



Wisconsin Department of Transportation MV2882 03/2024 ss. **704.05** 

Special Plates Unit P.O. Box 7911 Madison, WI 53707-7911

Submit this statement with the Wisconsin Title/License Plate Application (MV1), for each titled vehicle. Enclose a payment of \$164.50 for each titled vehicle, plus applicable sales taxes and registration fees.

Personal information you provide may be used for secondary purposes [Privacy Law, s.15.04(1)(m)].

This document may be used by a Wisconsin Landlord to involuntarily transfer ownership of a titled recreational vehicle (less than 45 feet in length) or titled motor vehicle, that has been abandoned by a tenant on the premises of a landlord, in accordance with s.704.05(5) Wis. Stats. This form must be accompanied by a copy of the official signed rental agreement.

By signing this document, you are certifying that you have completed the following steps prior to the sale of the vehicle:

		(See guidelines or	the following page	e)	
		the rental agreement of y			
`	-	ded this notification, addit	ional steps are requi	red before disposing	of the vehicle)
= -	official Vehicle Red				12.1 90.1 1.1
☐ Provided no	tification to the tena	nt, vehicle owner(s), AND	any lien holders on	record, the date the v	enicie Wili de sold
VEHICLE INFORM					T -
Vehicle Identification Numb	8 9 10 11 12 13	Vehicle Year	Vehicle Make	Vehicle Model	State Vehicle is Titled
Recorded Name of Vehicle	Owner		Recorded name of Vehicle Co-Owner		
Recorded Name of Lien Ho	older(s)		Lien Release(s) attached  YES NO		
DISPOSITION OF ☐  Sold to Purchaser	Identified		nicle: \$ Ce	rtified mail tracking #:	
SALE TYPE (must o					
☐ PUBLIC*	Date of Sale	Sale Price	☐ PRIVATE*	Date of Sale	Sale Price
*A <i>public sale</i> is an auction in which the public is invited by advertisement to appear for the purpose of bidding on the vehicle.			*A <i>private sale</i> is any sale in which the public is not invited by advertisement to appear for the purpose of bidding on the vehicle.		
LANDLORD INFOR	RMATION				
Name of Business or Person	on		(Area Code) Telephone – Daytime		
Authorized Business Representative's Name			Authorized Business Representative's Title		
Street Address			City, State, ZIP Code		
PURCHASER INFO	ORMATION				
Name of Purchaser			(Area Code) Telephone – Daytime		
Street Address			City, State, ZIP Code		
Purchaser Driver License N	Number	12 13 14	Purchaser FEIN Number (if applicable)		
knowledge the information name of the transfered appearing on the origin Wisconsin Department	ation contained on t e as owner, as a re- inal owner's certifica it of Transportation	ntal agreement with the rethis document is true and sult of abandonment of prate of registration if a lien in any claim arising out of rtify that I have followed a	correct. I acknowled operty to a landlord, release is not prov the issuance of title	ge that the new certifi shall reflect any perfe ided. I agree to prote in the name of the pu	cate of title issued in the octed security interest(s) ct and indemnify the orchaser for the sale on the
	(Seller or Business Rep	oresentative Signature)		(Date)	

**NOTE:** This document is given to the Wisconsin Department of Transportation for the purpose of either junking the above described motor vehicle of record or transferring title of the motor vehicle on the records of the department. Falsifying information given in this document could result in a fine of up to \$10,000 and imprisonment for up to five (5) years, or both.

(Print Name)

OF NAME OF STREET

Wisconsin Department of Transportation MV2882 3/2024 ss. **704.05** 

Special Plates Unit P.O. Box 7911 Madison, WI 53707-7911

### Landlord's Eligibility to Dispose of Abandoned Vehicles

If a tenant vacates or is evicted from the premises and leaves behind a titled motor vehicle, you may store the vehicle until it is claimed or dispose of the vehicle in any way you determine appropriate, including by sale, junking, or titling the vehicle in your own name or business name

You must have provided written notice to the tenant, of your intent to not store any abandoned property left behind, when the tenant entered into or renewed their rental agreement.

