

Collector License Plate Information and Application

MV2323 07/2022 s.341.266 Wis. Stats.



Vehicles that qualify

All motor vehicles 20 years or older that the body has not been altered from the original. For a list of modification, go to: http://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/collector-plates.aspx.

Vehicles that have a body that has been altered from the original **do not** qualify for Collector plates. Refer to form MV2388 Hobbyist Registration Application on the Internet: http://wisconsindot.gov/Pages/dmv/vehicles/title-plates/hobbyist.aspx

Things you should know

To qualify for Collector plates, you must own or lease at least one other motor vehicle for regular transportation with current, valid registration in Wisconsin under the same name(s) as the Collector vehicle. Complete section C. Collector plates are non-expiring for as long as you own the collector vehicle. Vehicles with Collector plates cannot be operated during the month of January unless a special temporary plate is purchased (form MV2750).

A person who registers a Collector motor vehicle that was manufactured before 1979 may display a historical plate from or representing the model year of the vehicle when driving to or from a car show, or during a parade, if the registration and plates issued by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) are simultaneously carried in or, with the vehicle and are available for inspection by law enforcement, upon request. WisDOT assigns a collector number to each vehicle collector. That number, plus an alpha character, is issued to other collector vehicles owned by the same person. Collector plates cannot be personalized. Collector plates cannot be issued with a disabled parking designation. For second or subsequent plates, allow approximately 3-4 weeks for the manufacturing process after the Certificate of Registration has been issued. Except for former military vehicles, truck-type vehicles with Collector plates cannot haul materials more than 500 pounds. Emission test inspections are required on all collector qualifying vehicles 1996 and newer customarily kept in counties certified under s.110.20 (5)(a), Stats. These vehicles shall have the emission test inspection completed no more than 45 days from the date of Collector Plate registration issuance or plate transfer, or within 45 days of the date of an ownership change registration issuance, unless the vehicle passed inspection within 180 days prior to change of ownership.

How to apply

- 1. Complete and sign application.
 - » Select appropriate option.
 - » Give complete description of Collector vehicle in section A.
 - » Give owner information in section B.
 - » Give complete description of vehicle, which is registered in Wisconsin and used for regular transportation in section C.
 - » Incomplete applications will be returned.
- If the vehicle you wish to register with Collector plates is already titled in your name and:
 - » is currently registered, send a copy of your Certificate of Registration.
 - » is **not** currently registered, send the actual Certificate of Title—not a photocopy.
- If the vehicle is **not** titled in your name, send a completed title application (<u>MV1</u> or MV11), assigned title and fees, including Collector registration fees.
- 4. Using the fee schedule, determine Collector registration fees. No credit is given from current registration. If you are transferring a Collector plate, you must pay the fee shown in the "Transfer" column. Make check or money order payable to: Registration Fee Trust.
- 5. Mail all required items with signed application to:

WisDOT Special Plates PO Box 7911 Madison, WI 53707-7911

Collector plates are not available or processed at DMV Customer Service Centers. However, Customer Service Centers can issue temporary plates while the application is being processed. This does not guarantee the issuance of specialty plates. Operation of this vehicle is prohibited upon public highways without proper registration displayed.

Fee Schedule							
Vehicle Type	Gross Vehicle Weight	First Collector Plate Issuance	Subsequent Plate Issuance or Transfer				
Automobile	_	\$220	\$170				
Truck/Bus	Up to 6,000	\$250	\$200				
Truck/Bus	Over 6,000	\$262	\$212				
Motorcycle/Moped	_	\$73	\$23				
NA-4	Up to 5,000	\$147	\$97				
Motor Home	Over 5,000	\$160	\$110				
Truck Tractor	Up to 6,000	\$286	\$236				
Truck Tractor	Over 6,000	\$298	\$248				



Collector License Plate Application (MV2323 07/2022 s.341.266 Wis. Stats.)



Check options ☐ Applying for first Collector plate								
☐ Currently hold Collector license plate series:								
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8								
☐ Wish to transfer Collector license plate number:								
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8								
Need replacement Collector plate: □ \$4.00 Motorcycle/Moped □\$8.00 All others								

Wisconsin Department of Transportation

page 2 of 2

If you have questions about this application: » Call: (608) 266-3041 » FAX: (608) 267-5106 » Email: special-plates.dmv@dot.wi.gov
Release of non exempt information Under Wisconsin open records law, the Wisconsin Department of Transportation must provide information from its records to requesters.
If you do not want your name and address included in requests we receive for ten or more records, you may ask the department to withhold your name and address from those lists by checking the box below:
Opt Out
ADA – The Wisconsin Department of Transportation complies with the Americans with Disabilities Act.
Invisible disability notice to law enforcement form: wisconsindmv.gov/inv-dis or at DMV Service Centers.

The Department may request photos of the body to confirm eligibility as a condition of registration. If photos are required, you will receive a separate request after your initial application has been reviewed.

Α	Collector Vehicle Engine or Identification Number (VIN) (standard VIN has 17 chara	acters)	Year	Make	Body Style	Gross Weight if Truck, Former Military Vehicle or Motor Home		
В	Owner(s) Name - Last First, Middle Initial - Print		Driver License Number or (if company owned) FEIN Number 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17					
	Owner(s) Name - Last First, Middle Initial - Print		Driver License Number or (if company owned) FEIN Number 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17					
	Address		City State ZIP Code					
	Telephone Number where you may be reached 7 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.		Email Address					
RED O	Regular Transportation Vehicle ID Number(s) – if applying jointly, other than spouse or same-sex domestic partner, each must show a vehicle		Make	F	Plate			
REQUIRED								
I (we	I (we) certify that the collector vehicle described above has not had the body altered from the original, is 20 or more years older							

X (Owner Signature) (Date) X (Owner Signature) (Date)

and is being preserved because of its historical interest or is one of four former military vehicles described above.