickets to the department and re-
queststhe DMV to:

suspend the registration of the vehicle involved

refuseal registration applications, including renewals, made
by the owner of the ticketed vehicle, or

both of the above

The court or local authority must notify defendants that they have
unpaid tickets. If the defendant does not contest the ticket or pay
the fine, the authority directs the department to take action. The
department then notifies the defendant by letter and by notice on
vehicle registration renewal forms.

Once a defendant has paid the forfeiture or appeared in court, the
local authority or court notifies the department and vehicle regis-
tration privileges are reinstated.

The cost of the program is paid by participating local authorities.

In 2001, 355 counties, cities, villages, towns, courts, or other local
agencies participated in the program.

Bureau of Vehicle Services
Special Plates & Parking Citations Unit
(608) 267-9791

special-plates.dmv@dot.state.wi.us
or:

Debi Whitley
(608) 264-7261
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Motor Vehicle Registrations in Wisconsin by County
2001 Analysisof Current and Non-Expiring Vehicles

COUNTY AUTO TRUCK CYCLE OTHER TOTAL
Adams 9,184 10,501 912 2,207 22,804
Ashland 6,655 7,519 626 1,281 16,081
Barron 19,843 21,907 1,732 4011 47,493
Bayfield 6,835 8,381 812 1,201 17,229
Brown 102,164 82,552 8484 15,192 208,392
Buffalo 6,777 7,564 825 1,343 16,509
Burnett 7,201 8,843 666 1,365 18,075
Caumet 17,775 15,711 1571 2,548 37,605
Chippewa 24,838 25,538 2,331 4,968 57,675
Clark 13,463 15,908 1,314 2,805 33,490
Columbia 24,591 23,744 2,171 3,877 54,383
Crawford 7,274 7,592 649 1,446 16,961
Dane 209,192 140,758 12,893 19,726 382,569
Dodge 38,562 35,618 3,537 6,116 83,833
Door 14,624 15,294 1,726 2431 34,075
Douglas 19,977 18,245 1,532 2,970 42,724
Dunn 17,100 16,677 1,659 3,207 38,643
Eau Claire 41,402 33,526 3,097 5135 83,160
Florence 2110 2,998 243 643 5,994
Fond du Lac 45,602 39,550 3,933 6,982 96,067
Forest 3,465 5,340 403 1,319 10,527
Grant 22,083 21,023 1,968 4,506 49,580
Green 15,929 15013 1,587 2,549 35,078
Green Lake 9,259 9,572 726 1,755 21,312
lowa 10,408 10,772 861 2,200 24,241
Iron 2,745 3,946 289 520 7,500
Jackson 8,025 9,331 830 3,549 21,735
Jefferson 36,493 31,989 3,180 4,928 76,590
Juneau 11,142 12,406 1,158 2,362 27,068
Kenosha 62,250 47571 6,178 6,158 122,157
Kewaunee 9,614 9,580 1,103 1,643 21,940
LaCrosse 46,819 37,753 3,501 5933 94,006
Lafayette 7,675 7,678 537 2,391 18,281
Langlade 9,103 10,407 834 2,076 22,420
Lincoln 12,477 14,293 1,236 2,395 30,401
Manitowoc 40,812 32,391 4502 5,744 83,449
Marathon 56,997 53,076 4,954 9,629 124,656
Marinette 19,834 21,165 1,951 4,595 47545
Marquette 7477 8,210 663 1,307 17,657
Milwaukee 388,197 185,806 21472 33,705 629,180
Monroe 17,311 18,050 1,711 3,630 40,702
Oconto 16,198 18,027 2,024 3,143 39,392
Oneida 15,825 20,399 1,731 2,593 40,548
Outagamie 77,986 65,621 6,650 10,201 160,458

Ozaukee 40,565 26,842 3312 2973 73,692
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Motor Vehicle Registrationsin Wisconsin by County
2001 Analysisof Current and Non-Expiring Vehicles

COUNTY AUTO TRUCK CYCLE OTHER TOTAL
Pepin 3579 3,699 370 669 8,317
Pierce 16,518 15,968 1,620 2,828 36,934
Polk 19,195 20,629 1,902 2,980 44,706
Portage 28,507 26,336 2,441 4,206 61,490
Price 6,655 8,405 6% 1,604 17,358
Racine 81,224 58,819 7,237 7,259 154,539
Richland 7,576 8,064 6% 1418 17,752
Rock 70,012 58,683 5,760 8,139 142,594
Rusk 6,477 7,661 485 1,326 15,949
St Croix 31,446 30,086 3,208 5,103 69,343
Sauk 25,778 25,846 2,531 4,481 58,636
Sawyer 6,585 9,156 533 1,213 17,487
Shawano 17,879 18,179 1,545 2,890 40,493
Sheboygan 50,760 38,330 5,039 6,766 100,895
Taylor 8,099 10,041 867 2,883 21,890
Trempealeau 13,114 13,427 1,093 2,313 29,947
Vernon 11,683 13,047 1,019 1,959 27,708
Vilas 9,309 13,576 898 1,643 25,426
Waworth 46,102 39,382 4,252 5,668 95,404
Washburn 7,139 8,958 636 1331 18,064
Washington 53,242 43221 6,005 7,612 110,080
Waukesha 179,135 128,899 15,468 17,601 341,103
Waupaca 22,890 23,803 2,059 4,039 52,791
Waushara 11,165 12,800 924 2,583 27472
Winnebago 70,647 56,146 5577 9,09 141,469
Wood 33,885 34,135 3,621 9,997 81,638
Out of State 8,014 5,600 335 8,286 22,235
Menominee 325 327 24 63 744
Unknown 4,184 3,784 232 1,264 9,464
Grand Total 2,434,982 1,971,694 201,143 338,486 4,946,305

Source: January 2002 File Analysis; Vehicle Type by Tax District by County Code Report
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Why vehicle emission testing?