If you have not provided the notice to the tenant in their rental agreement, you must comply with the additional actions required in s.704.05(5) 2009 Wis. Stats.:

- Provide written notice to the tenant of the storage charges within 10 days after the charges began.
- Provide written notice of your intent to sell the vehicle if it is not repossessed by the tenant within 30 days of the notice date.

# How to proceed

#### Step 1 - Verify Ownership

You must verify the vehicle's ownership and lien holder's information, as required by law. If the vehicle is titled in Wisconsin, use form <a href="MV2896">MV2896</a> Vehicle/Driver Record Information Request to obtain this information.

- If the vehicle is no longer on record with the Wisconsin Department of Transportation, you will need to contact the DMV Contact Center at (608) 264-7447 or <u>Wisconsin DMV email service</u> for information on alternative procedures.
- If the vehicle is titled in another state, you will need to contact that
  state to obtain ownership/lien holder's information on record. You
  may also use our web site <a href="http://wisconsindmv.gov">http://wisconsindmv.gov</a> for information on
  how to verify ownership and obtain vehicle record information of
  vehicles titled in other states.

# Step 2 - Notify owners and lien holders of intent to dispose of the vehicle

Once you have received ownership and lien holder verification, you must send written notice of your intent to not store the abandoned vehicle to the following:

- The tenant, personally or by regular or certified mail addressed to the tenant's last-known address.
- Any secured party of which you have actual notice, personally or by regular or certified mail addressed to the secured party's last-known address

Send written notice by certified mail, "Return Receipt Requested" to the owners, and any lien holder of record notifying them:

- the vehicle will be sold if it is not claimed
- vehicle description, vehicle identification number (VIN), year, make, model
- the date, time, and location of a public sale OR the date a private sale will be held.

# Step 3 - Noncompliance

If the vehicle is not claimed prior to the date stated in your notice, you may sell or otherwise dispose of it in accordance with the notice.

#### Step 4 - Selling the vehicle

You may sell the vehicle either publicly or privately. An example of a public sale is an auction that has been advertised in a publication or website in which vehicles are normally bought and sold. A private sale would be the sale of the vehicle to a new owner without offering it to the public.

If you dispose of the vehicle by private or public sale, you may send the proceeds of the sale, minus any costs of sale and any storage charges, to the Department of Administration for deposit in the appropriation under s.20.505 (7) (h). Wis. Stats.

Be sure to retain a photocopy of all notices to owners, lien holders, advertisements of the sale and receipts for your records.

#### Step 5 - To obtain a Wisconsin Title after the sale

The landlord must furnish to the buyer a completed form MV2882 Abandonment of Property to a Landlord. The buyer must submit this form and an MV1 Wisconsin Title and License Plate Application along with the appropriate fees.

If the vehicle is model year 2011 or newer, the landlord is also required to complete and furnish form MV2488 *Vehicle Transfer and Odometer Mileage Statement* to the Buyer. This form is not available online, however; it may be obtained from a Division of Motor Vehicles customer service center or by contacting the DMV Contact Center at (608) 264-7447 or <u>Wisconsin DMV email service</u>. Photocopies of form MV2488 are not acceptable.

- You may obtain forms MV1, MV2882, and MV2896 online using the following web site: <a href="http://www.wisconsindmv.gov/drivers/vehicles/veh-forms/htm">http://www.wisconsindmv.gov/drivers/vehicles/veh-forms/htm</a>
- You may also obtain these forms from a Division of Motor Vehicles customer service center or by contacting the Customer Contact Center at (608) 264-7447 or <u>Wisconsin DMV email service</u>.

### Mail Completed Forms To:

Wisconsin Department of Transportation Special Plates Unit P.O. Box 7911 Madison, WI 53707-7911

# Service Members Civil Relief Acts

A person holding a lien on the property or effects of a service member may not, during any period of military service of the service member and for 90 days thereafter, foreclose upon or enforce any lien on such property or effects without a court order granted before foreclosure or enforcement. 50 App. U.S.C.A. s.537.

Any person who violates this paragraph shall be fined not more than \$10,000 or imprisoned for not more than 9 months or both. s.321.62(14)(e), Wis. Stats.

#### Questions:

Call (608) 266-3041 between 7:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Email: special-plates.dmv@dot.wi.gov