Why isemission testing required in
southeastern Wisconsin?

Who sets emission standar ds?

What vehiclesrequiretesting?

Who does the testing and what doesit cost?

When arevehiclestested?

Where are vehicles tested?

How isthetest performed?

The federal Clean Air Act spells out air quality standards that all
areas of the United States must meet. Motor vehiclesare one of the
major causes of air pollutants in metropolitan areas. Vehicle ex-
haust emissions include nitrogen oxide, carbon monoxide and hy-
drocarbons. Vehicle testing assures that in-use vehicle emissions
are within specified standards.

Southeastern Wisconsin is one of over 90 metropolitan areasin 35
stateswith air pollution level s higher than federal health standards.
Approximately one-third of the volatile organic compounds (mostly
hydrocarbons) and 60% of carbon monoxide present in this area
are created by motor vehicles.

The purpose of the Wisconsin Vehicle Inspection Program (VIP)
istoidentify:

- vehiclesthat exceed exhaust and evaporative emissions
prevent registration until vehicles meet emission standards

The Department of Natural Resources (DNR) sets the emission
standards for vehicles. DMV administers the Vehicle Inspection
Program.

Emission tests are required on automobiles and on trucks with a
manufactured gross vehicle weight rating of 10,000 pounds or less
which are customarily kept in the southeastern Wisconsin counties
of Kenosha, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Sheboygan, Racine, Washingon
and Waukesha. Exceptions are vehiclesmanufactured before 1968,
diesdl-powered vehicles, and motorcycles. Approximately 700,000
tests are performed each year.

The DMV contracts with Envirotest Systems Corporation to con-
duct testing. The DMV auditstest equipment at each station weekly
to assure accurate testing. Therequired test iswithout direct charge
to the motorist.

Vehicles aretested biennially based upon vehicle model year. The
testing is required at the time of vehicle registration renewal. Re-
newal noticesindicate if testing is required.

Additionally, vehicles more than 5 model yearsold are required to
be tested at the time of change of ownership. DMV mails a letter
outlining the testing requirements to the new owner.

There are 12 vehicle inspection test facilities located throughout
southeastern Wisconsin with 44 test |anes.

When motorists enter the test facility, the lane inspector asks for
theregistration renewal notice and enters essential informationinto
a computer. The computer automatically selects the proper stan-
dards for the vehicle's weight and model year.

The emissions are measured while the vehicleisdriven on atread-
mill-like device called adynamometer. The vehicleisoperated over
adriving cycle at various speeds which resembletypical city driv-
ing patternsincluding acceleration and deceleration. Thevehicle's
gas cap is also tested to ensure that it seals properly.
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What happens to vehicles which fail?

For moreinformation contact:

Vehicles with a model year 1996 and newer receive an on-board
diagnostic (OBDII) test, which checksthe vehicle'son board diag-
nostic system rather than measuring tail pi pe emissions.

After the emission inspection, motorists receive results on a com-
puter-generated report form. Thisreport containsthe results of the
emissions test and the gas cap inspection.

When vehicles pass the vehicle inspection, the owner may com-
pletetheregistration by mail, at the emission test facility, or in per-
sonat aDMV Service Center. The computer automatically matches
test records from the inspection stations with the DMV'sregistra-
tion recordsto verify inspection compliance.

If avehiclefailsany portion of thetest, the owner must have emis-
sion-related repairs performed and/or replace the gas cap prior to
being retested. Satisfactory completion of the test requirementsis
necessary before vehicle registration renewal. The inspector pro-
vides al motorists with an informational brochure at the initial
failed test to explain the repair and retest process.

Bureau of Vehicle Services

Motor Vehicle Inspection Section

I/M Customer Service Representatives at
(414) 266-1080

or

(800) 242-7510
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Abbreviationsfor License Plate Typesand Vehicle Types

Plate Type
AMA Amateur Radio HFM Heavy Farm Truck
ANT Antique HOB Hobbyist
APO Apportioned - Power Unit ITL Insert Trailer
ATK Annual Truck MBH Mobile Home
ATL Annua Trailer MDH Medal of Honor
AUT Automobile MLG Military Group
BBX BX Bus MNC Municipal Cycle
BSB School Bus MNF Municipal Fictitious
BUS Insert Bus MNO Municipal Officia
CLS Collector - Special Registration MPD Moped
CMP Camping Trailer MTM Motor Home
COL Collector MUN Municipa
CVvG Civilian Group, Endangered Re SDV Special Designed Vehicle
sources, CeIebrateChlldren, and SOV State Owned
Sesquicentennial
SPX ecial X
cYcC Motorcycle P
. . SPZ Special Mobile Equipment - Z
DEV Driver Education
STL Semi-trailer
DIS Disabled
SUX Special Mobile Equipment - UX
DPF Dual-Purpose Farm
. TOR Tractor
DPV Dual-Purpose Vehicle
TRK Insert Truck
FRM Farm Truck
. VET Disabled Veteran
FTL FarmTrailer
. : WNG Wisconsin National Guard
HEG Higher Education Group
XPW Ex-Prisoner of War
Vehicle Types
AUTO  Automobile RDTR  Road Tractor
BUS Bus SCBS  School Bus
CAMP Camping Trailer SEMI Semi-trailer
CYCL Motorcycle SPDV  Specia Design Vehicle
MBHM MobileHome TRAC  Truck Tractor
MTHM Motorized Home TRLR  Traler

MPED Moped TRUK  Truck





